Mitsubishi Triton vs Toyota Hilux – which truck wins?

Dual-cab pick-up trucks form a popular vehicle segment, even amongst the urban set, thanks to their utility and road presence. Here, we’ve found a video that has been making the rounds on Facebook, comparing the Mitsubishi Triton Adventure X with its 181 PS/430 Nm 2.4L MIVEC Turbo engine, with the Toyota Hilux 2.8 L-Edition powered by a 177 PS/450 Nm engine.

The comparison is set on a runway, so naturally, performance comparisons are in order. The Triton and the Hilux are subject to three exercises: acceleration from 0-100 km/h, overtaking from 80-120 km/h, and braking distance. The 0-100 km/h test runs both trucks simultaneously, and for the overtaking exercise, both pick-up trucks run in tandem; the Triton does its run first, and is then followed by the Hilux.

The trio of tests is rounded up with the braking exercise, once again run with both trucks at the same time. The current Mitsubishi Triton arrived at the beginning of this year, with the latest iteration of the eighth-generation Toyota Hilux having arrived in August. Which pick-up truck does better at each exercise? Watch the video to find out.

GALLERY: 2019 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure X

GALLERY: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 Black Edition

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Goreng pisang on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Both of them are winners because both of them are a game changing pickup truck that have been proven in international level. I hope Proton can learn from both companies how to create a game changing pickup truck and not repeat their mistake with game over Arena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
    • Dupe buster on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:32 pm

When is Perodua going to rebadge the Hilux? Should be easy because you always say Perodua same as Toyota. We need to wait for 16 years like we waited for Perodua Hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • But only Arena could make Aussies fawn for the return of that car. The others? Meh!

• Aikon on Sep 20, 2019 at 8:04 am

Arena? It is certainly game over, it is not even on sale anymore lah. What’s the point of your senseless statement…focus on the comparo please

• Hai luck on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:15 pm

Triton wins all. But still hilux best selling double cab in Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • 4wheeler on Sep 20, 2019 at 10:30 am

For 90% town use, it will be Triton. But for 50% town use & 50% offoad/heavy duty use, definitely Hilux – hands down.

• Fordist on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:24 pm

All bows to Ford Raptor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • seancorr (Member) on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:37 pm

You can get a Triton with a full spec Myvi and spare change to go mamak and tell everyone what you did with that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • RayC216 on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:33 pm

Can we have the moose test as well?
    Thank you PT.

• anonymous on Sep 19, 2019 at 5:33 pm

Sure go for Hilux. Hilux is proven in term of durability. Company has a 18 y/o Hilux and still working like a charm and problem free whereby another 9 y/o Triton throws problems every couple months. Recently Triton is down because of malfunction 4×4 system and need to replace gearbox and differentiate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
    • 4wheeler on Sep 20, 2019 at 9:22 am

Depend on ur intended use. For 100% town use, then it will be the Triton. If 50% town use & 50% offroad, hands down it will be the Hilux

• Obvious on Sep 20, 2019 at 9:30 am

Whats a differentiate?

• True if 20 years ago. Now, Toyota Hilux is totally out. It survives on old days reputation. My uncle has a Hilux, when go to orchard, it can’t perform at all, under power with little off road capability. He also has a Triton, so far never hear any complaint from him and he drives Triton instead of Hilux everyday.

• Sureken1 on Sep 22, 2019 at 11:08 am

I’m a pick up enthusiast myself. It reli depends wat you looking at in a pick up. If comfort definitely Hilux is out. I sat behind a new Hilux 2.8 black edition after lunch a few days ago. Tell u the truth, I almost puke and mine head was spinning for good 30 mins. New Isuzu 1.9 has much better comfort but no power, Triton has power, good handling & comfort. Realibility comes down to different users and usage. We all know that the more electronics u put in a pick up the more higher tendency to have problem. New Hilux also have differential gear change from 4×2 to 4×4 which all new pick up use electronics change from 2wd to 4wd. 18 years old Hilux with all manual system, I’m sure will have less problem but lack of power n comfort.

• My 2006 Triton still good right now..only a minor leak on the engine side..but overall 4d56 engine still got a power..4wd still functioning as well..

• Yeahhhhhhhhh on Sep 19, 2019 at 7:34 pm

Testing offroad truck on well paved street is like using scuba diving set in a pool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Ntahapahapntah. on Sep 19, 2019 at 8:43 pm

Win for what?? Look like people now understand that lori is for racing…pointless test and what a shame paultan!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 19, 2019 at 8:54 pm

This video was not produced by paultan.org or Driven Communications.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • RayC216 on Sep 19, 2019 at 10:40 pm

The video was done by Motor Compare Channel on YouTube

• Look carefully before blaming PT. Dude, you are shooting blindly.

• Aikon on Sep 20, 2019 at 9:47 am

What’s the problem with that? I don’t see any issue with doing a drag race for trucks. Do you know pick-ups are lowered and raced on circuits in Thailand? Do you know that in USA there are pick-ups that are low and not necessarily built high up for off roading? I personally like the low riding performance pick-ups.

Any petrolhead worth his or her weight in racing fuel will welcome such a comparo. Hmmm, you need to dig more before making an ill-informed comment on a topic where you’re clearly out of depth.

• Kun25 on Sep 19, 2019 at 9:20 pm

Nice mitsubishi commercial, but you can’t fool everybody. Good try anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Sureken1 on Sep 22, 2019 at 10:46 am

I’m not sure stating the facts is called being fooled. Better engine performance n breaking capabilities r important to pick up users like us.

• Philip Xforverywan on Sep 22, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Both are capable machines and have legendary status automakers. Each owns it owns strength while has very minimal “weakness” or should i say; differences, but all this due to they’re own engineering tweaks here and there which the last word would be “comfort”. But the real deal is the service cost which will take its toll after these two scrambles in the mud, offroading, and towing. To me Hilux is the one, as it is as always with its reliable engineering and varieties of spare parts. That alone makes Hilux miles ahead in term of value and worthiness.