PJ MCO compliance up, cops fed up with silly excuses

The second phase of the movement control order (MCO), which entails stricter enforcement and travel restrictions, has yielded a higher compliance rate in Petaling Jaya, The Star reports.

According to PJ OCPD assistant commissioner, Nik Ezanee Mohd Faisal, the compliance level in areas such as Taman Medan, Taman Dato’ Harun, Ara Damansara, and Damansara Damai is now around 90%, compared to the 50% from the previous week.

However, some residents are still unable to resist the urge to go out. During a road block operation last night, the police arrested 12 people aged between 20 and 52, two of which gave excuses such as wanting to buy instant noodles and cigarettes. Another was detained for having a bottle of liquid believed to be made from ketum leaves.

Meanwhile, Bukit Aman director of internal security and public order, Datuk Seri Acryl Sani Abdullah Sani said he was disappointed to hear people giving unreasonable excuses. He had dropped in to check on the operation last night.

“No one is going to believe that you are out buying bread, drinks or cigarettes at 10 pm or 11 pm. You are letting down everyone when you do this, especially when we are trying to stop the disease from spreading further,” he said.

Let us remind you again that during the second phase of the MCO, essential businesses are only allowed to operate between 8am and 8pm, and this applies to food delivery services. Taxi and e-hailing services however, are allowed to operate from 6am to 10pm.

For those who plan on going out to buy food or other necessities, do note of the one-person-per-vehicle rule, as well as the maximum travel distance of 10 km. These rules are in effect until April 14.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Sick & Tired on Apr 02, 2020 at 2:25 pm

Stupid bandar people. Just stay in your goddamn homes!!!

• Introduce CHEAT DAY for people to GO OUT on Apr 02, 2020 at 4:52 pm

As above. People are SICK staying at home. Police and Army also needed some rest too. Don’t scare us of your blockades and summons…

• vivizurianti on Apr 02, 2020 at 7:32 pm

Ketat! Ketat lagi!

• mavic mini 2 pro surveillance on Apr 02, 2020 at 8:47 pm

we see many non essential service business shop opens for business as usual, tyres shops, spare-parts shops, hardware shops shutters fully open or half open along those small suburb tamas and kampung baru inside PJ

• mavic mini 2 pro surveillance on Apr 02, 2020 at 8:48 pm

we see many non essential service business shop opens for business as usual, tyres shops, spare-parts shops, hardware shops shutters fully open or half open along those small suburb tamans and kampung baru inside PJ

• Imran on Apr 03, 2020 at 7:50 pm

The police (PDRM) and army (ATM) is still being nice and some of these people yang keras kepala masih nak pamerkan kebodohan masing- masing & ambil kesempatan. 3 simple words. Stay At Home! These type of people are just ignorant & sengaja buat- buat tak faham bahasa. Rotan aje diaorang ni in public macam budak kecik, baru diaorang tau.