All new Volvo cars from now get 180 km/h speed limit

Be bold for the change you want to see in this world, they say. Well, in its efforts to reduce road injuries and fatalities to zero, every new Volvo car will now come with an electronically limited top speed of 180 km/h. The automaker first mooted the plan in March 2019, after stating its belief that speeding is one of, if not the most prominent cause of serious injuries and fatalities in road accidents.

Besides the speed cap, every Volvo car will also come with a Care Key, which allows drivers to set additional limitations. This can be used when lending the vehicle to friends or family, and can help reduce risks at the hands of inexperienced drivers.

Of course, the controversial bit here is the 180 km/h speed limit. Some industry observers have already questioned the rights of automakers to impose such limitations, but Volvo believes that the move can save lives, even if it means losing potential customers.

“The problem with speeding is that above certain speeds, in-car safety technology and smart infrastructure design are no longer enough to avoid severe injuries and fatalities in the event of an accident.”

“This is why speed limits are in place in most western countries, yet speeding remains ubiquitous and one of the most common reasons for fatalities in traffic. Millions of people still get speeding tickets every year,” it said in a statement.

Citing research, Volvo said people on average have a poor understanding of the dangers around speeding. This often makes them drive too fast, or have poor speed adaptation in relation to traffic situation. Other areas of concerns are intoxication and distraction, both of which are being addressed by Volvo. Expect more circumventing features to be introduced in the future.

“We believe that a car maker has a responsibility to help improve traffic safety,” said Malin Ekholm, head of the Volvo Cars Safety Centre. “Our speed limiting technology, and the dialogue that it initiated, fits that thinking. The speed cap and Care Key help people reflect and realise that speeding is dangerous, while also providing extra peace of mind and supporting better driver behaviour.”

Meanwhile, in Malaysia, the Volvo Car Malaysia said the roll out of the 180 km/h speed restriction is expected to take place towards the end of the year, but the exact date may vary by model. What do you guys think of this?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• MeToo on May 21, 2020 at 11:55 am

How many Malaysian will shell out 300k+ for a car with a 180KMH limiter…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
    • Kimchi Wong on May 21, 2020 at 1:28 pm

Well done. Already low sales and limited to elderly adult. Now only limited to Ah pek who drives very slow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
      • Haidi on May 21, 2020 at 4:43 pm

I like your comment, wonder why so many thumbs down. Haha! It is true that not too many people will have a change to drive / dare to go above 180. But for sure, that limiter will drive away a lot enthusiasts from Volvo.

• Bahang Darul Makmum on May 21, 2020 at 2:18 pm

More interested if 0->180 KM/H under 4 seconds.

• Yea…..No I’ll wait for someone to remove the limiter

• sohai on May 21, 2020 at 12:11 pm

If that’s the case, better buy cheaper Japanese or Chinese cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • volvo for life on May 21, 2020 at 12:20 pm

Be ready to lose customers. A capped speed is not a bad idea but it has to be by choice in this competitive automotive world. One who speeds and put themselves at risk is also by choice. Nobody tells them to speed but its their choice and they pretty well know the consequences. But to remain resilient in the automotive industry, capping the speed limit is arguable a NO to most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
    • If its their choice to speed and then die, one customer has already lost. So why not save people’s lives instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Sick & Tired on May 21, 2020 at 2:52 pm

The same thinking like those ah bengs who gets annoyed by the chime reminder when they refused to fasten seatbelts. And what do they do, they go and bypass the system with fake belt clips. Then during accidents, they faceplant onto the windscreen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • ah beng on May 21, 2020 at 3:26 pm

u know what r u talking about? pls refrain from making comment if u dun. nobody is talking about undermining the speed limit! The question is shud u or shud u not cap a car’s limit? Clearly most Volvo hybrid models has the capacity of 407bhp and 640nm torque and u limit it to 180km/hr when other continental made has maximum limit on average 250km/hr..how do u compete in sales?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
        • Gomorrah on May 21, 2020 at 4:52 pm

I wonder if you understand it – a question about personal freedoms vs collective safety. If the individual in that vehicle speeds and the only person who will ever suffer injury or death if there is an accident is that individual, then fine, go for it. No speed cap. However since this is rarely the case, and other road users/pedestrians are invariably involved/killed, then responsibility has to be exercised at some point, in this case by the car manufacturer. We already accept restrictions as a society on drugs/alcohol/smoking because they have proven risks to health, why should this be any different? The analogy would be cigarette companies restricting sales to one packet a day (unlikely to ever happen, but would result in a tremendous decrease in public health burden from smoking).

It’s not like the car cannot have its limiter removed when the car is taken to an appropriate venue for speeding/racing like a track. This technology has existed for some time – Nissan GTR’s satnav knows when it is on a track, and the speed limiter is removed so the driver can go as fast as they want.

What possible reason is there to even travel up to 180 km/h on a public road where the licensing requirement caters for the lowest common denominator? If the government is willing to make the licensing process as stringent as say Finland or Germany, then maybe this discussion can revert to personal freedoms again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • anonimus on May 21, 2020 at 5:28 pm

then let me ask you this – how often do you drive at 180km/h on a regular basis?

• I drive above 180 on the weekends usually from state to state. That’s with my 1.4 vw top speed 220kmh. I have a 45 amg top speed 270. Volvo’s can go up to atleast 250kmh. Even toyota/honda 1.8/1.5 can go above 180kmh. Now ppl who buy volvo are only for ppl who drive slow. Ppl will buy the lowest spec. No point for t8. More maintenance same top speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
          • Dredd on May 22, 2020 at 8:12 am

L. Please provide me your plate num. and next weekend itinerary. We will be sure to prove your top speed exceeds 180kmph and issue you love letter on the spot. With love, your friendly Police.

• Talk is cheap…. Got VW lah got A45 lah… Myself better say you got Bugatti, drive at 500km/h

• To these nutcases, our only choice is to move out of their way. Such selfish and idiotic pricks.

• sohai loo on May 22, 2020 at 2:07 pm

clearly ur command of english is poor. Period. U dun really know what the discussion is abt.

• Welldone on May 21, 2020 at 12:24 pm

Get a CRV or CX5 better, why buy XC90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • Welllose on May 21, 2020 at 1:27 pm

This honda guy like to compare with this biggest luxury SUV! Such a wierd comparison

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Sarmad on May 21, 2020 at 4:29 pm

Because he was so fear to see that honda sales will be getting lesser and will be bankrupting his business anytime as margin already plummeting causes losing their sales jobs and slowly will tutup honda. Hence, aftersales service and quality is very poor while increasing their service charge. As well as mostly honda models have lacking of safety features.

• The Saint on May 21, 2020 at 1:18 pm

180 km/h is fast enough for me.

So no difference to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Haidi on May 21, 2020 at 4:45 pm

When you are driving a Volvo, you will have the temptation go beyond that.

• seancorr (Member) on May 21, 2020 at 5:28 pm

Wait till those Vios and Cities start flashing to overtake you on the highway coz they know you can’t do anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • contender on May 21, 2020 at 1:55 pm

For Volvo Malaysia CKD should be limited 110km/h after all that is the legal speed limit. Volvo for life safety comes first. 180km/h is too fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Kusoking on May 21, 2020 at 1:56 pm

I am sure the robber will only aim the NEW Volvo from now.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 21, 2020 at 2:13 pm

Although most people never drive at such high speeds, i still think driver should be given a choice, rather than forced upon. Would be better if everytime you start the engine, a pop-up comes out and asks if driver wants 180km/h limit or unlimited top speed. If driver wants unlimited VMax, he has to watch a short video on driving safety until the end. After that only, the car will allow the driver to drive the car, and then gets unlimited VMax. If driver chooses 180km/h, can proceed to drive immediately. Also, while at it, if the car notices that driver has been changing lanes too frequently and in a dangerous manner, the car will automatically give the 180km/h speed limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Matchy on May 21, 2020 at 2:16 pm

Will this deter ppl from buying Volvo?

• Now toyota mpv also faster

• A lot of people shell out 300k+ to buy those japs recond which have speed limit of 180kmh

• choha on May 21, 2020 at 4:08 pm

still too fast, should be much lower

• It’s not the speed who kill, it’s the driver’s way of driving that kill…

• Volvo owners will have to get used to the new norm of going as fast as a modified Y15

• dream_125 on May 21, 2020 at 4:42 pm

“The problem with speeding is that above certain speeds, in-car safety technology and smart infrastructure design are no longer enough to avoid severe injuries and fatalities in the event of an accident.”

So Volvo’s “in-car safety technology and smart infrastructure design” will now prevent “severe injuries and fatalities” when people crash into a concrete divider with max. 180km/h? :D

• dream_125 on May 21, 2020 at 4:44 pm

“Some industry observers have already questioned the rights of automakers to impose such limitations”

Bezza has a top speed of 110km/h? Why shall Volvo not allowed to limit the top speed? Namely, as their new engines won’t allow higher speeds anyway?

• Ice Milo on May 21, 2020 at 5:30 pm

Volvo can just change the speedometer like those 80’s JDM car, problem solve

• newcomer on May 21, 2020 at 5:34 pm

Tbh, I would like to get one, as an engineer, there is no car like Volvo, driving above 180km/h is not practical, and Volvo is not the car you want to drive fast.

• Volvere on May 23, 2020 at 8:41 pm

Exactly! Volvo owners even wouldn’t drive 110km/h on a highway. 90km/h on the right lane is enough!

• vivizurianti on May 21, 2020 at 6:35 pm

The speed is limited to 180km/hr becoz lots of ah pek/unker driver beh tahan and kecut perut with this speed.

Volvo should name this car as “Ah Pek Edition”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Zamri on May 21, 2020 at 6:49 pm

now old myvi can smoke new volvo at highway.. my beemer have top speed 230km, but doesn’t mean I will push to top speed every time. but I surely don’t like the speed limiter. bye bye volvo.

• Ya ya ya on May 22, 2020 at 5:42 am

Is still an old myvi Enjoy ur hard plastic interior, ppl driving Volvo still smile while enjoying new technology and luxury interior.

• Tee For on May 21, 2020 at 7:22 pm

So tunggu apa lagi go and get a Volvo now since they haven’t impose speed limiter in Malaysia. Or you guys just “syiok sembang”…..

• Mad Max on May 22, 2020 at 11:28 am

I have been driving XC90 T8 for 1 yr+ and so far the max speed I hav driven is 160+km/h. And tat also only for once or twice with less than 10 sec on tat speed on a straight highway. Driving high speed require high focus and has lesser tolerance towards mistake and unforseen circumstances. The max speed on any car was never meant for the driver to constantly drive at tat speed on d highway.

• Volvere on May 23, 2020 at 8:43 pm

XC90 T8 is more like a Volvo lorry. You’re right, lorries are not meant to drive faster than 160km/h.

• Suckmad on May 25, 2020 at 4:50 pm

Volvo not so stable at high speed. Far behind german and french handling

• No one should run. All should just walk and in case you fall, you won’t hurt that much…

• kopier on May 23, 2020 at 12:31 am

70-110 km normal safe speed already high potential to fatal accdn..so why not just make it 20km/h if really want to promote safespeed..but then again,20km/h already enough momentum to kill a pedestarian..or the driver gonna get killed coz can’t get enough speed to run from killer gangsters or tornado..drive slow while browsing on phone will ended up off track,either crash on somthg or dive into revine..actualy,the driver must alert and be more considerate to maintain a safe drive accordingly,not the machine spec..otherwise,we can see all of F1 drivers get killed on racetrack..or frequent plane crash on runway..conclusion,better stop cars manufacturing and focus on promoting the used of bicycle for a much healthier invironment.

• 180kmh is illegal already, pls set at 90kmh and 110kmh bypass button for overtaking which is more safer

• AhBengApekForTheWin on May 23, 2020 at 11:53 am

Aiyah….

Remove the speed limiter la…

Why want to complain so much la…

Aiyah….

• I would never drive at 180 to begin with, but at the back of my mind there may arise a time when my life would depend on that speed. Who knows, someone chasing me to kill me, or escaping for my life. To limit my speed would then be the end of me.

• Dannies on May 12, 2021 at 12:24 am

If I can spend money to buy a car costing RM300k , and i got a choice , sure i will pick the go can go up to 250KM per hour over the one have speed limit cap at 180 km per hour. Because normally people will go for product have batter performance. But it doesn’t mean i will drive more then 180km per hour, my normal driving is only 90km per hour.

• enrique on Oct 19, 2021 at 6:12 pm

just buy that volvo and put it in the garage. no need to drive… end of story