Lamborghini production paused due to coronavirus

Lamborghini will stop production for nearly two weeks until March 25 due the the coronavirus outbreak that has gripped Italy, the Italian supercar maker has said in a statement. All of the marque’s vehicles are manufactured at its facility in Bologna, northern Italy.

“This measure is an act of social responsibility and high sensibility towards our people, in the extraordinary situation in which we find ourselves right now in Italy and which is also evolving abroad due to the worldwide spread of the coronavirus,” said chairman and CEO of Lamborghini Stefano Domenicali. The company will continue to monitor the situation in order to resume production at ‘the right moment’, he added.

In contrast, fellow Italian sports car maker Ferrari has confirmed that its Maranello factory will continue operations despite strict quarantine measures by the Italian government. A new law has been enacted in areas most affected by the Covid-19 virus, but the law doesn’t prohibit individuals from working. In a statement, Ferrari claims to have set in motion all necessary measures for its employees to work in “the best possible conditions,” although this is also subject to the carmaker’s supply chain.

“Our supply chain is still in place and we’re carefully monitoring supplies. We don’t see any short-term problems. It helps that we don’t sell based on availability but based on our order book. That helps us to manage future production,” said Ferrari commercial chief Enrico Galliera according to Autocar.

The Maranello-based company has however said that it remains in constant discussion with the authorities, and is ready to adapt measures as the situation evolves.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bugatti Owner on Mar 13, 2020 at 12:05 pm

It’s okay to wait..

• Mustafa Kamal bin Hj Shamsul Bahari on Mar 13, 2020 at 12:22 pm

Soon Proton X70 also got to stop production because all its parts come from China.

Habis lah Proton X70 now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Calvin on Mar 13, 2020 at 5:05 pm

Why Nissan Japan car plant has to shutdown due to coronavirus in China? I thought Japan made cars are using Japan parts, why is it using China made parts?

Is it true that cars made in Japan are built with China parts? So how does it qualify to be called Made in Japan, might as well close down the factories and make the cars in China. The price will be cheaper as they don’t have to overpay their Japanese workers.

• Cukuplah tikus on Mar 14, 2020 at 3:34 pm

Wow, you’re so afraid of the X70 that you hope an epidemic can stop its increasing sales. Another proof that the tikus been having sleepless nights since Geely took over Proton. Wait until the X50 is here and then it will truly be game over for you.