GALLERY: 2020 Mazda 2 facelift in Malaysia – updated styling, GVC Plus added, revised kit list; from RM104k

The 2020 Mazda 2 facelift was launched in Malaysia back in March this year, and with showrooms slowly reopening, we can now bring you a live gallery of the B-segment model. The rival to the Honda Jazz and Toyota Yaris comes fully imported (CBU) from Thailand, and is priced at RM103,670 on-the-road without insurance for both hatchback and sedan body styles.

In terms of specifications, the Mazda 2 is powered by a SkyActiv-G 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine that makes 114 hp at 6,000 rpm and 149 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The mill, which comes with Mazda’s i-Stop idling technology, is paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed torque converter automatic transmission driving the front wheels.

The revised styling sees a thicker chrome grille surround that no longer extends into the headlamps, along with a new insert that is similar in design to what you’ll find on the larger Mazda 6. The new grille is flanked by reshaped headlamps, while the lower apron gets a slimmer inlet flanked by two chrome strips in the corners.

At the rear of the hatchback, we find the strips repeated on the bumper, which now has a smaller matte black plastic area. The sedan gets a tweaked bumper design with a wide-width trim piece placed on top a mesh insert, flanked by the car’s reflector/fog lamps.

The list of standard equipment includes 16-inch alloy wheels shod with 185/60 profile tyres, auto-levelling LED headlamps with signature DRLs, bulb-type taillights, as well as bulb- (sedan) or LED-type (hatchback) rear fog lamps and reverse lights.

Other features include keyless entry and start, a coloured Active Driving Display (head-up display), paddle shifters, a Sport mode, single-zone climate control, manually-operated front seats, and a seven-inch Mazda Connect infotainment system with Commander Control.

The update also sees the addition of Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support for the infotainment system, along with blue/grey leather upholstery in place of the previous black leather. Additionally, the seats themselves have also been restructured to improve the driver’s sense of balance.

Another new item is Mazda’s G-Vectoring Control Plus (GVC Plus) system, which is an improvement over the previous G-Vectoring Control (GVC) system. The new setup provides smoother vehicle motion by not only varying engine torque in response to steering inputs, but also with torque vectoring by braking.

2020 Mazda 2 facelift specifications – Hatchback (left), Sedan (right)

Like the pre-facelift model, the safety kit remains unchanged, so you still get two airbags (front driver and passenger), ABS, DSC, EBD, Emergency Brake Assist, Traction Control System, Emergency Stop Signal, Hill Launch Assist and Isofix child seat anchors on the outer rear seats.

Included in the price is a five-year/100,000-km warranty and five-year/100,000 km free maintenance. There are ten colours available for the hatchback – Ceramic Metallic, Eternal Blue Mica, Jet Black, Machine Grey, Snowflake White Pearl, Sonic Silver, Soul Red Crystal, Titanium Flash, Deep Crystal Blue and Polymetal Grey.

However, the sedan comes with just eight options, with Deep Crystal Blue and Polymetal Grey not offered for it. Those who want the B-segment model with a Soul Red Crystal finish will need to fork out an additional RM500, while the rest of the options list includes a navigation SD card for the infotainment system (RM1,270) and safety tint film (RM1,900). Find full specifications of the Mazda 2 Hatchback and Sedan on CarBase.my.

2020 Mazda 2 Hatchback facelift

2020 Mazda 2 Sedan facelift

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hondaman on May 15, 2020 at 10:01 am

Wrong timing to launch a new car?

• kobid naitin on May 15, 2020 at 4:29 pm

rather juz topup 15k … buy dat 2016 Mazda MX-5 Soft top Convertible @ oto.my iklan….

• Azgarffield on May 15, 2020 at 10:05 am

Good luck selling

• sohai on May 15, 2020 at 10:24 am

RM100k car with only 2 airbags. When the buying stops, so will the fleecing

• bob_b78 on May 15, 2020 at 10:36 am

Frugal and fun to drive. However, 104K for this car regardless of kit level is way too ridiculus!! Topup another 10K i could almost get myself a bigger 1.8 Civic

• This is the only car in Malaysia that priced >100k and with only 2 airbags. Shame on you BERMAZ! Otherwise this would be a nice little car.

• Safety 1st on May 15, 2020 at 10:40 am

RM104k for 2 airbag only. stay safe, Toyota Yaris

• Zoom Zoom on May 15, 2020 at 10:47 am

Still 2 airbags? is this the direction of Mazda to become premium brand on par with BMW/Merz/Audi? Premium price but safety specs not even match the 50k Myvi lar… plsss

• Dylan Ch'ng on May 15, 2020 at 10:54 am

I know we are under CMCO and not MCO but please stay at home. We already waited over 50 days for this, we could probably wait another 50.

• Ashraf on May 15, 2020 at 11:14 am

It’s so cheap and looks like a billion dollars… I’m sure selling by the millions

• kanazai2001 on May 15, 2020 at 11:26 am

with the price tag over 100k…
    is it still relevant in this market segment?
    ‍♀️

• For that money better by mid-spec X70. Bigger & better.

• vivizurianti on May 15, 2020 at 11:40 am

Such cutey hairdresser car costs Rm104K?!

Good luck, Bermaz.

• 4G63T DSM on May 15, 2020 at 11:51 am

100+ k and 2 airbags??

Good luck

Not long ago they were selling the 3 with AED for that price.

• Ethan on May 15, 2020 at 11:56 am

Rm104k and still only 2 airbags? That’s worse than the Myvi and Kia Picanto

• Truth on May 15, 2020 at 12:20 pm

serious? RM100k plus for a B-seg sedan/hatchback (even though its a CBU) ? and with only 2 airbags? better buy a Vios or Yaris or even consider the new city/city hatchback (once launched if the spec is good)….

• How sad the car from RM85k all the way to RM104k now with no design change what so ever. That GVec+ better be worth that RM20k extra

• Kopi-peng on May 15, 2020 at 2:00 pm

Mazda cant even fix their known steering issue and now want to sell this model for 104k? Seriously?

• Matchy on May 15, 2020 at 10:35 pm

Give me a reason why I should buy this car.

• this is not even a new car like the mazda 3.
    it is still based on old platform.
    yet bermaz selling it like its the brand new version generation of mazda 2 ^^ LMFAO
    there sure has a lot of brainless management

• Ben Yap on May 16, 2020 at 10:55 am

Honda city turbo is faster and a better buy. this mazda 2 is overpriced.

• Pailtin auto on May 16, 2020 at 5:51 pm

Mahal nk mampos.woii mazda,ko simpan je la kereta korang sampai berkulat tkda org nk beli

• Dr Joseph on May 22, 2020 at 1:29 am

I was going to buy this but the spec and price tag of 104k was a scam. I ended up with Toyota Yaris! Glad with my choice for its safety features are much better than Mazda’s.