Proton 1-Tank Adventure drivers complete 650 km route – best Iriz and Saga breached 20 km/l mark

The Proton 1-Tank Adventure 2019 kicked off with the opening preliminary round over the recent Malaysia Day weekend. A total of 60 participants in 30 cars comprising of the 2019 Proton Iriz, Persona and Saga set off on a route that covered 650 km from Proton’s Centre Of Excellence HQ in Shah Alam to Johor Bahru and back.

The difficult conditions on the first day of the event were beyond the expectations of the organiser and participants. With a combination of the long holiday weekend, haze and wet weather, it was as “real world” as it got for the 30 cars as they battled to get to the checkpoints within the stipulated time.

Participants were treated to a feast of local fruits in Melaka, before heading south to Perigi Batu Pahat and Tanjung Piai National Park, the southernmost point of mainland Asia. After a well-deserved overnight stop in JB, the convoy made their journey back to Shah Alam via the North South Highway.

All cars managed to complete the 650 km fuel economy challenge portion of the event. The best theoretical maximum range achieved, based on the 40 litre fuel tank size of the Protons, was 809 km.

The top FC figures, verified by scrutineers from the Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF), were 4.98 litres per 100 km (20.1 km/l) for the Saga, 5.43 litres per 100 km (18.4 km/l) for the Persona and an event best 4.94 litres per 100 km (20.2 km/l) for the Iriz. The organisers said that participants had to keep to a high minimum average speed for safety reasons.

If you were wondering, no, Hafriz Shah didn’t win, but he managed a decent set of figures with the Saga 1.3 Premium – how about 36.7 litres of fuel to cover 651.8 km? That’s 5.6 litres per 100 km (17.76 km/l) or 11.7 sen per km.

Our man said that around 70% of the route was off the highway, and packed with traffic typical of a long weekend. With videographer Kamal in the passenger seat (you would have seen our resident funnyman in Driven’s #KemonCrew videos), he followed the traffic flow (as opposed to crawling along) and had the air con on the entire time. Highway cruising was done at 80-90 km/h.

“Proton has carried this kuat makan minyak reputation for ages now. Having actual Proton owners driving their own cars through the long journey, with all of them not only reaching the destination but also averaging impressive fuel economy figures, goes a long way to set the record straight,” Hafriz said.

“Personally, I’ve already done the 1-Tank Adventure last year, so the fuel consumption part is not new to me. What is a genuine surprise however, is the 2019 Saga’s improved comfort and refinement qualities. It far exceeded my own expectations of what an affordable entry-level car can be,” he added. Hafriz’s full account will be coming at a later date.

“The opening round of this year’s 1-Tank Adventure was very challenging but everyone completed the course safely. More importantly, we gave the participants an opportunity to test their cars in driving conditions that would allow them to experience the safety equipment and dynamic abilities of their cars, proving that our cars offer the best value and driving experience among all vehicles in their class,” said Proton CEO Li Chunrong.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Celup King on Sep 18, 2019 at 7:08 pm

Real world 20km/L vs Bezza fake world 21km/L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Amir Nordin on Sep 18, 2019 at 8:31 pm

Since November 2018 till now, Perodua has sold 150,000 Myvis.

In the same period, Proton only sold 786 Iriz cars.

150,000 vs 786 – the rakyat has already spoken which car is more economical, safer and better resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
      • redpilled on Sep 19, 2019 at 12:04 pm

You know what means? 150,000 people made bad decision.

Real world vs claimed-on-paper figure, real world wins. Facts don’t care about your feelings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Avenger on Sep 19, 2019 at 2:00 pm

More folks buys Oppo than iphone. Does it make Oppo phones better than iphone. Certainly not. You’re just grasping at loose straws as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • You might as well put proton sold 7.86 Iriz cars because whatever you said cannot be trusted anyhow.

• Kenny Weng on Sep 19, 2019 at 3:53 pm

well said, Proton sales are close to ZERO. Onlu China X70 is selling now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • Yes, among all other the car brands, Perodua tends to overinflate their fuel efficiency by the largest margin.

• I wonder how many refuels does a Perodua car would need to achieve that feat? Did any spoiler car from Perodua came to compete?

• Sanjeevan Krishnan on Sep 19, 2019 at 9:02 am

End of the day P2 has better RV than Proton. That is all that matters. Petrol does not save money that much as opposed to the bank asking you to top up RM30k for your loan when you sell your Proton after 2 years later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • So, you admit Perodua cars are not as fuel-efficient as claimed? You do know that PT doesn’t allow comment edit like Youtube, right?

• Darren Kong on Sep 19, 2019 at 10:08 am

Iriz is the biggest failure in Proton lineup. Before launch hype so much say it is GSC…Global Small Car. But see see, cannot sell overseas at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Amran on Sep 19, 2019 at 10:42 am

Driving 40km/h off aircond can lah.. Axia can achieve 28km/h if driving like that..

• Facebook on Sep 19, 2019 at 1:40 pm

Drive with air con switched off, cruising 60km/h on NSHW… is this the way your going to drive daily?
      If not then what is the use of this fuel challenge? you don’t drive in this way in the real world…
      If you compare any Perodua model by using this method, easily they can hit more than 20km/l… but what for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Read first on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Did you read the article first? Don’t make a fool out of yourself, dude.

• Who told you they went to that extreme? AFAIK they just drive in normal conditions and even went for stopovers. Not something you’d do in a real fuel challenge. This kinda test is more to real world results.

• Tikus kusut on Sep 18, 2019 at 7:11 pm

Where is tikus that said his ‘brand new Iriz’ drank petrol like a Rolls-Royce? All of his lies are being unraveled one by one. Time to repent, tikus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • granny on Sep 18, 2019 at 7:18 pm

https://paultan.org/2013/03/26/nissan-almera-owners-battle-each-out-in-the-friendly-lightfoot-quest-fuel-efficiency-competition-33-6kml-achieved/

I still remember Paultan’s post.
    Nissan Almera fuel challenge – 33.6km/L.

• Though I don’t recall them making stopovers and enjoying themselves during the trip. This looks more a relaxing fuel challenge than outright extreme hypermileage race.

• Bro, a 4.0 V8 powered M3 consumed less fuel than a std 330i….its a proven fact. However BMW dont used that figure for fc. I wonder why….maybe its not ‘real world’ figure.

FC challenge are ‘controlled’ is some way. In P1 case, does everyone do the trip they did in the challenge on a daily basis and with their driving style?
      In Nissan case, as long as u arrived within the stipulated times then your figure counts. Doesnt matter if u snail pace at 40kmh. Once people are in fc challenge they will ‘behave’.

Nonetheless, i luv such test from any manufacturer as it showed ‘what it could be’. In P1 case, i have never expect the Iriz fc to beat the Persona due to the hatch design.

• Pakulupapito on Sep 18, 2019 at 7:58 pm

Now thats how you show your vehicle fuel consumption, lets the owner do it, in real driving condition. And proton doesnt even boldly state their vehicle fuel consumption in their phamplets.

• Kucing catch the tikus.

• Hakim on Sep 18, 2019 at 9:04 pm

Iriz tu 1.6 or 1.3

• Congrats P1! Time to show ur powah!

• M50B25 on Sep 18, 2019 at 11:29 pm

Any car that is on a highway is fuel efficient. I drove my E36 325i Automatic recently to Cameron Highlands during the school holiday weekends; highway jam, tanah rata jam and came back. The car drank half tank, no kidding. So 30 litres of RON95 Petrol, RM62.4 for 404.1km, that is RM0.15 per km on a 1995 BMW! 13.47km per [email protected] or 7.423905 [email protected] per 100km.

• Mikehighseas on Sep 19, 2019 at 6:38 am

I believe most other car Brand’s driven at the same speeds will deliver about the same fuel consumption figures. Perhaps the VW’s will turn out to be significantly better. But it’s good to know that the new Protons are not thirsty. Plus they are starting to endear us again!

• newme on Sep 19, 2019 at 8:59 am

You sure there’s no modification to the fuel tank quietly like the Tethergate and sending non-production car for testing?

• dumbyou on Sep 19, 2019 at 12:25 pm

Yeah, we sure need modifications to the brains of those that can’t accept facts. Keep believing in on-paper only claims from P2, dumdum.

• Avenger on Sep 19, 2019 at 2:02 pm

You sure there are that many owners willing to let Proton chop their cars to modify their fuel tanks? Don’t just talk without proof, just like a certain CEO previously said his car unable to install with ESC but now their are putting ESC into their cars.

• pengayuhbasikal on Sep 19, 2019 at 9:41 am

till todate .. I haven’t heard nor read 1 tank fuel challenge for perodua’s … ekekekekkekekekeke..although I am driving the new myvi…

• alldisc on Sep 19, 2019 at 9:56 am

Malaysia and Malaysians and the experts have got this very wrongly. Though proton can achieve excellent fuel consumption figures, the cars are still not compliant with euro 6 emission regulations.

This is the reason which proton engineers and the management forgot to implement while making preve, suprima, saga mk.III, persona mk.II and iriz. proton had to say good bye to UK and Europe and many developed countries.

Low sales means expenditures not able to be captured back and proton was bleeding seriously until today.

• EuroVI on Sep 19, 2019 at 4:39 pm

To achieve Euro6 compliance, Proton would have needed to spend probably another RM1000+ to the BOM cost. Addition of another O2 sensor and harness for EOBD diagnostics, loading the catalyst with more precious metals, adding Gasoline particle filter, development and testing with UK fuels, lubricant, etc. Not included are shipping, validation and homologation costs. For export sales of less than 5,000 per year. Does that make economical sense?? You are right about Proton’s engines not designed to be Euro6 compliant. However, it is more likely that Lotus UK engineers are involved in the Campro engines from the beginning.

• Typical Malaysian on Sep 19, 2019 at 10:18 am

at least when presenting Proton, facts based on completed and proven challenges can be used to verify, unlike that one brand, everything only on brochures, don’t even dare to prove their safety system nor their fuel consumption. silap2 dalam diam kena kencing also praise.

• Hentamajela on Sep 19, 2019 at 1:56 pm

Perodua mana berani buat….dia berani cakap on paper saja….tapi realiti belum tahu lagi….dia bagi jepunis buat….kalau jepunis kencing pun dia tak kisah punya….nanti dia pusing balik cakap itu jepunis sudah test maaaaaaa….

• Sukakereta on Sep 23, 2019 at 10:29 am

Haiyya.. you really don’t think, only hantam sajaa.. declare NEDC fuel consumption figure can simply suka2 just like that maa.. Govt would not scrutinize though that figure will be entitled for EEV incentives.. manyak syokk laa itu macem..

• Ask grab full time driver about their p1 n p2 car fuel consumption. Real testimony u will get.

• THOMAS LANGKAN on Nov 11, 2019 at 1:36 pm

my name is THomas Langkan and i have took part in this event in Kuching Sarawak month September 2019. I have won 2nd prises in proton saga category (RM1,000) but till today have not received the money as promised…Mybe someone can help to inform the organizer…tq

• PeroduaProtonHondaMerc on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:51 am

If my Neo 1.6 can get 14km to 16km per litter. This is good news to me. It is an improvement, for an Iriz.