Proton records 9,503 registrations in October, says it is confident of hitting 100,000-unit mark this year

Proton has announced its sales performance for the month of October 2019, and the national carmaker says that 9,503 units were shifted last month, an improvement over the 8,934 units it managed in September. Given that the figure includes both domestic sales as well as exports (the automaker actually recorded 8,685 units domestically in September), the official numbers for the month should only be revealed when the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) releases its vehicle sales data for October.

With sales having propelled it to second in the overall sales table so far this year, Proton says it remains confident of maintaining that position until the end of the year and hitting the 100,000 unit mark in 2019.

Sales of the Saga have undoubtedly helped the achievement so far – the car has now received over 28,000 bookings since its launch, and the 4,273 units that were sold last month meant the model posted its highest sales figure in 51 months.

The automaker added that the cumulative total for the first 10 months of the year, which now stands at 79,833 units (domestic and export), is a 46% improvement over the same period in 2018 in year-to-date numbers. It estimates that its overall market share is now at 16%, representing a 5.2% increase over the previous year.

“We are humbled by the response our products have received from Malaysian car buyers. In the space of just eight months we launched our first SUV and updated all our other models, giving Proton the youngest model range for any car brand in Malaysia. The hard work has paid off with increased sales and we are now confident of being able to sell 100,000 units this year, providing us with a solid base to move forward in 2020 and beyond,” said Proton CEO Li Chunrong.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Peng Li on Nov 04, 2019 at 11:04 am

Tahniah Dr. Li Chunrong ! Terbaekk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Think on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:00 pm

Would Proton have succeeded with a local CEO?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
      • why not. Our Perodua’s DS Syed Zainal Abidin and CEO Zainal Abidin Ahmad orso mantap beb..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Brian on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:13 pm

Proton have succeeded in exporting to Japan during local CEO era. That’s a win.

• alldisc on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:26 pm

Yes. The bulk of proton sales are saga and persona. X70 sales were all bookings from last year (pre launched, test drive units etc).

Aruz had affected x70 sales quite bad.. until the x50 comes we wont know.

Dr Li brought with him the cash for proton to breath, overhead expenses and outstanding debts. Proton has yet to make any impact in the international market. The steps taken were too small (bangladesh, brunei etc)

• YB Albert on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:29 pm

Local CEOs ,like those in DRB only know one way…ask for bailout money in the name of R n D.Hello,MACC Latheefa…please siasat rakyat money diverted to pay cronies altho they r for research and development.

• Talk is easy but in the end of the year we will always see game changing Perodua sales in the top while Proton can’t even reach 50k units target

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • tokmoh. on Nov 04, 2019 at 5:15 pm

32 years of chance had been given.

If not interested to run business properly, don’t hate foreigners for doing what is necessary.

There are those that use R&R card to hate on Geely. They’d mock other people’s religion, skin colour, and lament the management is not made up of people with same skin colour and religion as them. Pathetic.

About time Proton become true global player with Geely, and that means creed, race and religion are irrelevant. Only merit counts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • So right tok. Those dignifieds no less. They’d mock other people’s religion, skin colour, and lament the management is not made up of people with same skin colour and religion as them. Pathetic. Only merit counts.

• redpilled on Nov 05, 2019 at 9:26 am

interesting framing. Dr. Li wouldnt evevn be the CEO if chedet was still P1 advisor, like how he torpedoed the VW nego just to save his crony vendors.

well done P1 and Dr. Li, and credits to who cleared the path for P1/Geely union.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Nov 04, 2019 at 11:35 am

X80 bila mari?

:p

• Amran on Nov 04, 2019 at 11:52 am

Too confi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Toyota sales performance:-
      2014 102035 units
      2015 93760 units
      2016 63757 units
      2017 69492 units
      2018 65551 units
      2019 as of September 47608 units, Toyota targeted this year with confidence can achieve 70000 units sales volume.

• tokmoh. on Nov 04, 2019 at 12:13 pm

BRAVO! Well done!

Thor : I knew it.

Yes, I knew this day will come, in 2017 so many naysayers, said Geely merely forced to buy Proton, their true aim is Lotus. But I knew from day 1, this day wasn’t just a possibility, it was inevitable! Proton is destined for greatness with Geely Empire!

When X70 launched, many laughed, who gonna pay rm123k for a bloody Proton/China junk? Well, no one’s laughing now hohohahahahahaha JoaquinPhoenix.jpg

When I say the day will come when Proton will beat P2 for no.1, is there doubt in me? Not even the slightest chance! Why? You wouldn’t get it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Ksatria on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:05 pm

Fist bump bro! Local economy gonna get worst.
      even kete B40’s Proton Saga so laku keras wei!!

• To the basher: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

• Some say Perodua sales always 4X of Proton. So, is Perodua going to sell 400k cars this year?

• That stupid guy missing already.

• 2019 Jan to Oct Proton total sales 79833 units, 16% of TIV.
        YTD TIV (Oct) = 498956 units.
        YTD TIV (Sep) = 442991 units.
        2019 October total sales volume = 55965 units.
        2019 September total sales volume 44666 units:-
        1. Perodua 16978 units @ market share 38%
        2. Proton 8685 units @ market share 19%
        3. Honda 5752 units @ market share 13%
        4. Toyota 5282 units @ market share 12%
        5. Nissan 1583 units @ market share 4%

Estimate 2019 October sales by brand will be:-
        1. Perodua 20700 units
        2. Proton 9503 units
        3. Honda 7800 units
        4. Toyota 6600 units
        5. Nissan 2500 units

• msia driver on Nov 04, 2019 at 12:17 pm

well done proton
    this x70 just launch not more than 1 year and achieve sale record 100k units, Guinness book record in Malaysia car history

• Mumm-Ra Bezza lost to Thundercats Saga.
    Mumm-Ra Aruz lost to Thunderscats X70.
    Rambutans fail to sell 319332 biji because Musang King already sell 79833 biji as per end of October 2019.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Li Peng on Nov 04, 2019 at 5:22 pm

It doesn’t matter who “lost” or “won”. It does matter that healthy competition brings down the prices for the consumers.

• But Perodua isn’t bringing down their pricing. For Proton it’s a one horse race to make it cheaper for more to afford. Perodua more focused on makeing profits and sending all back to Japan.

• Kukubebird on Nov 05, 2019 at 5:22 pm

The new Axia could’ve been that. Lower price with added value, like better suspension, NVH upgrades, or simply better refinements. P2 could’ve still claim the most affordable new car in the market – refined.

But nope. Here’s an ASA 2.0 that’s… not particularly useful on a friggin Axia. And take away leather seats and resell them back in Gear Up. And lets not forget the newer batches of Myvi’s gearbox and fuel pump issues but no recalls were made. It’s a Myvi, how the heck do you mess up Myvi’s ‘bulletproof’ no hassle status?

Not sure if P2’s new SUV’s gonna pose a threat to X50 tho. They better up their game with Bezza facelift.

• Changing statement again?
        Ok, i record that.

• YB Albert on Nov 04, 2019 at 1:04 pm

If GEELY walked away,without coming to rescue poor proton,DRB will have gone 3 more rounds of asking for Billions of Rm in bailout money,in the form of Research & development grants,ultimately benefiting the spineless cronies.
    And now the job is done,billions will be dished out to launch protiga again…just never ending sending taxringgit into a huge money pit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • bossku on Nov 28, 2019 at 9:04 am

that’s mean najib’s plan is correct to help proton… what a bright solution from oyr expm

• Myvech on Nov 04, 2019 at 1:22 pm

The name SAGA itself is a legend since 1985. But old saga n iswara is better less problem than now saga too many problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • Ex VGM staff on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Thats because old cars have almost zero electronics. No efi, or fuzzy intelligent automatics..or power windows.. or andriod head units.. immobiliser etc. Just fill petrol and up you go.

Same was corolla and civic of yesteryeaes.

• Li Peng on Nov 04, 2019 at 5:24 pm

Same with P2. I never heard that a Myvi mark 1 lost it’s rear axle.

• Amran on Nov 04, 2019 at 5:59 pm

Old saga using carburator, new saga using vvt fi..

• Sam KK Loo on Nov 04, 2019 at 8:09 pm

The name MYVI itself is a legend since 2005. But old 1st and 2nd gen one is way better less problem than now myvi too many problems due to cost cutting and downgrading to aXAI junk car status.

• newme on Nov 05, 2019 at 1:41 pm

Old saga built when the japanese were still part of the team.

• Leo Boon Loong on Nov 04, 2019 at 1:35 pm

X70 is really a proven game changer – it really changes the fortune of Proton ever since the launch. I know there are 5 around me who have recently changed to X70 citing confidence of this model.

Next year will be another milestone for them when the X50 is launched and priced between 70k-90k++… and lets not forget the SUV. The strategy is working for Proton

• According to Perodua SH supporters, Perodua’s sales are 4 times that of Proton. If this year’s sales of Pronton reached 100,000 units and Perodua could not sell 400,000 units, it means Perodua fail.

• pomen on Nov 04, 2019 at 2:27 pm

thanks to najib…haha
    under atok we won’t achieve this figure..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • granny on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:10 am

haha..najib amek mc, tuang kerja
      go jenjalan, makan angin at johor..

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 04, 2019 at 2:41 pm

Proton is doing well solely because of Li Chunrong. Li Chunrong in 6 months managed to identify all the leakages and plugged it.

Local abang abang CEOs could not identify any leakages in the past 20 years.

This is why we need more Mainland CEOs to come into Malaysia to help us run our companies and Government bodies.

You will see productivity will tenfold

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • Later majority think DAP is taking over the country how? they will protest lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:25 pm

If they think DAP is send by communist China,what more can we say? They r square pegs in a round hole.

• I believe DSZ would be able to turn around proton if Tun didn’t meddle with Proton. Look at what happen when he left. Now Geely has saved Proton.

• Abang2 Basikal Lajak on Nov 04, 2019 at 2:44 pm

I hope Proton fanboys don’t come here and action. Remember, it is a foreign CEO that saved your company.

Also, it is a foreign China made car, the Geely Boyue that saved your company.

Don’t syiok sendiri when someone else has done all the hardwork.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • Real LLort on Nov 04, 2019 at 5:31 pm

BTW, the proper word would be “showoff” .. to replace your word “action” because I think you meant “eksyen”.. but yeah, whatever makes you happy. If you’re a salesman of a rival car brand, don’t be scared at Proton. If you are scared, it means Proton has the quality to beat you, and you, and you, and you!! LOL

• Celup King on Nov 04, 2019 at 5:46 pm

Foreign Daihatsu have been saving your sorry Perodua ass for 25 years yet you keep coming here to action. So don’t pot calling kettle black.

• You mean like you shiok sendiri when the Japanese are doing all the hardwork for ur Perodua? Hahahahaha!

• Steven Lim on Nov 05, 2019 at 11:31 am

Abang abang run both Proton and Perodua. So, things are the same more or less. Both still rebadger after 30 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Real LLort on Nov 04, 2019 at 3:31 pm

If someone asks me why I buy China rebadge, I’ll reply to them, “Because I’ve been buying rebadge all my life, so why stopped now?” rofl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Ahmadjr on Nov 04, 2019 at 3:34 pm

If they changed the punch cvt to hyundai transmission in persona and iriz, it would be more sales

• Pineapple boi on Nov 04, 2019 at 3:43 pm

I have waited 2 months since the beginning registration for the saga… Unfortunately, has not arrived yet… It’s quite a long waiting time…

• Real LLort on Nov 04, 2019 at 5:27 pm

That’s what happen last time when I bought my Bezza. And last time you don’t need to wait long to get a Proton, it’s always “ready stock”. I hope nowadays Perodua ain’t gonna always have “ready stock” and Proton always have to wait because if that happens, you know what it means.. lwmbawrotf!

• Daddykasi on Nov 04, 2019 at 3:54 pm

Be realistic.. Only between 80k-90k this year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • 10 months YTD already have 79833 units. If market share can achieve 18%, November and December can get another 17280 units, total for year 2019 will have 97113 units, less 2887 units.

• panjang on Nov 05, 2019 at 10:06 am

Its called challenging one self.
      Sitting down comfortably wont produce any change.

• Not Toyota Fan on Nov 05, 2019 at 11:14 am

100,000 Doable at a stretch. 95,000 is my prediction

• Justice on Nov 04, 2019 at 4:30 pm

both proton and perodua are disgrace, unable to sell thier cars in US, Europe and most countries

• Proton have sold cars in Japan, so that’s just one less of a disgrace. The other disgrace still remains.

• Real LLort on Nov 05, 2019 at 3:13 pm

Unable to sell their cars in US, Europe and most countries doesn’t make them a disgrace. Some country might impose ridiculous taxes on Proton or Perodua, same as how non-local brands being treated here. Then they will have concerns about car-parts etc., also same as how we are concerned. At the end of the day, those people rather buy something worth the long run. Furthermore, it’s not like you don’t own or never driven a disgrace before.. wahahaha

• Based on above info, Malaysia vehicle sales data in October 2019 by brand will be:-
    1. Perodua (Rambutans) – 20034 biji
    2. Proton (Musang King) – 9503 biji
    3. Honda (Nashi) – 6748 biji
    4. Toyota (Shikwasa) – 6221 biji
    5. Nissan (Ume) – 1845 biji

• Amran on Nov 05, 2019 at 12:04 pm

Can i order suprima s premium?

• john doe on Nov 05, 2019 at 12:19 pm

Proton X70 is nothing imports! Only boosting China GDP!

• Real LLort on Nov 05, 2019 at 3:17 pm

I don’t understand this comment even a bit but I’m in a good mood so I just reply anyway. G’day t’you mate!