Nissan Leaf has saved 2.1 million metric tonnes of CO2 to date, from 13 billion emissions-free kilometres

Nissan Asia & Oceania has released an infographic promoting electric vehicles in general, as well as the Nissan Leaf, an electric pioneer that’s now into its second generation. The poster has some interesting facts and figures, which are quite damning.

According to studies, approximately four billion people in Asia and Oceania – or 92% of people in the region – are exposed to air pollution levels that pose a significant health risk. This was further highlighted by last month’s launch of the world’s largest real-time air quality data bank under the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). It indicates that much of the region remains on ‘unhealthy’ air quality levels.

Now we may be very fearful of seasonal virus outbreaks, but air pollution is now globally the fifth leading cause of death among all health risks and 9% of deaths are attributed to it. Doesn’t grab the headlines like coronavirus does, but it’s a silent killer.

This ties in with Nissan’s promotion of electric cars. The Yokohama-based carmaker says that just one EV can save 4.6 metric tonnes of greenhouse gases each year, which is equivalent to planting 209 trees.

Zeroing into the Leaf, Nissan says that to date, the over 460,000 Leaf owners have have contributed to around 2.1 million metric tonnes of CO2 saved. For context, more than 81 million trees are needed to process that much CO2 in a year by our earth’s natural process.

The Leaf, which has been around since 2010, has seen owners do over 13 billion kilometres to date, which is the distance of driving to the moon more than 33,800 times. That’s a lot of silent miles with no tailpipe emissions. How electricity is generated and what emissions are released at the plant is a full topic by itself, but every bit counts.

A 55% reduction in current CO2 emissions is needed by 2030 to halt global warming, which of late has manifested itself in obvious fashion in Australia, where bushfires alternated with flooding in some pretty extreme see-saw weather. Some countries and cities have started to act, targeting internal combustion engines and promoting EVs as the future.

No such thing yet in Malaysia, but if you want to do your part, the second-generation Nissan Leaf is sold here. Launched in July 2019, the latest Leaf looks a lot more dynamic than the bulbous original. With 150 PS and 320 Nm (41 PS/66 Nm more than before), it does 0-100 km/h in 7.9 seconds, which is nearly four seconds faster than the old car.

It also has a much larger 40 kWh lithium-ion battery that bumps range up from 195 km to 270 km, and that’s on the more stringent WLTP cycle. Every Leaf comes with a 6.6 kW wallbox that will provide a full charge in around seven hours, while a CHAdeMO port allows the use of 50 kW DC fast charging, topping up the battery in less than an hour. Check out our review to learn more about this RM188k EV.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Logical Deduction on Mar 11, 2020 at 5:33 pm

Add 3X more pollution created by EV car than stated by the manufacturer and the saving is only 700,000 metric tonnes of CO2. Add the 1,000 times more pollution created by EV from excessive tyre wear lugging the heavy battery and you only save 700 metric tonnes which is overshadowed by the thousands of metric tonnes to make this car.

If you really want to save the environment, don’t buy LEAF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
    • Kerajaan Pintu Belakang on Mar 11, 2020 at 8:58 pm

Many are still waiting for the Iriz EV launched 7 years ago. Proton took billion of ringgit more telling the Gomen it needed to do more research for the EV. So, where is the EV?

At least P2 never took a cent to do further research on their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Darren on Mar 12, 2020 at 11:47 am

Never took a sen because they never do any research as they are merely a national rebadger. I would be ashamed to even call them our national carmaker because they never do R&D and make their own cars since Day One. So malu malu malu MALU!!!!!

• Another comment made without any facts to back it up. Are we supposed to just believe when you said Proton received billions while Perodua never received a sen? You do know you are a known as a Proton hater and Perodua hired troll, right?

• Cukuplah tikus on Mar 12, 2020 at 12:05 pm

Proton is smart to delay EV because it knew the market is not ready yet. The facts are clear in front of your eyes: Dyson failed to produce EV in Singapore because lack of demand and Honda stopped Clarity EV also because lack of demand. Now decide if you wish to continue being annoyingly dense.

• Celup King on Mar 12, 2020 at 12:06 pm

Don’t talk about Proton EV, your Perodua CEO had promised to sell us gamechanging Kenari hybrid since 2003 and that is 17 years ago. Even my new born then is going to take SPM now and still I cannot see your gamechanging Kenari hybrid. Your empty talk here about gamechanger is now gameover.

• Copy Paste on Mar 12, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Copy paste: “Funny that you talked about EV while your Perodua still using 4 speed auto. Oh, I forgot. Where is Perodua Hybrid? 17 years in the making and still nothing.”

• Copy Paste on Mar 12, 2020 at 12:26 pm

Copy paste: “Wanna bet? Proton has a much higher chance to get EV than a Perodua that is still using 4 speed auto and waiting 17 years to release a Hybrid.”

• winston on Mar 11, 2020 at 5:43 pm

I believe you said the battery warranty is 8 years or 160KM.. i think it should be 160 thousand KM… just my 2 cents.. 11:18

• Has saved 2.1 million metric tonnes of CO2 with the use of electricity from coal-fired power stations?

• Axia loan 9 tahun on Mar 12, 2020 at 10:33 am

Yes, EVs are still far greener than fossil cars even when they get electricity from coal powerplants

• Not entirely true. if you compare with today’s highly efficient EEV internal combustion engine, EV still pollutes more if they draw their power from coal powerplants. Don’t forget, EV will polllutes more from tire wear due to their heavier weight, manufacturing of battery pollutes far more than ICE.

• dream_125 on Mar 12, 2020 at 3:54 pm

You should read about “electrical losses” in your old physics schoolbooks. Actually EV’s are less “green” than standard cars…

• Axia loan 9 tahun on Mar 14, 2020 at 6:26 am

You should read how the world is moving more towards renewable and sustainable power generation. EV production is less green, but to run it is cleaner. All of these can and will be improved over time. EV tech ceiling is a lot higher compared to fossil cars which has been perfected over decades.

• Earther on Mar 11, 2020 at 8:00 pm

“emissions-free kilometres”, that’s delusional. Did they seriously think generating electricity is absolutely free from emissions? They just pool all that emissions to one place, that is electricity power plants. More EV on the road, more demand for electricity, more emissions produce from those power plants. Maybe not strictly green house gas, but each of power plant type will pollute in some way or another.

• Axia loan 9 tahun on Mar 12, 2020 at 10:36 am

Pool at one place is a good step to pressure gomen to change the energy source to greener ones. Despite that, EVs are still far greener than fossil cars even when they get electricity from coal powerplants, and they can get greener when the source is greener, compared to fossil cars that will always pollute more over its lifetime

• dream_125 on Mar 12, 2020 at 8:50 pm

“EVs are still far greener than fossil cars even when they get electricity from coal powerplants,”

How is that possible despite more car weight and electrical losses during voltage transformation and distribution by overland lines?

• Axia loan 9 tahun on Mar 14, 2020 at 6:18 am

because despite all that, ICE cars pollutes more over their lifetime because they use petrol/diesel which gets worse and worse over the years unless you can guarantee that mechanical efficiency is not lost with more use.

• That’s the part most EV producers and EV supporters skip because in reality EVs aren’t much more environmentally-friendly than normal fossil fuel burning cars when taking into account electricity to charge the batteries is still mostly generated by plants burning fossil fuels.

• Axia loan 9 tahun on Mar 14, 2020 at 6:29 am

Also most people don’t realize the potential for EV to become greener. Fossil cars will always pollute. EV manufacturing and power generation is easier to reach carbon neutral and EV tech still has a lot more room to improve, that means it can only get better.

• dream_125 on Mar 12, 2020 at 3:58 pm

There are also losses during electric power transmission, meaning that there are losses in overland lines and transformer stations.

• Ang Mok on Mar 11, 2020 at 8:08 pm

How many Nissan Leaf sold in Malaysia, the price and service charges? Any insights? No point brag about it goodness if too expensive and not practical in Malaysia.

• What bull s is this???? Where did the electricity come from? Coal? Solar? Wind? Wave? This is pure bull s

• thepolygon on Mar 12, 2020 at 9:52 am

I think to push for these vehicles, Nissan needs to do real life usage testing in Malaysia. It’s gonna be a long run thing.

• Leaf EV lacks of battery ventilation. It will easily heat up in our climate. Once you charge it & directly use it, battery temperature warning will show up & power output will severely cut, hence limiting your speed.

• vivizurianti on Mar 12, 2020 at 10:59 am

Looks good on paper……but in reality…..er

• Definitely they didn’t consider majority of the electricity is still produced by burning coal and fossil fuel, pollutions caused by rare earth mining for the batteries.. EV is totally green? Definitely not.

However I think EV motors is probably the more efficient way to extract power from fossil fuel

• are you sure? where does come the electricity then? power plant? How many co2 come out from coal/fuel burning power plant…how many tress had been destroyed for hydroelectric plant? hurmmm….