Volkswagen M’sia recalls 2011-2015 Golf, Polo, Jetta, Passat, CC, Beetle, Cross Touran, Scirocco with DSG

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has just announced a recall for vehicles fitted with the seven-speed DSG dry dual-clutch transmission, manufactured between 2011 to 2015. Vehicles affected include both Mk6 and Mk7 versions of the Golf, as well as the Polo (fully-imported 1.2 TSI variant), Jetta, Passat, CC, Beetle, Cross Touran and Scirocco.

The company stated that the recall would rectify the gearbox’s hydraulic pressure accumulator, which has been affected by a “production deviation”. A failure of this component could result in a loss of pressure, interrupting the transmission of power between the engine and gearbox.

A total of 12,732 vehicles have been affected by the recall, and to manage the number of cases nationwide, VPCM will be executing the service campaign in phases. Owners will be notified immediately via mail, and they will also be able to check if their vehicle is involved by visiting the official website. They can also call Volkswagen customer care at 1-800-18-8947 to find out more.

Those affected will be able to contact any authorised Volkswagen service centre to book an appointment and have their vehicle inspected; if required, components will be replaced at no cost. The company said it had taken the necessary steps with its dealers to ensure parts availability and a smooth and efficient process.

Additionally, affected owners will receive a free Volkswagen Care Plus membership card, giving them three 20% servicing discount vouchers, two years’ free roadside assistance and 24-hour on-site battery support.

“As a responsible car manufacturer, customer confidence and peace of mind is of utmost importance to us, and we hope that our owners understand that this campaign is necessary to ensure their continued confidence in the performance of their vehicles,” said VPCM managing director Erik Winter.

“While we have identified the number of vehicles involved in this recall, it is possible that not all the vehicles will require parts replacement. This is a significant exercise for us, and we would like to ensure that all these
vehicles are inspected. This campaign is part of our Volkswagen Cares initiative, and we are committed to a high level of customer safety, service and satisfaction.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Pak toh on Jul 20, 2020 at 3:12 pm

How about previously who paying by owner themselves?
    Get refund with interest?

Tak ada wang oo need took personal loan for sudden huge repair sum… manyak mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • autodriver (Member) on Jul 21, 2020 at 8:22 am

Mechatronic RM 4k and clutch pack is RM 2k, they don’t spoilt the same time. The one who need to take personal loan to repair it should really think of whether he or she suit to buy a hundred thousand car or not. Remark, CVT spoilt gonna changed the entire gearbox (Honda CVT is RM 22k). AT is more robust but if it given problem it is harder to solve as AT got more components than DCT.

DCT is not perfect but it is safe to say taking the wet clutch is more secure and the clutch pack is designed to last at least 160k km. If the clutch pack worn off the replacement of clutch pack is RM 2k.

• Skandaland on Jul 21, 2020 at 3:57 pm

First they say, NO PROBLEM
        2nd version, PROBLEM RESOLVED
        3rd version, GOT SOLUTION FOR PROBLEM

Lies after lies….

• Fishy Fishy Fishy on Jul 22, 2020 at 8:47 am

However this inspection recall sounds fishy. If major issue, how the DSG box still function in the past 9 years until today? Summore give free membership to attract owner back to the SC to get slaughtered.

• 2013 Jetta CBU on Feb 04, 2021 at 2:23 pm

I went back for the inspection campaign. The reason is the serial number inside the mechatronic oil-sump section. So they need to open and access to read. My CBU Jetta (last batch 2013) not affected. End-to-end took 3+ hours only.

• autodriver (Member) on Jul 20, 2020 at 3:23 pm

Finally VPCM recalled the dry clutch DSG which jeopardise their imagine deeply. Hope after the recall and fixed will solve the issue permanently. In fact Kia also using dry clutch but it seems more robust than VW.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2020 at 7:15 pm

Nothing beats the feeling of an original DSG mated to a TSI engine. Nothing comes close to the original. If you want to get the feel of it, it gotta be a VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Crassius on Jul 21, 2020 at 8:53 am

This call is something doubtful. If read carefully. The call is from VPCM not VAG. As result ,we does not have any source that VAG resulting in the search. Further more is affect the car 2011 to 2015 mean those car is out of warranty. It’s also raise some question to many where after almost 10 years only ‘product deviation’?.

• Siyabonga Richard on Dec 25, 2020 at 3:51 am

My car have a low compression in code3 its a 2011 polo vivo 2011 seden so who can help me to fix this Metter

• after 9 years….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Fortunately this wet DSG didnt affect VW models from 2015 onwards at all. Syukuring VW gips affordable solid Conti motoring,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 20, 2020 at 3:54 pm

Took almost 10 years to rectify or realize an issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • granny on Jul 21, 2020 at 7:55 am

Germans, biasala.

Mercedes Benz just discontinued 1.5EQ for malaysia

• JOACHIM on Jul 20, 2020 at 4:04 pm

About d@mn time but I doubt anyone would still hold onto their 9 year old VW when facing unresolved gearbox failures. What a pity it took them this long to get a fix, by now the brand is irreparably broken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Ongtk on Jul 20, 2020 at 5:55 pm

Yes, my Jetta had this problem. Sent to workshop but no solution. Car would hesitate to move when going up ramp at my condo and shopping malls. Sold my Jetta at a huge loss.

• Basher Dont Learn on Jul 22, 2020 at 7:23 pm

Go research properly la. If the pressure accumulator got problem, meaning the car cannot shift gear already. U should be calling tow truck instead.

• tafara on Jul 09, 2022 at 6:27 am

which model was your car, iam thinking getting a 1.4 tsi jetta with dsg transmission 2012 october model
        pleas give guidance

• FireAce on Jul 20, 2020 at 4:14 pm

Recalled for car manufactured 2011-2015, meaning the affected car will be 5-10 years old.

VW is not Toyota/Honda, at these age and if the car has clocked >100k KM, it’s already falling apart, especially the said DSG. Normal sane owner would have already disposed of the car long ago.

This is like giving free health insurance to the dead. All wayang…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
    • Agree… I think it’s just a publicity stunt, try to shut the mouth of early batch owners.. because it is the earlier batch owners who got phobia and advising other ppl to avoid VW

• Golf TSI on Jul 21, 2020 at 11:29 am

Yes, might as well do recall in 2030 – just to be sure nobody turns up

• Well done VW on Jul 20, 2020 at 4:24 pm

VW is good of acting to it. When is BMW going to recall for car if the batch has adaptive suspension problem

• Bmw superman on Jul 20, 2020 at 9:05 pm

What a superior BMW air suspension. Thanks to all patient X5 drivers who may have give up hope.

• johnweak on Jul 20, 2020 at 4:42 pm

still got ppl buy VW cars kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Cap Ayam on Jul 20, 2020 at 4:45 pm

I have an Audi with the DQ500 dsg that did the same thing to me. Ended up rupturing oil seal and dropped all transmission fluid on the road. I hope VAG South Africa does the right thing too. Both dry & wet clutch systems have big flaws. There are TSBs for the dsg gearbox. That’s not acceptable.

• So it took them 9 years to know the problem in my DSG.. ?
    I am not so convinced that this is a sincere recall, rather a publicity stunt to show “they care”.. throw in 20% discount to make sure you come back and service with them..
    Why on earth it took them 9 donkey years to take action..

• yapyw on Jul 20, 2020 at 10:06 pm

20% discount is really CHICKEN FEED compared to the high LOSS on disposal of the car? Ini orang German also very Kedekut?

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 20, 2020 at 6:14 pm

Responsible car manufacture? Hell almost everyone sold their 2011-2015 VW cars already so VW will only need to repair and replace less than what was originally on the road. Pity those who had to fork out to repair it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2020 at 7:33 pm

Looks like nothing positive comes out from people these days. Buat pun complain. X buat pun complain. Just appreciate that they take ownership and rectifying it for free. They could have just kept quiet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • They try to “do something” because they are lossing market share.. it’s all about their own profit..
      If they are sincere, they could have recall 5 or 6 years ago when the issues are so severe..

What’s the point of recalling now when owners had forked out their own money, fixing them, get a half cut or recond parts for their gearbox? Most of the first hand owners had already sold their car..

Now they only call for a recalled after owners had paid and fixed their own car?

• Never ever another VW on Jul 27, 2020 at 11:19 pm

I sold off my MK6 (2011 make) 2 year ago with a huge loss because of all the unbearable problems it is giving me, now only these VW bastards doing a recall. Just tell them to save it and good luck to those who still trust VW. I will never touch one in my lifetime.

• Farhat on Jul 20, 2020 at 8:20 pm

So i just checked my car via VIN # and it says im not affected. But this checked all the boxes related to my particular car type, manufacture date and specs… so not all are affected but some?

• Romeo on Jul 20, 2020 at 9:04 pm

Hi, i am a South African who had a similar problem with my Polo 2015 1.2 DSG comfort line, i sent it twice whilst booked for service and reoirtwd that the gearbox has a problem, i waa rokd they cannot fins the fault on both occasions and i was still within my warranty,
    Disappointing when VW does not acknowledge owners defects

• can i confirm that GTI and R models are unaffected?

• yapyw on Jul 20, 2020 at 10:02 pm

This recall exercise appears rather idiosyncratic? It’s not about not to be carried out but many years too late? Luckily, I didn’t buy a VW and one of my friends who did sold his many yrs ago, with a very high LOSS?

• Asia is for Asians on Jul 20, 2020 at 10:08 pm

Don’t complain when Asians believe in Asian cars – Japanese, Korean and even Malaysian brands which are much much reliable than the egoist Continental brands. It is like the colonist is gone, but the stigma remains.

• euro junk

• Ben Yap on Jul 21, 2020 at 1:32 am

now who says honda is bad? volkswagen is worst.

• Raja Kamarul on Jul 21, 2020 at 6:09 am

In May 2013, Singapore did it.
    http://paultan.org/2013/05/02/volkswagen-recall-singapore/.

Immediately followed by Malaysia in same month.
    http://paultan.org/2013/05/09/volkwagen-malaysia-follows-suit-with-dsg-recall/

Then the big declaration came, more than a year later.
    https://paultan.org/2014/10/20/volkswagen-malaysia-dsg-resolved/

But 6 years later, this story comes out. So yes, it isn’t a real recall, its a PR stunt. You don’t recall cars in 2020 over an issue you declared solved in 2014! The cars are well over 5 years old too!

You’re a sham, VPCM and the domestic trade ministry would do well to investigate you.

• Well said.. the stories over the years just doesn’t add up, really just a piece of PR stunt to make headlines

They already had a reputation of telling lies, don’t really trust them anymore..

• the ‘Proton’ of the German.

congratulations to Volkswagen owner for holding up thier car till today, since 2011.

• autodriver (Member) on Jul 21, 2020 at 8:39 am

Very funny situation, when Honda or Toyota recall they are responsible automaker. If Proton or Perodua recall they said quality sxck but still responsible. But when VW recall it is irresponsbile because it takes too long to recall.

Honda Takata airbag incident killed 7 person in Malaysia and 23 person globally. The one who kill the most is City 2003 (1st CVT model) and the recall is on 2015. It took 12 years and lifes to trigger the recall. As a responsible automaker Honda make huge effort and cost to recall and replace the airbag. But I wondering why people call VW is irresponsible when they recall the DSG problem after 9 years while there are no “life threatening” involved. Isn’t this is so called double standard?

• Ruslan Bahari on Jul 21, 2020 at 12:40 pm

Because they had declared the problem solved. If they had better PR agencies, they would have positioned it as identifying those that had not responded to earlier recall of the issue”. But the reality is, it wasn’t the case. They have discovered more issues with DSG.

• The difference is Honda attempted to recall and rectify the problem soon after it was discovered. Whereas VW was in denial mode at the beginning. And after they couldn’t covered it up anymore, they offered patchy solutions, to the point that many VW owners took to the social media to condemn VW

• autodriver (Member) on Jul 25, 2020 at 9:57 am

Hahahaha, are you SERIOUS on your statement. The airbags KILLED 7 person in Malaysia. The incidents take years and the lawsuit filed years ago before Honda finally make recall. How does this consider “Honda attempted to recall and rectify the problem soon after it was discovered”. Samsung Note 7 incident the product launched in August 2016 and recall is announced on Sept 2016, less than 2 months. That’s what we call fast but Honda certainly not and it recall after several casualties cases. Your statement is truly untrue and bias on Honda. Prove me wrong with truth

• Botshelo Mogotsi on Jul 22, 2020 at 12:59 am

loss of pressure, interrupting the transmission of power between the engine and gearbox.

• leong on Jul 22, 2020 at 10:44 pm

yesterday after inserting VIN, it says its affected. today after inserting VIN again. ” we are happy to inform that your vehicle is not affected”

• I am not sure about you all complaining about the DSG. Yes it has issues, but after owning the car for 7 years, I replaced DSG for free twice. Once I replaced during the warranty (before 5 years), and second time I replaced it recently during the 7th year (claiming goodwill warranty). I did pay for the labour, but that’s it. I think it is fair enough. Apparently, second time it didn’t require a replacement. My DSG was leaking, and my German cousin, who is the car mechanic in Germany, told me that the repair is cheap and simple. All I had to do was to replace the DSG gusket. Though, Malaysian mechanics probably don’t know that and insist in replacing the whole DSG. I drove for 1 year with leaking DSG and it had no issues at all (the leak was visible but wasnt dripping). I did refill it once because I didn’t want to go through replacement process. But I decided just to fix it and forget about it.

Additionally, after claiming the goodwill warranty, dealer insisted to replace the clutch as well (the mileage of the car is 95k). After my research, everyone says that clutches usually need replacement after 100k KM, so I just decided to pay for the labour only since it is a lot cheaper than paying full price later on. They successfully replaced it using the goodwill warranty once again. So, I paid for the labour only. Though, the first replacement was unsucessful and the clutch was slipping. But they ordered another clutch and rectified the issue.

For those who is going to say that I got cheated and they replaced a secondhand part then you are wrong because I was present during the replacement process. I insisted to be present, and they agreed. You don’t need to go around complaining and ruining the brand if you don’t know how to talk politely to people. I love golf and the way it handles. I will definitely not buy any other volkswagen car but I will definitely buy another golf (non mk8).

The only issue I have is the engine mountings. During the 5 year warranty, the car started vibrating but not much. I brought it to the dealer and they told me that it is normal. Once 5 years passed, they told me that I need to replace engine mountings. Hence, this is where I got cheated. They didn’t want to replace it for free during the warranty unfortunately. During the 7th year of owning the car, I still have vibrations but it doesn’t bother me much. I don’t want anyone to damage something during the replacement. But I will definitely replace them soon.

• Nik botak on Jul 25, 2020 at 2:09 pm

well done vw, cars way back in 2013 still get updated

• Vincent Liaw on Aug 18, 2020 at 12:06 pm

Is this for real or just a gimmick? I had registered via their website on Jul 21, 2020 and there is no response from volkswagen until today.

• Wong Chow Kim on Oct 30, 2020 at 3:39 pm

my 2011 VW Cross Touran can’t participate the recall prog to check DSG7? where my car lost power.

• Kumar on Dec 27, 2021 at 2:21 pm

I went Puchong centre for claimed DSG Mechatronic, they said car too old.. I went to Glenmarie centre they said car rare do service at service centre… Different centre, different excuses.. But keep suck the money by silly reasons.. And label out free checking…

• They called me and ask me send my roc in to check, then they tell me I m not affected.
    But my bill ended up rm5k, change a bunch of abs sensors n rear brake disk without my consent, n then say if I dont like it, they will take it back out. Wtf!!!!!
    Bloody con job recall u back to be slaughtered.
    Disgusted.