VIDEO: 2020 Proton X70 CKD – here’s what to expect

The Proton X70 arrived as a fully-imported (CBU) model at the tail end of 2018, and has proven to be a hit among car buyers in Malaysia. A year later, production of the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the SUV has started at the national carmaker’s Tanjung Malim plant, which received an investment of RM1.2 billion to facilitate these efforts.

There’s certainly a lot of buzz surrounding the upcoming CKD SUV, and while full details aren’t out yet, there is some preliminary information that we know of, which we’re sharing with you in this video that focuses on what to expect.

Set to be launched very soon, the X70 is expected to retain a 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 181 hp, but with an extra 15 Nm of torque at 300 Nm. Other changes include the use of the new Proton badge, a powered tailgate, and possibly even a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission in place of the six-speed automatic.

Currently, the X70 is offered in four variants – Standard 2WD, Executive, 2WD, Executive AWD and Premium 2WD – with prices starting at RM99,800 (OTR without insurance) and peaking at RM123,800. How much are you expecting the CKD X70 to go for? Let us know in the comments below.

GALLERY: Proton X70 CKD rollout

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kuan Keng Chong on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:34 pm

I guess the price of each variant will be reduced by 3k to 4k.

• Char siew on Dec 16, 2019 at 2:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 167
      • Vincent Chin on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:08 pm

First of all do you owned an X70 now , Well I owned and been using it for few months , travelling daily from Seremban to KLCCC where my office is located and I didn’t see any issues with a quality like you said.

Do you think we like us who bought this X70 is diskhead like you.

Stop commenting simply without knowing the car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 9
        • Putu piring on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:44 pm

Proton X70 is too expensive! In China itself, the Boyue price is around RM80K. I don’t know why our game over first national carmaker could not give us a value for money car. Moreover, survey has proven that X70 is a problematic car. This is why when CKD production begins, we expect the price to lower down to RM70K as long as the quality will not go down as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 90
          • Mee goreng on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:01 pm

Everyone have to thank Geely, China and Li Chunrong for saving game over Proton years ago. Without their game changing help and management, I don’t think Proton will still be able to make it until today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
          • Stop complaining about too expensive. It is not! You go compare with CR-V Vspec having the same features at it is RM40,000 cheaper. If RM40,000 cheaper is still not cheap enough for a cheapskate like you, go work harder and save up to buy X70 when you have the money. Stop complaining and work harder. Don’t expect Proton to give you subsidy, bantuan and tongkat just for you to buy this car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 9
          • Typical Malaysian on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:46 pm

how many “problems” are there to be specific? it is permanent or fixable for free at SC? one thing is for sure. P2 gave gifts to its customer as a reward to give them good rating.

• Apam balik on Dec 16, 2019 at 5:11 pm

I agree to Hafriz Shah’s game changing statement about the dissapointing part of this car which is the looks. “Because from the look of it this car looks to be identical to the CBU model other than the new rounded Proton logo. After months and months of being told to expect something surprising for the CKD, now we see this and yeah… maybe that was the surprise”. This is why Proton needs to learn a lot from Perodua as Perodua are working hard to redesign their cars even if it is a rebadge, not just tampal logo and emblems to the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
          • Engineer on Dec 16, 2019 at 9:41 pm

The problem with X70 is… you can’t improve much on near perfection. That is the reason why Hafriz is disappointed. Now they had to go and make improvements, as per usual Proton way of making their principal partners envious, now we can say the X70 CKD is… perfection personified.

• Sanzoseifer on Dec 17, 2019 at 10:23 am

Where u get those survey?…. Under the toilet seat is it??

• Spongewai on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:21 pm

Foolish to overlook this Volvo based Rm90k SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
        • Car correction on Dec 16, 2019 at 6:02 pm

This is incorrect This car is not based on any of the Volvo platform. Even the engine and gear box is not based on a volvo as often told by proton salesman.
          Only the lynk and co range is based on the xc40 architecture, engine and gear train.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • WesternStar2 on Dec 16, 2019 at 7:45 pm

And there is no point preaching to blinded Jap fanboys. You guys don’t care you continue to get outdated, unsafe, ugly cars with poor built quality. You don’t care they are shitty cars specifically not sold back in Japan. You guys don’t care you get all that at over the top prices because them Japs treat you like 2nd class humans. You guys will lap up whatever scraps given. No you don’t care all that, because you get envious when suddenly a Chinese car came in with better quality, more bells & whistles, drives better, feels better, at a much more affordable price range. Then suddenly the common people (who are not blinded like you), aren’t listening to your preaching anymore. They have moved on to the new kid in town and you guys are left alone preaching to each other, wondering why nobody is listening anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Game changing Aruz! on Dec 19, 2019 at 10:14 am

Char siew, what kind of ‘Game changing’ aspect that Aruz have actually?
        Rebadge and then the original model (Rush) also being sold in the same market is being considered game changing eh nowaday!!! Rubbish !

• “Better car” Heck yea!
      “Geely President came to launch” Ohh yea!
      “Tg Malim RHD hub” Yea baby!
      “RM1.2B investment by Geely. Thats Billion with a B. RM1,200M” Yup, we reaping profits alredi.
      “New vendors” Hooray for qualified vendors kicking out Bapak kroni vendors.
      “Vendor investment worth RM260M” That there is the confidence level of vendors into P1 future.
      “More than 1k new jobs” P1 is like Santa Claus, just keeps giving & giving back to the pipu & country.

Overall, congrats P1!

PS: Haf bro. Most likely the P1 touches are in the interior which is why u all not allowed to see inside.

• Jaguh Global on Dec 16, 2019 at 1:37 pm

I expect the new price is same as Honda CRV because Proton said it can challenge Honda quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • SH, even in China, thr price of CRV is higher than that BoYue of the same quality.

• Opinion on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:14 pm

Honda quality is no more but these quality like P1, toyota, nissan is right back on good quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • msia driver on Dec 16, 2019 at 2:33 pm

i think it just add few accessorizes, like dash cam and power tailgate, all the mechanical parts remain the same.
    MY buyers don’t dream for the new gearbox la because Geely need to clear their old parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • MeiLi on Dec 16, 2019 at 2:55 pm

Just put in LKAS (instead of just LDW) and ACC with Stop & Go then, I’m sold.

• This is a good car, a really good car, but it is no miracle car. Just be glad it will have improvements on top of all the goodness it has for such an affordable price.

• Offer 4wd premium model in ckd form pls

• johnweak on Dec 16, 2019 at 3:16 pm

things to expect – drop in quality, that’s for sure.

you can’t change the attitude of lazy mechanics in proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 52
    • Ahcong on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:28 pm

Your Mentality still stucked in 90.s era

• Common Sense on Dec 16, 2019 at 4:35 pm

What a dumb assumption. With such a huge change in management and executives we should definitely see a change in the management of our production plants as well as the attitude of the workers. If you have a strict boss would you still risk cutting corners / being lazy ?

• You overestimate Malaysian lazy tongkat culture. MAS has changed so many CEOs, still sucking govt & rakyat blood. Proton has changed so many CEOs. China CEO can intro new model, but all the cronies going to come knocking to exchange poor quality parts for inflated prices.

• Ex VGM staff on Dec 16, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Let’s do some analysis based on actual official figures.

First. CEO said proton had sold 26k units of x70 all in.

To consider the first 20k orders were received the last three months of 2018, its a wonder proton only sold/registered additional 6k units for 2019. What went wrong. Perodua Aruz?

Second. Proton x70 achieved the highest ranking in JD power survey of quality/reliability. Not only the worse in the SUV category, but the worst car of all in terms of PP100.

Expect more with CKD models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Edwin L on Dec 16, 2019 at 9:51 pm

Well consider this. it took them 8 months to backfill and delivered all those 20k orders meanwhile they are still receiving new orders for X70. This is just for the CBU units which are limited to ~3000 shipped per month. So expect X70 deliveries to shoot up once CKD is in full fury. Though yes, Aruz did come and make a dent. It took 4,000 potential sales from X70.

Oh and you’re another that thinks JD Power is still reliable, independent and credible? Obviously the car industry doesn’t share that opinion, hence JD pulling out of Asia.

Oh and we do expect more with CKD models. We expect higher horsies, powered tailgate, and possibly a DCT gb.

• remove the tax on foreign car and check on the sales again.

• Kelvin Kong on Dec 16, 2019 at 9:15 pm

Nice but for my personal opinion, X70 design is quite boring, nothing special. Other than that are super NICE !!

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Dec 17, 2019 at 12:44 pm

Proton should make a 7-seater variant for the CKD X70. Tapping the market of Mitsubishi Outlander, Nissan X-Trail and Mazda CX-8.

• Fauzi on Dec 17, 2019 at 1:53 pm

Dont mind the current price, but the boot space is just too small and need to be better. Need not to hv a full size rim for spare tyre, hence can hv more boot space and lighter vehicle.. Cabin interior quality, safety devices and sound proofing need to be better. Still felt more swaying when taking corners compare to other models. Price is reasonable.

• Truckers on Dec 17, 2019 at 5:48 pm

Its an SUV, not a sportscar. In any case, it is designed with AWD config in mind unlike some which is lower but the chassis is not catered for AWD variant.

• Honest comment on Jan 29, 2020 at 11:45 pm

I just got my Honda CRV eventually, had been struggling to come to this decision….I wanted so much to get Proton X70, but the ugly front grill stop me from buying…the front grill making the whole car look awkward…
    Hope came when came across Geely Boyue Pro version online, with much better outlook and design, but sadly only available in China, country of its origin, perhaps will never be introduced to Malaysian…
    As Malaysian, we are paying relatively higher price than China citizen to get a lousy looking car(ugly front grill design which many Malaysian are so proud of), and outdated version (compared with current Boyue Pro)…
    My little suggestion: there are many better designers all around the world, definitely can come out with a better looking front grill design, if Proton ever take this seriously