Fuel subsidy mechanism for M40 ready by March 2020

The government is currently carrying out a study on the mechanism for the petrol subsidy programme (PSP) for the M40 middle income group, and the results are expected to be ready towards the end of the first quarter next year, according to finance minister Lim Guan Eng.

“For M40, it will be ready by March 2020, and we plan to follow the card [approach]. Let us study this matter, and when the mechanism is ready, we will make the announcement,” he said. He added that the finance ministry will make the relevant announcements on the matter when the study is concluded, The Edge reports.

At last week’s Budget 2020 tabling, it was revealed that there would be another category for the PSP, with a “Kad95” being issued to those whose household income are below RM4,000, but are not eligible for BSH for various reasons (thus categorised as M40). Lim had said that Kad95 system would be implemented progressively in the first quarter of 2020.

Under the scheme, motorists who are not cost of living aid (BSH) recipients will be able to enjoy fuel subsidy of 30 sen per litre on RON 95 fuel, limited to 100 litres per month for cars and 40 litres per month for motorcycles.

This translates to a cap of RM30 for cars and RM12 per month for motorcycles, which is the same amount BSH recipients get, although the latter group gets the amount banked in automatically to their accounts every four months (with the first payment in April 2020).

Once the PSP is introduced in Peninsular Malaysia in January 2020, the RM2.08 per litre price cap in place for RON 95 is set to be removed, and its price will be floated. Based on the finance ministry’s latest Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations (for the period of October 12-18), RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.37 per litre without the price cap.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sick & Tired on Oct 16, 2019 at 10:40 am

I will wait for their U-turns coming March 2020.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Veyron Owner on Oct 16, 2019 at 10:41 am

More subsidi & bantuan go to B40 & M40 , and we T20 got Higher taxed. well played pakatan …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Crony on Oct 16, 2019 at 11:55 am

No worries. Us rich already got contracts and more contracts with much higher benefits. Gov lose money, who cares? I vote them for the contracts after all.

• Anthony Lim on Oct 16, 2019 at 11:10 am

IF IF IF… the favorite word of the year.
    Last time “IF we are in government we can put RM1.50″
    Today ” IF they were still in government it would be RM4.00″

The narration of the denials….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Norlia on Oct 16, 2019 at 12:33 pm

IF Felda dan TH no misconduct , IF bailout both.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Brian on Oct 16, 2019 at 2:20 pm

Their misconduct is small matter compared to the billions lost in Undersea Tunnel Project that never materialise.

• Rosman on Oct 16, 2019 at 11:14 am

Bagi macam tak mau bagi.

• OngTK on Oct 16, 2019 at 12:13 pm

Always talk first. Give implementation date but not able to keep the date as usual.

• Malaysia is doomed on Oct 16, 2019 at 12:37 pm

Eng gor, tolong lah. Don’t spend another RM25 millions again just to study and design the mechanism, it is mother fxxking stupid and wasting our tax money only. Just spend that money as subsidy la diu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Fakta on Oct 16, 2019 at 2:08 pm

The mechanism and study outcome can be used for other subsidy and gomen initiatives for next 60 years or more..

Your mindset stuck at dedak feedings, saddings… Just spend that money as subsidy la diu. short term and narrow mindset, failures of our great nation for last 60 year. Ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country – JFK ,”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Mr Albert on Oct 16, 2019 at 3:19 pm

Hahaha. Why not you say the study can be used forever and ever. So that’s very jimat loorrr. Hahaha.

• M.Hafizh on Oct 16, 2019 at 4:05 pm

Hahaha. Spot on Mr Albert, why not subsidi that RM25 millions to all 33 millions Malaysian…. we each get 77.4 sen loorr. Hahaha

• History Bender on Oct 16, 2019 at 4:54 pm

Later money sink into study but it never ends, continue to spend on studying and still studying and still studying and still……

• Anthony Lim on Oct 16, 2019 at 6:52 pm

how you know?
        are you a spoke person for MOT?
        losing dedak coz your useless service isnt sought after anymore is it?
        use some brain la, how can today’s useless study be any help 60 years later?
        No need to ask everyone what they can do for the nation, ask yourself how you can not be useless insteadla…

• Bro. Now PH in gomen, they have sufficient dedak to hire resident troopers to stay in websites like PaulTan. You can see them so obvious since they keep changing names.
          Well, useless as they are this is the gomen Malaysians have voted for, right?

• Panjang on Oct 17, 2019 at 1:14 pm

Hari ini sedang panas panjang, kacang lupa akan kulitnya’

• Anthony Lim on Oct 18, 2019 at 8:24 am

No need to see names…
            Just see whether the message makes common sense or not…
            The more I look at it the more nonsense it is…
            Then I think back, how come all these didn’t sound like nonsense back them for the past over 50 years?

Were PH literally sitting for free salary for the past 50 years, not knowing the actual reality of the government, and proposed fictitious alternative budgets???
            Because if it is, we want them to vomit back out all their salaries taken the past 50 years!!!!!

• Haha.. As if can use la. RM305M tunnel study outcome also until today cannot see. They take forever and ever to do the study.

• Daddykasi on Oct 16, 2019 at 1:50 pm

March 2020….

U turn…

Ok next

• Gov should stop subsidy for everything: fuel, rice, sugar, oil etc and use the money instead to buy back ringgit in the market to strengthen it against other world currencies. This alone will reduce cost of living sustainably. Bigger currency when tourist come we can earn more money from the. Subsidy just burns money wi5out much being done. Thai baht appreciated 30% means thai now earn 30% more from tourist.