Five-year maintenance costs for Toyota Hilux, Ford Ranger, Mitsubishi Triton pick-up trucks compared

This is among the more frequent questions that we get – maintenance costs for pick-up trucks. The interest in one-tonne pick-up trucks as urban machines for daily use has been rising over the years, and it’s now common to see trucks sporting features – whether convenience or safety – that are on par with passenger cars.

The seemingly good value of trucks compared to the garden variety sedan or SUV also helps – it does appear like one’s getting a lot of metal for the money. And that’s before taking into account the natural attributes of a truck that’s perfect for urban warfare – high ground clearance and water wading capability for floods, and a high vantage point of a driving position. Of course, they look really macho doing it, too.

It’s only natural then that maintenance costs for these robust 4WD trucks are higher than the typical passenger car, but how do they compare with each other? The three most popular pick-up trucks in Malaysia by sales are the Toyota Hilux, Mitsubishi Triton and Ford Ranger. We’ve obtained the official service menu from the manufacturers and collated the figures for you here.

These are figures comparing service costs up to five years or 100,000 km. We’ve picked the range-topping variants to compare – the Toyota Hilux 2.8L (RM140,088 for the Black Edition), the 2.4L Mitsubishi Triton Adventure X (RM137,900) and the Ford Ranger 2.0L Bi-Turbo (RM144,888 for the Wildtrak). All these big boys have automatic transmissions and 4×4.

Not everything is like-for-like – for instance, the service interval for the Hilux is 5,000 km or three months, versus the 10,000 km/six months of the Triton and Ranger. Along with the shorter service interval (which not everyone might be happy with), Toyota recommends mineral oil while the other two use fully synthetic engine oil.

There are other variables too. Automatic transmission fluid (ATF) change is included in the Triton’s 100,000 km service menu, whereas it’s recommended for the Hilux owner at the 80,000 km service. You won’t find the ATF mention in Ford’s menu because a recommended change is very far down the road at 250,000 km, costing RM721.10.

So, as you can see, based on official figures, the Triton Adventure X will cost the least to maintain in five years at RM5,903, followed by the Hilux 2.8L at RM6,427. The Ranger 2.0L Bi-Turbo will need RM7,347 from you over five years. It has to be said that the differences aren’t huge for vehicles that are priced some way above RM100k, but they are there.

Also, this is purely comparing maintenance and service costs. Total ownership costs will differ once you factor in things such as road tax (the 2.0L Ranger owner will pay significantly less than 2.8L Hilux owner, for instance) and fuel consumption. Of course, the length of the factory warranty matters, and in this department Mitsubishi is the clear winner – the Triton comes with a five-year/200,000 km warranty, ahead of the Hilux at five years/150,000 km and the Ranger at three years/100,000 km.

It must also be said that no one makes a purchase decision purely based on dollars and cents, especially since the top tier trucks are all trading on design and lifestyle as much as things such as FC and running costs. Buy something that you truly like.

Clockwise from top: official service menus for Ranger, Hilux and Triton. Click to enlarge

While compiling the figures, we noticed a couple of things. Mitsubishi’s service menu is the most comprehensive, listing down the services and parts that need to be done and/or replaced at each point. Prices for each Triton service is generally higher than that of the Hilux (there are two sessions that breach RM1,000, for instance), but bear in mind the service interval difference – Hilux owners will need to send their truck in twice more than the Triton owner, and the Toyota’s 80,000 km service is the costliest one listed here, at RM1,247 (inclusive of ATF change).

In terms of the price difference between services, the Ford Ranger owner can afford to “close eyes” and handover the credit card, as prices are the most consistent – you’ll be paying around the same fee each time (ranges between RM571 and RM928). On the other hand, Hilux servicing costs range from RM117 to RM1,247, so you’ll better have funds in hand. Note that this is purely a guide based on figures that are publicly available – if you need a detailed breakdown and itemised billing, refer to the official service centres.

In conclusion, if you’re wondering which of the three most popular pick-up trucks in Malaysia is the cheapest to maintain, it’s the Mitsubishi Triton – plus it has the longest warranty as well. Of course, maintenance costs alone is not the be-all and end-all of truck ownership; choosing the right one for yourself goes much further than that, but since a lot of potential owners have been asking for this, well, now you know.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Coollllll on Nov 22, 2019 at 1:49 pm

After 20 years hilux spare parts anywhere anytime can find. Triton will be little difficult. More worse ranger some parts may cant find.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 22
    • Frozen on Nov 22, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Cool story. Brrr!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Not really true. Mitsubishi Malaysia’s distributor is DRB Hicom. Hey , even first generation Pajero from the early 90’s still have new parts for sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Waytoogood on Nov 22, 2019 at 10:31 pm

Very true. I owned 2 unit land cruiser mark 2 J70 model, a 1985 2-doors 2L version but converted to 2L-T and a 1995 4-doors 1KZ-TE version. After 34 years and 24 years, spare parts still can find easily and very less maintenance.

• Cave Man on Nov 22, 2019 at 1:55 pm

What, Toyota doubled maintenance still same price as others? Do more maintanence, your car last long and no need repair. Repair and waiting period is a headache and a bad business downtime.

Most company Hilux for 8 to 15 years. 5 years of insufficient maintenance only get pre-matured damage.

https://toyota.com.my/aftersales-services/prepaid-maintenance-package
    Toyota Hilux got 2 years full service package – RM2117 only. Service interval @ 5000km, not 10,000km!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
  • Sgt Scoop on Nov 22, 2019 at 2:27 pm

I expected the Ranger to be much more expensive than the others but it isn’t. Throw in the savings on road tax (almost RM1k vs Hilux) and the Ranger is a no brainer. Best truck + lowest service/tax fees = winner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
  • Karam Singh on Nov 22, 2019 at 3:17 pm

Turbocharger needs.lubrication from engine oil and cooling too. Therefore toyota recommends regular engine oil change at 5k interval.

Besides, we are lot living in cold weather country with winter to justify the usage of fill synthetics.

Neither is diesel engines are high revving to 6k rpm. Normally.they are out of puff at 4k rpm.

So look at triton engine oil at 16, 000km and hilux at the same.mileage.

Triton is dirty waiting service at 20k.
    The hilux just had oil change at 15k so the oil is fresh and clean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
  • single sen on Nov 22, 2019 at 3:31 pm

In terms of this, Hilux is still best seller truck because of reliability, cheaper than both rivals and service cost is not that expensive as Ranger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 20
    • Truckers on Nov 22, 2019 at 3:53 pm

That Rm 1k you already saved from Ranger’s lower roadtax but Ranger has better pickup performance. I would prefer Ranger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 33
  • ryyyy on Nov 22, 2019 at 3:37 pm

if u r looking for pick-up with cheap maintenance, Isuzu D-max is the best in this field.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Fordist on Nov 22, 2019 at 3:40 pm

Pfft! Rm1,000+ difference on a 5 year ownership. Ranger owners can close both eyes and pay that difference. Most importantly, Ranger has the highest power and torque among the 3, leaving both Japs eating smoke. For a truck, it is all about power and torque. No fight, Ranger wins. Ford outdid themselves once again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 36
    • Sureken1 on Nov 22, 2019 at 4:04 pm

This is just normal service interval. Other than that different parts are not counted. Ford is famous for expensive parts and only can buy parts at their own centre. Which is a hassle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
      • Fordist on Nov 22, 2019 at 4:32 pm

Friend. What different parts are you talking about? All servicing are done in SC and all charges are inclusive. If there’s any part malfunction, just replace it under warranty. This is the same for the other trucks too, so what talking? Part stockist? Pfft! Expensive? Pfft! Do you rather prefer using fake parts because it was cheap and you can buy it from Taobao? Sorry but I guess Ranger owners value their lives more than Jap owners. We don’t have the banzai spirit to die so easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 29
      • DINGL on Nov 22, 2019 at 4:50 pm

unless you want “fake” parts

• Real LLort on Nov 22, 2019 at 4:59 pm

Better buy game-changing Aruz. Can lipat back-seat and put things inside, not kena hujan. 1.5 engine? Add turbo and boom! can even kalah lamborghini urus. To kalah these three, no need to add turbo, just isi petrol RON97 and you’ll be winning already. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
    • X70 for ever la on Nov 22, 2019 at 5:21 pm

Re u ok ka bro…ketum tu go easy la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Oh Cmon. Don’t you go start with his imbecilic trash talking vomit.

• Real LLort on Nov 25, 2019 at 3:07 pm

No, no.. a couple of these are true. I put turbo or not, will surely win against Lambo Urus because, chances are, I will never encounter one to do a real life test. Even if I do, the Lambo owner might not even care or listen to my proposal. So, in my mind, I win. Of course, on paper Lambo win hands down but that’s on paper.. how much do you trust on paper nowadays when the fabled 21km/l also seems like a fairy tale? Secondly, of course my things will not kena hujan compare to these three if I put them at the back. Who would even argue with that? lol

• Muhamad Hafiz on Nov 22, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Dmax way better…
    10k km rm250 for oil change
    100k km major rm1100
    very fuel save…
    GG bois

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
  • In the end,i prefer the one with high resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Why no Isuzu DMAX?

• Pakulupapito on Nov 22, 2019 at 9:38 pm

D-max be like…hold my bill

• MakanMakan on Nov 23, 2019 at 10:30 am

Is this paid content by Mitsubishi? If you have to state clearly for the sake of integrity.

Why didn’t you put Nissan and Isuzu maintenance schedule? Is it because its a lot cheaper than the Triton?

• Michael D Mcpherson on Nov 23, 2019 at 5:45 pm

This is utter nonsense. I live in rural NE Thailand and own a Ranger XLT 2013. It has 130,000 km on the clock and is a flawless vehicle. In the 7 years I’ve owned it, I’ve replaced the battery twice, the serpentine and had the brakes relined at 100,000 km (they didn’t need changed, it was my idea, had 50%).

Oil is changed with semi synthetic every 10,000 km. The turbo diesel automatic 6 speed is flawless . It’s faster in acceleration to 120 kph than either the Mitsu or Toyota and the fuel economy is shockingly good at 50 km. For every 3.7 liters of fuel on the highway.

Add to parts, it’s pure fiction that they are difficult to obtain. I suppose If you live in some obscure upcountry village maybe, but where I live, Ford is very popular. Oh yeah, it’s better looking that the others, IMO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7