2020 Toyota RAV4 coming to Malaysia – ROI now open

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has teased the arrival of the fifth-generation RAV4 again, this time with a working link to a dedicated page for customers to register their interest on the company’s official website.

UPDATE: UMWT has revealed official pricing and began order taking for the 2020 Toyota RAV4.

The page doesn’t provide any preliminary information, so details like what engines and equipment we will be getting remain a mystery for now. In other markets, the C-segment SUV is available with two Dynamic Force engines, with the M20A-FKS 2.0 litre four-cylinder unit providing 171 PS (169 hp) and 203 Nm, while the larger A25A-FKS 2.5 litre mill pushes out 205 PS (202 hp) and 249 Nm.

The RAV4 is also offered as a hybrid and plug-in hybrid, both using the A25A-FKS engine, with the former rated at 222 PS (219 hp) and 279 Nm, while the PHEV model has a combined output (including its electric motors) of 302 PS (302 hp). Of these four available powertrains, we expect the regular 2.0 litre engine to be the one we’ll get.

Like the C-HR and Camry, the RAV4 is underpinned by the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA), specifically the GA-K version that is also used for the latest Harrier. The model first made its global debut back in March 2018 and is styled with reference to the FT-AC adventure vehicle concept that premiered the year prior.

Of course, the most important thing that people are concerned with is the price, which is something we won’t know until it is launched. The RAV4 competes against the Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5, which start from RM151,100 and RM137,269.20, respectively. In Malaysia, the closest Toyota competitor to those two models is the C-HR that goes for RM150,000, so there’s a possibility the larger RAV4 will retail for higher than that. Only time will tell.

GALLERY: Fifth-generation Toyota RAV4 at the 2019 Singapore Motor Show

GALLERY: Fifth-generation Toyota RAV4

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Karam Singh on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:00 pm

With Malaysia a part of the world craze on SUVs, it’s just make sense that Toyota brings as many models as they can, for all type of price range.

Starting with the Rush, climbing up to the coupe-like CHR, then this RAV4 before going up to the Harrier. The Pricing are all nicely lined-up.

On the other hand, UMW also has another line up of SUVs from Lexus starting with UX, NX and then RX.

Unfortunately we are unlikely to see the full range of Land Cruisers as well as Lexus’s version of those the GX and LX.

• jom duduk kat rumah main GTA Online on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:59 pm

Dont know already what will happen to X70 after Toyota release their worldclass Game-Changing RAV4 here. This car have the potential to wipe out X70 completely as it has a stunning design, advance features, complete safety, premium quality and this car is built on Toyota’s latest TNGA platform. Now that UMW have awaken and decided to sell the Toyota RAV4 here, X70 will be Game Over completely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
      • hahahah on Jun 05, 2020 at 8:26 pm

‘premium quality’……hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
        • Inter68 on Jun 06, 2020 at 12:01 am

X70 is more premium quality as RAV4 unlike CRV called as fake premium quality. Lol!

• This Ah Beng thought his Vios is premium quality. LMAO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • Younger drives Persona/Vios/Almera 2020/Myvi/Iriz/Saga. Ah Beng thinks that City/Jazz are nicer car and feel more premium

• YB Tan Sri KK on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:28 pm

Already Proton sales are so bad, with this car coming in, X70 can tutup kedai

You cannot compare Japanese quality. This is why Toyota is sold in 200 countries globally

Geely is only sold in China 97%. It is NOT allowed to be sold in any first world country because it is too low in quality

Ask yourself why Geely is not sold in USA, Whole of Europe, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Korea etc etc????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • putiaoma on Jun 05, 2020 at 8:54 pm

Lol see price/specs first la then tokok
        CH-R siao B-segment SUV but sell for more than the price of CRV. Apa lanjiao onli bodo will buy thinking good value for price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
        • Honda Management MY selalu bodoh on Jun 06, 2020 at 9:49 am

At least UMW, DRB Hicom, TC are not too greedy for giving high price unlike Honda MY always give high price with downgraded specs and no safety specs with expensive service charge

• Vader on Jun 05, 2020 at 9:10 pm

Aren’t you the same joker that told use CH-R will be the game changer to kill X70 sales? Eh what happen to that now, I heard UMW Toyota only sold 200 CH-Rs compared to the thousands of X70s. Aren’t you like bored when your stories gets disproved again and again and again?? Why even try the same trick??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • One Rav4 can buy two X70, totally different target customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:04 pm

Wow the best selling suv in the USA is already here…kudos UMW Toyota…now we have both the best selling suv and best selling luxury suv in USA @ Lexus RX in our country…great to know UMW is more aggressive nowadays in offering different models for different group of people…syabas again

• romance on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:00 pm

(Like) Toyota RAV4
    (Dislike) Honda CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Maxis on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:02 pm

Hopefully bring with CKD soon and hybrid too

• Premier on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:04 pm

CRV will stoke sales by RAV4. After X70 has stole sales from some of CRV sales

• rimbayu on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:07 pm

Incoming RAV4. Hopefully besides safety, will also give good engines and not so high pricey

• We are so exciting to see this. It will be fun

• Ravens on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:10 pm

Best Of Toyota

• Tim Allen on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:12 pm

UMW, you have done great job. Hopefully bring this with CKD with more affordable with good specs that will attract to the customers

• Lolwhut? on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:15 pm

The best SUV alredi here, Pro X70. so why wait?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • trapo on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:18 pm

Take a big breath and hope everything is satisfied for features and pricing

• Msia driver on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:18 pm

For sure the price far above CHR.. Anything from UMW wouldn’t be given u reasonable price..lolzzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
  • Hakone on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:22 pm

Finally, RAV4 has arrived in Malaysia

• Dong gor on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:26 pm

U want a Toyota suv, u don’t look at the price. Just like the RIDICULOUS price of CHR

• powerbank on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:32 pm

RAV4 coming all the way

• vivizurianti on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:35 pm

UMW, make sure your cars will not be “K” spec (kosong) when reaching Malaysia showrooms.

BTW, if “K” spec, untung untung skit sudah la.

• Jia Ren on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:39 pm

Amazing car

• Insolex on Jun 05, 2020 at 3:46 pm

Bring this in. But if PHEV comes to Malaysia with full items, can say bye bye to CR-V

• aslidi on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:06 pm

Definitely, this will come with TSS

• Sunga on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:21 pm

Original price: around rm160k to rm170k
    tax exemption: rm140k maybe

• Azgarffield on Jun 05, 2020 at 4:43 pm

Of course it will be more expensive than C-HR. I doubt it will be cheaper than CR-V also. I can’t remember the last time when UMW won’t milk the cow dry

• Milk Cow on Jun 05, 2020 at 9:57 pm

Try call the Toyota SA on FB that you can find, they will tell you around 200k, some said more than 200k. 2.5l engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • Honda Salesmen Jobless on Jun 06, 2020 at 10:18 am

How did you know that Toyota SA on FB told you it is around RM200K. Dream on fools. Honda Malaysia will give higher price for future models and their attitude will not change

• if the price is higher than 170k, i will not understand why rakyat will choose this over fortuner.

CHR is a joke to begin with. don’t get me wrong, it is a good car. but the fact despite the high price some rakyat still buy it really cracks my head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • ThePolygon on Jun 05, 2020 at 5:39 pm

Looks like a design downgrade from CHR

• Seriously, they don’t really downgrade their design at all. Only honda, using same design for new facelift and some may also downgrade for new honda facelift too like BRV

• Pls answer cos i wan to buy one on Jun 05, 2020 at 6:00 pm

Like x70
    Dislike Rav

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • I just saw it come out from Westports…

• Knowing umw, they will sell only the fwd version.

• Underground on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:19 pm

In your dreams dude. UMW will not sell fwd as usually they will sell AWD to compete with other rivals

• Syed Muhammad Faris on Jun 05, 2020 at 9:46 pm

CR-V is the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Faiz Creed on Jun 05, 2020 at 10:40 pm

Really? X70 already take a lead. Why buy lousy CRV when having good model like Rav4

• Chang-wook on Jun 05, 2020 at 10:48 pm

RAV4 the best

• fallon c on Jun 05, 2020 at 11:35 pm

my sister works at umw. no news on launch date yet but price est 163-175K. 2.5 very likely to be introduced as well.

• MewLi on Jun 06, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Good! But please no CVT! Bring in the 8speed gb just like US. And ACC with Lane Centering. Dont be like Mazda with their CX-5. Greedy as ***k with no ACC.

• ResearchGate on Jun 06, 2020 at 8:39 pm

Depends on CVT. I believe that Aisin CVT is still in good condition as CBU X70 unlike other brand cvt like earth dream gearbox.

• Smokeherb on Jun 08, 2020 at 6:33 pm

The price range for RAV-4 would be between the CH-R and Fortuner.