Daihatsu confirms its involvement with DreamEdge in development of Malaysia’s new national car project

Daihatsu Motor Company (DMC) has confirmed the company’s involvement in Malaysia’s new national car project, which is being led by Malaysian company DreamEdge.

The confirmation came from Soichiro Okudaira, president of DMC, who spoke to Malaysian journalists at the sidelines of the 2019 Tokyo Motor Show. He said that the compact car specialist is in talks with DreamEdge, but did not elaborate on what the talks were about, or the extent of DMC’s participation in the project.

This is the first time we’ve heard about the new national car from an official partner source since the announcement on August 9 by the ministry of international trade and industry, which named DreamEdge as the lead company.

In August, DreamEdge CEO Khairil Adri Adnan said that the new national car would be an “exclusive model with a new approach to segmentation, and that it would be a plus-sized B-segment sedan (initially mentioned during the press conference as C-segment, and later corrected) equipped with either a regular ICE or hybrid powertrain. The car would be built by a contract manufacturer, with rumours of this being Daihatsu subsidiary Perodua.

At that point, DreamEdge and MITI had said that the engineering capability model mock-up was slated to be shown at the end of August, but that month came and passed without a word from either party.

They also said that mid-September would see the kick-start of additional recruitment for the project, and that the first model prototype of the new national car will be shown in March 2020, with the final product set to make its market debut in March 2021.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Can I just say.. WTF seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Celup King on Oct 23, 2019 at 5:25 pm

RM20million already sunken in. If not serious, that is RM20million gone liao!

• Hassan Yunos on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:54 am

20 mil is peanuts compared to the rakyat losing tons of money from bad RV. Proton has the worst RV. Rakyat have lost trillions the past 30 yrs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Brian on Oct 24, 2019 at 7:06 pm

I don’t understand. Didn’t you say Proton wasn’t selling and they had been making losses for past 30 years. So for rakyat to have lost trillions in RV would meant Proton had sold cars worth in tens of trillions to accrue that bad RV of trillions. So which are you telling us is the truth, or is any of what you’re telling us even true? I don’t understand what you’re trying to say.

• Real LLort on Oct 25, 2019 at 2:10 pm

Ok, I have combined my memory with google help to search everywhere and I din’t find a single Proton RV (Recreational Vehicle) that Hassan is saying. When did Proton make RV?

• DPcraft on Oct 23, 2019 at 3:22 pm

That 2 steps backwards… DE should involved Hyundai Nexo hydrogen SUV used by my state Abang Johari. Hydrogen is zero emission… We can convert our water resources to hydrogen and clean our environment..,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Norlia on Oct 23, 2019 at 7:02 pm

I suggest DreamEdge to bring in Daihatsu Ariya and rename it Aiya. So whenever the rakyat sees this car, they will facepalm themselves while saying “Aiya! Money wasted!”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • YB Albert on Oct 23, 2019 at 3:49 pm

This 3rd national car mega project is like a self destructive nuclear missile aimed at PH.
    Tun said petrol subsidy will stop.Fair.But the savings go to all these unwanted ,wasteful white elephants.
    Now Tommy Thomas suing Goldman sachs for billions of $$.
    When the duit dah dapat,Pakatan splash on someone’s grand hobby..Protiga.What a load of unacceptable crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 23, 2019 at 7:50 pm

More jobs for rakyat and tech transfer to rakyat. With technology capabilities our country wont left behind to next wave, the Technology Revolution..after we missed badly Industrial revolution. Tun invested for our future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • What tech transfer? We have been assembling rebadged Daihatsu cars for 25 years and we still do not have the tech to build our own cars. So I don’t see this tech transfer you are talking about.

• 4bini on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:39 am

spot on, well said. Hopefully this time we can understand the transfer of technology. Mitsubishi tried to transfer technology to use but our local guys told them, “Tak paham”

• redpilled on Oct 24, 2019 at 2:57 pm

You mean like the ones that dominate the management positions in Penang FTZ factories? And Perai?

• redpilled on Oct 24, 2019 at 3:06 pm

Really? We’re you privy to the agreement between Mitsu- P1 for you to make such claim? Or maybe if you were part of that team, was that the excuse you sold to the Japs so that they didnt transfer tech, much like how those in management of the factories in FTZ convinced the foreign investors to not hire locals?

Funny, your ‘tak paham’ excuse flies in the face of P1 chassis engineers who can tune P1 ride and handling perfectly, courtesy of Lotus tech transfer.

• Brian on Oct 24, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Oh yeah. Mitsubishi were trying to transfer the whip and chain locks technology plus the slave labouring knowhow but you see, Proton workers are too ethical and respectful of fellow human beings to comprehend what these Japs were trying to teach. Once Proton management board found out, they kicked them Japs all the way back to Nippon and disallowed them to come back for 10 years. Eventually they returned back via Tan Chong Motors, another bloodsucker of their employees. I’m glad Proton didn’t follow their culture of slavery.

• Hassan Yunos on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:58 am

If everybody got the jobs then okay. But if only a certain segment of the population got majority of the jobs, then no point

• Hassan Yunos on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:57 am

Government need to give jobs to certain people. Just like the 1.6 million jobs in the Government.

Many projects are created just to give certain people jobs.

• Essentially a myvi sedan

• thepolygon on Oct 23, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Eh? Then Perodua apa macam? Don’t tell me this Dream Edge is gonna be a different segment altogether… a higher segment model assembled by Perodua but called DreamEdge… so basically like Toyota and Lexus… we have Perodua and DreamEdge?

• Celup King on Oct 23, 2019 at 5:23 pm

Well habislah Perodua! All their fanboys will be crying now.

• 4bini on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:37 am

At least Perodua makes money for the Government and the rakyat. Other car companies just a burden to the public coffers.

• Brian on Oct 24, 2019 at 7:09 pm

I don’t see what is so good about Perodua making money for the Japanese Government, and we get nothing. They should be like Proton, making money for our Government not for the Japanese Government. They have plenty of money yet they still take our money. So unethical.

• Hassan Yunos on Oct 24, 2019 at 10:00 am

more competition is always better. Time we give up pampering certain segments.

• Ruslan Bahari on Oct 23, 2019 at 6:30 pm

Predge… not bad.

• Mybee king on Oct 23, 2019 at 9:27 pm

Every one dream…they make more powerfull than mybee…turbo 1.5 on small ass tin can pls…

• I luv Africa on Oct 23, 2019 at 11:32 pm

So it is going to be another “cheap compact” car? By cheap I mean literally with the quality. Daihatsu Is known to make compact cars and I am sure they will be using an existing platform for the new car.

Now if the 3rd national car was a larger sedan/SUV that can compete with Mercedes, BMW … or at LEAST a Toyota Camry/RAV4 then I can understand. It will show the capabilities of this new corporation but NOPE, it will be another cheap, lousy, compact car like the Myvi.

• Amran on Oct 24, 2019 at 7:52 am

I have a dream….

• Robinhood on Oct 24, 2019 at 10:19 am

MACC, please vet through the supply chain especially on the involvement of public funds on this project!!!