Tow truck operators in Penang go on strike until Dec 9

Motorists in Penang are set to face difficulties in obtaining towing services for stalled or accident damaged vehicles this week. This is due to tow truck operators on the island having gone on a temporary strike from December 2 to December 9, The Sun reports.

The strike was reportedly brought about by a dispute between the state tow truck association, private car workshop owners and insurers over claims and other charges, with the inability to resolve the issue leading to the event.

The move to strike is believed to be related to late payments from various stakeholders in the car repair industry. In a posting on social media, the Penang Motor Vehicle Workshop Owners Association (PMVWOA) also said they would also be closing car repair workshops during the period.

Penang chief minister Chow Kon Yeow said the state has called in representatives from the ministry of domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP), the road transport department (JPJ) and the tow truck association to find a solution.

“We want to better understand the situation,” Chow said, saying that the state regrets what has transpired as the boycott could affect many. He hoped that all parties would try to find an amicable solution.

“As this is related to insurance claims and vehicle repairs, we appreciate if related agencies go back to the negotiation table to come out with a solution so that tow truck services will be available to all consumers. We hope good sense (will) prevail,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sam123 on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:28 am

Longkai towtruck gangster dh lama bermaharajalela…. call je authorised woksyop..

• Truckers on Dec 03, 2019 at 12:33 pm

In Penang, even SC says we are maharaja. Don’t playplay wei.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:41 am

Tow sharks merajuk?

• Ghani on Dec 03, 2019 at 1:22 pm

Kesiann Tow sharks penang. Negara bersih, rakyat selamat. Minyak pun murah Rm2.08 jek

• johnwick on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:49 am

strike forever lagi bagus..dont appear again

• simon on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:50 am

are you sure it’s because of that?

i read in another report its because the franchise service centers sapu all the accident repair for warranty purposes and so forth, and these parasites are unhappy they dont get to share in this lucrative pie where they can mark up the cost of price kau kaw and rip off the insurance companies when they claim.

which is why they went on strike.

• vivizurianti on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:53 am

Abang-abang tow shark (aka tow truck pirates) cannot makan kenyang oredi, so pretend to go on strike.

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:56 am

You guys can go ahead to strike as longer as you can. No one will care these tow trucks and workshops who always con the insurance companies and the victims in the past. If the new car accident sent in the workshop they not only repairing the damage part with apply of used part and claiming new part from insurance, but also dismantle the good condition part and replaced by used one or repaired one.

• azrai on Dec 03, 2019 at 11:59 am

Menang jadi emas, kalah jadi abu. So for a week no rezeki come in lorr..go on strike..how about your wife and children at home? somebody else can took over the job la. Next time use imitation parts, low ya servis, tipu sana sini.

• Not longkai on Dec 03, 2019 at 12:05 pm

Longkai wont complaint as they earn from both the car owner and workshop.

Insurance tow truck operator work on lowest price system and payment time is a question. Some insurance took some time to release payment and this can sometimes be months.

One critical thing is for MY consumer to become aware that if they engage 1st party insurance, engaging tow truck is foc. Some company even offers unlimited mileage towing. Above all, it does not affect NCD. Lots of ‘smart’ people refuses to call insurance coz they believed it will affect their NCD.

• Truckers on Dec 03, 2019 at 12:32 pm

Too many major accidents making it hard to impossible to tow cars (ie like ran of the bridge and end up in ocean). Us tow truck drivers just want normal accidents that we can hook up the damaged cars and tow them back our favourite workshops, and we prefer to tow Toyotas since accidents and breakdowns for this brand is consistently top 3. We don’t want cheap-assed Myvis & Axias as we get very low margins because they are cheapo cars.

Now you understand why we go on strike.

• Bieight on Dec 03, 2019 at 12:46 pm

Better take public transport instead of driving in penang

• Someone on Dec 03, 2019 at 2:18 pm

The root of their problem is car dealers would void warranties for accident vehicles not repaired by their authorised workshops.

Why can’t they work something out with them to get their approval instead of creating nuisance to all other irrelevant people.

• because tow truck guys very samseng so no point working a deal with them. Always say limpek and lu lao bu this & that in any arguement

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 03, 2019 at 10:19 pm

because there are less audi and vw on the road now….tow truck no business

• Ahmadjr on Dec 04, 2019 at 1:56 pm

Bengkel apek kalau tak menipu gatal2 badan gamaknya. Biar je dorang mampus

• Shafrul ridzwan on May 31, 2020 at 6:20 pm

Nak tanye berape harge kalo kete n sparepart…nk bawak dri penang ke kl?