MIROS urges the government to enact a new law banning the sale of dangerous vehicle accessories

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) wants the government to enact a new law banning the sale of dangerous vehicle accessories that could pose a fatal risk in the event of an accident. An example of just such accessories are dummy or decoy seat belt clips, which are relative affordable and readily available everywhere.

Such clips are mainly purchased and installed by motorists who opt not to wear their seat belts while driving for whatever reason, but don’t want to put up with the constant chime emitted by the car’s seat belt warning system.

Suffice to say, it doesn’t take a genius to know just how unsafe it is not to wear a seat belt while driving, given that there’s nothing to restrain you during a crash. Even so, it still happens despite constant warnings and reminders posed to motorists.

Currently, there is no law that prohibits the sale of such products, but MIROS wants to change that. “Such accessories were never deemed illegal and can be sold in the market, including at convenience stores, even though it is obviously dangerous when used by motorists,” said MIROS director-general Dr Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim in a report by Berita Harian.

“Therefore, I feel that there should be a law that can control or restrict the sale of dangerous vehicle accessories to consumers,” he continued, adding that MIROS plans to meet with the ministry of domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP) to discuss the issue, particular on enforcement. Khairil also suggested that enforcement could be done in advance to ensure that these dangerous accessories were not sold openly, as drafting a new law could take some time.

In another report by Berita Harian, it was revealed that out of 1,000 road accident cases investigated by MIROS from 2017 until this year, 30% involved drivers and passengers using dummy or decoy seat belt clip in vehicles.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• There is no law preventing the selling but there are laws preventing their usage. No worries, whatever was illegal eventually will be made legal, just like super dark tints was illegal now you can paint black your windows as it is legal since 2019.

• Chavez on Jul 09, 2020 at 10:46 am

That car in photo above with dummy seat belt clip on, looked like the Mitsu Lancer GT or Proton Inspira… beg to confirm. Hoped the driver and passengers come safe aftermath eksiden,

• Ben Yap on Jul 08, 2020 at 4:41 pm

the picture of the dummy seatbelt clips is taken from Mr DIY. aiyo, now Mr DIY will kena kecam.

• Ksatria on Jul 08, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Baru bangun koma (same like JPJ)

• Safety First on Jul 08, 2020 at 4:42 pm

Come on! This won’t solve the problem or else only just this particular problem while others are unattended. I suggest MIROS urge our Gomen to enact a new law banning stupidity on the road. All road users must pass IQ & EQ test first before handed a driving/riding licence It will solve all our problems on the road with one solution. When qualified people knows Safety First, they won’t so easily endanger their lives with such stupidity as using seatbelt bypass.

• C.P. MOHAN on Jul 08, 2020 at 4:43 pm

Not against, is it human-error or the accessory that caused the death/injury/accident, bottom-line more facts.

• Ex VGM staff on Jul 08, 2020 at 4:45 pm

Should have start with number plates.. Everything should be standard size fonts

• dream_125 on Jul 09, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Actually it’s RM150 in Kedah if you don’t use standard font…

• Bieight on Jul 08, 2020 at 4:54 pm

How the authorities is going to enforce it that’s matter

• Drivers who are using the dummy seat belt clips are really dummies

• I don’t understand those people, is it very difficult to just wear your seat belt?

• dream_125 on Jul 09, 2020 at 4:51 pm

This items were originally made for delivery boys in other countries. They go from house to house to deliver letters, newspapers, leaflets. In this countries it’s even legal not to use a seat belt for that job (in housing areas at very low speed only).

• No matter how many airbags your car is equipped with, it can’t save you from sudden impact if you don’t wear your seatbelt and restrain you from being thrown out from your vehicle. These accessories/dummy seatbelt anchors should be banned worldwide, period!

• klguy on Jul 09, 2020 at 9:40 am

in the first place….how the heck these things end up in this country? smuggled or customs tidur?

• Copy Paste on Jul 09, 2020 at 2:15 pm

Copy paste: “Currently, there is no law that prohibits the sale of such products, but MIROS wants to change that. “Such accessories were never deemed illegal and can be sold in the market, including at convenience stores, even though it is obviously dangerous when used by motorists,” said MIROS”

• vivizurianti on Jul 09, 2020 at 12:35 pm

Perut buncit makes seat belt wearer uncomfortable???