Perodua exports hit 2,825 units in 2019, up from 2,184

One of the factoids thrown out by Perodua during its 2019 full-year review was the total amount of export sales, and on that front the national carmaker announced that it sold 2,825 vehicles overseas.

That’s unfortunately some way down on the 3,270 units it had hoped to export last year, but it’s still a solid 29.4% increase over 2018’s 2,184 units. Indonesia made up the bulk of the total number, with 1,800 units of the Myvi being shipped there as the Daihatsu Sirion.

Sri Lanka was next with 583 units, and there the Bezza became the bestselling sub-1.0 litre sedan. The company also entered a new market, Seychelles, selling 37 units there since June. Perodua continued to post modest exports to Brunei (162 units), Mauritius (125 units), Singapore (98 units) and Fiji (20 units).

“While our exports remained modest, we are making good progress in establishing our brand overseas and are looking at further improving the numbers this year,” said president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Our Perodua fanboy was talking so loud about how great their brand is in the export market and they even leveraged on Japanese technology and yet they only exported <3000 units. This would include a number of units exported to Indonesia as Daihatsu car so they had even leveraged on using Japan branding but yet their export sales are pitiful. I wonder what was so great for their fanboy to shout about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 26
    • Karipap on Jan 21, 2020 at 6:37 pm

Very good improvement Perodua! With this Game-Changing performance, I am sure that in the end of 2020, Perodua can export more than 4,000 units. This is why Proton needs to learn from Perodua how to do business in international market as Proton are not doing well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 23
      • Celup King on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:47 pm

I don’t know why you are so proud of your Perodua when they are just selling cheapened rebadged cars to the rakyat. Even that they had gone and removed all the safety features of the donor car and built it from rejected Milo tin metal.

And they do that with the aim to maximise profits that will be sent back to Japan. I don’t know whether Perodua staff should be ashamed for helping to enrich Japan further and not Malaysia. If I were working for Perodua like Mr P2, I too would be ashamed of their withholding all these technology from Perodua and only rely on outdated cars to sell.

Selling more Perodua cars don’t help Malaysia but only help Japan, and in return they only talk about giving us gamechanging hybrid and EV technology but since 2003 until today 17 years later, we only see them talking about this gamechanging technology which never comes. Perodua and their Japan bosses are only talk gamechanging but they are really gameover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • This is when p1 fan got frustrated and looser talk. Say u want, lose is lose. Hahahahaha.

• Muahaha on Jan 22, 2020 at 10:23 am

Talk like kataxxx bawah tempurung! Muahahaha.

• newme on Jan 22, 2020 at 10:28 am

Stop accusing others rebadging cars when your only contribution is designing front grille for China made cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Engineer on Jan 22, 2020 at 11:26 pm

Only diehard idiots choose to remain ignorant in this day and age. Read before you comment.
            https://paultan.org/2018/01/12/photo-of-proton-right-hand-drive-geely-boyue-is-fake/

• To be riding on a Japanese brandname and yet only sold less than 3000 units is really shameful wei! So malu, even Mitsuoka sold more cars than that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Mirror Yourself on Jan 21, 2020 at 6:38 pm

“NATIONAL carmaker Proton Nasional Bhd has exported 1,635 units between June 2018 and August 2019 to Asia, Africa and the Middle East.”

So what proton butthurt fanboy gonna say now? Hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • Err, this?
        https://paultan.org/2020/01/20/proton-aiming-to-export-4000-units-in-2020-says-could-potentially-achieve-6000-units-with-govt-incentives/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Shame on p1 on Jan 22, 2020 at 9:04 pm

They dreaming higher in 2020. Turn out to be worse. Only 74k proton car sold not including china boyue aka x70. Shud thanks to china mr. Lichungrung for helping p1 revive from bancruptcy. Wat a shame.

• Whatever it is, Malaysians are proud of Perodua, From Day 1, they have been making profits of billions per year.

Do you know since inception, Perodua has paid more than RM1 bil in company tax yearly to LHDN?

Proton pulak has been given tax exemption from LHDN. They have not paid a single sen of tax the past 20 years because loss making

Worse still, they have taken RM20 billion in bailouts. Perodua has never taken a single sen of bailouts.

So, in total, Proton losses are more than RM40 bil in past 20 years. No contribution to society at all.

Perodua has paid so much of company tax, over RM25 bil in total and this money has been used to build schools and hospitals for the rakyat

Thank you Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
        • Spin Too Much on Jan 22, 2020 at 9:55 pm

You are just like your PH politicians, continue to lie and lie and lie.

Lie No1: Perodua has never disclosed their financials so how do you know they had paid company taxes?

Lie No2: To be paying Rm1 bil. That is taxes upon profits here. Even if Perodua sold 240,000 Myvis, they only likely to be making RM 36mil in net profits. How on earth do they pay RM 1bil in taxes?

C’mon. If you want to lie here, make it believable. You are just pulling BS out from nowhere.

• Whatever it is, Malaysians are proud of Perodua, From Day 1, they have been making profits of billions per year.

Do you know since inception, Perodua has paid more than RM1 bil in company tax yearly to LHDN?

Proton pulak has been given tax exemption from LHDN. They have not paid a single sen of tax the past 20 years because loss making

Worse still, they have taken RM20 billion in bailouts. Perodua has never taken a single sen of bailouts.

So, in total, Proton losses are more than RM40 bil in past 20 years. No contribution to society at all.

Perodua has paid so much of company tax, over RM25 bil in total and this money has been used to build schools and hospitals for the rakyat

Thank you Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • Celup King on Jan 22, 2020 at 10:34 pm

Change name and still I can see it’s you. I don’t know why you are so proud of your Perodua when they are just selling cheapened rebadged cars to the rakyat. Even that they had gone and removed all the safety features of the donor car and built it from rejected Milo tin metal.

And they do that with the aim to maximise profits that will be sent back to Japan. I don’t know whether Perodua staff should be ashamed for helping to enrich Japan further and not Malaysia. If I were working for Perodua like Mr P2, I too would be ashamed of their withholding all these technology from Perodua and only rely on outdated cars to sell.

Selling more Perodua cars don’t help Malaysia but only help Japan, and in return they only talk about giving us gamechanging hybrid and EV technology but since 2003 until today 17 years later, we only see them talking about this gamechanging technology which never comes. Perodua and their Japan bosses are only talk gamechanging but they are really gameover.

• Unknown on Jan 23, 2020 at 12:21 am

Making profits of billion since day one? Oh really? UN should give them a world economics award as even Google, Apple, Facebook, Alibaba, Tesla, and all the Fortune 500 companies have never got billions in profits since day one.

Either you’re trolling too hard until your brain fused, or you seriously don’t know what you’re saying.

• Troll Hunter on Jan 23, 2020 at 12:32 am

Quite obvious he is plotekting his P2 but he is making a bad joke at it, keep rehashing the same nonsense over and over. P2 trolls and their PH bosses cannot be trusted at all.

• Hahaha, worldwide not dare to buy Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • Mirror Yourself on Jan 21, 2020 at 6:40 pm

“NATIONAL carmaker Proton Nasional Bhd has exported 1,635 units between June 2018 and August 2019 to Asia, Africa and the Middle East.”

Looks like the worldwide more scare and not dare much to buy proton. Hahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • John Doe on Jan 21, 2020 at 5:36 pm

Geely exports to Malaysia increased by 27k of x70..Proton just a trader in 2019

• Ya precisely true bro. Just a trader doin forwarding import export x70 from china and to other country. Not even CKD so no no misia car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • BTSH tok kok.

• Tik Tok on Jan 22, 2020 at 9:10 pm

Pipu tok as winner.
          U tok tok as looser tat owes loose.
          Lose is lose, u tok tok oso no use.
          P2 champion of the champion.

• We all are grateful to Daihatsu & Toyota for donating their cars to us for rebadging during the past 30 years and we will continue to rebadge until we close shop. Thank you Daihatsu & Toyota. We only wish you wouldn’t throw us your old and outdated models to do the rebadging. Malu tau, when customers asking why Daihatsu have newer cars and we still rebadging old models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Rebadge on Jan 21, 2020 at 7:01 pm

Well perodua still exist and very succesful now a day, and goin more success year by year.
      While proton already bankrap after built their own problematic cars and engines. Even go their own also cannot survive also went down bankrap until china come for rescue. Thank you so much mr. Lichunrong for saving the already bankrap plotong. Again 2 times borrow rm1.5bil and 1.25bil from govt to survive, but sadly even govt gv borrow also still go bankrap. Oh maii. Malu tau. Malu betui betui tau. Got own car but tak bulih pakai. End up rebadging china car. Excuse me what??? Rebadge??? Oh maiii. Rebadge back hahaha!
      Tats y ask to learn from perodua lastime. Perodua can teach plotong how to do good bisnes. Rebadge or not as long successful and rakyat suka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • SK Lim on Jan 21, 2020 at 11:24 pm

I cannot say that I am proud of Plotua as our national car since there is nothing national or Malaysian about their cars. It is just a rebadge after another. OTOH, at least when people ask about Proton I can justify telling them that our true national car is using our own locally developed cars and engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Axxx Lim on Jan 22, 2020 at 9:18 pm

True national car with truly alot of problems and very very high fuel consumption low RV, gearbox problem, lepak makan tido goyang kaki attitude.
          Well go la proud proud tell people and justify ur lousy p1 cars. I wonder, worldwide actually do knew about p1 cars are very problematic n lousy. Thanks for making urself a joker. Go justify to people u are joker too.
          I proudly say to u now alot p1 owner switch to p2. Rakyat know wat the best and they know p1 the worse car to have. Sorry for speaking the truth yah.

• Engineer on Jan 22, 2020 at 11:31 pm

Proton started out in 1985 and within 20 years they could develop and produce their own cars and engines.

Yet Perodua 30 years on and still relied on Daihatsu and Toyota to rebadge their cars and use their engines.

How come in the same period Proton by themselves could come out with their own cars and engines, but Perodua with Daihatsu and Toyota support still continue to rebadge their cars and use their engines? Answer is hard work & Proton innovation.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 23, 2020 at 12:12 am

Thanks to all our abang-abang engineers, technicians, operators, all the way down to the cleaners for making Proton a great success since Day One. You all have contributed much to the national automotive sectors and made your country proud. Without you guys, we would not have reached this level today. So tahniah to you all! You have made Proton proud, you have made DRB proud, you have made Malaysia proud, you have made us rakyat proud. Now is time to impress Geely and make them proud. Majulah Proton!

• lilytan on Jan 21, 2020 at 5:47 pm

Should export as daihatsu instead of perodua. It works in indonesia

• Justice on Jan 21, 2020 at 6:01 pm

perodua taking abt brand image with less than 3k export per annum to a couple of 3rd world countries? what a joke

• Mirror Yourself on Jan 21, 2020 at 6:44 pm

Meanwhile,

June 18 to Aug 19. That is 1 year 2 month, but only able to sell 1635 unit. Apa macam itu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Sam KK Loo on Jan 21, 2020 at 10:13 pm

This paria poodua only dare to ‘export’ their junk cars to 3rd world countries as when they try to export to other developed countries, straight away rejected and sent to scrapyard, or perhaps get destroyed by Clarkson or their gang.

• Chris Tan on Jan 22, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Hello, Perodua is sold in Singapore, a FIRST world country.

Yet, PRoton is not even sold in Singapore since 2018

• Ghani on Jan 22, 2020 at 6:58 pm

Perodua has not sold a single car in SG ever since 1st generation Myvi and that was way before 2010 when they stopped selling there.

• Myvi Sg on Jan 22, 2020 at 9:35 pm

Are u sure bro? Have u been to SG? No u never thats why u only talk empty. I’ve seen alot of 1st gen myvi in SG bro. Plz talk by fact and not talk by ur fart only.

• Ghani on Jan 22, 2020 at 11:34 pm

A lot? Where? Easy to talk cock& bull here. I work in SG friend. I haven’t seen a new Perodua registered in SG for years. Don’t challenge me.

• Indonesian here, i think the reason Myvi sales aren’t much because of the Daihatsu brand. This class is more for youth, and Daihatsu is not the brand they looking for.

This class is filled by Honda Brio, Suzuki Ignis and Baleno who have a better brand image. If Myvi can be sold as a Toyota Passo, the story will be different.

• Basically daihatsu is toyota bro. Toyota passo and daihatsu boon share same engine and chassis.

• Ikr bro, that’s why I said it should be sold under the Toyota brand. Because in Japan, Passo is Sirion’s twins.

• newme on Jan 22, 2020 at 10:36 am

OMG just over 2K units? That’s the problem when you your cars sold so well in local market. Production cannot catch up. Tak menang tangan memenuhi permintaan yang banyak.

• Lets See on Jan 22, 2020 at 10:02 pm

That is the problem with Perodua fandism. They thought by sticking Daihatsu badges on their crap Perodua cars they could pass them off as Daihatsus. Too bad it only works wih local people but the international market aint buying that crap.

• newme on Jan 23, 2020 at 9:18 am

The problem is Daihatsu sticks their own badge to Perodua Myvi and sell it as Daihatsu. Can Volvo do the same to Geely?

• Owen Chen on Jan 22, 2020 at 11:51 am

The new MYVi owners should take note especially if you have the first batch. Apparently Produa used the fuel pumps from an Indonesian supplier and it will likely reach its MTFB (Mean Time Between Failure) after two years. To my shock and horror, my MYVI stalled as I was driving and start to slide backwards. Luckily I was only about to drive off from a traffic light and the car behind me stopped in time. I have to has it towed to a Produa workshop. The tow driver told me its common as the new MYVI has been stalling and the Indonesian fuel pumps needs to be replaced with the Japanese one. I am so disappointed. All new MYVI owner please spread this message to all new MYVI owners.