2019 Toyota Corolla now open for booking in Malaysia – Toyota Safety Sense offered; est price from RM129k

After teasing the arrival of the all-new 2019 Toyota Corolla recently, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has now announced that the order books for the C-segment sedan are now open. According to the company, the model will be officially referred to as the Corolla, but the badging on the car will still include the “Altis” name.

UPDATE: UMWT has uploaded full specifications of the Corolla on its official website, and we’ve updated this post to reflect the new information.

For the market launch, which is set to take place soon, two variants of the Corolla will be offered. The range starts with the 1.8E that has an estimated price of RM128,888, while further up is the 1.8G at RM136,888. By comparison, the 11th-gen car sold here came in three variants – 1.8E (RM120,000), 1.8G (RM123,000) and 2.0V (RM138,000).

Both variants are powered by the 2ZR-FE 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine, which serves up 139 PS at 6,400 rpm and 173 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm; a Shiftmatic CVT (with seven virtual speeds) driving the front wheels is also standard.

Standard equipment on the 1.8E include 16-inch alloy wheels with 205/55 series tyres, halogen headlamps, LED taillights, front and rear parking sensors keyless entry and start, a standard instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch TFT LCD colour display, single-zone automatic climate control with rear vents, a 6.8-inch touchscreen head unit with six speakers, black fabric upholstery, and an eight-way powered driver seat.

The 1.8G variant adds on things like 17-inch alloys with 225/45 series tyres, LED headlamps, automatic wipers, an Optitron meter with a seven-inch display, dual-zone climate control, black leather upholstery, an electronic parking brake, paddle shifters, rear side window sun shades, a Qi wireless charger, a panoramic view monitor, as well as front and rear digital video recorders.

The last two items are optional for the 1.8E – RM2,700 for the panoramic view monitor and RM1,100 for the dual DVRs – and both variants can also be specified with a Vehicle Telematics System (VTS) for an additional RM1,700, which lets you determine your vehicle’s real-time location via a mobile app.

As for the safety kit, both the 1.8E and 1.8G are equipped with seven airbags (front, side curtain and driver knee), Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TRC), ABS with EBD and brake assist, Hill-start Assist Control (HAC), Emergency Stop Signal (ESS), tyre pressure monitoring system, and Isofix child seat anchors (rear outer seats).

However, the Toyota Safety Sense suite of systems is reserved for the 1.8G, and it includes Pre-Collision System (PCS), Lane Departure Alert (LDA) with Steering Assist & Lane Tracing Assist (LTA), Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC), (Automatic High Beam (AHB) and Blind Spot Monitor (BSM).

The 12th-generation Corolla is now underpinned by the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) GA-C platform, and carries an overhauled design with revised dimensions. It now measures 4,630 mm long, 1,780 mm wide and 1,435 mm tall, which makes it 10 mm longer, five mm wider and 45 mm lower than the outgoing sedan; the wheelbase remains unchanged at 2,700 mm.

Buyers will get to choose from five exterior finishes – Celestite Grey Metallic, Silver Metallic, Attitude Black, Red Mica Metallic and White Pearl Crystal Shine – the last option costs an additional RM800. Additionally, each purchase will include a five-year/unlimited-mileage factory warranty.

GALLERY: 2019 Toyota Corolla Altis (Thailand-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• azhar on Sep 12, 2019 at 3:45 pm

1.8 engine…what a turn off…honda will smile :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • 25or6to4 on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:31 pm

The old 2.0 engine is not that powerful to begin with. Only 6 PS more power than the 1.8 lol. What UMW need to bring is the 2 liter dynamic force engine, but looks like toyota is not bringing the engine to ASEAN yet.

• skodamalaysia on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Where is the 1.6 from thailand? We want cheaper road tax like the civic 1.5t

• 1.8L is an easy go for highway up to 160km/h with ease. Paired with sequential CVT, it’s smooth.

H-RV SUV also 1.8L but selling RM 125k with under spec safety features.

Same weight vehicle, same engine output.
        Corrola is more aerodynamic, more comfortable. H-RV use torsion beam like Jazz, even H-RV sofa also same like Jazz. comfort like B-segment.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:15 pm

Already told you guys no TURBO for sure

• Mercedes or Toyota Corolla? on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:32 pm

Now can get 2012 Mercedes E250 with 211 bhp engine for RM70k.

The remaining RM70k I save from buying this Toyota, I can use to buy extended warranty from Opal for RM2000 per year.
      I can buy 5 years warranty for this Merc for RM10k.

I still left RM60k to jolly and yet, I will be using a Mercedes!

• X50 pls on Sep 12, 2019 at 11:53 pm

X70 will be launching….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Christian Wong on Sep 13, 2019 at 8:18 am

Prices are high because it is a GLC and it needs the money to feed the overbloated 1.6 million Government servants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • X50 pls on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:23 am

Carry over from last generation…. Haiz… RIP.. Toyota nvr learn…. At least latest dynamic force engine + 8 speed auto… No more halogen headlights… Still reasonable…. RIP rip rip…

• U mean like the Honda civic 1.5 Turbo LAG? Such a turned off…

• Murad Zahrin on Sep 12, 2019 at 3:52 pm

Wow, what a great price. At this price, the Corolla will sell super well.

I rather pay slightly more and get a world renowned Japanese car than buying some rebadged China car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 65
    • tikus lagi?! on Sep 12, 2019 at 9:38 pm

Ah, every new car other than Proton launches you would say ‘pay slightly more to get this and that’. In the end, you’re still driving your Kancil.

• Isobel Chin on Sep 12, 2019 at 10:35 pm

In a group of consumers, theres always one foolish with his money and make poor choices. Looks like we had found one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
      • Unknown on Sep 13, 2019 at 8:17 am

Toyota & P2 owners no brain one. Which why they keep saying “takpayah pikir, beli Toyota/P2 saja” becoz Toyota & P2 owners mana ada otak, so tak boleh pikir lorr.

• X50 pls on Sep 12, 2019 at 11:56 pm

X50 owner will be laughing at u, while the pay less and get more technology and better spec… 0-100 7.9s…. 1.8L sedan can’t even over take a mini 1.5L turbo SUV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Michael Gomez on Sep 13, 2019 at 8:19 am

china car is still china car. Akira aircon is not the same as Daikin or Mitsubishi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Not Toyota Fan on Sep 13, 2019 at 10:24 am

I rather pay slightly LESS and get a world renowned Japanese car, HONDA Civic

Heck, if I want to pay slightly more and get a world renowned Japanese car, buy a MAZDA 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 12, 2019 at 3:53 pm

I want to know whether it is locally assembled or fully imported.

• Sabri Tahir on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:35 pm

BMW Malaysia now selling their 318i brand new car for RM160k with 5 years free warranty and service.

You only have to pay RM20k for a BMW.

Malaysians are being cheated. Toyota price now near to BMW price. UMW thinks we are suckers.

GLC oh GLC. Tipu rakyat lagi

• 318i is crap la bro. Damn slow 9.1secs 0 to 100. Civic 1.5 jetta 1.4 all faster 8+. Buy 328i 5.9secs 2nd hand la for 100k+

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Toyota Corolla 1989 to 2019 on Sep 12, 2019 at 3:56 pm

I first bought my brand new Toyota Corolla in 1989 for RM20k

30 years later, the Toyota Corolla in Malaysia jump to RM140k. That is a 700% price jump.

In Japan, from 1989 to 2019, the Toyota Corolla only increased 50% in price.

I really don’t know how in Malaysia, it can jump 700% in price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 10
    • Msia drivet on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Because our country is suck roled by someone.
      Why not 1 MYR = 4 USD …lolzz.

• Still using takata right

• Sammy Loo on Sep 12, 2019 at 8:33 pm

this means Malaysia is doing a lot more better than Japan, we are on the way to become high income nation!

• Isobel Chin on Sep 12, 2019 at 10:39 pm

Ini semua salah Madey! Oh sh!t, he is back!

• Gabriel on Sep 12, 2019 at 10:41 pm

The pricing is simply ridiculous. I still suspect that the new government secretly raised taxes to all of car makers in Malaysia. Lets wait to see whether the facelifted civic will jump in price as well or not. If it does, there will be some substance to my suspicion. I sincerely hope not…

• X50 pls on Sep 12, 2019 at 11:57 pm

Bro 20k can’t even buy an E spec Axia or 300cc Zontes bike…

• Joe Hafiz on Sep 13, 2019 at 7:50 am

haha bro, good one

THE FACT = Malaysia gomen need more money from RAKYAT MARHAEN than rakyat ELITE.

majority Malaysian is MISKIN said Tun Mahathir,
      is useless take TAX MONEY from org kaya’kaya coz amat kurang that cannot profit from them

dunia’dunia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 2
  • Bottom spec Altis more expensip than top spec Civic. Konpem DoA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 40
  • It looks like the Civic facelift isn’t going to face any challenges in the C-segment category. The only question is will its domination be closer to 80% or 90% of the segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • 25or6to4 on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:38 pm

If UMW wants to challenge the civic, they need to CKD it and use the 2 liter dynamic force engine. Not gonna happen since C l-segment sedans are not volume sellers anymore. Heard rumors they are focusing on CKD SUV’s in Bukit Raja next year, so a CKD Rav4 is more probable.

• X50 pls on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:02 am

X50 will be laughing… Soon Proton will take back No. 1 sales after launching X50… Killed all hrv, crv, civic, city, jazz, brv, altis, chr, Yaris, Vios, aruz, … All thses challenges No fight at all, in term of engine power, interior and exterior design, cheaper car insurance fee, road tax….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Hey stupid x50 is a suv.. No need compare with c segment sedan. Ur stupidity isnoure sht.. Suv n sedan isntotally in different category… Would u compare a lorry with motorbike?? Obviously lorry has jore hp, torque space safety thn bike but doest it justify the functionality n purpose??

• redpilled on Sep 13, 2019 at 8:13 am

exactly. even though to me the corolla looks better than the civic, inside and out, three things are going to work against it in our market –
      1)Price, Civic base model 1.8 is way cheaper than the 1.8E- the only advantage it has over the civic one(1) extra airbag and tire pressure monitoring (somebody please correct me if wrong). IMHO not worth 20k premium over Civic 1.8
      2)powertrain (shoud’ve gone turbo)- 137 hp/128 lbft (173Nm) vs 171 hp/ 162 lbft (220Nm). nuff said!
      3) road tax- 1.8 vs 1.5

many potential car buyers are not going to pay a premium for a product thats somewhat inferior, just to be different. including me.

• Why do we always get the uglier Toyota versions here.. So not appealing to the younger market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • Not Toyota Fan on Sep 13, 2019 at 10:28 am

THIS is Toyota attempt to appeal to younger consumers, compare to previous generation Unker design, this believe it or not, is supposedly to be more “cool”

• Lol. The American version is way way nicer than ours. Seriously younger generations buys looks and honestly not many of us actually cares about cheaper road tax by like how much? Or how much power do u get. Usable power and good looks honestly win the race.

• Susukotak on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:09 pm

the price always higher than civic. Why UMW?

• Worth Worth to buy Altis on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:21 pm

Bye bye Mazda 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
  • Sgt Scoop on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Very strange pricing decisions by Toyota. Almost RM130k for the lower spec version? The base Civic is RM108k and you can probably get a discount on that. The Camry is almost RM200k while BMW is selling off 330e for RM175k. Has Toyota given up on trying to sell cars in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • Bodxh scoop on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:13 pm

Hahahhaha bmw at 175k, u are just plugging nice story from the air. Work hard to get a bezza boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • He is right, the F30 3 series are going for massive discounts. Saw one for 160k (showroom model) two weeks back. So, stick to your horse cart and don’t comment unless you are not checking.

• X50 pls on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:04 am

Recond maybe bro…

• even u can afford the lelong BMW, confirm u cannot afford the battery replacement cost

• X50 pls on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:19 am

Halogen headlights on 1.8E Rm129k…..RIP

• Msia drivet on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Wait next year, a lot come out
    I no need rush to chg car this year..

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:29 pm

New 1.8G vs current 2.0V price…
    Good Luck UMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • No to toyota on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:07 am

Rip Toyota…. Now their after sales service also bad, wait for hrs but service center done nothing, after u left for 10 minutes then suddenly call u complete and charged Rm580. Happen in Bintulu, Sarawak. Rip Toyota Rip.. No more toyota

• LIM GUANO ENG on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Omg…. why are they still using such outdated powertrain from the 90s??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Padang on Sep 12, 2019 at 9:53 pm

More reliable, they are master of reliable, any new tech will be uncertain & untested.

• Kimberly on Sep 14, 2019 at 4:37 pm

New tech also means new spare parts have to stock up and having to re-train your technicians.

These are costs to UMW that can eat into profits.

• X50 pls on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:22 am

Carry over from last generation…. Haiz… RIP.. Toyota nvr learn…. At least latest dynamic force engine + 8 speed auto… No more halogen headlights… Still reasonable…. RIP rip rip…

• sir rhys lee on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:32 pm

cars remain and possible will be more expensive, even in malaysia baharu. welcome to the harsh reality.

• dong gor on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:33 pm

130k for an entry level C segment Jepunis…hehe. one should ask “what you expect from UMW TOYOTA?” right. Very true indeed. The recent pricing of all the sedans suddenly make the X70 a very good option!!!

• Announcer on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:34 pm

Now we are off to the comments, where we eagerly await for Malaysians to start their complaining, i mean start their debate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • lilytan on Sep 12, 2019 at 4:58 pm

Thai gets hybrid and valvematic engine. We get the lesser dual vvti, a 12 years old engine. Its a huge turn off for a promising car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • X50 pls on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:14 am

If offer dynamic force engine + 8 speed auto maybe considering it…. But…. Sorry Rip Toyota, nvr learn…. Outdated and sell at higher price….

• Li Peng on Sep 13, 2019 at 10:53 am

Malaysians care for a clean environment! They buy the engines nobody else wants any more and would have been thrown in the dustbin.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 12, 2019 at 5:12 pm

From 129k?

So this starts where the top of the line civic turbo premium ends, ok at least close to is as prices for the top spec with honda sensing isn’t known yet.

UMW better be throwing the kitchen sink in with that sort of prices.

• Buloh on Sep 12, 2019 at 5:39 pm

all looks good in this new corolla except the price….

• wahaha on Sep 12, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Carry over engine again

• Mason on Sep 12, 2019 at 5:59 pm

How to fight honda civic!!! 1.5turbo full specs is cheaper than ur 1.8G rm136888…

• X50 pls on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:12 am

Coming X50 lol… 7.9s, how’s civic performance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • X50 top speed 197kph..n its a b segmebt suv.. Ml how?? Only loosers keep talking bout x50 everwhere

• kakiku on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:03 pm

good luck with that price umw. now honda will always be on top

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:12 pm

Wow 129k and it comes with….halogen headlights.

• Sam KK Loo on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:24 pm

Personally at RM137k, i can buy 2 cars already – 1 auto and 1 manual (a Honda Jazz/City – wait for all new version at RM80k – RM90k and a Persona Standard MT at RM42k) with extra RM5k – RM15k to spare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • You cash buyer? Or you take two loans instead of one?

• X50 pls on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:10 am

X50… Others no need to see already… None of them can challenge interior n exterior design, value for money and engine power 1.5L from volvo plus dual clutch 7.9s, 0 to 100km/hr

• Whytoyota on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:55 pm

Gerard Lye, can ask Toyota/UMW why are they not using the newer turbo engines and only gives us the NA and write an article on it Safety kit and looks is top notch. But the engine is a grave letdown. Why they cannot follow Honda.

• Rulered on Sep 12, 2019 at 8:04 pm

Nak lumba dgn mazda ke? (Price wise)

• Jaguh on Sep 12, 2019 at 8:25 pm

Remember they took so many years to carry out such an important safety related recall campaign

• Ibnu bakrin on Sep 12, 2019 at 9:14 pm

Seperti dijangka, harga mahal dari civic. Kalau Honda dapat bawak masuk Crider kat sini, mmg bye bye la Corolla, bye bye Toyota. Tentang optional accessories tu lagi satu, mahal nak gila. Beli online kat shopee atau aliexpress lagi murah. Upah kedai pun lebih kurang RM100. Cekik darah betul la UMW ni. Dari pasang VTS yg berharga RM 1.7k, baik aku beli GPS tracker bawah RM 300, masuk sim kad XOX atau red one, bulan bulan bayar rm 8 ke rm 10. Pastu GPS tracker sorokkan dlm kereta, abis crita. Murah.

• salgoodguy on Sep 12, 2019 at 9:29 pm

umw toyota, u said corolla in a class of its own..sounds syok sendiri, by the way..please dont do TGR to boost your ugly car sale.

• 2ZR-FE engine…introduced in 2007 ^^

• Even with carry over engine, there’s still a lot of buyer.
    We can’t deny that there are some people who would still buy despite the higher price tag and and carry over engine.
    Toyota is still a good brand to some people.
    You can always buy a Honda.
    It’s a matter of choice.

• Huhaa on Sep 13, 2019 at 12:51 am

most ppl dont understand why toyota and mazda dare to price it much higher than honda. a simple google search will do.
    most of these ignorant ppl are those who cannot afford it anyway.

• Superboy on Sep 13, 2019 at 6:38 am

I prefer NA engine since i drive a lot so no need complicated turboengine. Btw, i also waiting for new cerato whether it can equip the same features

• vVivi Zurianti on Sep 13, 2019 at 8:38 am

This toyota corolla never give much increase in performance…..except increase of its price.

I am sure there are still dunggus out there willing to buy this corolla, and be slaughtered left, right, up down by UMW

• Finally the god car is here with the best RV of all time. 120k for a top notch japanese C segment family sedan is quite a bang for the buck. The safety feature is also top notch. As usual, expect to be the best selling sedan in the world.

• Ben Yap on Sep 13, 2019 at 9:57 am

This altis sales will be worst than the korean cars. honda civic will continue to dominate the market. an old tech engine going for almost RM130K is insane just like Mazda. Maybe both big bosses came out yam cha and said “I feel like screwing the malaysians with our high price cars. we jack the price kaw kaw and screw these malaysians. come join me in this screwdriver program”.

• johnnas on Sep 18, 2019 at 1:02 pm

if there’s 1 thing u can be sure of, is whenever PT comes up with any read regarding C-segment sedan, our little 1.5t Civic fanboy here is sure to show up. so how r things with u, Ben Yap? Pardon me but I’ve been away from PT for quite a while, so what’s new with ur almighty market dominating Civic turbo? Have u been riding ur Colnago? anything else to gloat?

• Li Peng on Sep 13, 2019 at 10:46 am

Toyota shall also include the “no-acceleration” safety feature as standard in Malaysia, as most Toyota’s are driven by elderly people here.

• Elderly Person on Sep 16, 2019 at 2:47 pm

Yes, i don’t see a need to accelerate more than i need to. Is that an issue?

• Zoom Zoom on Sep 13, 2019 at 11:55 am

Nothing special on this new Corolla. No wow for the design and just carry over old engine & gearbox. Diff is the better TNGA new platform. Base model 1.8 from 130k is expensive but not too bad lar if compare to Mazda 3 1.5 base 140k. Civic will continue to lead in this segment.

• To be fair on Sep 13, 2019 at 3:33 pm

Before anyone jump to conclusion about gov increase tax, i was thinking designing new car (excluding the engine in altis case) with all the new feature will no doubt push the cost up. This and add with labour cost that most likely increase every year ( hey, your the engineer, dun tell me your salary stagnant 6 years if your’re an ok performer), pretty much explains the cost up. Unless you can prove government increase the tax since last year.
    I’m not siding with anyone. Just voicing my small experience in detail costing.

• Robinhood on Sep 13, 2019 at 4:49 pm

With this kind of pricing and the products specs, rational consumers will take the Civic FC anytime. Maybe the Toyota fan boys are prepared to pay more for a low specs vehicle.

• Imran on Sep 13, 2019 at 7:39 pm

Toyota should improve in ASEAN countries. There are more and nicer choices in America and it’s homeland Japan. Direct import from Japan is the best.

• cheap on Sep 16, 2019 at 1:49 pm

cheap interior, especially central console, and awful armrest.

• NAZARRUDIN on Sep 26, 2019 at 1:11 pm

No engine cover, looks messy. The previous engine looks better

• Toyota will profit billion after cutting corners here and there…

• Rm2k gaji on Sep 05, 2020 at 3:11 am

Just buy your proton piece of susu tin and happy with it lah don’t need talk cock here since you can’t afford car up to 100k,just go get a proper job lah don’t wasting your time talk cock here.
    to:x50 guy.