G20 BMW 3 Series CKD launched in Malaysia – same 330i spec; RM40k cheaper than CBU; from RM289k

Six months after the local debut of the G20 BMW 3 Series, BMW Group Malaysia has announced the introduction of the CKD locally-assembled version. The seventh-generation sports sedan continues to be offered in sole 330i M Sport form, with the same amount of equipment as the fully-imported (CBU) unit.

The identical kit list does mean that the price has come down a fair bit, with the car now retailing at RM288,800 on-the-road without insurance – a full RM40,000 less than before. A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, a five-year free maintenance package and a two-year tyre warranty is included.

On the outside, the M Sport appearance package, the mid-range adaptive LED headlights and LED fog lights remain standard fare, as do the 18-inch Style 790 M double-spoke Orbit Grey alloy wheels, shod with run-flat tyres. Inside, you’ll find the range-topping BMW Live Cockpit Professional infotainment system, featuring a 10.25-inch centre screen and a 12.3-inch fully-digital instrument display with a reverse-direction rev counter.

Linked to the new BMW Operating System 7.0, the system can be operated via the iDrive rotary controller, the centre touchscreen or the Intelligent Personal Assistant voice control. The cabin is dressed in either Black or Cognac Vernasca leather, Tetragon Aluminium trim and black headlining.

Standard equipment includes keyless entry, push-button start, handsfree bootlid opening, triple-zone climate control, cruise control, power-adjustable sports seats with driver’s side memory, 40:20:40 split-folding rear seats, Qi wireless smartphone charging and a 10-speaker, 205-watt HiFi Loudspeaker sound system. There’s also the BMW Digital Key function for selected Samsung smartphones.

As far as driver assists are concerned, the 330i continues to be offered with the Parking Assistant, including a a reverse camera and the new Reversing Assist system that will help you reverse out of a tight spot by recalling the way you came in. Unfortunately, there are still no other assists of any kind, not even autonomous emergency braking, so those of you who were holding out for this vital safety feature will be disappointed.

Under the bonnet sits the latest version of BMW’s B48 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol engine, making 258 hp at 5,000 rpm and 400 Nm of torque from 1,550 to 4,400 rpm. Paired with a ZF eight-speed automatic transmission, it goes from zero to 100 km/h in 5.8 seconds and delivers a fuel consumption figure of 5.8 to 6.1 litres per 100 km. Passive M Sport suspension is still fitted here, with the newfangled lift-related dampers.

With the introduction of the CKD model comes a change in which the BMW ConnectedDrive Services are offered. The individual functions, which include BMW Online, Remote Services, Concierge Services, Apple CarPlay and the car’s Intelligent Personal Assistant and Digital Key features, now come with a three-month trial period, instead of the complimentary one-/three-year free subscriptions offered on the CBU model.

One-year subscriptions are priced at RM299 for the Connected Package, which bundles in BMW Online, Remote Services and a Connected+ feature, while Concierge Services are priced at RM399. Apple CarPlay is RM513 a year and the Digital Key is RM370 a year. There’s no pricing for the Intelligent Personal Assistant on the ConnectedDrive store as yet.

Available colours for the CKD version are Alpine White, Black Sapphire and Mineral Grey. The Portimao Blue you see on this CBU unit will be available in January, while Sunset Orange will be offered from March.

GALLERY: CBU G20 BMW 330i

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kipidap on Sep 17, 2019 at 5:55 pm

Very nice car but aftersales needs to be improved and hopefully got 5 years BSRI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 20
    • seancorr (Member) on Sep 17, 2019 at 6:30 pm

BSRI is a thing of the past bro but where they are now they are still class leading when compared to Audi and Mercedes Benz Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Upgrade time on Sep 17, 2019 at 9:14 pm

Time to let go your 316i bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 20
        • Oh dear on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:20 pm

Mercedes Salesman Detected. Merz Service is so bad and too cramped. Smart person will always go for BMW/Volvo/Lexus. So time to upgrade from Mercedes to BMW/Volvo/Lexus before merz owners will start to regret

• seancorr will not listen to you on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:38 pm

100% of beemer owners will not listen to you as you are forcing beemer owners to sell. So keep it to yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Panjang on Sep 18, 2019 at 1:58 pm

Not easy bro. 316i RV is only 70k if u lucky…

• Physics Room on Sep 18, 2019 at 3:50 pm

Upgrade from 316i to this, both of you guys. Since this is cheaper. You will get more excited

• Twitter on Sep 21, 2019 at 12:30 pm

Lexus hv the best after sales ….they will remind me when its time to service & set an appointment, then they will pick up the car & send them back…superb 5 stars after sales, kudos lexus

• Malaysians not dumb on Sep 17, 2019 at 9:25 pm

The E36 328i in ’97 was 160k.

BMW Malaysia please explain your CKD pricing strategy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 19, 2019 at 11:36 pm

1997…my restaurant only sell roti canai for rm 0.30 sekeping…now i need to sell 1.30 but can barely afford to keep my restaurant afloat

• Ahmad Hassan on Sep 17, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Very expensive for Malaysia. This is just a baby BMW after all.

This BMW is USA is about US$35k. Fresh graduate in US start with US$4500 salary

This BMW in MAlaysia is RM290k. Fresh graduate salary in Malaysia start with RM1838 salary (according to 2019 BNM figures)

Pity Malaysians, we have to live with very expensive car prices because this high car prices was started 20 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 78
      • Isobel Chin on Sep 17, 2019 at 7:13 pm

Blame Madey! Oh wait, he is back! Sh!ttt!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • You always spout this same nonsense, please go spec this exact car on the US website and you’ll see it’s a $51,000 car

• I know you’re joking but it’s still not right to compare car prices between us and US since they spend a lot more on other expenses eg healthcare & taxes.

• Geoff on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:26 am

So move to the US if you want cheaper car prices. We all know cars in Malaysia are expensive, especially luxury ones, so its pointless whinging about it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Nicholas Lee on Sep 18, 2019 at 9:49 am

Fresh grad don’t buy BMW la

• redpilled on Sep 18, 2019 at 11:53 am

Did you factor in their student loans? State and federal taxes? Or the high living costs of places that offer jobs with that kind of salary?why should any of us here take you seriously when you can’t even get the price of the car correct as Matt pointed?

• Eugene on Sep 18, 2019 at 4:05 pm

US model for 330i build up also 50kUSD onward… convert to malaysia dont have so much different. Please go and do your homework.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 17, 2019 at 9:17 pm

A five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, a five-year free maintenance package and a two-year tyre warranty is included.

read the article la dei….ppl nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Ma Ma Mia on Sep 18, 2019 at 11:19 am

For those who mostly want to buy this CKD car with cheaper price, even though this has no AEB, just buy this and don’t care about some of negative comments in this section

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
  • L1988 on Sep 17, 2019 at 6:07 pm

so meaning Malaysia only tax CBU 330i 40thousand? LOLOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr (Member) on Sep 17, 2019 at 6:31 pm

OMG did u screw your head the wrong side up? The CKD price includes excise duty already. Take that out and the price will rival Langkawi price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Chandra on Sep 17, 2019 at 11:37 pm

inb4 the rich pay less tax, and enjoy more.

• vodka on Sep 18, 2019 at 10:38 am

The Langkawi priced CBU G20 330i was RM200k but the Langkawi priced CKD G20 330i is now RM260k. Wow! apa macam?

• granny on Sep 17, 2019 at 6:20 pm

alamak, still missing features.

Dont have Autonomous like Axia 2019?
    Dont have adaptive cruise control like Proton x70 30-150km/h?
    Dont have adaptive cruise control – auto stop 0-180km/h
    like Toyota Corrola 2019?
    Dont have Blind Spot Monitor like Toyota Rush, Vios?

USD35k car. is tax too high or greedy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 25
    • Sick & Tired on Sep 17, 2019 at 6:53 pm

While I agree that car prices in Malaysia are high, but the figure that you are giving is very misleading. The usd35k that you are giving is for the base model, this is for a high spec m-sport 330i.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
    • “Dont have Autonomous like Axia 2019?”
      what autonomous are you referring to? Automatic roll over?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • Slirh on Sep 17, 2019 at 8:17 pm

To get a fully kitted 330i one can pay the higher priced CBU and have all the bells or whistles

• IchbinSchnell on Sep 18, 2019 at 8:29 am

we bmw drivers dont need all those driving aids…heck indicator stalk also we dont use…as long the high beam is working, thats all that matters!

#outofmywaypeasants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 17, 2019 at 6:33 pm

Yahoo cheaper but then it doesn’t even have AEB as standard. Maybe BMW Malaysia will include it in as a monthly subscription later like what they want to do in EU which is utter disgusting. Although class leading in terms of warranty their spec list isn’t.

• fareast on Sep 18, 2019 at 4:14 pm

do you reckon it would be wiser to buy it next year? I qualify for fleet discounts (MIA and/or Petronas), but they can’t be applied together with “last-year’s model” discount.

It is already September. Plan to keep it for about 5 years before changing

• Clownery on Sep 17, 2019 at 7:34 pm

bmw malaysia being clowns X•D

Seriously, no one is going to buy it unless you include aeb at the very least

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 46
  • my aunt got a brand new cbu unit at 60k off. this proves how much bmw msia is overcharging for the cbu 330i. greedy greedy greedy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • 7yearsfd1 on Sep 18, 2019 at 6:30 pm

How your aunty got 60k off the cbu? thats bring it down to only 268k!

• Haidi on Sep 17, 2019 at 7:53 pm

“BMW Online, Remote Services, Concierge Services, Apple CarPlay and the car’s Intelligent Personal Assistant and Digital Key features, now come with a three-month trial period”

Means all of the above will only work for 3 months, thereafter wouldn’t function anymore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Brian on Sep 18, 2019 at 10:32 pm

Huh? You mean you did know? https://paultan.org/2019/08/19/bmw-to-offer-subscription-for-auto-high-beam-acc/

• RM40k savings?
    I rather go for the CBU model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • potato on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:47 pm

CBU model the rubber & plastic are less suitable for Malaysia hot & humid weather.

• Bieight on Sep 17, 2019 at 9:54 pm

Better wait for the ckd m340i

• John Doe on Sep 18, 2019 at 2:18 am

where on earth is autonomous system, there is literally nothing in this car, literal tin kosong 330i Sport – Looks like BMW MALAYSIA screwed up again – no one is going to go for a car with almost no active safety systems in 2019 ESPECIALLY WHEN IT IS ALMOST 300k. What one earth is BMW Malaysia smokin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 38
    • herbie on Sep 18, 2019 at 11:55 am

Typical BMW Malaysia la, they wont sell much in terms of new units, with this kinda of crap spec’s, people will move to other car brands. What they will do; is they will register the cars under their sales arm unit and then sell it as pre-own units dropping another 40 to 50k from the actual price.

That’s why they keep having this pre-own shows at Bukit Jalil. Their after sales is even worse, tidak apa attitude, sales adviser all don’t care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 35
  • CarplayIsPissed on Sep 18, 2019 at 7:38 am

Apple car play as subscription service… Can’t brain it. Might as well go with power steering as subscription service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Hughes on Sep 18, 2019 at 8:46 am

Why it is so hard for BMW malaysia to spec Harman/Kardon sound system on such high spec and premium priced 330i???

• Bringbackmanual on Sep 18, 2019 at 9:48 am

Can we get it in manual transmission?

• potato on Sep 18, 2019 at 12:43 pm

i have to say for Malaysia market this model is priced very competitively.

which other new car under rm300k can offer the power around 250hp?

C300 is over rm300k. IS200T is over rm300k with much less power. Civic Type R is over rm300k. Megane RS?

• Izaya on Sep 19, 2019 at 1:16 pm

Someone tell me how much this car insuran dgn roadtx

• t0uma on Sep 19, 2019 at 1:29 pm

Brapa ribu ni dia pnya insuran dgn roadtx