Proton Iriz R5 wins Woodpecker Stage Rally 2019

The Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM)-built Proton Iriz R5 is on a roll, now adding a win at the Woodpecker Stage Rally 2019 last weekend – the sixth round of the BTRDA rally series – to its string of victories. This comes after the car’s homologation for FIA-sanctioned events, including those on the World Rally Championship (WRC) calendar.

The MEM Iriz R5 continues to be piloted by driver Ollie Mellors and co-driver Ian Windress, completing the five special stages with a time of 43 minutes 34 seconds, ahead of George Lepley who drove a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X to second place, 20 seconds behind Mellors. Stephen Petch in his Ford Fiesta WRC to third with a gap of 33 seconds, while Ian Bainbridge took fourth in the Skoda Fabia R5 with a 53-second gap.

Mellors recorded the fastest times in four out of five stages at the Woodpecker Stage Rally, including a 16-second lead in the second stage despite colliding with a hay bale. The MEM-built Iriz R5 continued its streak of fastest times save for the final stage, which was enough to collect the win.

“I have to say the car was truly perfect today and there is so much more to come out of it, and me. It just seems to want to keep giving and feels great on the gravel, no matter what the surface or grip change in the stages. We have won a BTRDA round before which was back in 2018, but this is it’s first since being ratified by the FIA so it makes it even more special for the Mellors Elliot Motorsport team,” said Mellors.

“I would also like to dedicate this win to all our friends in Malaysia, as the 31st August is Hari Merdeka – the national day of Malaysia which commemorates the Malayan Declaration of Independence back in 1957. It’s a very poignant moment that we can give Proton a rally win on this very special day for them,” he added.

The Proton Iriz R5 has been built to comply with R5 competition regulations, and therefore has been specified with a Mitsubishi 4B11T engine sleeved down to 1.6 litres. This is the only R5 competition car that has been homologated for both left- and right-hand drive formats according to MEM, and componentry features Xtrac driveline, Reiger suspension, Brembo brakes and Cosworth electronics.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Amran on Sep 03, 2019 at 4:08 pm

Really? Is that using campro engine and punch cvt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • tikus on Sep 03, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Win or lose Proton Iriz sales is still lose from Myvi. This is why Proton still have a lot to learn from game changing Perodua to improve their game over Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 29
      • Myvi suitable for aunty go to pasar buy vegetables not for driver. A driver need a car like Iriz.
        So tikus just go back eat the roti bought from pasar. Iriz better than Myvi, enough say.

• Proton kucing no need learn anything from Perodua tikus. In fact, if Malaysian changing sure tikus will less (please dun throw rubbish anywhere, make sure our environment is clean). For your info, tikus quantities definitely more than kucing but never able beat the kucing. We know previously kucing fall sick that’s why tikus a lot on the street. Recover need some time, hopefully kucing can be stronger again and kill more tikus.

• Aikon on Sep 04, 2019 at 9:22 am

The article isn’t talking about sales. So, where is the Myvi in racing?

• Proton Iriz edisi Mellors Elliot konpem laku keras!

• That Iriz mod already, the only thing need to highlight here is professional driver never pick Myvi for rally race because the 590 MPa Myvi not reliable for the tough race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • casual rider on Sep 03, 2019 at 4:40 pm

i know you trying to be sarcastic but you look stupid altogether bro

• None of the competitors r using their ori engines nor gearbox. U shud read more about topline rally competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Sigh…do you even read?

Anyway congratulations to the team!

• estima buruk on Sep 03, 2019 at 5:51 pm

read carefully, using mitsu engine

• Myvi let you use 2JZ also, can win anything? Oh wait, P2 fanboys like you would say P2 no need go racing also sales good. Yeah, just say got no balls lah.

• kesian menulis pandai, membaca belum boleh..jangan putus asa untuk pandai membaca yaa

• Aikon on Sep 04, 2019 at 9:19 am

Do you have a difficulty when it comes to reading? It is in the article. Please respect the writer and read it first.

• Basher have mental issues. Which why he keeps coming with dupe names, copy pasta fake news and bollocks everywhere. Even comparing P1 with supercars. LOL!

• Satekj on Sep 03, 2019 at 4:23 pm

written in article above
    …has been specified with a Mitsubishi 4B11T engine…

• Typical Malaysian on Sep 03, 2019 at 4:36 pm

How thoughtful of them to dedicate the win to Malaysia, though the irony based on the mentalities of most Malaysian. Questioning nonsense and uttering BS rather than just accepting. =)

• Tahniah P1 & Mellors!

• lilytan on Sep 03, 2019 at 5:09 pm

With some brains and sweats, even this lemon can be a winner.

• Brian on Sep 04, 2019 at 8:57 am

Fiesta WRC isn’t some lemon, its a WRC race winner yet still lost to Iriz R5.

• kesian menulis pandai, membaca belum boleh..jangan putus asa untuk pandai membaca yaa

• Pakulupapito on Sep 03, 2019 at 7:59 pm

Wish i could put those evo engine on my iriz

• Jerry on Sep 03, 2019 at 8:42 pm

Truly a sick looking car. Can’t wait to see it in more in WRC!

• Congrats to the MEM team. Basically the Iriz is just a ‘shell’, the other components are non Proton.
    It is clear that MEM is trying to ‘fish’ for Proton sponsorship like what they did before with the Satria Neo Rally cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Dude, no race cars use 100% components from one manufacturer. Even Porsche uses components from other companies. F1 teams all using self-built components? If you want to be a basher, at least be an informed one.

That ‘shell’ you are talking, it’s basically the most important component that form the basis for a good race car. Not just any shell can be used for racing, let alone highly demanding one like rallying.

Trying to get sponsorship deals is part and parcel of racing even for rich teams in F1. But first you need to deliver the results first before anyone is attracted to sponsor you. And MEM delivered the results.

• Engineer on Sep 04, 2019 at 6:24 pm

Nice. Why don’t you take that drivetrain and build it in a eggshell and see if you can survive a race?

• albag on Sep 04, 2019 at 10:05 am

wow I still 1Malaysia logo there.. still relevant in current era?

• s.Ibrahim on Sep 04, 2019 at 11:15 am

With how pakatan is underperforming, I have no doubts 1Malaysia could return once more.