Ford turns McDonald’s coffee waste into headlights

Many automakers are looking to incorporate sustainable materials in vehicle production, and Ford is not excluded from this. The company recently announced that it will collaborate with McDonald’s to use coffee beans in vehicle parts such as headlights, as part of efforts to reach its goal of using recycled and renewable plastics in vehicles globally.

According to an official release, millions of kilograms of coffee chaff – the dried skin of the bean – naturally comes off during the roasting process every year. Both companies discovered that chaff can be converted into a durable material to reinforce certain vehicle parts by heating the chaff to high temperatures under low oxygen, mixing it with plastic and other additives and turning it into pellets, which can then be formed into various shapes.

The resulting composite material meets Ford’s quality specifications for parts such as headlight housings as well as other interior and under bonnet components, while being about 20% lighter. Additionally, the heat properties of the chaff component are better than what is used currently, while requiring 25% less energy during the moulding process.

“McDonald’s commitment to innovation was impressive to us and matched our own forward-thinking vision and action for sustainability. This has been a priority for Ford for over 20 years, and this is an example of jump starting the closed-loop economy, where different industries work together and exchange materials that otherwise would be side or waste products,” said Debbie Mielewski, Ford senior technical leader, sustainability and emerging materials research team.

The successful experiment isn’t just for theatrics either, as McDonald’s is expected to send a significant portion of its coffee chaff in North America to Ford to be incorporated into vehicle parts. “By finding a way to use coffee chaff as a resource, we are elevating how companies together can increase participation in the closed-loop economy,” commented Ian Olson, McDonald’s senior director, global sustainability.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Safety First on Dec 05, 2019 at 5:03 pm

Pfft! Perodua does it even better, they recycles Milo tins into their super soft car bodies. Do they care? Nah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Amran on Dec 05, 2019 at 11:21 pm

Well I know McDonald’s biz doing so well. In Shah Alam where I reside, even during weekday midnight … this McDonald’s outlet cannot find empty parking, pack habiss giler sampai kastmer double parking kat tepi jalan.

Geng2 Drive-thru pulak , majoriti bawak entry level kereta national. Enjin airkond jalan ..layan supper beratur 30minit pekene Happy meal … I guess petrol way too cheap to burn at mesia. RM2.08 per liter petrol and that Air mineral 250ml selling for RM2.50 aje …

High living cost la sangat , barang skrg mahall laa.. Mekdi jugak yg laris buat recycle headlight

• Calvin on Dec 06, 2019 at 11:14 am

Do you know why McDs is packed? Because the usual mamaks, chap fans, and simple restaurants have escalated in pricing making daily meals expensive!

A chap fan now cost RM7.00-8.00 when 2 years ago i only paid RM5.00. A lunch meal in McDs is just Rm6.00 so does it mean our cost of living is going lower when we prefer to go McDs? Hell no!

Everything else is becoming more expensive except McDs but later my health will deteriorate from all that cheap fastfood.

• That is right bro. We Malaysians having it so good, so pampered life. Good food, safe place, stable govt. Eat outside expensive, cheap cook at home. Good health, bad health. Your own choice.

Old days in kampung, Roti kaya dan teh tarik healthier and cheap. So do more exercise, workout even at home. Less playing with smartphone, game, drama, membawang.

Healthy like me , bro

• Ali Rustam on Dec 05, 2019 at 6:35 pm

Well done Ford. I wish my National car company do something like this as opposed to just demanding for bailouts every year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • albag on Dec 06, 2019 at 9:34 am

nice.. whenever i feel sleepy i can go sniff sniff my Ranger headlight and i will be energetic again

• azrai on Dec 06, 2019 at 10:10 am

FORD..parapaapapa..Next..Proton cushion made from palm trunk.