Euro 4M RON 95 petrol confirmed for January roll-out

In a confirmation of the planned roll-out for the Euro 4M RON 95 petrol, the domestic trade and consumer affairs ministry (KPDNHEP) has said that the Euro 4M-grade petrol will be made available from January next year, Bernama reported.

“The (Euro 4M) RON 95 petrol is of higher quality and the consumers will be able to enjoy it starting next year,” the ministry’s secretary-general Datuk Muez Abd Aziz said, adding that the new fuel has benefits for the environment as it reduces smoke production.

Industry players are preparing for the sale of the new petrol with works being carried out at depots and retail stations, he added, also noting that the ministry has gained the cooperation of companies such as Shell, Petronas and Petron for the implementation of the initiative.

The introduction of the higher-quality RON 95 petrol is one of the efforts towards achieving the goal of the National Green Technology Policy 2009, which is to reduce environmental pollution and its impact of public health, domestic trade and consumer affairs minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail said previously.

The goal of reducing environmental pollution is also the 39th promise in the Pakatan Harapan manifesto, he said. Meanwhile, action will be taken against any company found to violate these directives under the Environmental Quality Act 1974, Muez said.

The roadmap towards increasing fuel quality was first introduced in 2006, which is part of the National Green Technology Policy 2009. Now, consumers have access to Euro 4M-grade RON 97 petrol, which was introduced in September 2015, and Euro 5 diesel which was introduced in November 2014, ahead of its gazetted date in September 2020.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Paiseh on Dec 12, 2019 at 2:14 pm

Euro 4M just a change of name as an excuse to mark up higher price of ron95. Who knows if it really higher quality or not. Bolehland are very good in tricking consumer and fake news.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 34
    • Turn M on Dec 12, 2019 at 3:45 pm

Wait for my U Turn act later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Ajibkor on Dec 12, 2019 at 4:37 pm

They deserved the credits .. Syukur Msia bersih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • Optimus on Dec 12, 2019 at 10:01 pm

I wished you were back in the hotseat. When you were PM all janji ditepati, RON95 would have been Euro4 grade since last year and not only to be implemented next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • redpilled on Dec 12, 2019 at 5:48 pm

wait for it to roll out. grab some samples and take it to a lab. be prepared to make public apology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Ollie on Dec 12, 2019 at 6:56 pm

this kinda traitor shud be kicked out by petronas,

• Damon Lee on Dec 13, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Well, kinda understandable. With this gomen uturning and even outright lying, we can’t really trust they will really switch over to Euro4M RON95 when the time comes. Take what they said with heaps of salt.

• Don’t give also bash, give also bash. What kind of stupidity is this mentality. STFU. Fly kite la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Questions, will it be 1st Jan 2020 or 31st Jan 2020? When they say “In January” that is a big difference.
    And will this petrol pricing reduce to RM1.50 per liter as their janji to rakyat? We are still waiting until now nearly 600 days dy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 14
    • I really wish we can move on from making fun of the government.. They are trying… Better than the prior thieves.. U turns are because everyone makes demands and the try to please everyone.. U want an increase in road tax? They did not promise no increase so can reduce petrol and increase road tax? Or u still unhappy? . Its like asking a nurse to be a physician just because she followed hospital rounds.. Its sounds really stupid when someone said its 1. 50 when oil was 38 usd a barrel and now when it is 70 you expect the same promise.. What you want the government to control world oil price aa? The day you realise the limitations then you can make fun.. Otherwise u think ur 1 vote that big izzit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 85
      • Kassim B Khairul on Dec 12, 2019 at 10:16 pm

I don’t mind increase in road taxes… for the rich. Oh you mean the poor gets hit as well? Isn’t that conflict with their other promise of ‘lowering cost of living’? Oops, so they made 1000 promises that clashes with each other now they are in trouble fulfilling any of them? Whoopdeedoodah! Doesn’t take a genius economist to figure that out. Oh wait they actually had one in their team, and yet he didn’t say anything! Even a renown economist can turn into a sycophant and turn a blind eye into the incredulity of their promises and didn’t give his honest opinion just so he can gain favours & position in the present gahmen. How the f__ck is that any better than BN was?! Your like asking a girl to trust you and give all 3 her first times with you on the promise of marriage and now you say you cannot do that because she is no longer pure? Does it take an ethics genius to figure that isn’t right and straight call the cops? Should we call the cops on PH non-fulfilled promises? Because I sure aren’t laughing when netizens are poking fun at PH gahmen. I am f__cking furious at their incompetence!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
        • Kuning ves on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:28 pm

Talk is cheap. We the dignified majority not changed mindset, plotek kontrak bantuan derma ….We loved taking shortcuts , anyday!

60 Years of incompetence and Failed policy.
          We easily forgot and start blaming others. Hauled the corrupts to courts, legit birkins.
          And now, We oughta do shortcut again. Divide them and rule again, muafakat or not …

• Chavez on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:49 pm

Yes, talk is easy because you don’t speak for the majority. The majority I know works hard yet they don’t get their their rewards, it is eaten up by the middlemen. Guess which ethnic are majority of the middlemen. Or are these the ‘majority’ you were referring to?

• Unimprezzed on Dec 12, 2019 at 10:33 pm

hahahahahaha

not only did our beloved leader neglected on their “promise”, but they even revert back to the old practice of throwing political opponents to jail.

So much harapan…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • MeiLi on Dec 14, 2019 at 12:04 pm

Everybody knows that the oil price at the pump depends on the world’s price. The government absorbed some through subsidy. Yg jadi bebal, pegi janji RM1.50 per litre sapa suruh? Lg bebal bila buat belanjawan based on wrong world’s oil price. I am ashamed of LGE, most of my people too!

• azrai on Dec 13, 2019 at 8:30 am

For many years we are using an old Kancil and the condition getting worst everyday. The ideal replacement car is for sure the new Merc. But wait, what are the options? Maybe a new Saga lorr, cost wise, brand new. Instead of getting the ideal Merc, we have to settle down for a Saga which in which is way far better than the old Kancil. Got it?

• AkooIm on Dec 12, 2019 at 2:40 pm

Confirmed price hike for Ron 95…
    Be prepared for “u pay more for more…” excuses next year…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • Not Toyota Fan on Dec 12, 2019 at 3:27 pm

RON95 is about RM2.34 retail price today without subsidy (credit to isr25 of Lowyat). If they increase 1sen weekly, it take about 26 weeks to reach this 2.34 retail price.

So I bet this Euro4M roll out will have a loooong grace period for full implementation. Am not holding my breath as this gomen has a habit of cakap Syiok today but tangguh later. Banyak alasan dia bagi nanti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • lilytan on Dec 12, 2019 at 3:38 pm

Euro 5 petrol have been introduced in europe for 10 years already. Should have skip Euro 4. Diesel already Euro 5 what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • John Doe on Dec 12, 2019 at 4:20 pm

Chronic inferior complex
    To try and make every announcement sound less sorry, they must now add “xxth promise in the Pakatan Harapan manifesto.. or not in manifesto”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 12, 2019 at 5:53 pm

What about Promise #1: Reduce petrol prices immediately to RM1.50/L?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • Zul Hisyam on Dec 12, 2019 at 6:47 pm

Since RON95 will be upgraded to Euro4M…why not upgrade the RON97 to Euro5…pleaseeeee!!!!

• Rakyat Bawahan on Dec 13, 2019 at 8:32 am

Forget about ICE cars and look forward to electrifying the current ICE car. Does anybody have the ideas? We shouldn’t be thinking about petroleum cars current and future anymore. Cost of fuel will be increasing in the coming years. Yup the problem is the clean technology is needed for more money.

• autodriver (Member) on Dec 13, 2019 at 9:15 am

That is the reason why price increase of RON95. For some who criticise the PH government having price increase of RON95, this is the reason where the upgrade of fuel quality is incur more cost. Also all petrol stations have to upgrade their existing storage and system to compromise the EURO 4 standard.

Is Malaysia fuel more expensive, Thailand RON 95 Euro 4 is selling 27.35 Baht or RM 3.75 per litre. Their new vehicle price is now more expensive than Malaysia. However the overall earning of Thai is lower than Malaysian. Vietnam RON 95 Euro 4 price is equivalent RM 4.87. In Vietnam the RON 92 Euro 2 is RM 3.62, still way higher than Malaysia current RON 95 Euro 2.

Is Thai and Vietnam people live standard better than Malaysian? We should check out other countries before we make complain to our life. We always said because we have produce petroleum so we should get lower price. You guys should know more than 70% of income tax and corporate tax are paying from single race and yet this race is not majority in population. Without GST the income of government drop further, so how to subsidize more? Thailand GST is 7% while Vietnam is 10% but Malaysia is ZERO. We should grateful the country still able to maintain the current price or slightly increase. I am not pro PH but I speak the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • johnnas on Dec 13, 2019 at 10:05 am

If you are a non-Malaysian reader here for the 1st time, I bid you welcome. Rest be assured, our mouths are just about the only potent thing.

The above pretty much reflect the never-ending stupidity of this country’s average joes with an exception to Ss and Kassim B Khairul. Both seemed to portray exceptional intelligence despite the latter’s rather conservative mindset.

We are needy, we are greedy but we want to be smart too.

• Atok&ahjib on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:00 pm

Dear Paultan
    “The goal of reducing environmental pollution is also the 39th promise in the Pakatan Harapan manifesto, he said. Meanwhile, action will be taken against any company found to violate these directives under the Environmental Quality Act 1974, Muez said”

This activities already put in motion by previous so called “corrupted” government. This “kencing” government only just need continue on the effort. So no need to mention about their manifesto as the manifesto crafted based on “fake news” and “kencing”.
    Give credits when its due.

• Much Europe is already Euro 6…

With the “M” denotation, you can discount 0.5 ie.. 4M is actually Euro 3.5 la.

BTW someone forgot to stick an “M” for Diesel Euro 5

• Electrification on Dec 18, 2019 at 7:40 am

Save environment, sell electric cars and dont limit to GLC only. Wait, was there another manifesto sounded like cheaper cars? Cant recall..