VIDEO: Nissan Ariya and IMk concepts on display at Tokyo Motor Show – previews new EV styling direction

At this year’s Tokyo Motor Show, Nissan presented two interesting concepts, the Ariya and IMk, with both said to preview a new design direction for the Japanese carmaker, which follows the theme of “Timeless Japanese Futurism.”

The Ariya takes the shape of a crossover, and features a more contemporary take on the company’s signature V-motion grille that is flanked by ultra-slim, four-element LED headlamps. Other highlights include a Suisei Blue paint finish, 21-inch aluminium wheels, a rear light blade and a minimalist interior that continues the minimalism approach.

According to Nissan, the Ariya is built on an all-new electric vehicle platform with a dual-motor drive configuration for all-wheel drive. While the company is coy with the specifics, it says that the powertrain provides optimum traction on slippery surfaces thanks to the knowledge gained from the development of the GT-R’s ATTESA E-TS torque split and Patrol’s Intelligent 4×4 systems.

On the other hand, the IMk sports a boxier look that is reminiscent of kei cars that are popular in Japan, with the dimensions to match. Finished in Akagane paint scheme, the EV show car’s numerous lines seen on the grille, bumpers, wheels, tyres, windows, tailights, roof and rear spoiler are a nod to the flowing patterns of mizuhiki, a thin twine made of Japanese rice paper.

Inside, the IMk continues to pay homage to Japanese craftsmanship with wood slats in the lower door section that points towards the wood joinery technique of kigumi. There are also modern touches here like bench-style seats with a dimpled texture and a bezel-less prism display for important driving information.

It’s certainly interesting to see the direction that Nissan is taking with its future models, and if you want to see more of both concepts beyond just static photos, we’ve prepared a brief video with live footage from the floors of this year’s Tokyo Motor Show. Enjoy, and share your thoughts about the two Nissan concepts in the comments below.

GALLERY: Nissan Ariya Concept

GALLERY: Nissan iMK Concept

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Shukor bin Azman on Oct 25, 2019 at 6:27 pm

Everybody is moving towards EV. Those car companies still sleeping, pls wake up. Don’t later cry bantuan kerajaan and bailouts when nobody buys your outdated cars.

By 2035, the whole of Europe will be fully EV. No more petrol cars. So, how are we going to export our petrol cars to Europe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • Yup I wished Perodua will listen to this advice but they still buat tak tau and continue to sell us outdated junk. Malaysians don’t buy Perodua because they have a choice but because it is just cheap. Look at Aruz dismal sales and you can see why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
      • Ayam percik on Oct 26, 2019 at 10:12 am

Proton said they will sell their game changing Iriz EV soon. 6 years have passed, where is it now?

• Suhaimi on Oct 28, 2019 at 12:01 am

In 2014, MAI said that it will come out in 2017 priced at below RM100K.

Now already 2019, but we still do not see the car for SALE

• yawnz on Oct 28, 2019 at 12:04 am

Perodua have promised us Kenari hybrid for 16 years now. Where is it?

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Oct 29, 2019 at 9:26 am

Proton took billions of ringgit in grants as they said they need to do further research on the Iriz EV after their soft launch.

Where is the car now?

• granny on Oct 26, 2019 at 10:32 am

Perodua Aruz Sales > Honda BR-V, Livina, Ertiga, Exora.

Segment to Segment comparison.

• Awang Selamat on Oct 26, 2019 at 6:05 pm

You cannot blame Perodua for this because majority working in Perodua are the lazy type that still believes in bantuan kerajaan and a privileged life. They still have this entitlement mentality so, they, don’t bother innovating to improve themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Awang Selamat on Oct 26, 2019 at 6:07 pm

Another fake news. Aruz sales have overtaken Proton X70.

And Myvi sales have overtaken all of Proton sales by 4X

Are we saying the 240,000 people who bought Perodua this year is blur? Or do we trust one frustrated keyboard warrior who told us Aruz sales is bad?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • yawnz on Oct 28, 2019 at 12:03 am

Another fake news. X70 sold 40,000 while Aruz only sold 20,000 so far. Don’t bother with your fake news story here.

• The Truth About Perodua and Proton on Oct 26, 2019 at 6:35 pm

Do I bilip you or do I bilip MAA figures which shows P2 sales are nearly 5X Proton.

This is despite P1 getting Government orders from Kerajaan Malaysia for their Ministries and Government Departments. Each year, Government orders alone about 20,000 cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Adrian on Oct 26, 2019 at 6:47 pm

where is ur Iriz EV? I waiting 7 years now….

• Spin Too Much on Oct 28, 2019 at 12:05 pm

Where is ur Kenari hybrid? I waiting for 16 years now….

• Everybody is moving towards EV? In China the EV bubble burst already: The sales numers of EV’s decreased 33% (!) in September 2019.
      Not to forget that some districts in China have a registration system like Singapore which prefers EV’s over petrol or diesel cars.

• Somehow reminds me of a Honda NSX look does it?

• Typical Malaysian on Oct 28, 2019 at 11:39 am

Posts about other brand also want to bring crappy brand issue in, then bark about sales figures. desperate betol penyembah brand2 cikai.