Next-generation Honda City to launch in Thailand in November; 1.0L Turbo, Phase 2 Eco Car – report

It’s only slightly more than a week to the press day of the 2019 Tokyo Motor Show, where the fourth generation Honda Jazz (also known as the Honda Fit in Japan) will make its world debut. Now, it appears that the Jazz’s sedan sister – the Honda City – is also just around the corner. Thailand’s Headlightmag reports that the new City will launch in the Land of Smiles in November this year.

The ASEAN debut of the new City isn’t the only big news, though. The local website reports a major change in the tried and tested City formula – it is said that Honda will be switching from a 1.5L naturally aspirated engine to a downsized turbo engine. It will be a boosted 1.0 litre three-cylinder VTEC Turbo mated to a CVT. If so, the City will follow the Civic and CR-V (1.5T for both) down the downsizing route.

Going for a small turbo engine helps the new City comply with Thailand’s Phase 2 Eco Car criteria, which is stricter in fuel economy, emissions and safety terms. Among the criteria are Euro 5, CO2 emissions below 100 g/km, fuel consumption not exceeding 4.3 litres per 100 km (23.25 km/l), and ABS/EBD/BA/VSA standard across the range.

In addition to the 1.0L turbo triple – which has been used in the Civic in Europe and China for a couple of years now, as sampled in 2015 – the City is also set to be available globally with the dual-motor Intelligent Multi-mode Drive (i-MMD) hybrid powertrain, which is yet to be revealed.

Next week’s debut of the new Jazz will give us strong hints of the new City’s looks. From spyshots, we’re expecting a softer, more rounded five-door hatchback compared to the outgoing Jazz GK’s relatively aggressive styling. Expect a friendlier face and a more organic shape. The images above are renderings of the City from early 2018, inspired by the new Honda Insight.

The outgoing City has been Honda Malaysia’s best selling model since it surfaced in 2014 (facelifted in 2017), and sales have been going strong despite its age and the emergence of younger rivals. It should soldier on healthily before the baton is passed – should be awhile more, though.

GALLERY: 2019 Honda City 1.5V

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh. on Oct 14, 2019 at 5:55 pm

Proton use 3-cylinder turbo for upcoming CKD X70 and X50, bashers say lousy engine, vibration very bad, mounting rosak cepat etc.

Honda gonna use 3-cylinder turbo, jilat, uturn budaya kite.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 13
    • Goreng pisang on Oct 14, 2019 at 8:09 pm

Japanese game changing engines have been proven internationally whereas China engines are not proven. This is why people doesn’t trust Proton X50 and X70 engines

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 31
      • You can. Since me as a Proton owner views them as anak luar nikah, because not tuned to Proton like handling. (Although I know you guys are talking about the engine)

• pisang goreng on Oct 18, 2019 at 9:32 am

x70 using china engine? hahahha bro do some reading first can?

• The current 1.8T is indeed in house develop by geely, then yes it’s a china engine.. the newer 1.5TGDI 3 cylinder is the one co developed with volvo, but still manufactured in china, technically is still a china engine. Get your fact right first bro. Duhh

• VtecT on Oct 14, 2019 at 8:16 pm

This honda 1.0T 3pot makes 129hp, 0-100 11sec. Can reach 200km/h.

• Kumpul on Oct 15, 2019 at 10:23 pm

No need very low end entry turbo engine, as the speed of the car is determine by the car driver.. High costs for servicing very low end turbo engine.. Not worth and torque / HP is inadequacy.. Lol

• timlee on Oct 14, 2019 at 8:26 pm

Well said. they buy used honda and not new P1,

• While ignoring new Proton cars are safer and more economical to run than old junk Hondas.

• 2010 1.5 city have better fc then my so called vvt 1.6 campro engine. They even cheaper to maintain too. Do you even use proton bro?

• Tokmom on Oct 14, 2019 at 9:19 pm

Chinese car compare to sushi? What a joke. It is 10years behind lah adik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
      • Celup King on Oct 15, 2019 at 11:37 am

Yes. Sushi cars is now 10 years behind Chinese cars. Got a comparable car with built in AI control for sushi car? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
        • YOU COMPARE SUSHI CAR IN MALYSIA OPCOZ 10 YEARS BACK.. TRY COMPARE WITH LEXUS (TOYOTA), ACURA (HONDA)…

• Nicholas Lee on Oct 15, 2019 at 1:27 am

X70 is 2 tonnes, can use 3cyl turbo? Comparing apples to oranges…

• UTurn M on Oct 15, 2019 at 8:18 am

Uturn dulu, Uturn kini, Uturn selamanya.

• Typical Malaysian on Oct 15, 2019 at 9:04 am

Well, worsheepers will always be worsheepers… Honda City guna enjen Honda Ex-5 pun they will say best… ha ha ha… no wonder they easily bash blindly, head too hot kena kencing… =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Real LLort on Oct 15, 2019 at 10:12 am

For bashers, whenever it’s Proton, it’s gonna be lousy. Regardless of what them bashers gonna say, I’m changing to Proton anyhow. Just waiting for X50 to launch and I’m officially a Protonese. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • newme on Oct 15, 2019 at 11:27 am

That’s Honda. You know Honda? Not some China ripoff, what’s more ripoff of China ripoff. Ukurlah badan sendiri. Nak compete dengan Honda. Tau malu sikit lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Really? on Oct 15, 2019 at 12:58 pm

Oh, Honda is god level is it? Guess which cars caused most deaths from airbags worldwide? Maruah is useless when you are ironically dead from the safety device supposedly designed to save you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • what's new? on Oct 15, 2019 at 1:00 pm

Spoken truly like a blind sheep. Bravo! Or should that be pity?

• Celup King on Oct 15, 2019 at 1:49 pm

I do know that Japanese cars here are a ripoff compared to what they give in Japan or elsewhere. China cars so far provides the same level of specs that are available back in China so no, I don’t feel China cars are a ripoff compared to Japanese cars here.

Whatmore the Geely 3cyl engine is derived from Volvo’s own, so the car owners do get more than what they paid for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Jilat, jangan tak jilat.

• newme my arse on Oct 18, 2019 at 9:36 am

Honda? do you know Honda Malaysia’s fit and finish is the lousiest? do you know Geely owns Volvo? Let me ask you back, Honda nak compete dengan Volvo? hahahha saw how fast karma hit you back? stop living in 80’s la, now China technology is way ahead! learn to accept la jangan asik dok sembah honda with its worst fit and finish quality!

• Hayenadeblue on Oct 15, 2019 at 2:37 pm

For the first time, I agree with u, TokMoh. Frankly, I am not comfortable with X70’s engine (developed purely by Geely, without any input from Volvo; Volvo only designed the shape by Peter Horbury). Not comfortable even though they have convoy from China to UK. But, for the X50, the 3-pot engine is co-developed by Geely-Volvo; I am comfortable, happy and look forward to it. Yes, Malaysian will be Malaysian; they will bash anything related to Proton.

• HeynadeRED on Oct 18, 2019 at 9:40 am

let me tell you one true fact. X70 is using Mistubishi Engine, 4G18 which is heavily modified. Now go be comfortable.

• Curious on Oct 16, 2019 at 9:07 pm

Why is this City rear design identical to 2019 Honda Insight?

I have so much doubt about the photo and label.

• Fakta on Oct 14, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Looking at Malaysia new car trend, price surely goes up.

• YB Albert on Oct 14, 2019 at 7:54 pm

This looks like a mini Accord,from the front.The frog looks better.

• Drb Honda must price down since tol is down.

• Celup King on Oct 15, 2019 at 11:39 am

DRB can price down if they own the brand like what they did with new Iriz, Persona & Saga. https://paultan.org/2019/04/23/2019-proton-persona-facelift-launched-fr-rm42600/
        Ask you who owns Honda brand? Some joker said it was DRB.

• tokmoh. on Oct 15, 2019 at 10:29 am

Good. X50 can sell better.

• Pak Toh on Oct 14, 2019 at 6:12 pm

Alamak.. should cancel Honda City Red booked. Need patience..

• Vito Aditya on Oct 14, 2019 at 6:22 pm

Not trying to shock many people here, but I heard that the Honda Jazz would be discontinued in the ASEAN region to make way for a City Hatchback? Patents and trademarks have surfaced recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • BeemerFreak on Oct 14, 2019 at 6:36 pm

inkambing roadtax City Rm20 jer… melelehh weh

• Tun Tun Kakak on Oct 15, 2019 at 11:33 am

Upcoming revised road tax based on kilowatt power output will be table at citizen hall soon. No more silly archaic road tax based on engine cubic centimetres.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 15, 2019 at 1:44 pm

Road tax should be calculated based on emissions.

taxing just output is just as silly as taxing based on capacity.

It simply penalizes cars that are more efficient and places no emphasis on cleaner running cars.

Taxing based on emissions will encourage people to upgrade to cleaner more efficient cars and push for electric vechicles. Will electric cars be taxed? sure, while the car doesn’t make any, electricity generation would.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 15, 2019 at 3:10 pm

With our Euro2 fuel 500ppm sulphur? Whatever engine still will be damn high emissions.

Garbage in, Garbage out.

• Daddykasi on Oct 14, 2019 at 9:42 pm

Fuh.. Honda! Take my money.. 1.0 turbo engine Save roadtax..

• Ben yap on Oct 15, 2019 at 2:25 am

This city can get the kad95 subsidy. Untung to drive 130hp car but pay peanuts to own one.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 15, 2019 at 3:17 pm

… Euro 5, CO2 emissions below 100 g/km, fuel consumption not exceeding 4.3 litres per 100 km (23.25 km/l), and ABS/EBD/BA/VSA standard across the range.

Thailand is way ahead of Boleh-Land.

The signs are already there for TH to overtake Boleh-Land, not just automotive sector but other business sectors too. MNCs are already bypassing Boleh-Land to set up regional offices in BKK, hiring Thai as regional managers. They may not be fluent in English like us but there are more and more overseas grads coming home to TH. Gone are the days when Boleh-Landers were the regional managers (circa 2000). Today it’s more Singaporean or Thai.

• James on Oct 15, 2019 at 5:34 pm

When is the 1 litre vehicle available in Philippines? Anybody know ?

• Mohammad Zhahirin Bin Mohamad on Oct 28, 2019 at 1:59 am

Proton will surely die first bro with its own engine.. that heavily fl 10 years engine just couldn’t keep up mind you.. that’s why government still not going to revise our tax scheme until all proton cars change
    to use geely engine.. we’ll see bout this.

• Hope city will be coming just about the right time for me to change my car.

My current list is either New City or X50.. couldn’t wait to test try them both soon.

• Julian Lopez on Nov 17, 2019 at 8:20 pm

I think if i read correctly the new City is launching 25th November 2019….might as well wait 1 week

• Ale.uto on Nov 25, 2019 at 4:58 pm

Y proton fan boy here? Idiot ppl buy proton. Top car buyer in msia not proton. Ppl don trust proton. Short trip buy axia, lonh trip buy vellfire. Where proton? At the workshop!