Darkened front windows and windshield – JPJ to issue individual summons for each panel in tint offences

If you’ve darkened your vehicle windscreen and front windows past the permissible level, you could be in for a triple whammy when caught. The road transport department (JPJ) has warned that motorists who commit tint offences will be issued a summons for each glass panel that flouts the law, meaning that up to three summonses can be issued.

The fun doesn’t end there. According to Terengganu JPJ director Zulkarnain Yasin, summonses will be issued to the owner of the vehicle even if the car is being driven by another person during the time of the offence, as Harian Metro reports.

“For window tint offences, we will issue a summons based on each offence. For example, if the driver commits three misdemeanors, having tint levels beyond that allowed by the law for the driver’s side window, the front passenger side windowr and the windshield, three summonses will be issued to the driver.”

“If the driver is not the owner of the vehicle, then the owner will also be penalised, making for six summonses in all, three for the driver and three for the owner,” he said following the conclusion of a special window tint enforcement operation in the state.

A total of 781 notices were issued, including 338 summonses, during the two-day operation. Five vehicles were also seized during the exercise, which was carried out in three locations in collaboration with the police and immigration departments. He said that most of the window tint offences involved private vehicles, especially luxury cars.

The current regulations stipulate that the front windscreen and front side windows need to have a minimum visible light transmission (VLT) of 70% and 50% respectively, while the rear side windows and rear windscreen are not restricted, effectively allowing 0% VLT. Motorists looking to darken their vehicle completely will be able to lower the VLT levels of the front windscreen and front driver/passenger side windows but need to specifically apply for this, and there is cost involved.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:17 pm

Road tax & Lesen mati… Moto takdak lessen lagi serius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Not Toyota Fan on Dec 16, 2019 at 2:56 pm

But these ppl got no money to pay Saman. They’ll just buat dunno and throw Saman away. If Mat Moto can even afford yearly moto insurance, you think they will pay any Saman?

But those M40 T20 usually pay Saman. So this group is the best to target.

Eh, JPJ tak cukup duit ke? Kan hari tu Ah Loke berlagak kata dapat Juta2 dark jual number plate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Angry Voters on Dec 16, 2019 at 5:45 pm

The jutas earned cannot sated their ravenous appetite to the tune of Billions RM they eaten so far. And they are still hungry,…. very hungry for 60 years of waiting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • sam123 on Dec 17, 2019 at 9:06 am

agreed, mati kan road tax or lesen straight away are better than saman few hundred or thousand..

• Executor of little napoleans on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:45 pm

law is only effective when it is enforced thoroughly. Anti corruption agency and relevant authorities should keep eagle eyes on every little napoleons in civil service departments that collaborated with greedy businessman making handsome deals through loopholes on current laws and regulations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Safety First on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:47 pm

When the little napoleon is their head and he make such rules that legalises what previously was illegal, what can the enforcers do? Take action against them and be labeled a Deep State agent?, slammed as stubborn and uncooperative to the new regime?, transferred out and never to be heard again?

• AkooIm on Dec 16, 2019 at 2:30 pm

Lets wait & see… this is not the first time JPJ came out with a bla bla bla statement and then u turn with blur blur blur statement…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • willie on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:03 pm

see many tint driver and passenger side till can’t see them inside. its good to implement, now to wait and see how long enforcement will continue to summon these culprit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • History Bender on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:20 pm

Later many voting constituents from his party will complain like hell to Loke and later Loke will make legal super dark front windows and windshield just by paying money. Just like back during Yap Ah Loy time, we pay ‘protection money’ to make everything legal. Yahooo!

• Angry Voters on Dec 16, 2019 at 9:23 pm

Before rakyat paid to Gagasan 1Malaysia, Yayasan Modal Insan Harta, Yayasan Patriot Negara, Yayasan Akal Budi.

Smue kene songlap. Aduhhh

• Rosman on Dec 17, 2019 at 10:08 am

Aduuhh agree with you. All those head turned out to be Mahathir’s men. Again we voted him back and again his men come to songlap. Time go back to BN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Brian on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:12 pm

Not JPJ want to U Turn but Loke forced them to handbrake dorifto 180 degrees turn.

• Manual Swift Sporter on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:13 pm

I tint my car for my family’s safety; I don’t want to fall victim to the currently rampant smash and grab crimes, nor do I want pervy fellows in this comment section complaining they can’t oogle my beautiful wife as clearly as they wanted to.

The day the cops spend as much resources keeping the streets safe as JPJ cashing in on this money maker, I’ll remove all my tints.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Anonymous on Dec 17, 2019 at 12:44 pm

I would think that if you dark tint your car, it would mean you have something valuable to hide.
      When I drive, I not only look at what the cars are doing. I would also look at the drivers, to see whether they have noticed me or paying any attention at all. If I can’t see you, it’s more work for me.
      If you are so concerned about people ogling your wife and smash and grab, put your valuables and your wife at the back seat, and tint your rear windows as dark as you like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Zoom Zoom on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:14 pm

6 summonses means RM 2k @ 6 = RM 12k? wow…good revenue for Govn.. well done!

• Malaysian on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:25 pm

Though it’s a good move, why only focus on motorists. Because this is the group of road users are the least ‘powerful’ and capable of funding the transport ministry?
    They should channel their effort and energy towards more serious law breaking offenses. Malaysians should which group i m referring to.
    Also, what about offenses by large commercial vehicles owned by big corporations?
    These other groups of road users pose bigger threats to others.
    Keep up your so called ‘good’ work.

• vivizurianti on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Only in Malaysia, nothing is illegal until getting caught during operation/roadblock…..

So in the meantime, more cars will dark-tint their cars as usual. Tinting shops do their business as usual.

Keep calm and Keep Tinting, guys.

If getting caught by enforcement officers, try giving excuse “I don’t know”

• jeff jeff on Dec 16, 2019 at 7:58 pm

My ex colleague staff been having 80% darkness on all glass. roadblock? no issue at all for the past 8 years. because he is same r..e as the police officer. police just let him go. while i’m having a standard come from factory tint from toyota kena block for dark tinted.

• Hafiz Hisham on Dec 17, 2019 at 10:09 am

Yr Velfaiya tint macam yakuza haram which is why they tangkap you.

• Anonymous on Dec 17, 2019 at 12:38 pm

Is your Japanese car a grey import? Japan does not have any limitations of tint law, so they are free to darken their windows as much as they like.

Meanwhile, if a car was built to be imported specifically to a certain country, even the most exclusive brands wouldn’t tint their windows past the legal limit of their intended market. You won’t see Bugattis and Ferraris in the UK having lower than 75% VLT.

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2019 at 7:59 pm

Mcm suka suku plk Nik ubah konsep saman. Cmni lah, asyik psl tinted je kan. Boring dah baca. Ape kate keluar je undang2 baru, tinted diharamkan. Tp kete JPJ kne skali la ikut. 1 Malaysia kasi buang.. Pastu upah astronomi g tinted bumi.. Balut terus bumi..

• torque on Dec 19, 2019 at 10:39 am

“If the driver is not the owner of the vehicle, then the owner will also be penalised, making for six summonses in all, three for the driver and three for the owner,” he said following the conclusion of a special window tint enforcement operation in the state.

Even driver not owner of the vehicle you, JPJ would impose a fine…dah BODOH ker aper?!!!

• WYang on Sep 15, 2022 at 5:40 am

Ayam kampung punya law. Who can prove that the enforcement can issue 3 summon in one offence? Can’t read properly or don’t understand please ask lah. Wasting tax money and time