UMW Toyota Motor welcomes car sales tax exemption

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has said it welcomes the sales tax incentive that was just announced by prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, which will see sales tax for CKD cars reduced by 100%, while CBU cars get a 50% reduction.

Company president Ravindran K said: “This is indeed good news for the auto industry and we are grateful to the government for assisting this sector. The full savings will be passed on to customers and we expect that the reduced prices will help to revitalise the automotive industry.”

“With the tax exemptions, we will be making the relevant adjustments to the retail prices of all our models and apply them by June 15,” he added. Based on the current sales and services tax (SST), the sales tax for CKD and CBU passenger vehicles are 10%, which means prices for cars sold from June until December 31, 2020 will be lower.

UMWT deputy chairman, Akio Takeyama added “the Malaysian auto industry, like those in other countries, has been greatly affected by the long period of inactivity during the movement control order (MCO) period. Apart from lost sales and production, there is also consumer sentiment which is uncertain of the future. Therefore, we appreciate the support from the government to help boost the industry.”

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• M & B on Jun 05, 2020 at 6:59 pm

Congrats UMW Toyota

• YB Tan Sri KK on Jun 06, 2020 at 1:22 pm

Toyota Japanese seem to be grateful but our Proton not thankful because they are so used to bantuan all the time, so this move is normal for them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Amran on Jun 06, 2020 at 3:22 pm

Proton knows whether got sales tax exempt or not, people will still buy their cars. Meanwhile Toyota Japan need to rely on tongkat from Mesian govt to help them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • David on Jun 07, 2020 at 4:24 pm

Meanwhile Honda need to bantuan most of the time from the government. That’s why Honda are no so very thankful. Except for Toyota, Proton, Mazda, BMW and others are really so grateful

• KK stands for Kaki Kelentong on Jun 06, 2020 at 6:26 pm

Wow, Proton haven’t issue any statement you already know what Proton want to say? Sound more like another one of your BS, Kunta tikus.

• Yeah bro another one of his infamous comments by our Yang Bangang Tan Sri Kuat Kelentong resident troll.

• Taifung on Jun 07, 2020 at 5:08 pm

You should also thanks to DRB Proton for giving you wonderful things to all of you, besides UMW, Sime Darby and Bermaz

• Sunga on Jun 05, 2020 at 7:00 pm

Aftersales and sales will be tax exempted

• Canon on Jun 05, 2020 at 7:02 pm

Welcome to 0% tax holiday

• necmec on Jun 05, 2020 at 7:04 pm

Many are waiting to buy toyota

• Welly on Jun 05, 2020 at 7:09 pm

Kudos to toyota malaysia

• red hot on Jun 05, 2020 at 7:15 pm

Bring it on

• vivizurianti on Jun 05, 2020 at 7:56 pm

Buy new car, buy new car……suddenly received retrenchment letter from boss. Or suddenly office announce 50% pay-cut. hehe

Some Malaysian thinks driving new car is more important. Eat maggi mee everyday until hair fall off pun ok.

• Wally on Jun 05, 2020 at 8:00 pm

Toyota many cbu from Thailand Altis, Camry.. Will consider other brand for CKD first.

• The rise of Toyota reigns again

• Don’t get excited guys. Only 10% je. Still way more expensive when compared to big developed countries like the US, england, dubai, china. You’ll not gonna see increase in the numbers of kaw kaw luxury cars on the road. Malaysia will still look poor like indonesia in the eyes of our tourist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • 3rd gen day on Jun 06, 2020 at 9:51 am

Nice one UMW Toyota. Hope you already learnt from your lessons from the past time including Proton too. Pls don’t be like what honda malaysia has did

• Jingle Bell on Jun 06, 2020 at 10:20 am

Toyota all the way

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 06, 2020 at 11:44 am

look at the “big picture” in this win-win situation, the incentive is for the automobile sector and also the customer who is not forced to accept.

• Dong gor on Jun 06, 2020 at 2:56 pm

Excise duty is 65% for 1.8 liter and below. So the price u see today is inflated to ~180% from the base. 10% sales removal works out to be less than 5% only. 100k car now become 95k. Attractive enough when many are getting pay cut or even losing their job? I don’t think so

• PrtScr on Jun 07, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Meanwhile Honda Malaysia are so stingy that always giving high price for servicing. During tax holiday, they will start to give low price meaning that RM150k will reduce RM115K, not only exempting 10% but also removing Bluetooth, using 2.0 SOHC engine, using halogen headlights, no fog lights, removing AppleCarPlay and Android Auto and no Autolock function

• putiang on Jun 07, 2020 at 9:24 am

let me guess
    UMWT still won’t reduce their price. maybe even remove more features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Bir Heikiem on Jun 07, 2020 at 4:21 pm

What are you talking about? Yu stll dreaming. UMWT are not silly to follow you by removing more features. Already announced that the govt will exempt for 5% CBU and 10% CKD. This means all car companies including UMWT will reduce their price. Please be more logic