GALLERY: C27 Nissan Serena J Impul – from RM148k

Here’s a full gallery of the Nissan Serena J Impul, which was first introduced in Malaysia back in December last year. This two-tone example is priced at RM149,888 on-the-road without insurance, but customers can opt for a version with a single-tone black exterior finish for RM2,000 less at RM147,888.

Aesthetic improvements here include a front apron with chrome garnishes for the fog lamps and lower lip, a chrome-plated rear lip, 18-inch Impul Millennium alloys in a black and polished finish (with 225/40 series tyres), as well as mocha-coloured diamond-quilted leather seats. Optional items are an in-car portable cooler box (RM488) and a DVD player head unit with navigation function (RM800).

The rest of the kit list is pretty much identical to the Premium Highway Star variant, and includes automatic LED projector headlamps, powered sliding doors, a seven-inch instrument cluster display, keyless entry and start, a 6.75-inch head unit, dual-zone climate control with rear vents, a 10.1-inch rear LCD panel, six airbags and an around view monitor, just to name a few.

The Serena J Impul retains the same MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine, which serves up 150 PS and 200 Nm of torque. The mill is paired with an Xtronic CVT that drives the front wheels, and is assisted by a 2.6 PS/48 Nm ECO electric motor that replaces the starter motor.

Included in the price is a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty, and the Impul accessories come with a separate three-year or 100,000 km warranty (whichever comes first).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:59 pm

Personally would save a lot of money and get an Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
    • Aaron Koh on Aug 16, 2019 at 9:24 pm

Same here. rather buy lowered Proton Jiaji MPV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Alan Fong on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:40 pm

If its Geely than ok quality. If it is Proton, then stay away. Like the Juara. Imagine driving the yellow Juara…..

• Celup King on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:55 pm

Juara is a Mitsubishi Townbox. Imagine that a Japanese product got no quality….

• Kuih lapis on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:46 pm

Proton Jiaji is an unproven China car. I would rather spend my money for this game changing Nissan Serena. You will feel more confident driving this MPV rather than a China MPV.

• Mohammad Johan Ariffin on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:17 pm

There is a reason why people spend extra money to buy a Japanese car rather than Exora.

1) Better quality
      2) Higher Resale Value
      3) Can go to kenduri house and park right infront of the gate
      4) When you go to SC for a complaint, SC does not tell you, “Bang, what do you expect, this is a Proton lah”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 22
      • Why is Exora doing better than all the Japanese MPVs combined.

1) Unsafe airbags in Japanese cars.
        2) Resale Value has dropped to constant recalls
        3) Kenduri host chase away sohai Japanese cars for blocking his house
        4) Go to SC for a complaint, they tell you there is no such problem because this is a Japanese brand, if there is a problem its your fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Sequerah Pereira on Aug 18, 2019 at 1:02 pm

Proton never have repeat buyers. Nissan always got repeat buyers.

• Celup King on Aug 19, 2019 at 5:56 pm

Is that the reason why Proton sales are increasing while Nissan sales are decreasing?

• Samad Abd Rahman on Aug 18, 2019 at 5:07 pm

best komen ever!

• Muzaffar Shah on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:34 am

Nissan make really good quality cars. I have owned many Nissans before and they can last so long. No wonder you see even a few Nissan Sunny 130Y on the roads today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 15
      • Ais kacang on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:49 pm

Let this be a lesson for Proton to learn to improve their game over quality. 30 years of automotive, Proton didn’t even know their biggest weaknest is their game over quality

• Richard Gomez on Aug 18, 2019 at 7:50 am

All Protons have no RV. Buy today RM80k, next year sell, at most can get RM35k

• Mitchel John on Aug 16, 2019 at 9:17 pm

my god

those rims are hideous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Does C27 Nissan Serena have a spare tyre? If it doesn’t have any, so does it wise to spend more than RM 140 000? Style comes first or a spare tyre as one of important safety?

• stastasta on Aug 20, 2019 at 9:29 am

bmw mercs cost half million but dont have spare tyre. dare you say that bmw merc don’t prioritize safety?

• Still no steering volume control buttons? ‍♂️

• Underpowered car. Should use bigger engine for people sake!

• WesternQMarkz on Aug 18, 2019 at 12:47 am

Get Rolls Royce then. 6000 cc plus. Can you afford road tax ahh hahaha

• khalid on Aug 17, 2019 at 9:19 pm

people tend to save rather than expend..since PH take over..buy Aruz to follow Gomen suggestion for rakyat to save more..

gomen LGE & Azmin acted as poor dad then no money to circulate..saving more, economy stuck.

we need Gomen who have wisdom & know to stimulate economy rather than Gomen who preach saving, saving, tax, cut etc..while looking backward, play politic, blame & hatred

or else we cannot buy this MPV forever..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Ajibkor on Aug 18, 2019 at 8:05 am

We ord spent all… did u see her birkins on tv? lol

• Vader on Aug 19, 2019 at 6:24 pm

Birkins apparently all fakes bought from lazada. So no problem there.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 18, 2019 at 11:45 am

For added price of the car, gives you the ultimate “all show, no go” package.