TNG eWallet can be used to pay for street parking

Paying for street parking can be a bit of a hassle at times when you have insufficient coins or when a parking machine isn’t in sight. However, this is less of an issue for Touch ‘n Go eWallet users, as they now have access to a cashless parking payment method through the app, which is valid for street parking under the jurisdiction of five city and municipal councils.

These include Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), the Subang Jaya Municipal Council (MPSJ), Perbadanan Putrajaya, the Kuala Langat Municipal Council (MPKL) and the Kota Bharu Municipal Council (MPKB).

To use the TNG eWallet for street parking, you’ll first need to tap on the Parking icon under “Services” in the main screen and add your vehicle number and description. From there, choose the desired parking location followed by the duration, and make the necessary payment.

The app will send you a reminder when the amount of parking left is down to 15 minutes, and you can extend the duration through the service. There’s also no need to display a parking ticket, so there’s no need to go back and forth between a parking machine and your parked car.

The service is certainly convenient, but how will council officers know if you’ve paid for your parking if there’s no ticket as proof? Well, according to a check done by Lowyat.net, officials can key in your car’s registration plate number into a device to determine if you’ve made a payment in the system, so that answers that.

More locations will be added on later on, as Touch ‘n Go is working with other councils to enable this feature. If you’ve used this feature, let us know how the user experience has been for you in the comments section below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• PJ fella on Dec 12, 2019 at 5:51 pm

For KL parking, many years ady no longer need to display the ticket lah. DBKL can go around and scan ur no plate to know if you have paid, not paid, soon to expire.

• paparadzi on Dec 12, 2019 at 8:30 pm

Still doesn’t solve the problem of parking coupons at smaller municipalities. Probably okay for residents but a big hassle for occasional travelers, especially when the coupons are only sold in booklets.

• MeiLi on Dec 12, 2019 at 8:37 pm

Cepat cover the whole PLUS, u bloodyfool TnGo.

• Ahamd on Dec 13, 2019 at 9:55 am

Friend you are right.
      TnGO has a stupid system, as its not a real time. All the batch processing system. Thats they can implement.

Wonder we have monoply company on Toll collection by one company.
      Also its a privately own by share holders.

Is that weird, as it serving Malaysian.

• Toll Abolish Janji Mana? on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:46 pm

Again why we still need to pay tolls?

• habislah the other parking app operator…
    tng wanna monopolise parking app now

• Khairul Izam on Dec 12, 2019 at 9:41 pm

Sure, I wished there were other parking apps but where the fook are they?!

• James on Dec 13, 2019 at 7:54 am

Rather convenient but please speed up the process of getting MPPJ into the list.

• Ji Kao on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:15 pm

Advertised as able to auto reload TNG card, but disappointingly fail. Can only be done in 2 places in KL only.

• Gerald Sum on Jun 18, 2022 at 7:04 pm

In Services, I don’t have a Parking Icon to add. On my Touch and Go App ewallet, there is no Parking Icon.