2020 Honda City awarded five-star ASEAN NCAP rating

The 2020 Honda City has been awarded a five-star safety rating by the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP), with the fifth-generation sedan model obtaining an overall score of 86.54 points.

In the adult occupant protection (AOP) category, the City managed to score 32.28 out of a maximum of 36 points, with a perfect score (16 out of 16 points) in the side impact test. In other tests, the sedan managed to score 13.98 out of 16 points in the offset deformable barrier (ODB) crash test, and 2.30 out of four points in the head protection technology (HPT) evaluation.

As for the child occupant protection (COP) category, the sedan was flawless in the dynamic tests (frontal and side impact) with perfect score of 24 out of 24 points. Along with an installation test score of 11.72 points and vehicle-based technology evaluation score of nine points, the City obtained 44.72 out of 49 points in this category.

Lastly, in the safety assist category, the City was given a score of 13.60 out of 18 points, with a full eight points scored in the effective braking and avoidance test. The report also pointed out that the model will be available with a blind spot visualisation system on selected variants in certain Southeast Asian markets.

The system, likely Honda’s LaneWatch technology, is fitted on the passenger side of the vehicle to give drivers a view of what’s on the left side of the vehicle. The City tested by ASEAN NCAP is the Thailand-spec SV variant, which comes with four airbags (the range-topping RS variants gets six), a seatbelt reminder system for front occupants and electronic stability control (ESC); this is standard across the range sold in the country.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• taknakhonda on Mar 31, 2020 at 3:28 pm

Tipu la, Honda City is unsafe car.
    Enjoy honda cvt gearbox. But will be short term, because there are too many problems of using cvt gearbox, feels jerking. And ask you to pay more costlier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Apricot on Mar 31, 2020 at 3:32 pm

Habislah Honda Malaysia and their arrogant salesmen that gives a car with many issues on quality and aftersales services. Even upcoming City Turbo and other Honda models doesn’t have AEB, land departure warning and blind spot monitor. Nobody will touch this brand. Salesman will start crying. So called as “Power of Nightmare Cars”

As majority in Malaysia fed up of driving honda cars because too many quality issues on newer Honda models after bought for less than 1 year. When go to aftersales service, people also complaining most of the aftersales service dealer. Cannot solve. Shows that technicians are having half past six, lying, didn’t repair at all, never repair other peoples car at all.

Yet, some of them are still buying Honda cars with brainless. Also, come here hating kimchi cars with low resale value and hating mazda. Just look at safety specs, most of Honda models are really kosong spec. Compare to Mazda, Toyota and Hyundai Ioniq comes with blind spot monitor, AEB, land departure warning and others. No wonder, many mazda CX-5 and Proton X70 everywhere than looking Honda CRV is now rare.

Malaysians rather buy mazda. This comes with 5 years warranty as Honda. Bermaz service is better and they already improved their service than honda. Even CKD Mazda CX-5 looks so so but better than most Honda models. So Honda Malaysia is dead.

Now, Ben Yap and honda salesmen are hiding like tikus. They will come here and say, “Oh My Honda Faster Than All”. But in the truth, nobody is buying rubbish Honda with advanced safety features and no 6 airbags, especially with low rv. As this could risk to the lower income and middle income owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 31, 2020 at 3:40 pm

Hello, I know we’re all stuck at home, most of us going stir crazy. But that’s not a reason to post nonsensical comments like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 46
      • Apricot on Mar 31, 2020 at 4:21 pm

Appreciated from the response Hafriz. I know that ASEAN NCAP Rating gives 5 star rating for new honda city. But then in here, since during MCO period, I have no choice but to tell to the customers that there are too quality issues from many honda owners and me too, which is real truth

I owned Honda City 1.5 E that since two years back. But this comes too many problems about my car with fuel pump the most common, and can hear jerking sound from the engine hood. So I bring my car to service workshop. But seems like there is still got problems after coming out from service for few weeks ago. Looks like service technicians are having half past six, lying or didn’t repair at all.

So that’s why my point is very important to the customers and obviously this will could be related about comparison between here and other ASEAN countries about quality and servicing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • Ben Yap on Mar 31, 2020 at 10:54 pm

as far as i understand, you ride a Honda EX5 and that is also sambung bayar.

• Anonymous on Mar 31, 2020 at 7:21 pm

Hafriz, did you check and validate randomly with Honda car owners? Your post here about 5 star ASEAN NCAP, which indirectly telling readers here about good safety features.. However, another present car owner telling us all the ongoing issues , on Honda.. perhaps you can accept the feedback and facts facing by many users about Honda car , reduce their Honda sales tremendously and later on improve quality feedback, rather than putting “turbo” engine and all the fancy gadgets..

Customer focus more on safety, after sales services, QUALITY, continuing improvement..etc rather than entry level turbo, gadgets ..

No longer POWER OF a dream anymore, as many on the roads NOW..Consider change slogan, Power of Good Safety , or Power of Focus QUALITY..

• Ben Yap on Apr 01, 2020 at 3:39 pm

what are you talking about? my family owns 2 hondas. i drive the new civic FC and my parents drive the current Honda City. my car is 3 years and my parents city is 5 years old. we don’t face any of the issues mentioned by you guys. in fact we’re happy with the cars and the service rendered. what you guys say are pure fabrication and it’s baseless. unless you are an owner of Honda, show us your proof. don’t talk about hearsay. everyone can say anything they want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Ben Yap Lingerie on Apr 01, 2020 at 7:48 pm

You can’t understand meh? Everyone has a proof that their service is very bad but yet you can’t accept everyone situation, lolz. Wait and see bro when going to next service. And when this incidents happens, you will know how you feel.

• Carolyn on Mar 31, 2020 at 3:42 pm

Please confirm, the new Honda City platform is based on:
    1. The all new Jazz that was launch in Japan
    2. A modified current City on sale in Malaysia

I think it is number 2.

• 1 ,they r using the exact same climate control system

• Carolyn on Mar 31, 2020 at 6:02 pm

Axia also use the same ASA pedestrian detection emergency brake system was the Aruz, both cars are totally different.

• Mr Playboy on Mar 31, 2020 at 5:34 pm

Hmmm….no.1 for sure. But this new gen city doesn’t come with auto emergency braking

• The platform for City 2020 is modified from City 2014 as you can see it still uses manual handbrake unlike JDM Jazz/Fit using E-park brake.

• Lim Micheal on Mar 31, 2020 at 3:50 pm

What about the service is it 5 star quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Regret Honda Owner on Mar 31, 2020 at 5:38 pm

Service will not be better in here. Trust me. After I sold off my three year old civic with terrible customer care and service too.

• 4 ebegs…..dat sucks…..current one has 6

• Ben Yap on Mar 31, 2020 at 5:27 pm

equipped with a powerful 1.0 turbo, fuel efficiency and 5 star rating safety, the honda city is the wisest choice when you purchase your first vehicle. the car’s resale value with be retained even after 10 years. look around and you can see 10 year old honda city is still going for RM28K to 30K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Honda LOW RV on Mar 31, 2020 at 5:43 pm

Compare,

In 2017
      Honda CRV 1.5 TCP – RM164K
      Mazda CX-5 2.2 – RM167K

In 2020, depreciates,
      Honda CRV 1.5 TCP – RM109K
      Mazda CX-5 2.2 – RM135K

Honda always low RV

• TrollDeceptionS01E02 CatchPhrases on Apr 01, 2020 at 12:11 am

Always love to encounter these Online selling Skills, others will call it a Syoksendirian’s tag from these over-ambitous salesman
      On the fly pretentious, flashy short words, using these beautifully crafted and catchy phrases : wisest choice, good RV, best value in its segment and above, powerfull turbo engine, fuel saving, trust me – you wont regret it, your friend & family will be envious and proud of you, easy to pickup girl, the best decision ever in your life, the best service in town, reliable/trusted brand since 1900 + keep pressing on or over exaggerated the outdated AseanAncap/JDRating datas and confused the buyer with USA made, an Import vs Lower Asean build Standards (Different Contents/Specs)

• Maria on Mar 31, 2020 at 9:28 pm

I’m more intrested with the last part of video which show Honda Lanewatch, sunroof and semi digital meter with TPMS indicator?? Also the redline of meter was at 6 which common for diesel powered car… Will some of the feature will make to MY-spec car remain to be seen. Currently I’m dissapointed with thai-spec city which eliminate some of great feature from the current car like seatbelt high adjustable and rear aircond vent.

• vivizurianti on Apr 01, 2020 at 9:55 am

Syukur x 1000. With Honda cars, abang abang and family members now can balik kampung in a safe car. Family members all selamat, selasa…family also sejahtera.

• The Truth About Honda Malaysia on Apr 01, 2020 at 12:26 pm

Lol! Tak syukur lah. How can honda can be a safe car, when tak ada AEB, lost of quality product.