Proton says it is now competing with Honda and Toyota in terms of quality, Perodua not in its sights

Proton says that in terms of quality and branding, Perodua is no longer its immediate competitor. Rather, the national carmaker is now aiming to go head-to-head with the likes of Toyota and Honda.

According to Proton CEO Li Chunrong, with the company having made great strides in improving its quality, it is looking beyond these shores and taking the fight to global players. In an exclusive interview with Channel News Asia earlier this week, he said that while Proton had previously faced quality issues, this was no longer the case, with the significant inroads having been made in this area giving the automaker new impetus.

“That (quality issues) was the problem with Proton before, they did not have the resources to (look into quality). But now with the expertise and the resources from Geely as well as the experience of Proton as a national carmaker, we would be able to produce better quality cars. With our new product position, our competitors are Honda and Toyota,” he stated.

Li said that he is looking at Proton to focus on the finer aspects of vehicle development so it can make the transition from building “basic cars” to “high-end cars,” something that is part of the 10-year plan that has been envisioned for the brand.

He added the turnaround efforts over the past two years have propelled Proton far beyond its local counterpart in terms of market positioning, if not in numbers. “Perodua is not even our competitor (anymore). Why? Because of different product position. Our Saga is much better than their Bezza,” he claimed.

Li said that public trust in the brand was renewed after the introduction of the X70 SUV last year, and is reflected in the strong demand for the facelifted Saga, which was launched in August. The report adds that the company, which has been in the red for many years, is expected to break even this year and make profits next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• As i say b4, P1 alredi is no more national car maker but now an international car maker. P1 has moved out of the kampung while letting the jaguh kampung continue to crow in the kampung. Let them be, its time to go global!
    P1, Geely, Mesidis, Volvo, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 37
    • Opinion on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:54 pm

So last time in few years back, Honda used to be better quality than Toyota, P1 and Nissan

As for now, Honda is no longer to be better QC than Toyota, P1, especially for Nissan referring to FB, can see many complaints about after-sales services and car quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • P1 is still not an international maker yet. They need to prove themselves in many major markets first. Maybe start off with selling the new models in SG, Aussie etc for a start. If all goes well, they’ll finally be a carmaker we’re can be proud of

• Lets See on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:33 pm

Meanwhile member2 kampung dem bangga ngan seken Toyota Velfire, Alphard and Honda Odyssey bila balik kampung … until diorang upgred to Proton Mpv Jiaji. Org kg sapot local …

• Goreng pisang on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:42 pm

This is trully a game over statement. When you want to be a game changing carmaker, you should compete with your closest rival first (Perodua), not arrogantly compete againts world class carmaker like Toyota and Honda. Moreover, Proton quality is worse than Perodua, how to compete with Toyota and Honda then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 63
      • Copy Paste on Dec 13, 2019 at 7:08 pm

Copy paste: “Sales alone say the rakyat is again accepting Proton and trust in their quality. Do I bilip 1 keyboard warrior OR 1 million happy Proton owners?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • I owned a brand new honda civic less than 2 years old… Ive got several issues involving qualities.. Now the steering rack problem…before that absorbers failed, water got leaked into the rear bonet… Rattling dashboard sound… So frustrated for the car priced 100k ++ …. For your information ive drove cars b4 brand proton, perodua, toyota and i would say honda is quality worst.. Fact!!

• Perodua is only suitable for those B40 or BT10 people who are satisfied with low quality, not Perodua with good quality.

• msia driver on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:54 pm

now drive x70 and park in front kenduri house, no need park far far..hahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • Proton owners are more considerate to others. They will park sufficiently far so it doesn’t bother their host. Unlike bodoh-sombong Japanese car owners, thinking they are so big to park in front of host doorway during gathering for CNY. This is not just about cars but about cultural mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
    • 4bini on Dec 13, 2019 at 6:22 pm

This is the same story like how Proton said they were the BMW of Asia and Proton cars (the Waja) was better than any BMW in town

Syiok sendiri syndrome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 53
    • Well done Proton. Lucky China came and helped you. Li Chunrong and Geely, within 6 months could identify all the leakages Proton had, what local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs from Mainland to come into Malaysia to help run our GLCs and even Putrajaya. We will see a 10 fold increase in productivity and we will become FIRST World soon.

Thank you Li Chunrong for planning for Malaysians and planning for Proton’s future.

At least now, Proton can finally make money after 20 years being in the red

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 31
      • Furgcmbtbna on Dec 14, 2019 at 8:31 am

This is not a place for u to show your racism laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • mygreatgrandpaallowedem2stay on Dec 14, 2019 at 10:16 am

and rob off all the fortunes away to mainland.. he he..

• That problem isn’t Bumi policy. You go see many Bursa top performers and they are helmed by Muslims. The problem was Madey had put his useless cronies who just happened to be Malay (except that guy in Mega Steel, he isn’t Malay yet he still failed? Why?). That and his constant meddling which killed many potential companies & businesses. Go see deeper what are the common thread for their failures, not just skin-deep (or in your case, skin-colour).

• There are also many stupid chinese pimps n drug dealers who spoil the nation bro

• Agree mate. P1 is no longer our national car. It is basically a Chinese carmaker with DRB as major shareholder. Thats it. All local vendor will be expelled soon since competing the cost with Chinese vendors are impossible and top management of P1 will be filled with mainlanders.

• Ksatria on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:22 pm

Syabass X70 Ckd start harini! Bos proton Dr Li mantap habiss, rajin keje 12jam everiday. Last time, ikut bos2 DRB memang xboleh nk harap laa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
  • Belacan sambal on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:22 pm

At least p1 realize they will never can beat p2. So now they go compete with toyota n honda simply because they win sales volume against them(well its not about quality btw).
    While humble n low profile p2 never wanna against anybody. They know they are always the best for rakyat. And rakyat knows too p2 is the best for them. Well done perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 82
    • Sanzoseifer on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:49 pm

Wakakakkaa… Must be one of those living in their little bubble…. Ok then… What ever make u happy… Wakakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • Wakakakaka on Dec 14, 2019 at 1:46 am

Why fake ur smile brother. Ur face smiling with kemarahan dan kemurungan. Why brother? Marah ke dengan komen puji perodua brother. Wakakakaka! Janji ko happy dengan kemarahan dan kemurungan ko la brother. Ciaooo. Wakakaka!

• Kantoi But Still Wanna Defend on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:03 pm

At least P2 fanboy realize they always failed to read headlines completely before they blindly bash. You can see that 1 isn’t bothered to compare with P2 anymore in terms of quality and they are targeting the quality jugulars of both Toyota & Honda. Further they arent targeting ASEAN Toyota & Honda because honestly, they are truly horrible quality. No, Proton is aiming to top Toyota & Honda’s global quality standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Omong kosong on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:22 am

Plotong quality is already number 1 lousy tahap gaban tp ada hati nak compete toyota honda. Compete sales figure jer kot. Mimpi jer byk plotong nih. Compete wif perodua mmg dh tak layak dh, dh kena lanyak perodua habis2 dh. Plotong bkn tak nak compete ngn perodua, sbb tak tercabar langsung dh, perodua is untouchable, plotong not even have a chance. Sorry to say plotong dh bankrap pun moment sebelum geely takeover. Jual pung gung g china baru survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Cr1titi on Dec 15, 2019 at 8:33 am

Uncomfortable seat, small bonnet, bumpy ride. Malaysian people is too stupid to be critical. Just like ayam goreng mcd. Sedap? Taste like an overseason kfc doesnt make u sedap ok. And that low quality seaso . Blergh. Yet peole said its sedap. Typical malaysian.

• U tok kok ar? rambutans sales no matter how good also useless, China market now eat musang king, SH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Boohoo clapping on Dec 14, 2019 at 1:52 am

U mean ur face look like musang?

• Coollllll on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:24 am

Haha good one. He is a musang from china. Sesat in mesia.

• Logical Deduction on Dec 14, 2019 at 12:29 pm

When people call you a troll, they don’t mean you look like one even if you do look like one.

• One of the rakyat on Dec 13, 2019 at 5:14 pm

This belacan does not, and I repeat does not represent me by saying “And rakyat knows too p2 is the best for them” but I will consider if this belacan changes statement to “And rakyat knows too that the base manual standard model p2 is the best cheapest for them”

• Too Good on Dec 14, 2019 at 1:44 am

I fully agree! P2 all the way!
      Just let p1 fantard bash n bash n bash. We not kacau them but they angry2 themselve and jealous of p2 achievement. Its ok bro we all with u. Those basher was crying with anger while typing their denial words toward p2 success. Their faca red and eyes swollen while read your best comment. P2 all the way. Up up and away. Oh yesss.

• Perodua is only suitable for those B40 or BT10 people who are satisfied with low quality, not Perodua with good quality.

• Nabil on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:22 pm

I believe perodua fanboys will start the discussion here hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Annoyed on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Is the CEO so sure about Proton’s quality? I bought the new Saga and already encountered 3 problems. One problem resolved after going to service dealer twice.. squeaky boot spring. Another one is an irritating noise coming from the dashboard still unresolved! Probably need to go to another service center with better expertise to help me. I also hear a lot of noise coming from the engine bay too..not sure if it’s the Campro engine or the aircon system. Can someone give me the CEO’s phone number so that I can share my problems with him?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 42
    • Helmi on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Bro bro , no car is perfect , Aku beli civic 1.8 x sampai 4 months my Headunit gone , when I asked Honda they said some kind of fuse blow after that there was extra wind noise and found the rubber around the 2 back door got problem and they replaced it and the last one my river side windscreen not allign .. need to send may be for next service .. doesn’t means Civic I teruk .. these are the basic things bro ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Are you sure you bought a Saga when you can’t even tell it no longer uses Campro engine? Wait you sound like those competitor salesman. Are you even genuine? I don’t believe anyone could plonk tens of thousands RM and they don’t know what they’re buying. I’m calling out your fake, sir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Jyougan on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:08 pm

Is the new 2019 facelifted Saga still using CAMPRO? I thought they are using similiar engine as in IRIZ?

• Which is why his story here is full of holes, I find that unbelievable (I would outright said he is lying but I’m a good person).

• Hitcharide on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:36 pm

Not just u bro. There are already too many complaint about squeky sound from inside proton cars. Irritating. Proton SC will not care for u one. Cos u already bought the car. If the car can be return n refund then they will work hard like and scare bankrap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Dec 13, 2019 at 6:56 pm

Wow so many pretentious experts here. All proton cars except for the rebadged ones use Campro engines! It’s a family of engines!! Campro, Campro CPS, Campro CFE and now Campro VVT.. They’re all Campro engines you nitwits.. Same block, similar head bolt pattern. How do I know this? I’ve gotten a Campro IAFM rebuilt with a CPS head and ECU but using the stronger (but shorter) Campro CFE forged crankshaft. A lot of these parts are interchangeable because the engine architecture is basically the same, derived largely from the 4G18 of the pre-Campro Waja.

• asalada on Dec 13, 2019 at 11:47 pm

it’s not the engine or aircond. it is the PROTON

• Fuhhh on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Ohh waii dreaming high again p1 oh p1. Dreaming wanna compete with toyota and honda quality? Its like the moon wanna compete with the sun. Your x70 is already a poor quality product with the most problems product by JD survey. Apa lagi those poor quality saga persona iriz. Very poor fuel consumption. When still new good consumption, after 2 years fuel consumption demmmm high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 36
    • Lets See on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Can someone tell me why should I believe in a paid survey by a profit-oriented company that is soon to exit the market because nobody trust their surveys enough to pay for it? Can anyone?

• DayDream on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:30 pm

Wowww great. Lets compare;

1. Saga vs Vios n City
    2. Iriz vs Yaris n Jazz
    3. Persona vs Altis n Civic
    4. Perdana vs Camry n Accord
    5. X70 vs Harrier n Crv

Great. Wait for result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
    • Nabil on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:49 pm

Magnum bila mass A segment sedan compete gan B ..

1. Persona vs Vios n City (B Segment)
      2. Iriz vs Yaris n Jazz (B Segment compact)
      3. Preve vs Altis n Civic (C Segment, But preve mmg day nak stop all , Geely is bringing a new sedan on 2021)
      4. Perdana vs Camry n Accord
      5. X50 vs H-RV n Rush (B segment SUV)
      6. X70 vs n Crv (C Segment SUV and Harrier cannot be in the list because its a D Segment SUV)

Basically there no A segment sedan like Sage with others ..

• Wavelength on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:06 pm

City upgrade to saga, vios
      Jazz upgrade to iriz, yaris
      Civic upgrade to persona, altis
      Accord upgrade to perdana, accord
      Crv upgrade to rav4, x70

• Wavelength on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:06 pm

City upgrade to saga, vios
      Jazz upgrade to iriz, yaris
      Civic upgrade to persona, altis
      Accord upgrade to perdana, camry
      Crv upgrade to rav4, x70

• Seek for truth on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:25 pm

Preve vs altis vs civis. Persona b segment

• How to compare harrier with x70 & crv, not in the same segment. Toyota should bring RAV4 to compete with those 2.

• The joke is that some people think Toyota & Honda still have a quality edge. No they don’t, not anymore. Their cars are worse than they used to if you read user reviews in carbase.my

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • P1 dream all time on Dec 13, 2019 at 6:13 pm

For sure gerenti 110% wif waranty proton are the all time loser. Kahkahkah!
      Come come buy saga wif free insuran, free umbrella, free minum kopi, free baju hujan.

• Celup King on Dec 13, 2019 at 7:02 pm

35,000 disproved you. Should I believe only you or the 35,000?

• asalada on Dec 13, 2019 at 11:52 pm

35000 or 3000? https://paultan.org/2019/04/02/proton-ends-q1-2019-with-record-figures-2979-x70-sold-in-march-highest-ever-suv-sales-in-msian-history/

• Copy Paste on Dec 14, 2019 at 12:33 pm

Copy paste: “the facelifted Saga has also been a stellar performer for the brand this year, contributing 70% to the company’s overall sales. Since its launch in August, the car has recorded more than 35,000 bookings”

• Raja celup fake news on Dec 14, 2019 at 1:50 am

220k disapproved you. Should i believe u for ur fake news? Or 220k?

• Shazam on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:36 pm

Thank you China Geely for making Geely great again in Malaysia. Hope to see more Geely cars on Malaysian roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • Modern Iceman on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:43 pm

Let business run itself…incompetence politicians, sons, siblings stay away. You all garbages.. take your life and money from other sources..
    Business fuel with talents not by empty speech or bandits power grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Just as incompetent as your grammar.

• khalid on Dec 15, 2019 at 11:54 am

hey klia, in many places grammar has no meaning technical & manufacturing position. I’ve been in US Jap Chinese korean company- with my broken english- and seen many GM bosses- expert talent who never speak english properly- hire translators.
        Taletnt/competence & english grammar not synonymous

• BOYRACER on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:45 pm

Hopefully all goes well with proton.
    Waiting for those bashers,troll and cybertroopers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • TonyT on Dec 13, 2019 at 1:50 pm

Proton is using Geely cars to compete Toyota and Honda. Lol but that being said, at least we get better quality cars now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • People on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:05 pm

Luckily not Volvo quality….. proton dont want to benchmark Geely Volvo…wind blowing….

• Milo tin car benchmark Milo tin cars like Toyota and Honda. LOL

• Didn’t know this Li Chunrong is also a comedian. Thanks for the joke of the week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
    • In his career, Dr Li worked in close partnership with Peugeot, Honda, Nissan, KIA. He knows exactly what he saying when he is confident to take on Toyota and Honda quality-wise.

• Alan, don’t pretend you knew about him before he came here to talk kok lah. Just admit you read his experience and then made him out to be your messiah, LOL.

• Avenger on Dec 15, 2019 at 1:08 am

Go look into his Linkin lah, dont just talkin kok&bull stories about someone you dont know.

• Case123 on Dec 13, 2019 at 6:00 pm

Dare to dream ?
      Every great success begins with a dreamer!!!

• azrai on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:16 pm

To be the best is to beat the best. Bye bye P2. LCR said, Our Saga is much better than their Bezza. Beza, memang berbeza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • AL OUT on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:18 pm

then the price also need compete with Honda and Toyota, not Perodua.
    Govt please take away all the support, they can run on their own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • Avenger on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:10 pm

All preferential treatment has been removed from Proton ever since their half got sold to Geely. It is the reason why their car prices are coming down despite everyone else is increasing their prices.

• MyNewToy on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:18 pm

I mean Honda and Toyota as the same level as national car status. Than we can judges.

• Edwin L on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:36 pm

Brother, they edi competing in price lorr.
      X70 full spec – RM123k
      CR-V equivalent – RM163k

If gomen remove support, Perodua will make noise since their Aruz will then priced to compete with BRV and if that happens, nobody will buy it lorr. Think lorr brother who will suffer when car prices increase later.

• Quality same as Toyota and Honda, price same as Perodua. U still support Perodua then U SH laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • AkooIm on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:40 pm

2019 Saga is indeed much better car than 2016 Bezza…
    But not sure if its still the case when 2020 Bezza launch next year…

• newme on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Hhahah …how is this Geely going to make Proton compete with Honda/Toyota when their own CBU model scores so badly in JD Power?

Btw, before Geely, Proton was competing with Continental brands and Japanese wasn’t in sight. Why downgrade now?

• lilytan on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:49 pm

Saga is better than bezza? In term of sales u are not. U need a proper city and vios beater to compete with T and H and yet u havent had any.

• In my experience, majority of Saga drivers are better than majority of Bezza drivers. Because when we drive up behind them on the right lane, most Saga drivers get the hint that they don’t belong on the fast lane.

Bezza drivers on the other hand…. aduh…. real a-holes who refuse to move left and choose to hog the right lane with their puny engines.

I hope Perodua addresses these issues come the Bezza facelift. Like having potential buyers pass an IQ test before being allowed to buy a Bezza.

• Traffic jam always caused by Perodua drivers

• Lets See on Dec 14, 2019 at 12:43 pm

That is the problem with Proton. It takes someone with IQ and EQ to decide on buying a Proton, and unfortunately there are plenty of rakyat with no sense whatsoever who blindly go for Perodua or crappy japanese cars. If they had IQ and EQ they could have seen how much better Proton cars are compared to these japanese branded junks. We really should educate our rakyat and the young to make the correct choice and not just blindly buy. Sigh….

• jibby on Dec 13, 2019 at 2:51 pm

perodua gulung tikar already, game over perodua with game changer proton

• Daddykasi on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:07 pm

As long as people still buy axia, bezza myvi alza and aruz, perodua is always make money, people happy with the car, no need bailout..

• Try fight a Toyota’s reliability

• simon on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:51 pm

technically not a national carmaker.

not allowed to enjoy the lower excises but still able to do so. why? no idea.

stop playing cheat and price your products fairly then we’ll get a more accurate number of actual competitiveness.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:57 pm

Ouch. Many P2 fanbois will butthurt on this. They will rage and shout about how many more P2 are sold Vs P1, Jepunis high technology Vs China technology.

Tak apa lah. Bagi dia orang Syiok sedikit.

Best laugh is, they’re reading and replying with a Made in China handset. LOL

• msia driver on Dec 13, 2019 at 3:59 pm

1. Saga = rm80k
    2. Iriz = rm80k
    3. Persona = rm130k
    4. Perdana = rm200k
    5. X70 = rm170k

so next year P1 will increase price for compete T&H…hohoho

• Disappointed proton buyer on Dec 13, 2019 at 4:04 pm

I just bought my 1st proton for my wife .. I chose persona fullspec.. The highest among the trim.. I was expecting the quality to be at least on par with the perodua that it supposed to replace..at 5000kmon the odometer, it hs non stop rattling sound from teh dashboard… Went to Proton Edar Plentong Johor, and to set an appt for ratification.. Was denied as they only accept to do the ratification from monday to thursday ONLY… I came on Friday… They said can’t do from Friday till Sunday… And have to book early, 1 week prior… Now I’m stuck with a new proton persona with less tha. 10k on the odometer with non resolved rattling issue… So do I need to take my limited annual leave just to settle this issue??i took the leap of faith n bought a proton.. And this is what I get

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • redpilled on Dec 14, 2019 at 9:10 am

I drive my company’s base, CVT persona. Bought October 2017, now clocked 72K km. No rattling dashboard and real world fuel consumption is around 14.7km/L.
      Kind of hard for me to buy your dashboard story.

• There are always non-believers like you around.

• newme on Dec 15, 2019 at 5:47 pm

Hi Geely, this my father/mother/uncle/sister/makcik ..etc own a Proton and everything is ok except minor issue” is being overused. The rakyat know how bad your car is. Even your CBU X70 quality is acknowledged as bad.

• Disappointed proton buyer on Dec 13, 2019 at 4:06 pm

I just bought my 1st proton for my wife .. I chose persona fullspec.. The highest among the trim.. I was expecting the quality to be at least on par with the perodua that it supposed to replace..at 5000kmon the odometer, it hs non stop rattling sound from the dashboard… Went to Proton Edar Plentong Johor, and to set an appt for ratification.. Was denied as they only accept to do the ratification from monday to thursday ONLY… I came on Friday… They said can’t do from Friday till Sunday… And have to book early, 1 week prior… Now I’m stuck with a new proton persona with less than 10k on the odometer with non resolved rattling issue… So do I need to take my limited annual leave just to settle this issue??i took the leap of faith n bought a proton.. And this is what I get

• Rattling sound small issues make you regret buying a Proton. However, the transmission cannot be changed in Myvi, and the owner never regrets buying Myvi.

Why? Because they said goodbye to us after the accident.

• sir rhys lee on Dec 13, 2019 at 4:31 pm

dream on lah. perodua proven and tested the better car for the long run. geely has only been here for a little over 2 years.

• C.P. MOHAN on Dec 13, 2019 at 4:34 pm

If not wrong, recent report puts Toyota and Honda above Proton maybe the reason why they were quoted, anyway copying is the hugest compliment.

• transformer on Dec 13, 2019 at 5:07 pm

wait one day when unfair tax barrier(free market pricing) removed on foreign brand, then rakyat’s purchase volume will speaks…. have fun then…..

• DonkeyKong on Dec 13, 2019 at 6:51 pm

This chinaman is living in his own fantasy world. After sales service is still a pain. Heck, even the My Proton app is faulty and crashes when owners want to schedule for service! Just look at their app store rating! Can’t even get the basics correct but dreaming of taking on Honda and Toyota. Pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Slumberland on Dec 13, 2019 at 8:33 pm

RB1 & RB2 & soon to come RB3
    REBADGE1 & REBADGE2 & soon to come REBADGE3

• Raja Kamarul on Dec 13, 2019 at 10:02 pm

This LCR is typical China Chinese. Be humble Li. Or hire a good PR person.

Competition is what makes you drive ahead. And whether you like it or not, your consumers choose between you and P2. To identify them as not your competitors means you’re not listening. The best selling car in Malaysia is still, in spite of all your progress, is the Myvi.

P2 is the one above you, and you’re just number 2. To get to number 1, you need to beat them so they ARE your competitor.

• asalada on Dec 13, 2019 at 11:38 pm

Nothingof the sort

• Not to mention people made to wait for shipment of parts should car in need of replacement parts on Dec 14, 2019 at 1:49 am

Lets see… dont brag so much 1st. Proton needs to prove that its quality will match or surpass its competitors’. Dont jump into a short sighted conclusion they are the best just becoz they did the right thing in the 1st time. And dont forget proton models other than x70 are just changing its apparels n not the engines technology. Fuel consumption ???

• Lets See on Dec 14, 2019 at 12:46 pm

Fuel consumption is not related to quality, friend. You know the cars with best FC? Those that are stranded in workshops, if they never move, they never consume fuel. So Perodua very fuel savings? That tells you something no?

• Proton on Dec 14, 2019 at 4:14 am

“Now competing” and “now aiming” 2 very different things

• Justice on Dec 14, 2019 at 11:15 am

shameless proton, last time wanted to become ‘bmw’ of asia, now wanna compete with toyota and honda pula…try to compete with perodua 1st la you arrogant idiots….if additional taxes removed from foreign car brands both proton and perodua will close shop

• Darren on Dec 15, 2019 at 1:12 am

You stupid or something? He is clearly saying Proton has now surpassed Perodua in quality and going for the throats of Honda and Toyota. Why should Proton aim for something inferior it already surpassed? Bodoh.

• De ei on Dec 14, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Toyota is still far better than proton, if its the same price than proton, I choose Toyota

• camtakpro on Dec 15, 2019 at 8:05 pm

So let’s price it the same and see the ‘quality’.

Saga 75k~85k
    Persona 80~90k
    X70 150k~180k
    Exora 110k~130k
    Perdana 170k~190k

Buyers will judge its worth. Don’t just talk and still price-fighting majority with Perodua.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 16, 2019 at 12:58 am

because perodua quality is way superior?

• ZaiXiaDouShiLaJi on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:27 pm

Can proton even reach world number 4 reliability ranked which now taken by Subaru (Easy head gasket bang car brand) ? Might possible one day and now proton got their attitudes right which target them self to higher ranked cars and keep improving, of course perodua make laoyaa cars which failed to compare at the beginning…

• peter on Dec 24, 2019 at 8:38 pm

To win Honda is easy as those assemble in Malaysia quality is sucks.

• Compete dengan honda?? Repair dlu signal stick. Lampu utama terpadam tanpa sedar bila sentuh bg signal kiri atau kanan. Sgt low quality. Gearbox Hyundai juga x perform