Large families may be exempted from child seat ruling

The mandatory use of child car seats will begin in January 2020, but the transport ministry says an exception could be made for those with large families, where space inside a vehicle would be a constraint, The Malay Mail reports.

Deputy transport minister Kamarudin Jaffar said the ministry is looking at providing some flexibility in the matter. He said that as an example, a family with four young children would find it difficult to fit that many child restraint seats (CRS) in a vehicle.

“Specifically for large families, an exemption might be given if the CRS is not installed depending on the number of children and the size of the vehicle. This is being considered by the ministry,” he told the Dewan Rakyat.

“Touching on large families with a lot of children, where four to five CRS might not fit in a car, I would like to say that the ministry considers the introductory period as a training period. There will be no punitive measures,” he added.

Earlier this month, transport minister Anthony Like had said that enforcement of the use of child seats would not begin straight away. He said that drivers will not be penalised for the first six months of the ruling coming into effect and will only be issued with a warning and a reminder to install the seats.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• common sense on Nov 28, 2019 at 6:09 pm

if you can’t afford to get a bigger car or MPV with proper seats and child restraints for all of your kids, then you shouldn’t have so many kids. focus on quality of life for your kids and not quantity of kids. live within your means and grow the family accordingly. that’s the only way to alleviate poverty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
  • Your car is also a mini bus on Nov 28, 2019 at 6:09 pm

Means all three generations can go into 4 passengers 1 driver car?

• what kind of logic is that on Nov 28, 2019 at 6:17 pm

people with high tolerance to alcohol can drink more before driving because they have high tolerance. people with long driving history of no accident can have their own higher speed limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • This move smells political, it is definitely targeting a certain group of people who is also tends to have poor family planning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • fast lane on Nov 28, 2019 at 6:23 pm

but at least put the smallest child in a carseat. parents, show some initiatives on trying to make it safer for your children.

the ruling will give leeway that whenever carpooling is needed, all of inlaws siblings sumbat masuk dalam kereta and no need carseat since “large families”. padahal nak save cost dengan memperjudikan nyawa anak2 kecil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Zaidie on Nov 28, 2019 at 6:24 pm

https://paultan.org/2015/07/13/child-car-seats-no-mandatory-use-by-2016-says-liow/

• Rosman on Nov 29, 2019 at 10:04 pm

Kesian Liow sudah takde. Otherwise all this nonsense will not happen.

• JERRY on Nov 28, 2019 at 7:06 pm

U turn again?

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 28, 2019 at 7:32 pm

BS. All should be equal under the eyes of the law. No one asked you to have such a huge family and cannot even afford to keep them safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
    • autodriver (Member) on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:00 am

Agree, all should be equal. No offense to the poor family. I always find the poor family tends to have more childrens than well-being family. The concept of poor is by quantity but the well-being is by quality. There is a need to educate the poor one to well plan their childbirth. A household income of RM3000 how to raise up 4 kids in quality manner. No surprise that many people regardless races in rural areas earning is lesser than RM3000 but having more than 4 kids.

Btw government should not bias because of large families in poverty condition they should get exemption for putting childseat into their car. All parents have obligation to ensure the safety of the kids.

• Jarjar on Dec 01, 2019 at 2:53 am

Yep. Give them 6 months to pick which child to keep and where to throw away others. No biggie

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Nov 28, 2019 at 7:55 pm

No smoking campaign …no enforcement until next year.
    Look at the mess. The smokers are coming into the middle of the kopitiam to smoke again.
    Now..exemption..exemption…education again..
    Just drop the blardy campaigns…U turn ,U turn ,plenty of U turns.
    When petrol reaches Rm2.70/litre…u turn again to Rm 2.08/litre,when transport charges skyrocket by 30 percent. U TURN IS THE NORM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Ben yap on Nov 28, 2019 at 8:02 pm

Are taxis or grab cars required to provide child seat?

• Dong gor on Nov 28, 2019 at 8:49 pm

Wuahaha.. Malaysia boleh at pinnacle

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 28, 2019 at 9:07 pm

JPJ has to prove overloaded with passengers is actually safer

• John C on Nov 28, 2019 at 9:41 pm

This is disappointing…. isn’t safety supposed to be applied across the board?

• vivizurianti on Nov 28, 2019 at 10:39 pm

Conceptually, motorbike rider should not be penalized too when caught having 3 pillion riding along.

Why? Becoz the rider has large family.

Can ah, Mr Transport Minister?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • panjang on Nov 29, 2019 at 12:44 pm

Guess the minister forget thay the seating capacity of any vehicle is registered in JPJ system. Once they see this they will uses excuse like a child can be considered as 1/2 a person so can cramp more kids in the vehicle.

• Translation; The more children you have, the less valuable their lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Alibaba bujang lapuk on Nov 28, 2019 at 11:41 pm

Obviously double standard.. when it come to safety nothing is to be exemption.. pity for those who have small family or family who can’t afford CRS, no exemption.. large family yes given exemption.. better don’t enforce buang masa

• Newme on Nov 29, 2019 at 12:03 am

So child seat is not important or large family have cheaper life?

• johnson on Nov 29, 2019 at 1:48 am

what the point of having the rule then? families with more children can afford to lose a few kids during an accident?

as usual, cakap cakap kosong. wanna enforce a rule but wanna have bullshit excuses. macam mana negara nak maju? a lot of malaysians still pariah mentallity. bila nak maju?

• Adamos on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:31 am

Why even bother? Current tint regulations doesn’t even allow law enforcement officers to spot a child without a child seat. Imagine having road blocks setup just to peek into cars, absolutely more inconvenience to road users! Abang Loke just shot himself in the foot.

• autodriver (Member) on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:16 am

mean childseat is a joke to you? Putting a childseat should be mandatory and even the seatbelt of rear seat passengers should always fasten. The roadblock set up is always happening, not only happen on now but in the past the police not checking childseat.

If this rule were implement it takes less than 10 second to wind down the rear window to check the childseat. FYI, police only ask the car to pull aside 1 out of 20-30 cars usually for further checking. So how inconvenience it can be to you if the sequence still the same?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Susukotak on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:52 am

warm2 chicken shit

• autodriver (Member) on Nov 29, 2019 at 8:49 am

I don’t see the reason why large families should be exempted. If giving birth of 3 kids the parents should get a MPV with all childseats fitted without any excuse. If can’t afford a MPV then how can they afford to have 3 kids. New P2 Aruz is RM73k paying 10% downpayment monthly is about RM800. If not afford a new MPV then buy second hand Alza cost about RM30k monthly payment less than RM400.

If you don’t afford to fork out RM400 to buy a used MPV then you must think twice how would you assure to raise your kids in quality manner.

• Footie on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:16 am

Ahyo yoooo, apa la ni.. Tu la, before studying in depth from all angles, wan rush and mandate it.. Ni la jadi when ppl start questioning then get stuck and U-Turn again..

With quality enforcement it is suffice to make the road a safer place with the existing rules.. So do that first instead of implementing new rules and regulations!!!

• thepolygon on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:55 am

Auto TT with 2 kids at the back apa macam?

• Same goes to CRZ, BRZ, 86, satria neo.. the seats at the back is literally a child’s seat.. how to fit in a child seat on a child’s seat???

• Realist on Nov 29, 2019 at 9:57 am

To the parents who don’t use CRS: ask them in the event of an accident, which child should you choose to die? They must choose at least one and by not using any CRS, they choose all. Simple as that!
    Don’t blame God or fate, it’s your choice. God help those who help themselves..

• The MP asking question is stupid too … why all big families need Alphard?. Is Alphard the only car with 7 seater in the M’sia?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 29, 2019 at 10:57 am

if cannot pull out in time…dont duck so much la

• Sylvester Jr. on Nov 29, 2019 at 11:26 am

Takpa… anak ramai. Mati satu pun yg lain ada lagi.

Like that? Hahahahah!

• Anthony,
    How could you let your devices ruin your beautiful article? You spelt the Minister’s name wrong.

• Bieight on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:24 pm

What a joke

• never had such level-99 idiotic policy makers before in human history….. we are doomed

• Farhan on Nov 30, 2019 at 10:38 am

Actually no point arguing or even enforcing. If the family want all their kids to die in the car let them be. Why bother taking care of people so much. If no family planning, no proper usage why we must go all out to save stupid people. Just let them die.

• Does human turn into airbags when there is an accident! #crazy

• Lower car prices,
    can’t really ask us to be like much developed countries where cars are priced lower..

At least people can upgrade bigger car with a bit more ease when their family expends, not just sumbat everyone in a small viva..