Mercedes-Benz EQ concept interior images revealed

Mercedes-Benz is continuing its teaser campaign ahead of this year’s Frankfurt Motor Show by revealing interior sketches of its new EQ concept, which will make its official debut at the event.

As you’d expect, it’s all very futuristic on the inside, with a large and curved central touchscreen dominating the dashboard, along with smaller displays on each door. The dash itself is exceptionally large, and features a striped motif on its surface along with integrated air vents and another display dedicated to the driver.

While likely a vehicle with autonomous capabilities, the concept retains a steering wheel, although one shaped in an unconventional fashion. Elsewhere, the concept offers seating for up to four passengers, with a floating centre console that extends the length of the cabin. The flat floor and rather roomy interior is likely contributed to by the packaging of the vehicle’s battery pack under the vehicle’s floor.

The German carmaker has yet to reveal if the concept will serve as a preview for an upcoming model, although it’s been rumoured that this could be our first look at the EQS, a fully-electric limousine built on a dedicated modular electric architecture (MEA) platform. We’ll only know more about the purpose of the unnamed EQ concept when the Frankfurt Motor Show kicks off in a few days’ time.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz EQS spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sarjit Singh Ahluwalia on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:35 pm

Mercedes got a vision. They started this EQ long ago. Today, it is bearing fruit. They do not rest on their laurels when they launch a car. After MB launches a car, they are already working on their next car to be launched 7 years time.

Unlike Proton. Today launch car, next 7 years all goyang kaki in opis and relax. On the 6th year only worry about the next launch to be launched the next year.

• Brian on Sep 06, 2019 at 7:30 pm

Congrats Proton! Not only are your cars in the world stage of racing car games enjoyed by millions, you are now being compared with a 136 year old, well respected automaker. You certainly have achieved much in your 30 young years. Keep up the great job guys & gals!

• Oyster Card on Sep 07, 2019 at 6:51 am

Do dream on. This is why Proton is where it is today. They have this syiok sendiri attitude. Launch Waja also say it is “Better handling and higher quality” than BMW. Call it the BMW of Asia

Imagine, launch Waja 20 years ago also can throw taik on BMW and ridicule them

• Celup King on Sep 07, 2019 at 12:58 pm

Wait, I don’t see here anybody from Proton is ‘syiok sendiri’. All I see here is basher ‘syiok sendiri’ comparing Proton to Mercedes.

• Sanjay on Sep 07, 2019 at 7:45 pm

I agree with you, this is why Proton has failed. Too much ego thinking they are so big but actually jaguh kampung

• EDITOR on Sep 09, 2019 at 3:28 pm

Too much basher with jaguh kampung mentality, which is Perodua never success out of Malaysia

• Edwin L on Sep 06, 2019 at 8:20 pm

Here I thought john must be the only person optimistic enough to put Mercedes Benz and Proton together in a comment. Looks like someone else felt the same way too.
      Proton has come a long way to be mentioned together with a renowned brand like Mercedes Benz. Credits to them and I guess john wasn’t so crazy after all. So credits to him too!

• John = Gary = Alan = Truckers on Sep 06, 2019 at 10:01 pm

sad when john has to answer himself with a new dupe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Edwin L on Sep 07, 2019 at 3:56 pm

I’ve seen many (mostly yours) but you just take cake for being a real jerk to accuse me what you do yourself. You don’t have to hide behind the names, we know who you really are and your fondness to “talk” with yourself.

• He is just shameless bro. Ignore him trying to wank his lil didi in public.

• Dont get angry bro. Just get even by revealing his true face everytime he bs here

• Jeremy on Sep 08, 2019 at 7:09 pm

Dun let this idiot get u up bro. He been calling everyone (john) in other articles. Dun let his crazy get to u

• Edwin John on Sep 07, 2019 at 7:47 pm

Now john has become Edwin. Pls stop all your dupes john, we already know who you are.

• EDITOR on Sep 09, 2019 at 3:27 pm

Enough with your nonsense. Pls keep PT clean

• vVivi Zurianti on Sep 07, 2019 at 5:59 pm

the seat looks like swiss-roll……