August 2019 week four fuel price – RON 97 up two sen

It’s time once again for another weekly fuel update, and for the coming week, users of RON 97 petrol will have to pay more for the fuel than they did for the past two weeks.

From tomorrow, August 24, 2019, RON 97 will be priced at RM2.51 a litre, which is an increase of two sen from last week. Meanwhile, RON 95 petrol continues to be sold at RM2.08 per litre, the maximum price consumers pay no matter how high market prices push pump prices.

The same can be said of Euro 2M diesel, which continues to retail at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel – which is 10 sen more than Euro 2M diesel – is priced at RM2.28 per litre.

The finance ministry says that according to Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations, RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.21 per litre while diesel would be at RM2.25 per litre without the price cap in place. The government added that it will absorb an estimated RM 55.48 million in fuel subsidy costs for the period of August 24 to 30.

These prices will remain in effect until August 30, when the next set of fuel pricing adjustments will be announced. This is the 33rd edition of the weekly fuel pricing format, which is announced every Friday.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• potato on Aug 23, 2019 at 5:17 pm

Still the cheapest petrol in the region. Syukuurr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Mohd Makbul bin Sabtu on Aug 23, 2019 at 5:52 pm

I hope our regular troll does not come here with his 50 different dupes to create an impression people are angry with the Government. We don’t need fake news.

Also, the other fake news of RM1.50/L petrol has been confirmed fake. PH never made such promise in their manifesto in GE14.

Time to be honest and keep PT clean for honest discussions. If you are frustrated, don’t vent your frustrations here. This is a forum for car discussions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 29
      • BN cybertroopers love to lie. Worse still, they are racist..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • pokdemo on Aug 23, 2019 at 8:02 pm

with gojek, even mat rempits with the Govt now.

• EDITOR on Aug 23, 2019 at 11:31 pm

I think we have made it very clear that you had more duplicate identities that your counterpart you are accusing.
        HINT: You and Michael Gomez here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Kassim B Khairul on Aug 24, 2019 at 12:36 am

What is interesting I found under my searched comment, I saw this;
        Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Aug 09, 2019 at 6:41 pm
        I hope our regular troll don’t come here again and create 50 different dupes.

Digging further I find these;
        Bernard Chandran on Jul 26, 2019 at 10:13 pm
        I hope our regular troll does not come here with his countless of dupes

YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 15, 2019 at 6:23 pm
        I hope our regular troll here does not come here with his 50 different dupes

So tell me, are you referring to yourself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
        • Yup. You just found our resident troll using many dupe names. Later you will see him spamming the dislike button on your comments and those others critical to his paymasters. He isn’t all that smart for making it too obvious though. That’s what PH gets when they pay peanuts for their troopers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
          • Aura89 on Aug 26, 2019 at 7:19 am

Hang on, so your saying that all these while all these supportive comments were just the fabrication of one person? Now I get it why these messages were eerily so similar from one week to another. No way it could be so repetitive if its was by random dudes. I see now.

• Yep. PH lies pecah tembeleng just like P2 CEO lies that Axia b4 cant put ESC but now suddenly can. As I says b4, the truth will reveal itself sooner than later.

• Angry Voters on Aug 24, 2019 at 11:08 pm

You don’t take your own advice as far as we’re concerned.

• Sprite on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:11 pm

Expensive or not the money we pay for the fuel will be used to build our country so there is no need to show game over frustations in here especially asking for RM1.50/L fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Aura89 on Aug 24, 2019 at 1:38 pm

I love the Pakatan supporters now that Pakatan increase petrol prices they are like yeah its no problem. But when BN increase they will be like it s doom and gloom and it s all BN fault. Really love their one sided, blind sided support. Keep it up.

• Brunei: “Here, hold my …shisha”

• John Sambung Bayar on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:45 pm

Petrol is cheap now because Government can save a lot of money. Past 20 years our petrol so expensive because there was lots of mismanagement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Unknown on Aug 25, 2019 at 12:34 am

“Petrol is cheap now because Government can save a lot of money.”
          nonsense. government is losing money because crude oil prices is low. we are an oil exporting country.

“petrol so expensive because there was lots of mismanagement.”
          going to have to call bs on that. petrol prices fluctuate with world crude oil prices.

• Richard on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:52 pm

Don’t be too pampered and always asking freebies like the residents of Putrajaya. Our petrol is already so cheap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Copy Paste on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:21 pm

Copy paste: “Aiyo, soon will see retail items’ price tags soaring… I thought the new gomen said bring down fuel price below RM1.50, if they won last election.”

• Murali Pillai on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:49 pm

Petrol in Malaysia is so cheap. I am so grateful for such cheap pricing.

Syukur! Syukur! Syukur!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Adi Birla on Aug 23, 2019 at 10:36 pm

Car prices have gone down compared to GST days. Lucky we don’t have GST now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Copy Paste on Aug 24, 2019 at 1:25 am

Copy paste: “No need subsidy as the intended amount is insignificant. Then, dont regulate the price but just set the max ceiling price. Let station owners decide how much cheaper they want to sell. Most people will bark if this is done as they will said all petrol station will sell at ceiling price.

That wont happen….those barking will be surprised at how low some company or station can sell their fuel at. It will be lower than what the gomen tell us all this while thats for sure. Petrol station profit depends a lot on volume they sell. There will be some naughty (in a good way) station operators selling at very interesting price.

Please remember that until today the gomen did not fullfil their promise to share the formula on how to calculate the petrol selling price based from world oil price.”

• RON.aldo on Aug 23, 2019 at 5:23 pm

Starting next week RON 95 will increase by 15 sen. Mati lah…

• Copy Paste on Aug 24, 2019 at 1:29 am

Copy paste: “Once the RON95 subsidy is removed, lots of cases of “Harga Barang Naik” will happen. Business ppl will hike up up prices, or take advantage to make more profit.

After price hikes, the prices will not come down, as we have witnessed at all eateries, shops, etc.

I hope the govt will not be “tikus baiki labu”.

Just wait and see how this works out…”

• Harimau on Aug 23, 2019 at 5:26 pm

We must be grateful that our petrol price is still cheap today. If follow previous gomen, maybe fuel price is already RM3.50/L and everyone will be game over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Christian Wong on Aug 23, 2019 at 5:59 pm

If follow previous Government, I think now already RM4 and not RM3.50

They need the money to buy more Birkin and to support the largest Civil Service int he world – 1.6 million Government Servants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Dr Strange on Aug 24, 2019 at 12:54 pm

China, Russia & USA have the largest standing armies. That alone tell me that you’re just bullshitting here.

• Vader on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:35 pm

fuel price already RM3.50/L is not game over.
      if buy new car then sambung bayar is game over

• Brian on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Why must be grateful for cheap petrol prices? Your bosses
      don’t pay you well for trolling here? So pitiful. When everything too cheap our salary also cheap, yours moreso. Let the market determine petrol prices and our salaries can go up based on market forces. If you need to be grateful for cheap petrol, you aren’t working hard enough. Find a better job and work harder so you don’t have to be dependent on cheap petrol.

I know you can do it, just work harder in an honest job. You have no choice because when your bosses goes thru with their plan to float RON95, you’re finished. So ditch your troll gig and work harder to find a job that pays better. You can do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • yep. stesen minyak bosses this Happy weekend

• John Sambung Bayar on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:48 pm

Brian, work hard instead of always asking for privileges, discounts and entitlement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Adi Birla on Aug 23, 2019 at 10:38 pm

too much of plundering and leakages before. Now it is cleaner times. Even Petronas money is now used for the search of more oil instead of personal piggy bank like before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Dredd on Aug 24, 2019 at 12:27 pm

Petronas money is used to sponsor unnecessary MotoGP team. Even budget for their yearly Merdeka advert have been scaled down now, I don’t see their award winning TV adverts anymore.
        Your flimsy reasoning don’t sound convincing to me.

• Chavez on Aug 24, 2019 at 7:41 pm

Most of the plundering and leakages are done by the current PM and we stupidly voted for him back. Now we are seeing more plundering and leakages as never before, cause PH are trying their best to eat as much before their 5 years is up and they get the boot for underdelivering on their promises. Sad that Malaysia have to face such fate.

• Copy Paste on Aug 25, 2019 at 1:47 pm

Copy paste: “the biggest difference is during DSNR time, the government can afford to pay both BRIM and fuel subsidy!!!!!”

• Kassim B Khairul on Aug 23, 2019 at 5:27 pm

Go up after Raya, as I have predicted. Fuel prices not really follow market rates as they have promised but ikut suka hati politicians whether go up or down. Until now they cannot show us their calculation formula yet they keep saying they are more transparent and clean. Semua tak boleh dipercayai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • Michael Gomez on Aug 23, 2019 at 5:57 pm

5 years ago also same but you never say anything. Now you bark so loud. Last time also go up and down suka hati. Where were you then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
      • Kassim B Khairul on Aug 24, 2019 at 12:25 am

I was attending Pakatan rallies and demos, taken in by their sweet promises and idealistic dreams. Where were you? Still in diapers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Stanley Ong on Aug 24, 2019 at 2:10 pm

This is a car site. Nobody is interested in your political agenda or whose ceramah you were attending.

• u’re an idiot if u believe 100% in politicians lol

• Sembang on Aug 23, 2019 at 6:02 pm

Give us your calculation then. Don’t talk only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Kassim B Khairul on Aug 24, 2019 at 12:28 am

I searched and copied back my comment from 9 Aug; Hari Raya come suddenly turun. After Hari Raya month, straight naik 10sen! Lawak kerajaan playing around with fuel prices. I provided mine, when is PH going to provide theirs?

• prices for petrol just need to come back down to a sane level, period. PH, you had just one job and you screwed that up big time.

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 23, 2019 at 7:48 pm

Even petrol price drop to RM1.50/ltr, Malaysian still wont be rich. Maybe can save couple of bucks for roti canai with telor, and teh tarik meal on every weekend.

• Crony on Aug 26, 2019 at 12:18 am

Nobody would get rich but at least will make life less sufferable and to make good one of the promises by Pakatan to the people.

• Amran on Aug 24, 2019 at 11:12 pm

Harga turun macai puji guan eng. Ni harga dh naik kenapa x marah guan eng? Dulu harga dh turun, skrg harga degil tanak turun..

• John Doe on Aug 25, 2019 at 8:49 pm

Lol it’s so obvious these trolls come from the ministry itself. Trying so hard to defend their ill thought initiatives. We are clear what a reasonable Malaysian wants, it made it very clear in GE14. so if you come in here telling you dont need subsidies, and say harga turun minyak is fake news, youre just exposing yourself.

• frankC on Aug 25, 2019 at 9:29 pm

logically don’t expect petrol price to stay the same forever. Naturally inflation will catch up with government and they ‘will’ waste a lot of fund into subsidy and missed the whole lot more to gain from human resource development …
    time to be frugal with petrol and not waste it in too much unnecessary trips or lock yourself in idled car with aircon running full blast-> very common scene in m’sia coz petrol is cheap

• It's simple really on Aug 26, 2019 at 9:08 am

Cancel all fuel subsidies and car excise duties.