Volkswagen Golf Mk8 caught completely undisguised!

By now we already know pretty much what the Mk8 Volkswagen Golf will look like, thanks to revealing spyshots of almost completely undisguised test mules earlier in the year. But almost completely undisguised is not the same as completely undisguised, and during a commercial shoot for the new family hatch, an errant snapper managed to take a few photos of the real McCoy.

Those photos were reportedly posted by Instagram user @_adrianmay and have since been taken down – but not before Carscoops managed to obtain them via a reader. As you can see, the images shed light on the few details that were covered on the development prototypes, particularly the lights.

At the front, one can now clearly spot the “tails” that extend from the slim headlights, almost reaching the wheel arches. The full-width air intakes on this particular unit also sport what look to be three body-coloured strakes, although the low resolution of these images mean it isn’t an absolute certainty. As the arrangement looks a little different from the one in the spyshots, we can assume that this car wears the R-Line kit.

Moving to the rear of the car, the large stickers that covered the tail lights have been stripped away, revealing a pair of slim L-shaped lamps that stretch across the tail gate. The reflectors are also mounted higher up than they appeared on the spyshots, and the large diffuser-like insert, chrome trim and fake twin tailpipes lend credence to the fact that this may very well be an R-Line model.

Previous spyshots have also shown the interior of the Golf, which will feature details such as a full-width air vent design and an upright display panel that integrates both the instruments and the infotainment touchscreen – in a similar fashion to Mercedes-Benz’s Widescreen Cockpit.

Under the skin, the new Golf is set to ride on the updated MQB platform and will reportedly weigh up to 50 kg less. It will get a 48-volt mild hybrid system on both the standard 1.5 TSI model and the GTI – the hot hatch should also gain an electric turbocharger boost power to up to 290 hp, more even than the hardcore limited edition Golf GTI Clubsport.

Meanwhile, the EA288 Evo 2.0 litre TDI turbodiesel will get a 12-volt version of the mild hybrid system and will be offered in power outputs ranging from 136 hp to 204 hp. Elsewhere, the current 1.6 litre unit is expected to be replaced by a new 1.5 litre unit, while on the petrol side the 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine introduced on the Mk7 facelift is also likely to soldier on.

Last but not least, the GTE plug-in hybrid model will likely receive significant improvements that will boost its electric-only range beyond the current car’s 50 km. The October window will put the Mk8 Golf’s introduction just after the new ID.3 electric hatch, which is set to debut at the Frankfurt Motor Show next month.

GALLERY: Mk8 Volkswagen Golf spyshots

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 06, 2019 at 3:38 pm

Wow quite exciting for the new Golf especially the GTI version. With 290hp it could do the 0-100kmh run under 6secs. The new interior is also a big upgrade. Its almost going to be on par with an A class.

• Shukor bin Azman on Aug 06, 2019 at 7:28 pm

If Proton was not arrogant and did not action with VW, we will have this as a rebadged Proton. We will even have a Proton Tiguan instead of a China car.

• I think the 204hp/450Nm turbo diesel is even more intetesting. Unfortunately we won’t see it on our shores…

• Optimus Prime on Aug 06, 2019 at 3:40 pm

Sell here below 80k.

• Lao Yee on Aug 06, 2019 at 5:23 pm

One thing for sure, despite gear box issue that happened ‘centuries ago’, Golf owner like me does appreciate the daily driving experience. You know the Civic or new Mazda 3 whatsoever hardly steal my interest from current MK7. High chance I would owned the new MK8 once it launched.

• shitwagen on Aug 06, 2019 at 7:41 pm

loll…wowww

• Danny Tay on Aug 06, 2019 at 8:51 pm

meh. so boring. looks more like Chinese MG from afar. interior also bland.

• Huge improvement on the interior design, nice.

• Bmw Boy on Aug 08, 2019 at 12:39 am

Bmw trumps it always. 340i will murder this for around the same price