JPJeBid online number plate bidding system has raked in RM15.6 mil – Johor next with JTR plate series

The JPJeBid online vehicle number plate bidding system has raked in RM15.6 million in revenue from the five states it has been introduced in, within the last four months, The Star reports. According to road transport department (JPJ) vehicle registration numbers unit director Datuk Mohd Rusdi Mohd Darus, Putrajaya and Federal Territory plates have led the way in terms of revenue generated so far.

“In Putrajaya, the department collected RM3.1 million in revenue, followed by Federal Territory (RM1.56 million) and Sabah (RM1.1 million),” he said. The online bidding system has been rolled-out in Putrajaya, Federal Territory, Kedah, Penang and Sabah. It has just been introduced in Johor, and Mohd Rusdi said that Negri Sembilan will be the last state designated for the system, with the introduction there slated for November 28.

He said that the JPJeBid system had been well received so far by the public as it was hassle-free. “Our online system is user-friendly and there is no requirement for documents and bank drafts when bidding for numbers manually, ” he said.

“So far, about 57,165 individuals have registered as bidders under the JPJeBid system,” he revealed, adding that he department expects the revenue collection through the system will to increase by the end of this year.

Meanwhile, Johor JPJ director Razali Wagiman said the state was targeting to collect more than RM1 million in revenue through the system for the JTR plate series. He said that the results of the five-day bid, which starts at midnight today until 11.59 pm on Sunday, will be announced next Monday.

The system began as a pilot project in April with the Putrajaya FC plate series, and the new format was then adopted for serial use starting with the Federal Territory, with the VDN plate series in June. This was followed by its introduction in Kedah. The procedure for registration and the bidding process remains unchanged from that detailed earlier.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• xoxox on Aug 21, 2019 at 11:14 am

Should implement blacklisting to bid for car plates for those have outstanding summons.

• Mikel on Aug 21, 2019 at 11:41 am

Can someone please explain to me what is so special about a number plate? Isn’t it just an identification number? Some people complain about not earning enough money and yet they go and spend thousands of $$$ on a bunch of numbers LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • ACCORD on Aug 21, 2019 at 2:30 pm

U never understand. It’s a status, self esteem and sense of ownership of the special number. Just like a budget car vs luxury car. Pity u….posted this kind of question here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Not Toyota Fan on Aug 21, 2019 at 3:45 pm

Simply put, it’s about satisfying the EGO.

• Mikel on Aug 21, 2019 at 7:40 pm

Budget car vs luxury car?? lol what?? Luxury car has premium materials, exclusive features, nicer design etc. A random number vs a chosen number doesn’t change your car.

• ACCORD on Aug 22, 2019 at 9:19 am

Thatz why I said u never understand. Both budget and luxury are meant for transportation but ppl still opt for luxury cars ore even might range cars. Special number and running number are still a number but ppl still go for special number.

Guess u r stucked somewhere in an unidentified twilight zone. Dude, work hard and earn more money 1st. Perhaps u might understand it one day but I guess that day won’t come…

• One of the terms in the Q&A of the JPJ ebid states that those numbers successfully won cannot be transferred to other third party except closed family members by providing relevant supporting documents. However, there are parties offering the numbers including from the JPJ ebid for sale. Anyone know how they do that despite of the said term/rule?

• JPJ dont allow transfer of the number BEFORE registration. However JPJ cant stop the winning bidder to register the number to a cheap motorcycle and sell the motorcycle along with the number.

• How about the numbers that yet registered on any vehicle? A lot of unregistered numbers, which of course bid and won by the sellers have changed hands and transferred/sold to others? The transferred of the numbers that already registered on the vehicle is non issue..

• John Doe on Aug 21, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Exactly!
      Previously you need a prove of downpayment for a vehicle, and the owner (buyer) needs to go directly to JPJ to get it. Now appears worst.

• Has this system eliminated unofficial and unauthorized agents?

• Crony on Aug 21, 2019 at 2:16 pm

No. We just hire bidding agents that knows the system. No different than before.

• Think you are wrong. Every bidding need to make FULL PAYMENT upon bidding. THis eliminate those runner and agents because no many have that much cash to sustain for every single bid.

• You never heard of payment upfront? I’m so sorry for you. The world of trade must be difficult for some.

• John Doe on Aug 21, 2019 at 12:05 pm

How did JPJeBid rake in 15.6million?
    You need to compare it with historical revenue before making such strong statements.
    There can only be two scenarios for such introduction
    1) Increase in revenue due to higher value biddings. This essentially means the system resulted in the public having to pay alot more for a number.
    2) The opposite of above.

So which of the above scenario applies? What was the ebid intended for? It was introduced for ease, hence if the overall revenue increase, can we say that the ‘convenience’ came with a cost to the bidders directly?

• Have you event tried the ebidding? I did. It is cost me A LOT LESSER for the number that I like. Simply because, there is no one coming to me asking for a cut to get certain number.

• John Doe on Aug 21, 2019 at 4:24 pm

The fact that you engaged a runner to get a number for you cost follows. It’s a no brainer.

Long before the ebidding system was up, car registration owners are supposed to go get the numbers themselves. Which I did twice for two of my cars, successfully got the number I want at a cost of RM350 directly paid to JPJ.
        All these speculations of costs incurred to get numbers previously are at the full discretion of the previous buyers, don’t push it to JPJ.

All I see now is a speculative system to rake higher revenue for JPJ at the cost of bidders.

• Ghani on Aug 21, 2019 at 12:10 pm

Terbaaeeekk JPJ, Luaskan kuasa mu !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • vVivi Zurianti on Aug 21, 2019 at 12:15 pm

Interestingly, there are large number of ppl so obsessed and willing to pay big money for their plate no. Business must be super good for them, as they could afford expensive plate nos.

Makes me wonder if the number no. would give them the much-needed recognition, or superpower, or just superstition??

For me, I better give the money for charity and care for the unfortunate ppl.

• Good for you. NExt time, do consider SPCA because they really need your charity

• Veyron Owner on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Charity to animal or charity to humans better? Pick one.

• Brian on Aug 21, 2019 at 12:52 pm

Loke is richer by 15.6mil. No wonder baby minister wants to get in the action by proposing to bring Gojek. Money making machines for them.

• Ajibkor on Aug 21, 2019 at 2:54 pm

whut? 15.6mil only?!my 1Mdb make more money

• History Bender on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:04 pm

Why not? I see not problem with it making money for the rakyat. But this?! This only makes money for Loke & co. No one else.

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 21, 2019 at 3:50 pm

Once they smell the money, semua nya OK. Never ever trust what comes out of a politician mouth.

• whats so special about JTR?

• Husni on Aug 21, 2019 at 3:45 pm

It would be good if JPJ could published a comparison table showing how much increase in revenue government has made with the introduction of JPJeBid when compared to the previous “tender” method. Also the percentage of bids received from individual and company bids before and after introducing the new system. This will show the effectiveness of the new method.

• msia driver on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:04 pm

today receive a sms for carplate for sale
    JPY 1
    JGX 2
    JRQ 5
    and so on

hmmm

• Citizien on Aug 21, 2019 at 5:40 pm

The revenue with manual bid and new ebid would be relatively the same as the minimum bids are the same. Or slightly higher with faster/easier ebids. The RM15 bid fee would be offset by the system cost.

The biggest impact would be on the runners revenue. Previously they earn fees for their services. Now they are running out of services (no pun intended) which they can exploit (sorry, perform) eg license/roadtax renewals. Next to do is to open up Puspakom monopoly.

• “Now they are running out of services”
      They are still around, alive and kicking strong. They just found a way around this system full of holes like a swiss cheese.

• Hopefully JPJ can release the full list of winners, after bidding is closed for transparency.