W247 Mercedes-Benz B-Class in M’sia – B200, RM240k

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has officially introduced the W247 B-Class in the country, the third-generation compact MPV going on sale here in a single variant form, the B 200 Progressive Line.

It’s powered by the same M282 DE 14 LA 1.33 litre turbocharged four-pot as seen on the W177 Progressive Line hatch – and V177 sedan – A 200 examples, the unit – which was developed in partnership with Renault – offering a likewise similar output of 161 hp (or 163 PS) at 5,500 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,620 to 4,000 rpm.

Paired with a Getrag seven-speed dual-clutch (wet) transmission, the B 200 does the 0-100 km/h sprint in 8.2 seconds and gets to a 233 km/h top speed. The car sits on the standard passive Comfort suspension, and like the A 200, it features a torsion beam rear end.

The Progressive Line exterior features LED headlamps, a radiator grille with silver-painted twin louvre and chrome insert, a front apron with a chrome insert, side sill panels and 18-inch five-twin spoke light-alloy wheels. At the back, design elements include a bumper with a black lower section and chrome trim strip.

Meanwhile, the interior has been significantly updated from the previous-gen and is very much shaped along the lines of the A-Class, but the dashboard has a few bits that doesn’t make it a complete lift-off from the latter, primarily with how the dual freestanding 10.25-inch displays are framed. Still, plenty of familiar elements abound, from the climate control switchgear and air-conditioning vents to the centre console layout.

Like the A 200 examples, the B 200’s cabin is dressed in black. Kit includes black open-pore linden wood trim and Artico leather upholstery, power-adjustable Comfort front seats with memory, a leather-wrapped sports steering wheel, 64-colour ambient lighting and 10 colour themes, and of course, the Mercedes-Benz User Experience (MBUX) multimedia system and its “Hey Mercedes” voice control functionality.

On the downside, the B 200 gets only a single-zone automatic climate control system with no rear air vents. The boot, on the other hand, measures 455 litres, and with the (non-sliding) 40:20:40-split rear seats folded, luggage capacity swells to 1,540 litres. There’s also a powered tailgate with hands-free operation as part of the car’s keyless entry system.

Safety and driver assistance kit, meanwhile, includes Blind Spot Assist, Active Brake Assist (autonomous emergency braking) and Active Parking Assist with Parktronic. As for pricing, the B 200 Progressive Line goes for RM239,888 (on-the-road without insurance).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• why do they make this weird thing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • B-Class was 5th most sold foreign model in Japan in September 2019 (No 1: Mini; no 2: VW Golf; no 3: A-class; no 4: C-class)

• Syer1n on Oct 10, 2019 at 11:23 am

No offense at all, but considering Japanese market filled with emm… Well-sculpted cars like boxes with micro wheels, your statement doesn’t give me much confidence.

• You got me wrong. What I meant: They sell what people want to buy. Not more, not less. ;)

• Syer1n on Oct 10, 2019 at 7:13 pm

Design standpoint I’m not a fan but if it’s about usability, I’d put my money to it. :)

• Dennis on Oct 09, 2019 at 9:16 pm

B-Class is a very very good, practical and well engineered vehicle. Don’t just make judgement based on its looks alone, once driven u will have different opinion

• Ethan on Oct 11, 2019 at 12:06 pm

I drove a B250 as a courtesy car once. Felt like I was driving a golf buggy

• The B class, in AMG trim has a more sportier and attractive nose than the A class….which boggles the mind…..

• JohnnyJohnnyYesPaPa on Oct 10, 2019 at 8:08 am

the B class is for dads who wants A class, but got veto by wife for more practical car. #truestory

wife: buy A class for wat, put carseat on the roof izit?
    dad: :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • haha…

i like blue!!!

but my pocket only has Red… how unfortunate..

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 10, 2019 at 11:28 am

It has blind spot assist which the A class sedan and hatch does not. Time for a 2020 model update for those two models?

• Ok la ni ambil anak sekolah

• Sammy has no value on Oct 11, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Ugly