Incentives for hybrids, PHEVs, EVs yet to be finalised

Today’s launch of the National Automotive Policy (NAP) 2020 featured little in the way of concrete details, with the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) painting broad strokes regarding its ambitions for the next ten years. Notably, it left out any mention of incentives or tax breaks for electrified vehicles, and when asked, deputy minister Ong Kian Ming said that the minutiae have not been finalised just yet.

“The incentives will be discussed in the one of the seven roadmaps that we’re rolling out, and everything will be put into context within the Automotive Business Development Council (ABDC) where all incentives are processed together with all the stakeholders,” he said. “So we’re not at the point where we can announce those incentives yet.”

Prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed sidestepped a question regarding whether the government will standardise the incentives currently customised to each carmaker that assembles its vehicles locally. Instead, he simply said that the administration needs to give the public what it wants, and it has to invest accordingly.

The plan revealed today, an evolution of NAP 2014, features seven roadmaps in the field of Next Generation Vehicles (NxGVs), Mobility as a Service (MaaS) and Industry 4.0. The plan will also incorporate the development of Automated, Autonomous, Connected Vehicles (AACV), lightweight material technology as well as hybrid, electric and fuel cell vehicles. Read more here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Tun F on Feb 21, 2020 at 8:20 pm

Mesians wan EVs under 50k. Free batt replaced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • The Truth about NAP in Malaysia on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:07 am

Malaysia don’t know how to run a car business or car industry.

In the 80s and 90s, Malaysia was the CKD capital of the world. We were the Detroit of Asia. So much of money was being pumped into Malaysia.

Then, because of ketuanan issues and affirmative policy, all these companies LARI to Thailand and set made Thailand the Detroit of Asia. The past 25 years, Thailand has got few hundred thousand billion (USD) in investments. This is more than RM trillions in Malaysian ringgit.

On top of that, Thailand benefited about 1 million jobs. Jobs that was supposed to be for Malaysians.

Even until today, we hear every othe rmonth, some new car company or battery company (Tesla for eg) investing billions USD in Thailand.

Until we give up this NAP, NEP and Affirmative policy, we are going to lose more and more. Don’t be surprised even existing car companies who CKD in Malaysia will close down and open in Thailand because Thailand has got good business policies. Then we will all have to buy CBU Toyota, Honda and Nissan cars.

Most car companies know, when you open in Thailand, the cost of setting up business is far cheaper than Malaysia because there is no need for DEDAK.

For example, to set up a CKD plant in Thailand, you need RM500 million, but to set up the same CKD plant in Malaysia, you need RM1 billion.

Where do you ask the RM500 million go? It goes as DEDAK.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 3
      • EVs failed because of these, dumbass
        https://paultan.org/2019/12/18/geotab-study-reveals-electric-vehicle-batteries-lose-2-3-of-their-capacity-yearly/
        https://paultan.org/2020/02/07/phevs-consume-3-times-more-fuel-in-the-real-world/
        https://paultan.org/2019/03/13/mercedes-benz-malaysia-hybrid-battery-extended-warranty-rm2688-for-additional-4-year-coverage/

• High price on Feb 22, 2020 at 7:44 pm

Yet, a Mini Cooper e cost rm300k and 330i cost over rm400k there.

• Madani oh Madani on Feb 23, 2020 at 2:04 pm

NAP 2014 Madani told us to buy EV cars. Then, all EV cars jatuh RV.

Madani also told Honda and Toyota to invest billions to set up CKD factory in Malaysia. But then all lingkup. Honda and Toyota also lost their money

• Madani oh Madani on Feb 23, 2020 at 2:16 pm

Typical Putrajaya mentality, announce something but got no details about it.

They have been thinking about this from 2014 NAP on EV

• Madani oh Madani on Feb 23, 2020 at 2:48 pm

Time to abolish Marii. They really don’t do anything.

20 years with Hybrid and EV cars also……still got no progress in Malaysia

But we pay hundreds of million per year to keep MARii running.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 23, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Basically boils down to don’t trust whatever PH promised or said at all. Semua mereka penipu terbesar dunia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 0
        • Norlia on Feb 24, 2020 at 9:27 am

Well said. I hope the next government will abolish PH for lying to us.

• The Story why EV Failed in Malaysia on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:38 am

Do you know why EV failed in Malaysia. It is very simple. No need for NAP to do mega research on it.

It was because manufacturers hantam max for parts for EV cars. Remember the Mercedes E300 Bluetec Hybrid owner and his hybrid battery costing RM120k?

After the owner made big noise on social media, within overnight, MBM dropped the price of the battery to RM60k

This is an example why EV failed in Malaysia. BMW and Audi also are other big crooks who overcharge for their battery.

This is why Audi also failed in Malaysia. Their A6 Hybrid was the biggest joke ever. Buyers bought the car for RM300k and within 3 years it because RM60k RV

This is because they were charging EV batteries RM100k for the A6 Hybrid.

So until the Government puts a check on all these car manufacturers overcharging, EV will never take off in Malaysia.

But how is the Government going to put checks when they owns DRB and UMW which owns Toyota and Honda? Even BMW and Audi are run by DRB in Malaysia

And we all know GLC DRB is greedy and want to untung max max.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
      • Habib Qureshi on Feb 22, 2020 at 2:21 pm

In Malaysia, we are very slow to do business compared to Thailand.

In Thailand, they can make immediate decisions on the spot.

Here, our Gomen departments, to make one decision, they need about 20 meetings. Each meeting, they eat kuih lapis, kuih talam, karipap and kuih seri muka. And then they minum teh Lipton or Boh.

Before they can make a decision, they already have majlis bersurai and tangguh for the next meeting. Repeat this process 20X before one decision is made.

In Thailand, one meeting, one decision is made in 5 minutes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
        • Madani oh Madani on Feb 23, 2020 at 2:10 pm

Indonesia, South Korea, Vietnam and Thailand was far behind Malaysia 30 years ago. Now, overtaken Malaysia. Malaysia is left behind…..

• Abdul Nasir on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:17 pm

12 years ago, all Governments gave incentive to buy Leaf and other Hybrids. In the UK, your LEAF is half the price with Government rebates.

Pity here we are so lembap and it took us 12 years to figure this out.

This is why we are always kebelakangan zaman always

• History Bender on Feb 23, 2020 at 6:16 pm

12 years ago LEAF never existed. Where did you get your twisted history from?

• Corrector on Feb 22, 2020 at 7:42 pm

I bought the first batch Audi A6 hybrid back in 2013. Nope the battery cost 60k not 100k. But I did sold it after 3 years without any battery problems, but because I drive every car for only 3 years each I like to change new car every 3 years. Sold at RM141k after 3 years from 290k bought not your 60k. So don’t influence others with your wrong fact. BMW 330i m sport I bought at 258k 3yrs ago together with MiNi s so entitled to 6% fleet discount. The battery come as 5 partition piece with each costing 6k to replace before labor charge. If the battery is faulty, it can be changed by single partition. I sold that too recently and replaced with 330i after fleet discount only 270k because e is not here and I hate the 330e tiny fuel tank. I don’t charge car so fuel consumption is super high. But that car instant boost is marvelous. I have a merc S400 hybrid and after the merc incident I straight away went to buy insurance coverage for battery from hap seng and plan to do that after every expiration. So far so good. But ordinary folk Pls don’t try your luck if you don’t have extra money. Hybrid may not post problem but there is risk. Conventional ICE car is still safer.

• Mustafa on Feb 21, 2020 at 9:39 pm

No mention of flying car?

• maslan on Feb 22, 2020 at 8:59 am

my Flying carpet you mean?

• Habib Qureshi on Feb 22, 2020 at 2:24 pm

Jepunis and Mat Salleh car company prefer to set up in Thailand because Thai Gomen never ask these companies to give 30% shares FREE away.

In Malaysia, you must do that. Who wants to give their company FREE away?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Madani oh Madani on Feb 23, 2020 at 2:36 pm

Don’t talk about flying cars. Talk about why our car prices are going higher? It is because all our GLC owned car companies were cheating the Government of Malaysia of revenue by using tax loophole

30 years cheat the Government of Malaysia. Now, we have to suffer with higher car prices.

I wonder why the previous Government did not check on this

• Abang2 Rempit dan Basikal Lajak on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:42 am

NAP is just to help the abang2 AP kronies. Nothing else.

At the end of the day, the abang abang sell their APs to the Chinaman.

This defeats the whole purpose of the AP system to help the Bumiputera entrepreneur to penetrate the car business.

So why even still have the AP system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • Madani oh Madani on Feb 23, 2020 at 2:41 pm

Well said. PEKEMA members are all kaya raya. All billionaires.

When are we abolishing PEKEMA?

• Celup King on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:25 pm

I hope someone don’t come here and brag about his gamechanging cars. His employer have been talking about their gamechanging Kenari hybrid since 2003 and today 17 years later all we see is just their gamechanging talk. I see today they have nothing but gamechanging talk and soon they will gameover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • no one cares about the kenari hybrid. its outdated anyway. but the iriz EV has potential.

• Tonny on Feb 22, 2020 at 10:27 am

Fully agreed.
      Great foresight, great plan.
      Nothing will happen.

• Happy Voters on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:29 am

I hope Proton pay back the RM20 billion bailout money they have taken from the rakyat.

Until today, their Iriz EV also habuk tarak ada. Proton showcased this car 7 years ago and took a few more billion ringgit from the Government kononnya to do further research on EV.

I don’t know why. Cause Tesla was giving the complete 100% blueprint and knowhow to make an EV to anyone for FREE.

This means, any car company can make an EV with ZERO research cost.

So where did the billions Proton took for the Iriz EV go?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Why Don't You Cermin Yourself on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:37 pm

Habuk pun tarak? You are delusional again
        https://paultan.org/2015/09/10/proton-iriz-ev-300-km-electric-car-on-display-at-igem/

• Madani oh Madani on Feb 23, 2020 at 2:44 pm

Time to wake up the people at MAI, now known Marii. They like to cerita dongeng for the past 20 years but nothing happens.

Prices going higher and AP holders getting richer.

We reward incompetency by giving Datukships

• 25or6to4 on Feb 21, 2020 at 10:34 pm

NAP2020 – We will give customized incentives

Also NAP2020 – but we don’t know how much yet LOL

• apapa on Feb 22, 2020 at 9:21 am

Old monkey old trick.Platform for his crony.

• Malaysia is not doing enough on Electrification and Hybridization..

• Ksatria on Feb 22, 2020 at 10:40 am

Let’s just take a nap. Total BS!

• Haha brosS on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:35 am

HELLO THIS NAP IS SHIT BECAUSE THAT USELESS FELLA “DATO MADANI” IS STILL THE HEAD. WHEN U ALL WANNA REMOVE THIS USELESS BUTTLICKER?

• vivizurianti on Feb 22, 2020 at 11:39 am

Hahaha…..NAP2020 came out….but incentive fOr PHEVS/EVS not out nor finalised?

Takde coordination ka?

Come on, guys. Cut down your teh-tarik session, please. Makan gaji have to do work oso.

• what we can see now on Feb 22, 2020 at 3:14 pm

I’m a medium-income family looking for family SUV
    the most ridiculous thing in Malaysia have to always buy second-hand car from oversea from AP crony companies.

In 2020 we still think behind other countries.
    There are so many industries to help, why gov only concern about the automotive market?

We should look ahead to help all rakyat to catch up current global trend & help rakyat make more income from the rest of the world.

That is doesn’t make sense only focus on helping RICH AP crony company making more money.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 23, 2020 at 6:28 pm

For 60 years BN have been giving us cheap cars but in 20 months under PH, all car prices are going up. We voted for lower cost of living but instead under PH everything is going up. No more PH anymore!

• John Doe on Feb 23, 2020 at 12:29 am

All tgis BS plan is just to make sure AP holders making money and cronies survive, it’s never to build industries for local…Same as previous to have p1, and now ev1 …Same bs for the next 30 days..