Proton March sales down by 67% due to MCO, but Q1 2020 total up 20.4% – Iriz +602%, Saga +36%, X70 -48%

Proton has announced its sales results for the first quarter of 2020, where it managed to deliver a total of 21,757 cars. This represents a 20.4% improvement from the corresponding period last year, and the company says its market share now stands at to 20.1% from 17.4% during Q1 2019.

Comparing the first quarters of 2020 and 2019, sales of the Saga showed an increase of 36% to 8,824 units, while sales of the Iriz grew by 602% to 2,009 units. Other models that saw an increase in sales include the Persona (+243% to 5,677 units) and the Exora (+17% to 1,091 units), but the X70 experienced a decline of 48% to 4,145 units.

For the month of March 2020 alone, the national carmaker sold 3,277 cars, which is a 67% decrease from the 9,974 units reported in February. According to the national carmaker, the decline is a result of the movement control order (MCO) that has seen its sales outlets remain shut since March 18. It goes without saying that other car companies in the country will be affected by the MCO as well.

The latest figure is also 41% down when compared to same month in 2019, and the national carmaker expects the MCO to “affect car sales drastically this year. “While our performance in January and February was very strong and far ahead of 2019, our momentum was slowed due to the MCO,” said Li Chunrong, CEO of Proton.

Looking ahead, Proton expects the rest of 2020 to be “a very challenging year as the fallout from Covid-19 after the MCO ends puts businesses in unchartered territory.” Li said, “We are using this time to strategise and plan our next moves. Challenge is something that we embrace.”

“In a sense, because Proton has fought to return to a much stronger position, my team and I are prepared to weather this storm. Considering our improvement over the last two years, I am quietly confident that Proton will be able to overcome this crisis as we stay focused on our long-term goals,” he continued.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Perodua sales in March will be 5,900 units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Panjang on Apr 08, 2020 at 7:35 pm

Perodua sales oso terlajak laris in March

• P1 sales stronk even during MCO. Tahniah P1!

P1, Geely, Mesidis, Volvo, Lotus, LnC > all

• P1 still goin down even no mco btw. No big deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 46
    • Honda still going down even no mco btw. No big deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Newme on Apr 08, 2020 at 7:23 pm

Another fresh of college, junior copy-paster looking for the attention here. Are you immune to disease, a virus and above the rest on the current dire situation?.
      Insensitive and uncalled for!
      My regular network of suppliers and clients operation already went halted, continuation lost on running the overhead costs, uncertainity lies ahead until the end of 2000. Just imagine all their employees with family situation without jobs & income, these are under the breadwiner bracket. You still have the Guts to show anti…….to our NCH. Throw your unkind stereotype out of the window please

• If not MCO, Proton’s sales will continue to grow. The worst is Perodua, Toyota and Honda sales will continue to decline, but this is not important because no one knows whether their sales in the past few months are good or bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Someone here was bragging P2 sales is 4X P1 sales but now it drop even less than 2X P1 sales. Soon P1 sales will overtake P2 when the economy returns. I wonder where that braggart P2 salesman now?

• He lost his job during the MCO.

• Fake News on Apr 09, 2020 at 9:14 pm

That’s cuz gomen is clamping down on fake news during MCO therefore he lost his job dy.

• vivizurianti on Apr 08, 2020 at 7:42 pm

It is expected to have lower sales, including other car makers. I suspect April sales figure will show downturn as well. Salesperson are looking for alternative jobs, I believe.

With MCO, splumping economy, loss of jobs, lost of incomes, etc…..who would even thought of buying cars?

Heck, even 2nd hand car businesses are down. Only business is up are mask manufacturers.

• YB Albert on Apr 08, 2020 at 9:52 pm

Lets be honest.THe economy of Bolehland hangs on the price of oil prices (Petronas sales internationally) and how long the recovery takes even if MCO is lifted…If it takes, 6 months to recover to 70 % of precovid days,then u can see normalisation of car purchasing trends.If not…no one knows how deep is the mariana trench.

• Really? Iriz sold only 2000 unit for 3 month. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Jinggo on Apr 09, 2020 at 10:03 am

but i saw lots of iriz on the road compared to maibi… why leh…?

• Due to MCO, otherwise Iriz sales terlajak laris until 2nd shift oso tak mampu.

• Myvi still no 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Ex VGM staff on Apr 08, 2020 at 11:04 pm

So no car sales or delivered. Bankers not working to approve loan. JPJ close how to register new cars.. That means proton salesman cannot cari makan. In other words.. Revenue will be super.low.for.proton but who will.be paying their salary? Geely??

• azrai on Apr 09, 2020 at 9:31 am

Do anyone remember in 1998 a new Iswara Aeroback is only RM10k? All along KESAS in front of the COSE, a long line of new Protons were parked there? The history repeat itself at a bigger magnitude. Good luck salespersons.

• History Bender on Apr 09, 2020 at 1:04 pm

I remember back then insurance salespeople took out policies on themselves then jump off buildings. Now they closed that loophole I wonder if history will repeat itself.

• vivizurianti on Apr 09, 2020 at 11:00 am

Abang-abang salesman of P1 gotta be looking for part-time job now. Kesian them la, guys.