Proton details Joox music streaming service for cars with GKUI – over 30 million songs; basic, VIP accounts

Back in March this year, Proton announced that it would switch its online music streaming service to Joox Music from March 27 for cars with GKUI-powered infotainment systems, like the X70 and Premium variants of the Persona, Iriz and Exora.

This is part of an over-the-air (OTA) update for GKUI, which saw the suspension of the previous Unlimited Music service as of March 31. If you haven’t updated the software in your Proton’s infotainment system, chances are you might have realised the old app has stopped working.

Thankfully, Joox has several advantages over the previous Unlimited Music, as it offers more features and a larger library with over 30 million songs. The new app is similar to Spotify, in that users can use it for free – with certain functions limited – or they can opt to pay for a VIP subscription fee to gain full access.

Should you go the free route (indicated by a grey icon next to your account name), you’ll only be able to shuffle play songs, skip to the next song (three skips followed by ads) and sync up to 50 songs to your acount using the Joox app in your smartphone. However, you’ll have to put up with ads, lower streaming quality and a limited song library, plus you can’t play a specific song, go back to a previous song or seek within a song.

Proton details Joox music streaming service for cars with GKUI – over 30 million songs; basic, VIP accountsProton details Joox music streaming service for cars with GKUI – over 30 million songs; basic, VIP accounts

Upgrading to VIP access (yellow icon) removes all the aforementioned restrictions, but you’ll need to pay RM12.90 for a monthly subscription, which is currently being offered with a 20% discount at RM9.90 as part of a web payment limited time promotion. Alternatively, there’s also a 12-month subscription that is priced at RM109.90 as well as shorter-term packages that you can check out on the official Joox website. In comparison, Spotify Premium costs RM14.90 per month, with no annual subscription package offered.

Getting set up with Joox is a simple process, as you only need to download the app from the Google Play Store, Apple App Store or Huawei App Gallery. Next, register an account, pair it with the app in your car’s infotainment system and you’re good to go.

With the accounts linked, all your favourite songs selected via the mobile app will show up in the car’s system, although you can only add or remove a favourite song within the mobile app – iPhone users can also import songs from iTunes into Joox. From there you’ll be able to download them onto your car’s app for offline playback in case you want to converse your car’s internet data.

On that mention, Proton states in its FAQ that listening to music and any ads played while using Joox will eat into your internet data pool. Proton says that an average file size of a four-minute song at medium quality is about 3 MB, which will take up storage space in your infotainment system.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton. Is. The. Future!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Gulai ayam kampung on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:13 pm

Proton is our national carmaker. How come our national carmaker could not give us free Joox VIP service? I pay so much for a Proton but still need to pay a lot for joox VIP, this is trully a Game Over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:25 pm

How exactly are you paying so much for a Proton again? Joox is a paid service all over the world, same as Spotify. Even on cars with Apple CarPlay or Android Auto, you’d still need to subscribe to either Joox or Spotify to get their full set of features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
        • Let's keep PT friendly on Jul 03, 2020 at 2:28 pm

Hafriz is so active lately reprimanding these trolls which is good. I hope in the future the trolls like Roti John up there, Kunta Kinte, Mario, Newme and Ben Yap can behave and start commenting with facts without being over proud with one’s brand or even tarnishing other brand’s image

• Mario (Apology for last year) on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:07 pm

Lol, I know bro. As I told you again, I know that what have I did last year, as I have been hurting to all of you guys including you too especially to these salesmen such as Hyundai, Nissan, Toyota and Mazda. Everyone knew that it is my fault. I know that I felt myself that I was too stressed about my works. And I felt very depressed sometimes when it is not a good day. And of course, it is not very nice to bash and fight with no real facts. My critic sometime depends on the mood, i posted several moderately acceptable views, some are logical and others.

Even though Kunta is not that good but I am very sure that he had already changed his attitude and will not doing the same thing again, since he also came to apologize to all of us for what he has done wrong earlier this year. Anyway, Let’s all be friends, however except that we knew that only one troll BUT NOT FROM KUNTA who came from honda salesmen that hates mazda.

The fact is why Honda is not worth to buy anymore. Obviously, we knew that honda is not so reliable and give ancient specs which Honda in here are still selling as if they are back in 2013 which they never move on, as only selling basic specs to more honda models without any lacking of safety. Besides that, we also heard that service is not that cheap nowadays and yet car price is also too expensive for buyers to buy.

And I still remember that two of the trolls from honda salesmen that one of the troll always said that honda is good performance and he also mentioned that honda rv is also good value better than other brands while another troll BUT NOT FROM KUNTA who keep on liking for more than 2000 votes in one of the articles known as Toyota/Lexus recalls, as well as he also use his more dupes and bashing other brands like Hyundai/Mazda/Toyota/p1/others. So it has to be proven these two have done wrong again & again.

These brands like Toyota, Mazda, Nissan, Hyundai including national carmakers like Proton are always pushing to be affordable features and safety including quality that makes customers are more attractive. This is similar luxurious car brands like BMW too. Anyway, Not to forget that, even though Hyundai is not giving safety features in Malaysia which happens in the past, they will change their ways very soon to make the customers more affordable by bringing more features.

Lastly, I would say sorry and thanks to all Mazda & Hyundai salesmen especially for Toyota salesmen and many others sensible readers including Kunta whom given me a curse/sinister msg. Again, thanks to anyone in the past, patiencely adviced me to stop and change my way.

Million Sorry Guys including you too and Thanks To All Of You and Kunta.

• Joox sucks. Tahniah for the buyers of the china car brand who will never get android auto or apple carplay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Engineer on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:34 am

You sounded like you never use Joox and yet say it sucks. Yeah right.

Joox is the same OTA internet radio as Spotify. It has no correlation to be inferior vs either AA or CP. That is like saying Microsoft Office sucks compared to Windows 10. Both are incomparable with each other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Whoisthis? on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Yes, they’re OTA internet radios but their whole interface is different and for that matter, Spotify’s interface is much better than Joox which makes it better, therefore Joox is inferior to Spotify….also, what do you mean by Microsoft office vs windows 10? Those are completely different products…..Microsoft Office is a productivity software while Windows 10 is an operating system. so both of them re completely different things. What “DK” was saying is like Telegram sucks compared to Whattsapp. This is because unlike Windows 10 and Microsoft office which are totally different things, Whattsapp and Telegram are essentially the same things, : messaging platforms, which allow them to be compared. And why is Whattsapp better? It’s interface is more user friendly and looks nicer. Also, For the record, you sound like a person who has never used Spotify.
        ps. if you said MacOs vs Windows or Android vs iOS that would still be accepted but Microsoft Office vs Windows 10? Plus, insulting people in the comments by saying that the commenter has never used the platform while you INSULT yourself by comparing Microsoft Office and Windows 10. GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT BEFORE COMMENTING.
        Also, I’ve never commented that harsh before but I felt like this was needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:14 pm

Sorry buddy, you may want to read Engineer’s comment again. He said pretty much exactly what you explained.

• Whoisthis? on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:18 pm

OMG….just realized that I only read half of your comment…..so sorry….what an idiot I am lol…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:19 pm

Hahaha! No worries man.

• Engineer on Jul 03, 2020 at 1:13 pm

No hard feelings. I commend you for admitting your mistake, something not many here will do including the original commenter.

• Attract youngster, good strategy.

• Ben Yap on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:18 am

joox is a hong kong based chinese own company. so their 30 million songs will be majority the chinese and canton songs already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Maria on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:18 am

I’m waiting which our local car brands will include apple car play and android auto in thier car soon as standard. Currently there’s no car from both camps come with APC/AA. But I guess Perodua will come first with APC/AA in D55L soon.

• cleanenergy101 on Jul 03, 2020 at 12:14 pm

I don’t think any local car brands will offer that soon….the fitment of ACP and AA are very costly and companies like Perodua want to keep their costs as low as possible.

• Anonymous Coward on Jul 03, 2020 at 1:13 pm

This is lame. I’m all-in on Apple’s ecosystem so not having CarPlay on their GKUI is already a minus. If they had used Spotify, I would at least understand and can tolerate.

With no Android Auto/Apple CarPlay, Proton’s GKUI is dead in the water for me. In this case, they’re better off giving me a dumb stereo with Bluetooth.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 1:17 pm

But… GKUI gives you “dumb stereo with Bluetooth” functions too ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 1:54 pm

apple carplay and android auto is never gonna happen. geely proton is a china company.

• Jamus on Jul 03, 2020 at 2:11 pm

Ure right but i think Proton can retrofit an android auto/apple carplay head unit in the future and sell them as an option

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 1:54 pm

the system was better before the updated. the joox is frustrating to use and the song choices are very limited.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Sceptical on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:37 pm

Bro..joox database is bigger & better compared to previous media software..only downside we hv to subscribe to VIP service for more practical use OR we could check-in JOOX apps everyday to gain free coin subsequently get VIP service for free…IMHO you mesti xpernah pakai kan, tau2 complaint hehehe…adapt for new things bro jgn nk complaint shj..peace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 11:26 pm

obviously u never used joox before. try for yourself, search a song, you will notice for each song, there is probably 20 cheapo china techno remixes for it, or repititions

• Engineer on Jul 04, 2020 at 10:49 am

The problem isn’t Joox fault but simply America restricting their companies from dealing with China, this goes as well towards restricting American songs from Chinese distribution. You wanna blame someone, go blame Trump.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 06, 2020 at 11:44 am

and i blame kim jong un for kpop

• Brian on Jul 03, 2020 at 4:58 pm

30million not enough for you? Do you work and sleep in your car or something?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • C.P. MOHAN on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:16 pm

No issue since some willing to spent thousands on their car.

• Raja Kamarul on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:30 pm

I think it is a much better system from the previous one, BUT, PROTON sold us a music on demand system FOC. We now have to pay to get the level of convenience we had before.

As a user, I must say it is frustrating. You ask for a song by Celine Dion, and system says “we will play you a selection of songs including by Celine Dion”. Unless you pay premium, of course. That’s unfair in my view.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:41 pm

Now this is a fair argument. Go ahead and discuss, guys, but as always, please keep it civilised.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:56 pm

Looking for the fine print “Subject to terms and conditions” in my Proton sales agreement. LOLZ

But jokes aside, it still Free but subject to limitations. Damn annoying shuffle play, adverts etc which I’ve given up. Nowadays, I prefer to the sound on my engine (but the NVH in X70 is sooooo damn good that you barely hear the engine).

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 03, 2020 at 3:43 pm

No such thing as free lunch. All these OTA music streaming business model works on subscription model. You want free, be prepared to put up with limitations and adverts.

My pet peeve with GKUI is with songs sequence in USB stick. It doesn’t show folders at all and all songs are listed in alphabetical order, so all my songs are jumbled up alphabetically. Totally gave up listening using USB plug in.

• Ling JN on Mar 18, 2023 at 2:38 pm

I can’t synchronise my mobile joox with proton joox. Please help. Emailed few times to joox support but seems no reply at all. I have paid 129.90 for yearly VIP subscription. Next I will go to consumer tribune to ask for refund