ASEAN NCAP – F30 BMW 318i scores four stars in test; five-star rating for AOP, four-star rating for COP

The Asean New Car Assessment Programme (Asean NCAP) has conducted crash tests with the F30-generation BMW 318i, which scored five stars for adult occupant protection (AOP) and four stars for child occupant protection (COP). Points weighting for AOP, COP and safety assistance systems are 50%, 25% and 25% respectively, for which the BMW 318i scored 48.92 points, 18.38 points and 14.58 points respectively.

Asean NCAP stated that it is aware that the F30-generation 318i is not the latest iteration of the BMW 3 Series, which is now the G20-generation model. This previous generation model was still tested, however, as it is still available in the market for purchase as new, and therefore its safety rating is still of interest, adding that the latest G20-generation car also lacks front passenger seat belt reminders.

The 318i was considered to perform well in the adult occupant protection category, however its performance in the child occupant protection and safety assist systems were unexpected, Asean NCAP said. As tested, the F30 BMW 318i featured six airbags and electronic stability control, however Asean NCAP noted that the car lacked seat belt reminders (SBR) for both front and rear occupants.

Data fron the frontal offset impact test demonstrated adequate protection for the driver’s chest and the front passenger’s lower legs, with a ‘good’ rating observed for other regions of the driver’s and passenger’s bodies. For the side impact test, a ‘good’ rating was observed for the occupant’s upper body region. AOP scores comprised of 15.22 for frontal impact, 16.00 for side impact and 4.00 for head protection technology for a total of 35.22 from a possible 36.00 points.

Meanwhile, child occupant protection in the F30 318i fared slightly lower, where it scored 22.74 in the dynamic test, 7.00 in vehicle-based assessment and 6.28 for installation, for a total of 36.02 points from a possible 49.00 points.

The dynamic test assessment was conducted for 18-month-old and three-year-old child occupants; these were restrained with a rearward-facing Britax Baby Safe Plus installed via ISOFIX and supporting leg for the 18-month-old representation, and a forward-facing Britax Duo Plus installed via ISOFIX and top tether for the three-year old representation.ASEAN NCAP – F30 BMW 318i scores four stars in test; five-star rating for AOP, four-star rating for COP

Here, the 18-month-old child dynamic test scored 8.00 in the frontal impact and 4.00 in the side impact for a 12.00 point total, and the three-year-old child dynamic test yielded 6.74 in the frontal impact and 4.00 in the side impact for a 10.74 point total.

Tested for the sedan vehicle category, the F30 BMW 318i scored a total of 81.88 points, making the previous-generation car eligible for a four-star Asean NCAP rating.

ASEAN NCAP F30 BMW 318i crash test, front offset

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:39 pm

Why would they test a vehicle that is no longer for sale? If anything they should rest the G20 which is the current 3er on sale now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Cannot read meh

• BeemerFreak on Nov 29, 2019 at 6:47 pm

Front passenger seat belt reminders, made for left hand drive BMWs where driver should be sitting

• This shows BMW has no standard. If BMW got no standard, I can only imagine China car like the Proton X70. OMG OMG OMG.

I already scared la

• v-tec fan on Nov 29, 2019 at 3:57 pm

sure or not… BMW wei… i remeber p2 myvi is 5 star NCAP. even p1 x70 is 5 star NCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • JOACHIM on Nov 29, 2019 at 10:12 pm

BMW forgot to sponsor MIROS….

• Possibility on Nov 30, 2019 at 10:17 am

Maybe they updated the scoring system. Preve is awarded 5 star over all with 5-star for AOP and 3-star for COP.

• Not even surprised. Bmw makes trash cars nowadays..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
    • sadd blur sotong on Nov 29, 2019 at 6:38 pm

Not even surprised. Mesidis makes trash cars nowadays

• Truckers on Nov 29, 2019 at 4:27 pm

What is the point to test a previous generation car when it is about to phase out? Either BMW Malaysia have too much excess stocks and don’t mind to dispose one of them, or there is another reason behind it, –competitor send this car to drop the RV–?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Only 4 stars. Is not a good news. Why they want to test earlier and affect their sales? Test now and they can announce that the new G20 is much safer with 5 stars crash test. Current F30 will drive slower knowing that their car is not as safe as they think. Win win situation lol.

• macampondan on Nov 29, 2019 at 5:59 pm

ai seh…..bmw 4 stars… looses out to preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • Do you know why bmw don’t have seat belt reminder for the passenger? Its because they like to come on at night while you are driving alone on a deserted kampong road. It happened to me when I used to have a 5 series. It made my hair stand. They can’t fix the problem but told me it was fixed. I’ll never buy another BMW again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
  • Dong gor on Nov 29, 2019 at 7:30 pm

German car only 4 stars? Jepunis at a fraction of the price also 5 stars lor. Really paying the extra for maintenance and emblem ke.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 01, 2019 at 3:01 pm

not sure what this asean ncap is trying to prove here? that they are a legit score? for a car that scored 5 star ncap in euro ncap im not sure what are their basis for the 4 star here?

• Realist on Dec 02, 2019 at 2:47 pm

Well actually, I was there to witness the crash test at JPJ academy/ MIROS PC3 crash lab in Melaka. BMW Malaysia donated their car for crash test to promote the Safety Week 2019. I think their sales guy was day and promoting how safe BMW cars were. Maybe he didn’t expect it would get only 4 stars. Deputy PM and Transport Minister also witnessed the crash testing.