Proton records 8,934 registrations in September – over 20,000 bookings received for 2019 Saga since launch

Proton has announced its sales performance for the month of September 2019, with the national carmaker managing to deliver a total of 8,934 units in the month – last month saw 9,127 units. The latest figure includes both cars sold domestically as well as those exported, and we’ll only know the specific amount for each when the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) releases its September vehicle sales data.

According to the national carmaker, the September 2019 sales figure represents a 97% increase from the 4,524 units it recorded in the same month the year before. The Saga was a big contributor to the result, accounting for 3,994 units. Proton says the model is now the best-selling A-segment sedan in Malaysia after a three-year hiatus, and as at the end of September, over 20,000 bookings have been notched up for the model.

The brand says that its 8,934 units delivered in September signifies a 66-month high point, and allowed it to capture a 20.2% market share for the month. From a year-to-date perspective – January to September – Proton says it has an estimated 15.8% overall market share.

On that note, Proton’s year-to-date sales (up until the end of September) stands at 70,330 units, but this is again taking into consideration cars for the domestic and export markets. With this result, the company has sold more cars within the first three quarters of 2019 than it did for the entire 2018, where it recorded 64,744 units.

“By exceeding our total sales volume in 2018 in just nine months, Proton is on target to achieving its best sales number since 2015. Of even greater significance though is the Saga’s return to the number one spot in its segment. Despite being launched less than two months ago, the response from Malaysians has been overwhelmingly positive,” said Li Chunrong, CEO of Proton.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• BRAVO PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Asam laksa on Oct 03, 2019 at 12:42 am

We must thank China, Geely and Li Chunrong for saving Proton as well as Korea and Hyundai for supplying their gearbox for Saga FL. Without them, today Proton will for sure masuk longkang and game over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • john doe on Oct 03, 2019 at 10:20 pm

China is thanking Malaysian’s contribution of X70 to China GDP dude!

• Asamboi on Oct 04, 2019 at 6:56 am

Yes yes. Haven’t we know this already? Thank china/ li chun rong saving proton bla bla bla. When can we move forward already?

• No more P2 on Oct 02, 2019 at 5:48 pm

Habislah tikus Perodua, Victory Proton Saga has so many bookings than Loser lousy Perodua Axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Heng Lee on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:39 am

Axia cannot be compared with Saga. You have to compare Saga to Bezza. Anyway, competition is good for the consumer!

• Can’t make any good comments besides bashing the other car brands? Bla bla bla. On a positive note, this competition means a win for consumer

• Mumm-Ra defeat by Thundercats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Condong on Oct 02, 2019 at 6:05 pm

Hail geely! Hail li chunrong !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Predict Malaysia vehicle sales data for September 2019 by brand:
    1. Perodua @ Mumm-Ra 15900 units
    2. Proton @ Thundercats 8934 units
    3. Honda 6200 units
    4. Toyota 4900 units
    5. Nissan 1800 units

• panjang on Oct 02, 2019 at 6:12 pm

Good, now comes the hardest part….sustaining the growth.

• Heng Lee on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:41 am

More sooner than later they will have to come out with a new generation of engines.

• Tikus Tikus Where Are You? on Oct 02, 2019 at 6:14 pm

Recently, one of my friend told me that when tikus open this article about “over 20000 bookings for Proton Saga 2019” in paultan website using Apple Safari, tikus will start to get heart attack and cry for whole tonight and tomorrow that Proton Saga have 4x sales than Perodua Axia as well as my friend also told tikus that it is expected for people will cancel order booking for Perodua Axia and book for Proton Saga on the next day. So sad tikus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • Pakulupapito on Oct 02, 2019 at 6:39 pm

Proton bashers be like……proton saga facelift is a game over car

• Bash Proton so many times, in the end Perodua is game over, hahahahaha…

• tokmoh. on Oct 03, 2019 at 9:38 am

Got case before, someone post compare saga rm40k vs bezza rm48k, both top spec in a bezza fb group.

Became 200+ comments of butthurt lel.

• Petoron Sagu on Oct 02, 2019 at 7:09 pm

Kipidap… Dongibap

• Prooven on Oct 02, 2019 at 7:31 pm

Yes thank you Mr. Li Chunrong. Show them and teach them how to make bisnes. All this time bisnes goyang kaki and minum teh O only good. Well done proton china.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Ajibkor on Oct 02, 2019 at 7:48 pm

Dr.Li,we salute you.Start chopping the deadwood.They are the leeches and parasites.

• Ahmadjr on Oct 02, 2019 at 8:20 pm

See, the only major problem with saga is punch cvt. Malaysian have said it years ago but the engineers at proton still so lazy to make changes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Malaysiaboyz on Oct 02, 2019 at 10:54 pm

Now already new gearbox… U still sleeping in some bubble??

• Still live in a cave? Ppl change to hyundai 4at already u still tok punch cvt

• Heng Lee on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:46 am

Don’t be unfair! Engineers wont make the decision what gearbox to use, neither at Proton, nor at Perodua, Toyota, Mercedes, BMW, etc. This are management decisions.

• Jimho on Oct 03, 2019 at 3:50 pm

I think Ahmad jr(just resurrected) is talking about the past, or maybe he just rose from the dead, saying, What year is this? Is Pak Lah still the PM? What is a smartphone?

• Tanakwagu on Oct 04, 2019 at 7:01 am

LMAO agreed jimho, nowadays people with their canggih smartphones read to reply rather reading to understand. Their phones are smarter than them

• Justin on Oct 02, 2019 at 9:11 pm

what a shame

• Why there’s no MAA sales data by brand for August?

• Mikehighseas on Oct 02, 2019 at 9:23 pm

Indeed pleasing to hear the positive sentiments on Proton cars! Hope the positive momentum will continue…..

• keep dreaming on Oct 03, 2019 at 9:32 am

recently???haha.funny.just posted yesterday.wake up wake up…you are dreaming.kesian…typical p1 staff.

• y not on Oct 03, 2019 at 10:15 am

ya ya enjoy while it lasts. matter of time before proton buyers realise what theyve gotten themselves into. proton is now china brand, no more bolehland national carmaker. eventually ppl will go back to japanese perodua over higher reliability and lower ownership cost. japan trumps china again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Li Peng on Oct 03, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Like Sony trumps over Huawei, Oppo, etc. ?

• Mindblown on Oct 29, 2019 at 4:32 am

Bugatti , lambo , skoda , audi , and many others are belong to VW . So, that mean that lambo are from german ? Hahaha

• Amran on Oct 03, 2019 at 10:26 am

Saga win bcoz of 4at…same like all perodua.. Bravo 4at transmission!

• Ex VGM staff on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:18 am

Now we want proton to apologise and retract back saying that the Saga with CVT gearbox was a better car than the BLM with 4AT. Because now you are licking back what you spitted before.

And later before you knew it.. you will come back to 4 engine mountings when you said 3 mountings are better. So stupid, sounds stupid. Look stupid too.

• Li Peng on Oct 03, 2019 at 4:34 pm

The better technological solution don’t always sell better. If people are satisfied with outdated dinosaur tech, why not sell to them?
      Japanese or Koreans of course would refuse to buy tech from the steam engine age.

• ThAboIT on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:29 am

I admit that personally I really like this version of Saga up to the point that yesterday I wassap two Proton salesman to ask if possible to trade-in my less than a year old Bezza. Not that I don’t like this Bezza but this Saga is just hard to resist!

• Anonymous_C on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:33 am

SAGA and X70 are main seller, so remaining line up like Personal, Iriz, Suprima, kinda redundant?

• Li Peng on Oct 03, 2019 at 11:00 pm

Axia and Myvi are main seller, so remaining line up like Aruz kinda redunant?

• Justice on Oct 03, 2019 at 6:56 pm

both proton and perodua are useless, dare to challenge other makes in an open market?

• Proton pls change Saga to a better engine with those facility and affordable price. Perodua bezza , can be no sales and no demand . For now this saga is really good in safety and facilities . Hope proton soon to replace their current engine to 1.3 Geely engine