FIRST LOOK: 2019 Perodua Axia facelift, all 6 variants

Perodua officially launched the 2019 Perodua Axia last week. The Viva-replacing Axia has been with us since September 2014, and it received a midlife facelift in January 2017, which means this is the second update for the bestseller. As you would have already heard, this big news of this refresh is the debut of Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0, as well as an all-new variant – the SUV-inspired Style.

For all its life, the Axia has had two unique faces – a normal one and a sportier one for the SE and Advance. This split is no more – now, all Axia variants share the same face, with trim differences.

The outgoing Axia range had four trim levels (E, G, SE, Advance) and two of those (G and SE) had manual or auto options (base E was MT only, top Advance was AT only). In the 2019 Axia range, Perodua has added two new variants, and deleted the manual option for the SE, which means that other than the kosong E, all Axias come with a four-speed automatic. The new range reads E, G, GXtra (new), Style (new) SE and Advance.

Like before, the 5MT and 4AT are paired with a 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine. The 1KR-VE VVT-i engine makes 67 hp and 91 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. Claimed FC is unchanged – 22.5 km/l for the MT and 21.6 km/l for the AT. The SUV-styled Style variant is rated lower at 20.8 km/l, likely due to a combination of extra weight, bigger tyres and less smooth airflow.

First seen on the Myvi and then the Aruz (in 2.0 form), P2’s ASA safety suite includes Pre-Collision Warning (PCW), Pre-Collision Braking (PCB), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC), all working with the assistance of a stereo camera located at the top of the windscreen. The model’s airbag count remains at two, and the Axia’s four-star ASEAN NCAP rating is maintained, but the addition of VSC (GXtra onwards) and ASA 2.0 (AV only) is a big deal in this segment.

The Axia Style is Perodua’s take on the SUV-flavoured supermini – think Volkswagen CrossPolo, Hyundai i20 Active and Honda WR-V. Merely accessorised in SUV fashion, the Axia Style has no extra off-road ability than the standard car.

Like those global B-segment examples, the Style wears SUV-style black plastic cladding around the lower body, with silver painted sections at the lower front and rear bumpers that mimic skid plates. Adding to the desired effect are black roof rails, although they’re merely decorative and can’t be used to mount a roof box.

The Style’s front end is slightly different from the rest of the range, thanks to black carbon-textured stickers around the “mouth” and a unique grille insert. The Sunrise Orange colour is exclusive to the Style and so are clear lens tail lamps, previously found on SE and Advance trim levels.

The Style also stands taller than other Axias, by 15 mm to be exact. This added height is not because of raised suspension, but is only from the 15-inch two-tone alloys (an inch up from other variants) and thicker tyres combo, plus the roof rails. The result of this is slightly compromised fuel economy: 20.8 km/l vs the standard automatic car’s 21.6 km/l. Inside, the Axia Style gets unique black “denim” fabric for the seats, which also have a “fish scales” pattern and contrast stitching.

On-the-road (without insurance, Pen Malaysia; add RM2k for East Malaysia) prices for the 2019 Perodua Axia are:

• Axia Standard E – RM24,090
  • Axia Standard G – RM33,490
  • Axia GXtra – RM34,990
  • Axia Style – RM38,890
  • Axia SE – RM38,890
  • Axia Advance – RM43,190

To see the new bits, and which variant gets what, check out the walk-around video above and our launch report, as well as a spec-by-spec comparison in point form. To compare the latest Axia with price rivals such as the recently revamped Proton Saga, do so at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2019 Perodua Axia Style

GALLERY: 2019 Perodua Axia Advance

GALLERY: 2019 Perodua Axia GXtra

GALLERY: 2019 Perodua Axia official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• M50B25 on Sep 23, 2019 at 3:21 pm

Perodua, have you done your research that your target buyers are the millennials and generation Z. They need to hook up their Spotify and Waze mobile to the car when driving. Do you think everyone can afford to buy the top of the range AV? Please at least offer Bluetooth or AUX on your cars. I am not even asking for Android or Apple carplay here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Asam laksa on Sep 23, 2019 at 4:06 pm

Perodua Axia is trully designed for millennials and it have been proven by sales data that game changing Axia is Malaysian best selling car. This is why Proton need to learn from Perodua, their game over Saga is not successful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
      • Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 23, 2019 at 6:57 pm

who said Saga is not successful?

• Mee Kari on Sep 27, 2019 at 3:18 pm

Asam Laksa doesn’t like Saga. But I, Mee Kari is on the fence and instead, I think regardless if Saga is successful or not, I would’ve chosen it over Bezza. Its just so unfortunate that the new Saga update was 6 months too late for me. *Sigh*

• Brian on Sep 23, 2019 at 4:55 pm

Very common for youths to used their pinjaman Ptptn to buy car, smartphone & macBook.

• meladam on Sep 24, 2019 at 10:52 am

pinjam PTPTN beli kereta? kau tau tak PTPTN direct bayar ke uni sekarang? sedih

• granny on Sep 23, 2019 at 7:32 pm

Just drive it to Brothers.
      Choose your favourite china/branded Android Player.

Malaysian love to have thier car different from others. small modification is pretty fun to do.

some buy accessories, some buy sun shade, some buy bodykit, some change rims, some use sport tires.

• Carolyn Khaw on Sep 24, 2019 at 10:55 am

They will void the warranty, maybe that’s their strategy. Also to make us buy their top of the range so that they can enjoy fatter margins. Imagine they can sell base Axia at RM22k. The rest they mark up the price of accessories

• ThAboIT on Sep 27, 2019 at 3:24 pm

I agree with Malaysians love their car diff from others.. heck WE would love any of our thing so personally customized that nothing is similar. Some even go over the top to paint their car in three different paint job! It’s up to us but don’t forget that this country have laws! Some people modify their car as if they don’t know that it’s illegal. If they truly don’t know, don’t expect car accessories shop ppl will tell them that!

• passion on Sep 23, 2019 at 3:30 pm

The car to get for Uni students and fresh grads.

• I Hate Rempit on Sep 23, 2019 at 3:50 pm

My friend was looking for his 1st car. I told him to consider Saga Premium. Spacious interior (for a long term use since he will get married end of this year so no need to buy bigger car next time), decent engine and gearbox, fuel consumption quite alright. Yesterday, he booked this Axia AV. When I asked why he chose this over Saga, he said Perodua is more reliable and Saga 2019 cepat rosak. May I asked if Saga 2019 is that bad ke?

• Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 23, 2019 at 6:58 pm

Probably due to bad past experience from the Proton brand and bad influence from friends.

• 25yrsOld on Sep 23, 2019 at 7:20 pm

Proton Saga 2019 Premium Spec is good.
      Axia and Bezza is very good too.

he choose his amoi, you choose your chic.

Last time Saga LMST RM26k sell very well. Proton Saga RM26,888 Small A-segment Sedan 1.3AT Premium is much awaited. People is excited and happy for Geely new Facelifted Proton Exora 1.6Turbo 2019 AT RM59k. Cheapest C-Segment + MPV you can buy.

• Calvin on Sep 23, 2019 at 11:22 pm

Your friend has low self esteem and got easily fooled by P2 salesman who told him Perodua is more reliable. In the first place he never use his brain to think how can Saga 2019 that is just recently launch 2 months ago edi cepat rosak. Tak masuk akal. Which is why your friend probably never pikir before buy Axia, then later will regret cause Axia service is costlier than Persona. If it’s not too late your friend should quickly cancel the Axia booking and go for Saga 2019. This car is worth every sen.

• senohong on Sep 24, 2019 at 10:43 am

u tunggu la bila sudah ada anak 3-4 orang…..nnti baru mrnyesal….

• I Hate rempit too on Sep 27, 2019 at 3:35 pm

Its ok to let him choose but you should try to persuade him.. not because he choose P2 over P1 but because he choose a smaller car for an upcoming married man. Some more, if his and wife village is very far, do expect longer holidays when go back village and of course, longer holidays means more luggage! Tell him this, “Do you think car manufacturer made cars to be cepat rosak? How do they expect to get any profit from a badly made cars? Any car can be cepat rosak if the he drive the car stupidly or for stupid purposes”.

• Pak Toh on Sep 23, 2019 at 4:04 pm

1. Love the Fact that Gxtra spec got the full spec projector headlamp, stability control safety.
    RM34.9k for Malaysian’s cheapest Small car with VSC.

2. Love the Fact that Style got VSC and Push Start.

3. Love the Fact that Advance got A.S.A. 2.0
    with Autonomous Emergency brake up to 80km/h, precollision warning control, Pedal Misoperation Control.

even RM 125k full spec Honda H-RV dont have.
    Thanks brother Geely made Proton X70. RM123k version Full spec got all safety features.

Perodua listen and follow the best example.

• granny on Sep 23, 2019 at 4:12 pm

Malaysian best Small car goes to:

1. Best Small hatchback: Perodua Axia -> Safety Features ASA 2.0 loaded and Fuel Saving.
    2. Best Small Sedan: Proton Saga -> Cheap and Good.
    3. Best Small Family Sedan: Perodua Bezza -> Spacious and Fuel Saving.

so good for your people now. loaded with good choices.
    dont need to spend money for second hand Old Honda with same 2 airbags, bad CVT history and expensive maintenance. Geely’s Proton also promoted low maintenance for Proton Saga.

• If I recall correctly, Perodua management said previously that VSC cannot be installed into their Axia platform. We have Proton to thank for this as healthy competition has shown OE have to improve or gets left behind.

• You are right. Here is the link: https://paultan.org/2016/12/05/perodua-unable-to-install-esc-on-current-models-except-the-bezza-new-model-due-out-in-2018/

• Muhammad arshad on Sep 23, 2019 at 10:56 pm

At least 2 airbag and VSC must be applied to all cars in malaysia market.. dont compromize and be stingy with safety aspect..

• Calvin on Sep 23, 2019 at 11:24 pm

Thanks to Proton for forcing this to Perodua. Or else you will still get only 1 airbag in Axia today.

• meladam on Sep 24, 2019 at 10:52 am

With the price of GXtra, better topup RM2k to get basic manual spec Iriz

• Hentamajela on Sep 24, 2019 at 6:42 am

Sudah lama perodua tipu pelanggan….cakap tak boleh pasang vsc…mcm mana sekarang boleh….ikut mcm toyota la tipu jugak…konon kereta jual 1 dunia…tapi angkuh dan sombong….itu jepun….jepun pun beli barang dekat china sbb mau murah….

• Daddykasi on Sep 24, 2019 at 8:28 am

Perodua make a great history for launching this legendary axia facelift..

• hassan on Sep 24, 2019 at 9:32 am

Axia Standard E Auto please …

• Zhafri on Sep 24, 2019 at 6:41 pm

Is there any option that Style version came with A.S.A?

• Predict Malaysia vehicle sales data for August 2019 by brand:-
    1. Perodua @ Mumm-Ra – 19500 units
    2. Proton @ Thundercats – 9127 units
    3. Honda – 7500 units
    4. Toyota – 5500 units
    5. Nissan – 2000 units

• muniandy on Sep 25, 2019 at 6:46 pm

Banyak bagus punya kereta. Banyak murah. Saya mau beli satu.

• Derrick on Sep 25, 2019 at 7:01 pm

WTF, half of these comments are obviously fake comments paid by Perodua.

• The Comment Admin on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:13 am

Hello civilians.

Welcome to the battlefield.
      Before we begin, please pick your team:
      a. Jepunis
      b. Koreans
      c. Perodua
      d. Proton
      e. Europeans
      f. Americans
      or..