2020 Proton X70 CKD details: 4 variants, AWD dropped, new ventilated seats and power boot

With the 2020 Proton X70 set to be launched soon, many are curious about just what is new with the locally-assembled (CKD) version, especially in the specs department. Well, here are a couple of leaked images of the CKD X70 as well as a slide listing down the variants and features, as seen on The Ajerul‘s Facebook page.

There are four variants and they are the Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Premium 2WD and Premium 2WD X. This means that the Executive AWD, currently the sole variant with all-wheel drive, has been dropped, possibly due to low demand. Before we dive into the specs, let’s see what’s new, visually.

It’s clear that the CKD X70 looks pretty much similar to the CBU version that we’re familiar with – this isn’t the Boyue Pro with the new face. The easiest way to spot a CKD is by the new Proton logo on the grille, which is a round one with the tiger head zooming out from one side. The rear end with the trademark Proton script looks identical, as are the lighting at both ends.

2020 Proton X70 CKD details: 4 variants, AWD dropped, new ventilated seats and power boot

Nice colour, isn’t it? This looks like a new grey colour (Honda’s Polished Metal-style?) that should prove to be popular. The current CBU colours are Snow White, Armour Silver, Jet Grey, Cinnamon Brown and Flame Red.

The other two images are close up shots of the SUV’s interior. As expected, the steering wheel boss now features Proton’s new round logo, and the gear selector is also new. Now with a prominent P button, the lever controls the new seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission, which replaces the CBU’s six-speed torque converter automatic. We’ve already sampled this new gearbox, and you can learn more about it here.

That’s all from the images. We move on to the leaked slide, which details the CKD X70’s variants and specs. Once again, there are four – Standard 2WD, Executive 2WD, Premium 2WD and Premium 2WD X. The new items are comfort and convenience features.

A recline function for the 60:40 split-folding rear seats is now available across the board, while the Executive 2WD onwards get a powered tailgate and front ventilated seats. The latter would be rather valuable in our hot climate. The powered tailgate gets a foot sensor from the Premium onwards – this means that you can open the hatch with your hands full – just stand there and swipe or “kick” (we’ll see how Proton’s version work) below the bumper.

That’s all for the new kit. The Premium X is essentially the Premium with the panoramic sunroof. A big glass roof is appreciated by some, but not everyone fancies it – X70 customers can now choose if they want it.

The engine – a 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine with 184 PS – remains the same, but peak torque has been given a bump to 300 Nm from 1,750 to 4,000 rpm, which is 15 Nm more than the previous 285 Nm from 1,700 to 4,400 rpm.

The increased torque comes as part of a revision of the engine, internally referred to as Generation 3 (the one in the CBU X70 is known as the Generation 2). There aren’t any mechanical changes, save for updated emissions equipment that can be tuned to meet new Euro 6d regulations. The DCT has a maximum torque rating of 330 Nm, so 300 Nm is within limits.

As used in Geely and Volvo models, this DCT is claimed to have class-leading efficiency – Geely says it actually benchmarked Volkswagen’s dry clutch DSGs (which provide lower driveline losses than Wolfsburg’s wet clutch units) here, with an overall efficiency figure of 94.6% and a maximum figure of 97%. The latter number is close to a good old-fashioned manual gearbox, and is also much higher than Aisin’s eight- (88%) and six-speed (89%) autos. Full story on the new gearbox here.

Not long now. What do you think of the new features of the CKD X70 such as the DCT, ventilated seats and powered tailgate?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Honda Can Go Fly Kite on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:01 am

Definitely, X70 price going to reduce that comes CKD then everyone will not going to purchase CRV.

CRV is very expensive but no Honda Sensing with poor quality and aftersales services, unlike X70. As X70 gives better specs with super high quality and aftersales service

Such A Lousy Honda MY Management

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 270 Thumb down 38
    • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Feb 08, 2020 at 8:48 am

This car might be a good car BUT BUT BUT it is priced at RM123k in Malaysia whilst the same car in China is priced at RM60k. Half the price in China. Supposed to be Malaysian car.

This is not fair. Proton was born to give Malaysians local cheap car. In 1985, Proton was created to give Malaysians a cheaper car.

But now, it looks like Proton prices are the same as Japanese cars in Malaysia. To make matters worse, in China, our Proton is sold for RM60k (X70)

Like that, why give Proton local car status? If they cannot give Malaysians cheaper cars, better withdraw this local car status and preferential tax.

In China, where people are so rich can buy our Proton for RM60k. In Malaysia, where we are so poor, can buy our beloved Proton RM123k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Feb 08, 2020 at 8:52 am

Pls remember one thing, after 5 years, when warranty runs out, the price of this car ie the RV, will collapse to maybe RM20k.

See what happened to the VW Passat, you guys will know. Brand new RM180k. 3 years time, RM40k.

Buyers will be very scared to touch a car with DCT in the 2nd hand market after warranty finishes

Nobody is going to dare to take the risk to fork out RM70k for a gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
      • Lol... on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Nobody force u to buy if u can’t afford it. Just go for something else within ur budget.

• Honda Salesman Dont Be Too Jealous on Feb 08, 2020 at 8:52 am

Malaysians always cheated by DRB Honda. In Japan, Honda HRV got Honda Sensing consists of AEB, Blind Spot Monitor, Land Departure Warning, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and etc plus with good car quality and good aftersales service too!

But for DRB Honda, they sells RM108K to RM123K for Honda HRV without Honda Sensing consists of AEB, Blind Spot Monitor, Land Departure Warning, Rear Cross Traffic Alert that you have missed ! Even Honda DRB assembles Honda Models in Melaka with super low quality!

Somemore, still talking about Honda DRB, Malaysians who owned Honda cars, go to service centers and see. After few weeks later or several days later of taking their Honda cars out from service centers, people felt that still having same big problems and always have to spend spend spend for buying parts without problems solved just like buying new smaller A segment car.

Now you know, This is how stupid Malaysians are. And How DRB Honda can protect the people safety lives when DRB Honda Safety is becoming more riskier to the customers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 25
      • Hisham on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:23 am

This car is going to be in the workshop non stop with the same same DSG problems

• granny on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:29 am

More CRV and Civic owners upgrading to X70.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • seancorr (Member) on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:45 am

Don’t say so fast. The CBU X70 gearbox has some niggling jerking issues now maybe that’s why Proton only offer 3 years warranty for the gearbox. First time I see owners have to bring their vehicle back to SC to update the Transmission Control Unit and/or top up ATF fluid. I mean it’s the bloody gearbox we are talking about and some owner vehicles are not even a year old yet. Give Proton another few years then we judge them. Now the X70 still new so no one really knows how durable the new rebadged Proton vehicles are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • Wilson Ong on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:09 am

got good product is one thing but SC always have tidak apa attitude……I hope Chairman Li whip them into shape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • Wilson Ong Bodoh on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:10 pm

No one believes you honda fanboi

• Honda salesman detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Honda Salesman Dont Be Too Jealous on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Yeah, all Honda salesman so bored when poor sales, they start to badmouth proton and other brands with their multiple dupes

• Stanley on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:42 am

Actually nobody force you to buy, option is on you dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 88
        • Sejarah PT on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Wilson Khoo is a troll who copy and pastes comments against Honda on every single article

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
          • Troll Hunter on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:21 pm

Wilson Khoo = Wilson Ong? Coincidence or ran out of fake names?

• Casio on Feb 08, 2020 at 3:13 pm

No only him, even majority will not buy Honda also. They know that what are issues that Honda have.

• Rimau on Feb 08, 2020 at 3:13 pm

Pipu2 prefer the pricier, & inferior CX5 & CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
          • X50 pls on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:35 pm

After X50 launched…. Crv n CX 5 maybe 0 sales… Better don’t keep to much stock on Q4 Honda n others…

• Roti john Pvt Ltd on Feb 08, 2020 at 3:55 pm

As expected, the CKD version of X70 will be Game Over because of it’s DCT gearbox and build quality. Everyone knows that Proton CKD cars are all Game Over and often break down. So I hope that Li Chunrong and Geely will pay attention to Proton factory workers to ensure that the quality will still be maintain

• MotomanTV on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:57 am

No wonder we still far behind, keep bashing others while we do nothing to improve ourselves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 85
        • CRV dgn CX5 gips 5year free servis, x70 ade?

• Lol... on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:31 pm

Please explain what free services offered by Honda n Mazda, including all spare parts within 5 years? Not just free 1st time visial inspection service only…

• DSG oh DSG on Feb 08, 2020 at 6:34 pm

Do you know why companies like VW and Ford failed big time in Malaysia?

These are the two biggest car companies in the world. They spend billion on research and development and they know everything about dual clutch.

When the two companies cannot solve their own dual clutch issue, do you think a China company can be trusted?

Geely started in 1997

VW and Ford started in the 18th century!!!! They were around before 1900 la

I think I better bilip VW and Ford. They themselves cannot find a solution for their DSG/ Dual clutch.

How can young 1997 Geely know more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Shahab on Feb 08, 2020 at 7:14 pm

Geely is not permitted to be sold in USA, entire EU =Europe, Japan, Australia, Scandinavia.

I wonder why???

But laku in China and Msia only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 38
        • Gerald on Feb 09, 2020 at 1:13 am

Er why do you think there was a trade war?

• Trade war. See what happened to Huawei.

• Raja Kamarul on Feb 09, 2020 at 9:45 am

When you say NOT PERMITTED, where’s your proof? Do you think just maybe Geely is smart enough to not enter markets (yet) where they will have a hard time getting sales? Where the market is so focused on European brands?

Setting up a plant isn’t cheap, and then developing dealer networks as well. Fact is, their cars are good and there’s a reason Geely brands remain the best selling Chinese car brand in China where they are competing with the European makes.

• Volvo is a best seller in EU. It won COTY awards globally and even in Japan.

• Fake honda story - report mcmc on Feb 09, 2020 at 6:01 pm

The anti honda blogger with multiple names will soon get caught by police and mcmc after giving same and fake stories. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
          • Muzamir Kassim on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:05 pm

The cases been reported to relevant authorities. Hope to see cleaner comments soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
        • When new, Xiaomi, Huawei phone all got bling bling factor. initially syiok!
          After 1 year, confirm the owner switch back to iphone or samsung.

china products are good but they lack something.

• Anonymous on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:02 am

No Chinese car maker is being sold in the US under their own brand name. All “Chinese” cars sold in the US are Chinese subsidiaries or JVs of US car makers.

Before it was because they were horrible. The past 6-7 years however has been quite different. China imposes a tougher emissions standard than Euro that all car makers must follow, and brands like Qoros and Geely have been getting 4-5 star Euro NCAP. Others are quickly catching up with JVs with European companies. The only reason we haven’t seen new Euro NCAP tests from them is because despite their good ratings in Europe they still sell poorly. So they pulled out from the European market. NCAP tests has to be done with cars that can be bought from local dealerships. If NCAP can’t buy them, they can’t test them.

Penetrating the US today is made more difficult with the “US-China trade war”, and the stereotype of Chinese brands is still very strong there. Much like it is here.

• Syerin on Feb 10, 2020 at 9:35 am

You’re just pure hatred and not factual. It’s really pointless stating a fact for you. Stop being this kind of human please. You have brain. At least use a bit of it.

• Honda - First man, then machine on Feb 10, 2020 at 4:58 am

Another repeatitive rendition of WK
        continuation of love & hate relation with Honda {2019-2020}
        Self entitlement issue.
        Just go on to Google search, and see the meaning of entitlement pls

• Shaharul on Feb 10, 2020 at 8:35 am

Better buy the Aruz than this. At least it is a safer time tested gearbox

This is not small money to me. RM130k is big money. I am not going to take the risk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
        • X70 Buyer on Feb 10, 2020 at 11:55 am

That is your money but 26,000 don’t agree with your prejudice and bias. Since you can’t afford for X70 anyways, no point for you to consider it.

• Badrul on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:06 am

Well done Proton. Lucky China came and helped you. Li Chunrong and Geely, within 6 months could identify all the leakages Proton had, what local CEOs could not identify in 30 years.

This is why we need more foreign CEOs from Mainland to come into Malaysia to help run our GLCs and even Putrajaya. We will see a 10 fold increase in productivity and we will become FIRST World soon.

Already 2020, our vision to be FIRST world tak jadi, nevermind, never too late to get brains and intelligence from Mainland to help us achieve this goal

As for Proton staff and Proton fanboys, tak malu ke? Orang China dan Geely do all the work, and Proton fanboys claim the glamour and fame?

Last time kutuk China maximum and mintak balik tongsan etc, now, we rely on China product completely.

• Sad Sad Honda Salesmen on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:11 am

Yeah, heard that many already cancelled their City, Jazz & HRV. Everybody is talking about quality, service condition and safety. So Honda close shop

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 21
      • Wilson Ong on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:05 am

Quality of CKD is very suspicious. I drive CBU Mercedes whilst my bro drive CKD Mercedes

BEZA banyak wei. My bro is always at the SC sorting problems

• Syiok Sendiri Volvo Quality on Feb 08, 2020 at 6:37 pm

Proton is not a Volvo. Otherwise, nobody will buy a Volvo. So don’t bilip you gonna get Volvo DCT gearbox

Remember that.

Don’t think you are getting Volvo quality. There is always B grade and C grade in the manufacturing industry.

Geely or Volvo will never give the expensive version for a cheapo car. Rm400k Volvo car gearbox is not going to be given to a Proton

Be careful. When rosak time, you will pay nothing less than RM30k to RM50k to repair a DCT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Toxic comments on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:59 am

Too many keyboard warriors around.

Do you know in china, CRV has higher sales than geely boyue? Do you own a x70? If not given the huge price advantage, would there be so many risk takers? I guess not. Unfortunately now, the pre-facelift owners will gonna cry due to low RV value as CKD will have even lower price, more modern gearbox and features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • Boyue continued to be the best selling SUV in China, who are you trying to fool?

• Wilson Ong on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:03 am

Everybody rushing to buy cbu models now cause got Quality standard

Once becomes CKD—–you know I know lah!!! Power Boot I think will become like famous Power Windows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO Li Chunrong on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:19 am

Anyway, all this success, we have to thank Li Chunrong. Li Chunrong in just 6 months already identified what was making Proton lose money and cause it to become bankrupt. He found out, all the kroni vendors and suppilers were overcharging Proton big time

Our local CEOs, the past 20 years, could not identify this.

Bravo to Li Chunrong and Proton’s success now. It is because of YOU that Proton is doing well now!!!!

• Kasihan X70 Owners on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:22 am

All current X70 owners will see their RV drop by RM30k overnight

Kasihan betul

• Almighty Snack Bar on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:36 am

Hahahaha!!! After 5 years only all of you realise how shi***y Honda MY BS BQ QC is. I already informed everyone since 5 years ago but was shot down. Finally Malaysian are getting smarter. Hahahaha!!! Honda MY BS BQ QC and go fly kite. Specifically to Sri Peringgit at Old Klang Road, do hope you close **** one day, lousy manager and salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • Nazrin Shah on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:44 am

Go overseas and see Honda and Toyota got first class after sales service.

In Malaysia we have to employ all the abang abang in the SC and factory who bring bad name to these two brands with their lethargic attitude in life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 51
      • Unknown on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:04 pm

Kesian Proton has better SC services than Honda & Toyota. I wonder why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 44
      • Oxford on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:34 pm

The only bad name is honda. Their attitude never change. Always giving horrible service, quality makes very scare to drive. And never give aeb!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
    • Merican on Feb 08, 2020 at 1:41 pm

This DCT confirm to breakdown as DCT cannot handle two things….heat and jams.

China is a cold country lah….winter there got snow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 72
      • No more Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI (2018) breakdown.

• sunyttsts on Feb 08, 2020 at 6:23 pm

If YOU know how the Design, Construction, Testing , Evaluation, Testing AGAIN, etc of VOLVO engine ( which GEELY is using ) , then YOU will know why X70 is SUCH a vehicle in damand. DCT design by GEELY/VOLVO is MUCH better than previously DCT by VW or FORD.

• InvinceZ on Feb 09, 2020 at 10:13 am

It’s wet DCT. solves what most dry DCT probs have.

• Passerby on Feb 09, 2020 at 8:42 pm

You sure? My F48 X1 is running with DCT also, don’t see any issue in Malaysia also.

• MeiLi on Feb 10, 2020 at 1:04 am

Go find the details on their test locations. China has hot weather too although i hope they publish their test results here in Malaysia.

• Geely TV Broadcast by JL on Feb 10, 2020 at 7:21 am

Chief engineer Tejinder Singh said that bathing the clutches in cooled oil gets rid of the temperature-related issues that beset dry clutch DCTs, and it also eradicates most
        of the low-speed hesitation and juddering encountered by consumers in the past.
        Geely’s DCT also conforms to Volvo’s stricter durability requirements,
        designed for a service life of more than 350,000 km – significantly higher than the industry standard of 240,000 km.
        The company has also conducted numerous hot and cold weather and high-altitude tests in China, South Africa and Europe,
        racking up over nine million kilometres before putting the gearbox into production.

• Tahniah P1! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • 'Insaf Basheer' here on Feb 10, 2020 at 6:02 am

I really hate to say it, they already did It and more to come, I can’t really wait to read more of their latest news
        They really committed to uphold the definitive agreement signed on 2017.
        Volvo & Geely open policy, by sharing their latest Engine & DualClutch technologies with another SP.
        finally I’ve to admit Defeat!
        I can see clearly now, more than 900 of our abg2 Engineers has been respected and welcome through Geely’s open armed policy, working very hard side by side with Geely’s Group of teams in R&D, manufacturing & training.
        There are more than 65 our talented, adik2 muda designers lead by Azlan has been contributing their theming & concept, Ideas through the multi spread projects across Geely’s Global studios.
        100% accepted & respected by Geely.
        I think we should show more Support to all of them, from the top BOD to the bottom.

• I wonder why on Feb 09, 2020 at 9:56 am

Contrary to proton fans and all the new bandwagon fans. Crv has higher sales compare to geely Boyle in China. I wonder why? IMO, x70 does manage to attract some crv, cx5 potential buyers but mostly, the lower price able to lure quite a number of b segment, c segment buyers to jump ship and unfortunately I would say a high number of those buyers have no idea what kind of fuel consumption and maintenance cost is awaiting.

Another question that those bandwagon fans seem to ignore is, will they still purchase x70 if it’s priced similar to cx5 and crv? A big question mark here.

To address some engine tech questions below, clearing certain emission standard doesn’t mean the engine must be on par with latest tech? Proton preve 1.6 turbo is euro 5 compliance if I am not mistaken, but fuel consumption is definitively below class. In short, emission standard and how they test it is usually only limited to certain use case and what we care is day to day usage and fuel efficiency and power/torque ratio is what matters as far as engine tech is concern.

• Apricot on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:03 am

Finish Honda Malaysia and their arrogant attitude that gives a car with many issues on quality and aftersales services. Even upcoming City Turbo and other Honda models doesn’t have AEB, land departure warning and blind spot monitor. Nobody will touch this brand. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 287 Thumb down 54
    • So much hate yo, period come ah? on Feb 08, 2020 at 1:32 am

Hi hater! Are you calling your friends as brainless?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
    • Wilson Khoo budak Bodoh on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:22 am

If u wanna copy and paste the same thing against Honda, at least edit the post a bit la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Bringbackmanual on Feb 08, 2020 at 3:45 am

stop looking at honda since the exploding airbags kills yet nobody bats an eye, dsg is more critical

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Pei Wen on Feb 08, 2020 at 8:42 am

Confirmed honda showroom empty. Dude and other honda sa spent times thumb down other people’s comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • Wow, you actually mentioned my name, i’m so honored. Thank you very much.
        I’m not a Honda SA by the way, but I am senior in the automotive industry. My point is just to stick to issues relating to the article and not blind-fully bashing on subjects not related to the article and boring repetitive messages. My favorite brands are actually VW and Audi, and I personally drive a VW. So I hope this clears up any confusions. :)

• Abang2 Sambung Bayar on Feb 08, 2020 at 8:50 am

All well and jolly now. But don’t forget one thing, when warranty runs out, which is 4 years and 364 days time, to replace the gearbox is about RM60k to RM80k.

Yes, this is true. Proton and Geely has not told you this. And we all know, dual clutch DCT memang banyak problems.

• Protonn oh Proton on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:24 am

Honda and Toyota is not as bad as Proton SC. You go into Proton SC, you complain about a problem, they still say, “Biasalah bang, this is a Proton, what do you expect,”

• Nazrin Shah on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:45 am

Since Merdeka we are pampered, so we also never strive to make a difference. Give the minimum in anything and want maximum remuneration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Pemandu Matsuda on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Mazda is doing extremely well many thanks to the enterprising manoeuvres by Berjaya. I personally own a Mazda and has been pretty satisfied with their level of service, from point of sale to after-sales.

And unlike Honda, Mazda didn’t try to cheat me with their “Free service”. Free service for Mazda means free service including parts and labour for 3 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
      • S-VPAM on Feb 09, 2020 at 12:22 am

Both honda and bmw are performance car brand kah lah. But as for rating, bmw has great rating than honda. At least, bmw management usually replied to people complaints. Bmw have improved their SC and QC. They are very friendly to customers.

Meanwhile, honda always sleeping by ignoring listening to people’s complaints, never improve SC and QC. With this kind of honda management, they are always greedy by their importance of profit company.

And I agreed with your comment that bermaz mazda is so much better than honda. Let me tell you more. It is because everyone had decided to swap with better car with good safety with low cost of repairing and not often going to workshop, unlike honda. Just like me, bought my BRV in 2018, when going to honda service dealer, and they said to me that “everything is normal” everytime. How can said that when repairing so many parts. Yeah, they are cheating on me anywhere. And thought that they are already replacing my new parts but found that after one month later, there are still having big problems to my car. So it is not worth to buy honda for now

• For Mazda, it’s 5-years boi.

• Ken Yap on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:10 am

More power becoz of torque! X70 will be more faster than CRV though!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 14
    • Arrow split sec on Feb 08, 2020 at 3:34 am

Yeah, Once CRVs Drivers see the ambiguous “UncagedTiger” TM with “InfiniteWeave & EtherealBow” Huge Grill Tailgating them at the back, they might just giveaway the lane easily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
    • Wilson Ong on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:08 am

Better give rakyat CBU option as we prefer China quality as opposed to SIRIM low standards.

Proton CKD quality has always been problems

• Rosman on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:15 am

Rm84k-98k… konpom sales meletop. Habis stok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • Anonymous on Feb 08, 2020 at 5:28 am

Oh come on be realistic. That would make it cheaper than a Haval H2.
      You can’t expect the X70 to be the way it is by making it the cheapest C-segment SUV in the country. We might see some great savings, but I highly doubt the highest spec will dip below RM100k. For its own good it should stay well above.

We don’t want them making the cheapest SUV, we want the best value-for-money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
      • Hisham on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:28 am

Geely BOyue in China RM60k. How is this possible? Lagi pun it is CBU.

• Ghani on Feb 10, 2020 at 11:58 am

Myvi – only RM30k in Indonesia but RM55k in Malaysia. How is this possible? Whatmore Perodua is our national car brand.

• Ouch Dee on Feb 09, 2020 at 6:29 pm

Exactly, priced below 100k with Volvo quality = value-for-money.

• Gugubebird on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:12 pm

Not realistic. Same as CBU or cheaper by a few k’s. Then again the bs CKD price raise is also another thing to consider.

• X50 pls on Feb 09, 2020 at 1:59 am

Then X50 Rm 70k to 84k? Best nya… Wait for X50!!!!

• Oh no, pls don't..... on Feb 10, 2020 at 5:29 am

soon you will see a swarming news of local representatives of Japanese car brands lining up to handover a memo of ‘Unfair Trade Practise’ Protest to our local vehicle authority, Iicensing & approval BODs, and later on some MAI and local NGOs spokeperson will do a press conference with the headline news of non-national Autos planning to scaledown their local CKD’s investment & operation.

• Take my money now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Very good & polite customer service on Feb 09, 2020 at 10:57 pm

Me and a group of friends have visited a couple of Proton showrooms to request informations about this new CKD X70 and the sales peoples who attended to us were all very polite and they professionally answered us several questions regarding that the new CKD. Most of them said the price per spec will be much lower with an added custom themes to choose, but no specific indications on the customization and how much it is compared to the CBU batches.They said the CKD X70 will be better equipped than the japanese. One of my friend asked is there some local inputs added to the driving refinements.They said It’s true that Proton engineers has been given green light to tune the ride, suspension, comfort, refinement and NVH to suit our local driving tastes and road conditions.They are now also entrusted to do the tuning to the next Suv and sedan for Geely Sub-brand, Lynk&co RHD soon.
      According to them, There will be also a package of subsidised insurance package and overtrade incentive with selected panel insurer.
      Couple of them also said for the new 7 speed transmission, proton will offer an un-limited km warranty but never mention for how many years of ownership. They all politely asked for our contact details in order to inform us when they have the answers for the rest of our questions.

• Truckers on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:39 am

Habislah every other SUV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Merican on Feb 08, 2020 at 1:44 pm

20 years Malaysians waited for a real SUV but our National car company tidur.

Everyone loves SUV.

Finally orang asing give PRoton the idea to sell SUV

Now Proton sukses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Thanks to Proton X70 our national second car company finally awoken from tidur. Thank you Proton!

• X50 pls on Feb 09, 2020 at 2:02 am

P2 will be shocked after X50 take away 50% of Suv markets sales..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 08, 2020 at 1:15 am

AWD low demand…duh because it didnt come with the safety features?

DCT have class-leading efficiency is pointless when the engine is old tech

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 28
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:37 am

Engine is pretty decent with Dual Variable Valve Timing hollow camshaft, dual mass flywheel and low friction pistons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • Janice Tay on Feb 08, 2020 at 3:42 pm

There’s a calculated reason why Awd option did dropped.
      2018 Cbu (2nd Gen) verses 2020 Ckd (newer 3rd Gen) powertrain combo.
      Someone here has some entitlement issues. Activate your Google voice assistant for what’s the meaning of entitlement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Anonymous on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:25 pm

At worst it’s an engine that is up to current times. Its specific torque output is decent (almost on par with Ford’s EcoBoost) while still able to clear the TOUGHEST EMISSION STANDARD IN THE WORLD (China National 6b), and affordable to middle-class income.
      So how is it low-tech exactly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 37
      • Edgar on Feb 09, 2020 at 9:34 pm

Semi-value is the one who is outdated here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:00 am

its a modified old mitsubishi engine. claimed to have those torque figures but 181 hp is a clear indication on its true lack of power.

wow i didnt know china emission standard is so tough lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
      • 11seconds to 100km/h?
        low tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
    • Beijing 6 Disagreed with You on Feb 09, 2020 at 7:17 pm

You said “DCT have class-leading efficiency is pointless when the engine is old tech”
      You Admitted the 7DCT-GB has the class leading Efficiency which is True but you missed out the New POV(6bES) in the Engine.

It’s a Further-Improved 3rd Generation version of the 1.8-litre TGDi engine found in CBU X70 (Codenamed JLE-4G18TD)
      This version will power soon to be released “2020 Proton X70 CKD” Units.
      The X70’s peak torque has been Raised from 285 to 300Nm and offers as much as 170Nm from just 1,000rpm.
      Within it’s segment, only the Mazda CX-5 offers comparable amount of twist, and that too only from the diesel and 2.5 turbo variants.

China 6b ES Emission Standard
      Reference Euro6 WC
      China6b Target Implementation Date the next 2023.07 Nationwide Approval.
      Its based on European Current Regulations and EU Classification.
      China 6b ES targets reductions of 50% for hydrocarbons, 40% for NOx and 33% for PM over Euro 6 levels

• DCT 5Years Warranties UnlimitedMileage on Feb 08, 2020 at 3:23 am

X70 CKD
    Launch – Wed/12thFEB2020 @ COE
    1.8 liter TGDi 3rdGeneration Engine 181Hp.
    300Nm Torque
    7Speed DCT Wet Clutch Gearbox
    Awarded (2018-2019_10’s World Best-Transmissions)
    The gearbox comes with a shift-by-wire electronic gear lever, with shifting speed between gears as quick as 0.3 seconds.
    X70 CKD, X50 + Lynk&Co – LocallyTuned – (Ride & Handling) + DrivingDynamics by Proton
    Price Reduction – Confirmed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 24
    • Hisham on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:26 am

after 5 years, everybody will be scare to buy your 2nd hand car. It will be in mudah for 1 year but you get no phone call also

• Bob_B78 on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:45 pm

So called DCT developed by Volvo but none of its model using it. Even S60 launched last year using an Aisin 8 SPD gearbox which is none DCT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
      • Jeremy on Feb 09, 2020 at 12:47 am

World COTY 2018 Volvo XC40 uses the same DCT. This was even mentioned in the prior articles. Now if only you had read them instead of just assuming.

• Darren on Feb 09, 2020 at 1:50 am

“The wet clutch unit, developed by Geely and Volvo, is being built in Geely’s Chunxiao and Changing plants in Zhejiang province, and it is currently found in variants of the Volvo XC40 and a range of Lynk & Co”
        Learn to read.

• BobbyL on Feb 09, 2020 at 8:48 am

You are 100% wrong. The Volvo XC40 T3 uses it. Just that it is not sold in Malaysia.

Get your facts right

• XC40 use it bro… do research first before talking

• Dude, use Google for real infos instead of relying on your own “infos”.

• Thunder cat is going to out of his cage…

• Riswan Rahman on Feb 08, 2020 at 7:50 am

My wish on the 2.0 turbodiesel engine version. Please proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Optimus on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:07 pm

Geely doesnt have 2.0L turbodiesel.

• X50 pls on Feb 09, 2020 at 2:10 am

If spec executive with bouye Pro looks good enough or Perfect… Confirm sales like hot cakes

• Raymond Cheah on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:04 am

Already kept waiting for the CKD X70 to launch while waiting also for the X50…..

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 08, 2020 at 10:35 am

Let’s see if both the CBU 6AT and CKD 7DCT systems will last the lifetime of the vehicle or not. Do you know that Proton only offer 3 years warranty for the engine and gearbox for the CBU unit when they advertise the vehicle as having a full 5 year warranty package? In some countries Proton could have faced a class action lawsuit for misleading customers. That’s why I say Proton can only do business here in Malaysia where they can mislead customers by their marketing schemes.

• Anonymous on Feb 11, 2020 at 9:09 pm

Are you sure you read their warranty policy properly? It says “5-year/unlimited warranty”, NOT “Full Warranty”. As in unlimited MILEAGE. They have a basic 5-year coverage, 10 years for small thing like power window actuators, and for things like engine and gearbox only 3 years. They have never mislead anyone. Most people misunderstand their policy, which is explained in the warranty article which people never read.

• Tse Tung on Feb 08, 2020 at 11:25 am

4WD drpped? Doesn’t sell well in Sabah & Sarawak?

• Real LLort on Feb 12, 2020 at 10:20 am

Actually X70 sold quite well in Sabah, so well that my employer’s daughter also bought one even though she just recently buy a Civic. Fun fact for you, Sabahan will only consider an 4WD if its a pick-up truck or an old (like 20-30 y.o) version of SUVs – to modify into a all terrain SUVs. X70 is more like a luxurious SUVs type – similar treatment to CRV, Tucson, Mu-X, Everest, X-trail etc. So we don’t really care if this SUV got 4WD or AWD but if it has, it’s a bonus.

• AkooIm on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:15 pm

Nice color…
    But sadly we dont get the Boyue Pro face that looks nicer in my opinion… hopefully the facelifted version will get a distinguished P1 looks instead…

• Hayenadeblue on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) until stop (0 km/h), please!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • Andrew Yap on Feb 08, 2020 at 12:40 pm

Many Malaysian publications seem paid by Proton to say that it is on a similar standard to the CRV without noting the down side. Yes, credit is due for the material selection and sound proofing which is definitely better than CRV. But, the engine refinement and handling is one par below the CRV yet nobody seems to mention it. Yes, many would argue that the pricing of the X70 is lower but I just wish people can be more transparent towards the flaw of the vehicle.

People should really try it for your own. The X70 handles poorly and remain something to be fixed by Geely in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 40
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:25 pm

handling isn’t exactly bad but its definitely below average.

However i really lost all my respect for some uncle car journalist that like to run up genting on youtube after he praised the handling of the x70.

• Bored of clever people on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:53 pm

Are you saying this article claims that the X70 is better than the CRV? Where does it say so? It’s only the commentors who are hammering the CRV. If SUV buyers are really concerned about handling, they should consider the CX5 or Tiguan. The CRV is not that better than the X70 in this regard.

• I test drive X70 and CR-V, CR-V 2.0 and 1.5 engine performance not as good as expected, cornering bad, NVH bad, leg room good in class. X70 1.8 engine performance not powerful enough but smooth running, cornering also bad because the CBU unit don’t have Proton tuning, NVH acceptable, leg room acceptable.
      Dashboard design CR-V better than X70 but RM40k different, X70 is better choice.

• Anonymous on Feb 08, 2020 at 9:30 pm

Actually the CRV has better isolation at its undercarriage. Test drove an X70 after heavy rain. When water splashed at the belly it sounds almost like rain pouring over a zinc roof. You can feel it as well. It’s not annoyingly loud, but in the CRV its whisper quiet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • Are you kidding me. CRV engine is noisy and thats due to Honda cheapening out on insulation materials, try being inside X70 cabin and you will feel a huge difference in refinement. Handling of X70 can be improved and with Proton’s well known ride and handling forte, they can do their wonders with the incoming CKD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
      • Gerald on Feb 09, 2020 at 1:17 am

True indeed. Proton has good experience in ride and handling and also can improve on the shortcomings of the CBU with the CKD. No need to praise others so much as if no flaws.

• Anonymous on Feb 10, 2020 at 1:45 am

Your reading comprehension needs improvement. I was solely pointing out the UNDERCARRIAGE insulation. If you drive over a puddle of water, the splash on the underside is much more pronounced in the X70 than it is in the CRV.

• Darren on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:30 pm

“But, the engine refinement and handling is one par below the CRV yet nobody seems to mention it.”
          You really should read back what you wrote, it this was the real you who wrote it.

• Anonymous on Feb 11, 2020 at 9:15 pm

This was the entirety of my comment:

“Actually the CRV has better isolation at its undercarriage. Test drove an X70 after heavy rain. When water splashed at the belly it sounds almost like rain pouring over a zinc roof. You can feel it as well. It’s not annoyingly loud, but in the CRV its whisper quiet.”

The word ‘engine’ isn’t even mentioned. That comment is made by ANDREW YAP, whom which I was replying to. How can you mistake a comment with a proper name and one made by ‘Anonymous’?

YOUR reading comprehension definitely needs work. Or are you implying I posted another comment with a different name to contradict myself? HAH!

• potato on Feb 08, 2020 at 1:41 pm

it’s smart to drop the AWD variants as cheap skate proton buyers will never replace all 4 tyres at once if 1 tyre needs replacement. i doubt many would rotate the tyres and for complicated system like AWD needs all 4 tyres to have the same size within 1% difference in order not to wear out the differentials which is very expensive to replace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:26 pm

you should continue driving your 27 year old wira…not everyone cheapskate like you

• Real LLort on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:47 pm

Oh yes, only “Proton buyers” are so cheap skate that they replace tyre like that. That’s a very accurate labelling because I do see many owners of other car brands do the same thing; which these owners are actually “Proton buyers” but they bring their other car to change tyre and drove home then later they replace the tyre of their Proton at home by themselves. Sounds right.. lol

• Other brands also bought by cheap skates. They use same size but much cheaper tyres , and yes including contis

• Fireant on Feb 08, 2020 at 1:51 pm

What a let down.. AWD gone missing due to low demand.. I think it’s the lack of spec that causes low demand if you spec it up I’m sure the demand is there.. But of course price will be another issue all together. I was hoping during the conversion from CBU to CKD they may slot in another level AWD Premium at the top.. But it’s not to be.

• krsdy on Feb 08, 2020 at 2:48 pm

Evoque wanna be from China. If they sell with Geely logo no one buys like Haval.

• Msia driver on Feb 08, 2020 at 4:58 pm

I hear few hundred thousand bookings on other brand car have been cancelled by customer and book this new CKD x70 instead.
    Just rm120k can get full tech car, not like crv RM 170k..lolzx

• drkai on Feb 08, 2020 at 7:26 pm

i own both CRV high spec and X70 premium, it really a big mistake that i bought CRV first(2/2018)as compared to what X70(11/2019)is.more refined, more stylist and more advanced. now i’m offering my CRV for sale. anyone interested can contact me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 22
    • Akoolm on Feb 09, 2020 at 12:56 am

CX5 gls the mata sepet…better then GLC and X3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Honda CR-V 1.5 TC-P 2WD RM163k on Feb 10, 2020 at 4:39 am

Fifth generation.
      The design is too curvaceous, unclean, a bit busy. The best looks Is from the side.
      The Sequential amber turning signal led guide looked really fancy, nice to have, but a replacement set may put a hole in the wallet.
      ‘Cvt tend to soar unnecessary’
      ‘road noise is prominent’
      ‘less dampened & poor insulation’
      ‘Conspicuos body lean’
      ‘less keen on changing Direction’
      ‘Poor TS multimedia system – control issue and slow response’
      ‘ Fifth iteration should emphasis more on exterior design’
      The saving grace is, plenty of storage areas so that you can actually house the keys, wallet, smartphone, water bottle and coffee cup. The 2nd row can accommodate 3 adults across the bench with ease with good knee, shoulder and headroom space. The smart choice is when they fixed the seat configuration to only 2rows for local market.as
      the seven-seat option may robs the boot-space and can be tricky to access.

• QChan on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:37 pm

Agreed.

My extended family members have two Honda CRV TCP-Premium.

Test drove one of them.

1) Some early turbo lag but can haul the beast (it’s a big car!) with relative ease. Never tried top speed or fast overtaking manoeuvres!

2) Interior while plush – far too conservative for my liking.

3) Body lean at highway speed, and at curvy stretch – quite disconcerting!!

4) Unacceptable road noise.

5) Bouncy suspension setup over uneven roads & humps at low speeds.

Apparently, no complaints from the car owners. They even looked surprised over my comments!

Car Owner facts – One 50 year old male & one 65 year old female.

• Made in China on Feb 09, 2020 at 12:52 am

The engine, transmission and tech looks good but the design looks awful. The headlight looks so flat, reminds me of the preve and the backside looks too chunky and raised upward, sorry, not to my taste. There’s a lot of work to be done at the design department.

• Gerald on Feb 09, 2020 at 1:10 am

Really nice. But what about pricing. With the Premium X the Premium should be reduced from the current price. True not many prefer sunroof. Good work Proton. Hopefully will launch with true CKD prices.

• Proton X70 CKD FTW on Feb 09, 2020 at 8:57 am

Ultimately the price is going to be the main concern of most Malaysian. If priced at at least RM5k cheaper than surely sell like hotcakes. Proton thundercats to the future!

• Philip on Feb 09, 2020 at 2:33 pm

No way to buy a SUV without 4 wheel drive

• Civic on Feb 09, 2020 at 4:16 pm

Guys I might think the suprima s was replaced to proton x50

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 09, 2020 at 4:55 pm

Thought 4WD is more suited for off-road, safety also comes too my mind, but improved lifestyle and vehicle/tyre technology, thus do agree for this variant to be dropped.

• Ouch Dee on Feb 09, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Sunroof, anyone?

• spock1976 (Member) on Feb 10, 2020 at 7:37 am

Just trying to understand the rationale for buying an SUV that is not 4WD or AWD. They are definitely not more comfortable than MPV and sedans. Safety maybe for head on collision but the higher centre of gravity makes it less stable. Why guys?

• Aisha on Feb 10, 2020 at 1:18 pm

Woman drivers feel more save. 86% of all CR-V worldwide are sold to woman.

• Sohai on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:08 pm

Inferiority complex to compensate for their small manhood

• Truckers on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:20 pm

On the tarmac, 4WD/AWD is just not necessary and a drag on FC. 99% of owners will never go offroading, at most they would mount on top of kerbs and park on sidewalks.

• Lol.. on Feb 10, 2020 at 2:27 pm

Buy Suv bcos of its looks, higher ground clearance since always raining n minor floods. Actually suv is not as comfortable and stable as sedan.

• spock1976 (Member) on Feb 10, 2020 at 11:26 pm

Point taken on ground clearance but if it rains wouldnt it be better and safer with a 4WD option to get by? Front wheel pull alone may not be enough in slippery conditions.

Anyway i could be confusing myself with traction control which could be part of the offering here with X70. I stand corrected.

• Daddykassi on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:09 pm

Geely RM60k in China, come to Malaysia CKD RM100k

• Mahachai on Feb 10, 2020 at 12:17 pm

Off set bukan rasuah

• no AWD version? aiyoh…no local OEM parts supplier for AWD drivetrain ka ^^