Flying car takes maiden test flight Thursday – report

Malaysia’s first flying vehicle prototype is set to take flight on Thursday, and minister of entrepreneur development Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof will be riding in the vehicle alongside its pilot when it takes its maiden flight, Berita Harian reports.

Redzuan also invited members of Parliament to witness the flying vehicle prototype’s test flight when speaking at the Dewan Rakyat, the news daily reported.

“I want to extend my invitation to the respected MPs. This Thursday, I will be riding (in) the flying vehicle or two-man vehicle. I (would like to) invite Paya Besar MP Mohd Shahar Abdullah (to the test flight),” Redzuan said.

Known as the Vector, the ‘flying car’ developed by Aerodyne Group is actually a drone-based, point-to-point air mobility solution that is reportedly powered by four electric motors and a lithium-ion battery. This is said to weigh 600 kg and have a payload of up to 200 kg, and is capable of flying about 50 metres above ground level at 60 km/h, with flight time ranging between 30 to 90 minutes.

A scale model of the Vector was displayed at the Langkawi International Maritime and Aerospace 2019 (LIMA 19) exhibition earlier in March this year, and Redzuan said in October that a second ‘flying car’ is in the works and estimated to perform its first flight in the third quarter of next year.

“The second version is using new technology and we are discussing whether or not it’s possible, and if there is interest in the country, to have the inaugural flight by the third quarter of (2020),” said Redzuan, who added that the vehicle is currently being developed in Europe.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Jeremy on Nov 19, 2019 at 10:57 am

60 km/h only? civic gonna smoked this big time,

• In your article, ur seem to use the same picture again and again that kinda give bad impression about this project. I hope that you should use a better picture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Lolwhut? on Nov 19, 2019 at 11:59 am

Then would you prefer picture of a KDK fan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • newme on Nov 19, 2019 at 12:14 pm

Sounds like people with vested interest want others to portray positive impression about this dumb project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Not Toyota Fan on Nov 19, 2019 at 11:07 am

Bon voyage Redzuan.

Hope you fly to the moon and stay there.

• Celup King on Nov 19, 2019 at 11:46 am

Oh please make our Cabinet ministers as the first test subjects and do it on an open field.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Ahmadjr on Nov 19, 2019 at 12:21 pm

We’re gonna have good laugh in 2020. Can’t wait

• Eagerly waiting on Nov 19, 2019 at 12:22 pm

If the government has a submarine that cannot submerge, do you think Malaysia can have a flying car that can fly? Elon Musk would have made a flying car first if it’s feasible. I am waiting for Thursday.

• THURSADY PRESS STATEMENT on Nov 19, 2019 at 2:44 pm

Ujian kerete terbang hari ini akan di tetunda ke masa yang belum ditentukan kerana masalan tenikal dan cuanace yang beruk..sila ambik perihatian and maklum.sekian

• Justice on Nov 19, 2019 at 12:56 pm

local ordinary cars also not to world standards but wanted to make flying cars pula, go fly kites better la…what a joke

• Ksatria on Nov 19, 2019 at 1:14 pm

Now all uncle, anney, pakcik mackcik can fly.
    Kmon gomen.. give us full ev or at least plug ins at affordable price (sub 70K – work on it!)

• We will have another by-election if this thing fall from the sky.

• Angry Voters on Nov 19, 2019 at 11:57 pm

Please all Cabinet ministers better try as above said, then maybe we can have full general re-election again.

• Fadzili Rahman on Nov 19, 2019 at 1:52 pm

these people made gov look bad . their useless talks and activities made the new Malaysia lose its face in-front of people. recent election loss is because of these ministers make people lose faith in gov. please stop this nonsense

• White on Nov 19, 2019 at 2:02 pm

Hope they don’t last minutes announce that due to some security, technical reason and unforeseen circumstances, the test fly will be postponed to another date.

• Disappointed citizen on Nov 19, 2019 at 2:56 pm

Seriously… Can a million RM flying car solve most of Malaysians current and future challenges? If this flying car is for real, perhaps only to take care of the super rich and famous

• Assaifiy on Nov 19, 2019 at 5:09 pm

Drone and flying car are not the same thing.
    Please know the difference.

• Sam KK Look on Nov 19, 2019 at 7:38 pm

local ordinary cars as good as pariah standards (can’t even make an aluminium engine block and can’t even put a bloody temperature gauge) but wanted to make flying cars pula, go fly to Hell better la…what a joke

• Joe Public on Nov 20, 2019 at 12:16 am

Seriously?! PH has got problems coming of every single hole of theirs and this is what they’re focused on?!