Perodua increases production capacity to 249,000 units to shorten wait list to 2-3 weeks by year end

Perodua has heightened production at both its manufacturing plants, Perodua Manufacturing (PMSB) and Perodua Global Manufacturing (PGMSB) to keep up with customer demand for its cars. Both premises are running two shifts, with PMSB and PGMSB at tact times of 1.8 minutes and 2.0 minutes respectively.

The total production target for 2019 has been revised to 249,000 units, up 2.9% from the previous target of 242,000 units. Both manufacturing plants are operating at 97% capacity, which Perodua notes as stabilised at the optimum level of operating condition; this has increased from last year’s figures of 96.2% for PMSB and 94.6% for PGMSB, while defects per unit (DPU) at both plants have recorded steady declines.

With its full-year sales target now lifted by 4,000 units to 235,000 units including 3,270 units for export markets, this leaves a considerable margin from the stated total production target of 249,000. This is in order to increase readily available stock across the brand’s model line-up, said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

Readily available stock levels were previously low, which resulted in excessive wait times for customers who have already made bookings for Perodua models, the CEO said. This has most recently been shortened to around an average of two months, whereas wait times previously have been much longer, he said.

Production has there been ramped up to ease the backlog, with the aim of further shortening customers’ wait times to two to three weeks, Zainal added, though this is subject to the model and variant selected by the customer. Having said that, the goal is to shorten the wait for booked units, which the firm hopes to achieve by the end of the year, the CEO noted.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Aura89 on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:22 am

Suddenly so many Perodua news press and articles since yesterday. They must be really afraid, I can smell the fear reeking from their desperate attempts.

This tells me Proton is soon coming out with a car that will sweep the floor clean. Let’s hope so, its time we get some good quality and value for money cars around here. Perodua have been shortchanging customers for far too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Kek kelapa on Jul 18, 2019 at 1:57 pm

In your dream. People will always wanna buy small segment car like all the perodua offer. Proton problematic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • People buy Perodua because they have no choice, since Peroduas are the cheapest. And Peroduas aren’t problem-free like you troll always claimed.

• if you join the myvi owner group discussion, lots of rant about defects. fuel pump, gearbox, rattling sound etc.

• yawnz on Jul 18, 2019 at 4:54 pm

People buy P2 small segment cars because it is cheap so they have no choice. But working with Geely and getting their resources will help to bring in bigger and better cars at the same price segments of small segment. If Proton can CKD X50 @ RM55~60k, who will still buy small Myvi anymore? it will be the X70 success story all over again and this time P2 has no answer to counter.

• Aura89 on Jul 18, 2019 at 5:44 pm

I concur with the 2 comments above. Folks buy small cars because they have no choice. Now Proton is giving them that choice and added so much value into their cars, I can see why their sales are rebounding.

• The Best on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:30 am

Good job perodua! Well done. U serves the best for rakyat. Good affordable car, friendly user car, high rv car, practical, easy and cheap to maintain. Keep it up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • CollinEady on Jul 19, 2019 at 10:38 pm

I sold my new ikon myvi after 11 mths. So disappointed. After complained one to another. Never rectified. Not to compare apple and orange but my mazda 6 after 10 years still in good shape and well perform. I waiting my new Iriz to be delivered next 2 week to complete my line up car collections.

• PT reader on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:49 am

Dear Perodua,

You up your quantity but please don’t down your quality..

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:50 am

Last time when Perodua vehicles were less in demand, they used to have holding yards across the country. Now a days, holding yards are not even needed and the showroom lots are emptier as well. Not that there is less demand but rather the demand is really good.

• Celup King on Jul 18, 2019 at 4:55 pm

I still see too many Perodua cars are parking at their yard. Are you sure demand is good or just they reduced production volume?

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 18, 2019 at 10:52 am

Some Perodua dealers would be able to deliver you a car within 2-3 weeks as off now already. This is because the people working at the dealers books under their name initially while other Perodua dealers would do the right thing and have a customer potentially wait 2 to 3 months.

• Celup King on Jul 18, 2019 at 11:30 am

Original target was 280k units. Underachievement at its best.

• PARAMESWARI A/P V.MURUGASU on Nov 21, 2019 at 11:29 am

HAMPIR 3 BULAN LEBIH 08/08/2019 PINJAMAN SAYA SUDAH DI LULUSKAN. TAPI SAMPAI SEKARANG KERETA MASIH LAGI TIADA STOK
    BILA BOLEH ADA STOCK
    PERODUA BILA BOLEH ADA STOCK

• PUTERI on Jul 30, 2021 at 4:51 pm

loan sudah lulus .dari bulan 4 sampai bulan ni belum ada ada berita untuk stock kereta .boleh bagi feedback tak