VIDEO: Listen to the glory of “VTEC kicking in” clearly in a Honda NSX fitted with individual throttle bodies

We’ve all seen a “VTEC just kicked in, yo!” meme at some point while browsing the internet, and here’s an excellent demonstration of Honda’s Variable Valve Timing and Lift Electronic Control system in operation.

This video comes courtesy of Dan M Henderson, who shot it by mounting a camera in the engine bay of his friend’s Honda NSX, which has been modified to feature individual throttle bodies (ITBs) in place of the stock induction system for the 3.5 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC VTEC V6 engine under the bonnet.

The minute-long clip is purely to meant to satisfy the ears of those who enjoy hearing the transitional phase of the VTEC system, with the ITBs making it even more audible as the engine switches to a more aggressive camshaft profile at higher engine speeds.

If you’re curious how VTEC works, an engine’s camshaft has lobes that control how much the valves open to let air in. The greater the lobe’s height, the more the valve will lift to allow more air into the combustion chamber, and with more air, the engine can use more fuel to make more power.

The VTEC system features multiple lobes that allow for separate camshaft profiles, with the lower profile meant for low engine speeds to provide efficiency. This is shown in a video by Engineering Explained, where the two rocker arms representing the lower profile, pushes on the valves and are disconnected from the centre rocker arm.

However, at higher engine speeds where the higher profile is required, oil pressure forces a piston to lock the centre and outer rocker arms together, enabling the higher cam profile that allows more air into the engine. This transition is where you hear that signature VTEC sound.

Modern Honda cars now come with i-VTEC (Intelligent Variable Valve Timing and Lift Electronic Control), which adds on Variable Timing Control (VTC) to the VTEC system, allowing the intake camshaft to be continuously variable to further improve efficiency.

This system is found even on lower-end Honda models, although the difference in cam profiles isn’t as glaring as it used to be, which dilutes the “VTEC scream” and kick in the back feeling of earlier VTEC systems.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 30, 2020 at 11:23 am

Sounds glorious.

But with the reintroduction of forced induction and lower rpm limits, continuous variable valve timing, the need for such drastic cam switching has somewhat diminished. Unfortunate. To say the least.

This is automotive history that is worth to be remembered. An engine sounding like an engine. Don’t give me that fake piped in engine note.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 61
    • Dredd on Apr 30, 2020 at 2:27 pm

Glorious sound of autos ….
      VTEC kicked in, yo!
      Akrapovic ekzos crackled ,
      Bunyi Cit..Cit.. Citt tikus… waktu pagi start enjin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Beautiful sound

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
  • Edwin L on Apr 30, 2020 at 12:12 pm

Adoi sedap bunyi vtec… pancutt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 43
  • vivizurianti on Apr 30, 2020 at 1:05 pm

Honda fanboys’ fave wet dream sound! Hooting and followed by their “…Vtec kicked in yo!!

I pity tesla fan bois…because their “engine” has no macho sound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Edwin L on Apr 30, 2020 at 11:24 pm

Their car can replicated big V8 sound with ah beng woofer speakers yo. Dont playplay.

• Brian on Apr 30, 2020 at 1:18 pm

Something you don’t hear anymore with modern day Honda cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • eeeriz on Apr 30, 2020 at 3:57 pm

I had the opportunity racing with those VTEC cars in 2003-2004 when i had my Satria turbo’ed. Their accelerations were most of the time at par or sometimes better than my ex-more-powerful turbocharged 4G63 (stock standard VR4 RS) but they lost out at higher speed. But damn the sound was really ferocious and frightening..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • Ol Skool on Apr 30, 2020 at 8:55 pm

I’ve driven one with B16b engine and sure it was a powerful 1.6L. But, once VTEC kicked-in they drink fuel like there’s no tomorrow. Can you imagine 2 hours of driving took almost RM60 out of your fuel tank. (fuel was RM 2.28/L back then). For comparison my 1.8L turbo could go from Ipoh all the way to KL with RM60 (both spirited driving of course)

• 4wheeler on May 01, 2020 at 4:02 pm

Ahhh…VTEC kick-in.Those was the days..

• Smartypants! on May 02, 2020 at 1:30 pm

Ooooo … thanks for uploading this guys! I blutoothed the video to my stereo and it sounds AMAZING! Fantabulous. A highlight during MCO for me. 2 thumbs up!