Toyota Hilux 2.8L versus Mitsubishi Triton 2.4L – which one of the two pick-up trucks is more fuel efficient?

In the pick-up truck arena, the Mitsubishi Triton and Toyota Hilux are perennial rivals that constantly find themselves butting heads in some sort of comparison. While looks are completely subjective, things like engine capacity, output figures, and 4×4 system – all crucial things – are often compared, but which one of the two is more fuel efficient?

Well, let us first get properly acquainted with the players, and keep in mind that both are range-topping models. The tried, tested and trusted Hilux is powered by a modern 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV turbodiesel engine making 177 PS and 450 Nm, mated to and a six-speed automatic transmission. The Triton, however, packs a smaller 2.4 litre aluminium MIVEC turbodiesel, serving 181 PS and 430 Nm of torque.

Both pick-ups get a six-speed automatic transmission, but it’s worth noting that the Hilux weighs 2,100 kg, which is a full 170 kg more than the Triton (that’s 1,930 kg, for those counting). On paper, the Triton would win by way of physics, but if it rings true out in the real world, what would the margins look like? That’s what we wanted to find out.

To level the playing field, we plotted a fixed driving route of 306 km, starting from the Petronas Solaris Putra station along the KL-Seremban Highway. Variables were controlled – the air-con temperature was set to 20 degrees (it was a mighty hot day) with medium blower speed, and the tyres were filled according to their respective manufacturer’s recommended pressure. Any excess baggage had also been removed.

Then, the pick-ups were refuelled with Petronas Dynamic Diesel Euro 5 with Pro-Drive via the three-click method (wait for the fuel nozzle to automatically stop, repeat three times after 10 second intervals), and the trip meter reset to zero. Yours truly was one of the appointed drivers, with the other being Sherman, our photographer who’s also responsible for producing the beautiful photos you see here.

The modus operandi was simple. On the highways, we cruised anywhere from 70 km/h to 110 km/h depending on traffic flow, and while both cars featured passive cruise control, we relied on our right foot (and several shots of caffeine) for the gentlest of accelerations.

Throughout the drive, both cars travelled in a loose convoy to avoid drafting effects, and we stopped to swap cars at the Seremban R&R and Ayer Keroh R&R. This is to minimise any effects of differing driving styles. The urban driving portion of this fuel test was simulated by driving towards our main stopover in Jonker Street, Melaka. Nothing quenches the thirst like a solid bowl of cendol with gula Melaka, don’t you agree?

On the return leg to Paya Jaras, Selangor, the same methodology was employed. We cruised according to traffic flow, and swapped cars at the Ayer Keroh R&R and Seremban R&R.

At the end of the 306-km drive, the results are as such: the Hilux 2.8L used 21.565 litres of Euro 5 diesel, whereas the Triton 2.4L consumed 19.488 litres of the same fuel. That is 14.19 km per litre for the Hilux, and 15.7 km per litre for the Triton. This test showed that the Triton was approximately 10.65% more efficient, or used 9.63% less fuel than the Hilux.

Consequently, over an ownership period of 100,000 km, the Hilux owner will use 7,047.22 litres of fuel, while the Triton owner will use just 6,369.42 litres of fuel. That’s a difference of 677.80 litres, which means a Triton owner is likely to spend around RM1,477.60 less on fuel, using the ceiling price of diesel of RM2.18 per litre. For Euro 5 diesel users, a Triton owner would save around RM1,545.38 (at RM2.28 per litre) compared to a Hilux owner.

So, having tabulated the results, we can safely surmise that the Triton is the more fuel efficient pick-up truck in this shootout. If you’re planning on buying a pick-up truck for the long haul, you ought to be interested to see what the five-year maintenance cost is like compared to the Toyota Hilux and Ford Ranger.

As a final note, it’s worth bearing in mind that the Triton’s road tax is also cheaper, costing RM793.60 versus the Hilux’s RM1,248.00. Now, with all that said, what do you think of our fuel test?

GALLERY: 2020 Toyota Hilux Double Cab 2.8L

GALLERY: 2020 Mitsubishi Triton 2.4L VGT Adventure X

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Vicks on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:24 pm

Yet, toyota hilux is still more reliable for more safety, even the engine has bigger cc & roadtax is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 42
    • Read la on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:28 pm

What? Bro the Triton has way more safety features than the Hilux. Road tax also the Triton cheaper, with more power too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 70
    • Truckers on Mar 20, 2020 at 2:23 pm

All pickup trucks are reliable as frack. Hilux is just overpriced and selling by name. Nothing outstanding anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 54
    • Toyota Corona Vi-RU5 on Mar 20, 2020 at 3:22 pm

Can we have another test, this time Triton 2.4 against dmax 1.9?

400cc difference between hilux and Triton is a big handicapped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Towerman on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:34 pm

So clearly the Triton is cheaper to own than the Hilux.

Fuel is RM1,477.60 less over 100,000km.

Road tax is RM2,272 less over 5 years.

Servicing also RM524 less over 100,000km/5 years.

Total over RM4,273.60 cheaper than Hilux.

Price to buy also cheaper, with higher specs some more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Orangeman on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:40 pm

Hilux facelift with AEB will also coming here soon lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Constant Gardener on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:42 pm

But hilux have unlimited warranty/5 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • Sonyman on Mar 20, 2020 at 2:35 pm

Actually no. The Hilux’s warranty is 5-years/150,000km vs the Triton’s warranty of 5-years/200,000km in malaysia. You can check their official websites.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 34
    • RV. In 7 years time triton only rm50k while hilux revo 2.8 rm75k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
      • Sonyman on Mar 20, 2020 at 2:39 pm

No such thing lah. Hilux holding its value more is just a myth. Even now if you look at 2013 market prices, the Hilux only commands around 5-10k more compared to the Triton. And that was because the Hilux was also 5-10k more expensive when new.

Now that they’re the same prices when new, the Triton will likely hold its value at the same rate, if not better than the Hilux in 7 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 42
        • John G on Mar 20, 2020 at 6:00 pm

Like it or not, in my place nobody wants to buy a Triton after years of use though they’re sold dirt cheap compared to an equally used Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
          • SureKen1 on Mar 22, 2020 at 6:20 am

Used car value are depending on the demand from the 2nd hand market. Parts availability and also mechanics knowledge on how to service and maintenain the car in another 5 years down the road. Vios used to be better value but now Honda City has better 2nd hand value. It all depends which states we are. And of cos, we have to compare to initially bought price vs used car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
          • Honda LOW RV on Mar 22, 2020 at 12:42 pm

In 2017
            Honda City 1.5 S – RM89K
            Toyota Vios 1.5 J – RM87K

In 2020
            Honda City 1.5 S – RM 49800
            Toyota Vios 1.5 J – RM49800

Honda always low RV

• Rock Star on Mar 22, 2020 at 12:56 pm

@Sureken1 seems to be worried that honda sales will be dropping soon when sales like proton has taken sales from honda. Very burtthutt honda salesman

• real world testing on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:41 pm

for a more real world testing because people use these pick ups for work, you guys should compare the load capacity, tow capacity, approach angle, departure angle, breakover angle, and also fuel economy when loaded with 900kg. That would be interesting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Sohai on Mar 20, 2020 at 1:56 pm

You are correct sir…

There is a flaw in paultan methodology… cruising is not the right test..
      Load, carry, heavy rev and use the torque is what pickup is all about.
      The size of the cargo bed (as it determines how many trips I need to do) is also important.

And a piece of article in fuel consumption when fuel price hit rock bottom? I don’t know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Tabletop on Mar 20, 2020 at 2:41 pm

It depends. As these are the flagship models, most buyers will be using them as lifestyle or family vehicles. People who use trucks as workhorses will buy the cheaper variants.

For most people who will buy these top of the range trucks, fuel economy is very relevant to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • wrong on Mar 20, 2020 at 2:51 pm

pay RM130-140k for a pick-up, the buyer will buy what he likes, it’s not about fuel economy can save 14.2km/L vs 15.7km/L. Buyer who worry about fuel economy when buying pick up should get the single cab, manual, white color, kosong pick up for RM80k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • david on Mar 20, 2020 at 2:45 pm

testing fc without isuzu??

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 20, 2020 at 3:38 pm

More Triton shenanigans on PaulTan. Cherry picking comparisons again to make the Triton look good. Sponsored content should be marked as such.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Dong gor on Mar 20, 2020 at 4:22 pm

Hilux has bigger CC and also heavier.. With these two key factors that is directly correlated to fuel consumption do you really still need a test? Kaka.

• John G on Mar 20, 2020 at 5:34 pm

You’re right. Bigger engine and dragging a heavier body of course needs more fuel. They forgot to mention that bigger engine with bigger body mean able to transport more load and the Hilux has proven that it can do the job both on and off the road.

• John G on Mar 20, 2020 at 5:47 pm

Let’s see after 100,000 km which one can still bring you.good price. Where I live where 4×4 cabs are used mostly off-roads the Hiluxes come back fitter thus higher resale values compared to other makes including Tritons(if they’re still around at all). Now you guys who have no idea what life is like for a truck being bashed around unpaved mountainous roads, crossing rivers often being overloaded besides ferrying family members, better save your emotional(maybe commercial) comments to yourselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Triton better, my pussikat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • ahmad fairus on Mar 20, 2020 at 8:53 pm

Triton is way better than the overrated Hilux. would rather drive DMax or Ranger than the ugly Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Compare Triton 2.4 vs Hilux 2.4 laa.. Why Hilux 2.8?

• orbitz on Mar 21, 2020 at 12:38 pm

So many butthurt hilux fanboiz in the comment section, overrated pickup with expensive price tag lmao. Go suck ass losers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
  • Sandy on Mar 21, 2020 at 3:48 pm

Too many triton fanboys in the comment section

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • RD Bentz on Mar 26, 2020 at 10:30 pm

I love off readings, or at least I’ve been thru off road situation for almost 10 years. I have my tough Hilux Vigo. I’ve been using this Hilux for almost 8 years without any major problem until now. Ecausenits really made for offroading. So, I said, for fair comparison, perhaps all type of Hilux especially the Vigo and Revo were not the best on road, but it work brilliantly during off-road..that’s why even it’s more higher price, with , more company and individual prefer Hilux than other 4×4 cars. Not underestimating others, but all 4×4 trucks have their advantages and disadvantages.