Perodua looking at a max reduction of 15% in sales volume for 2020, expects to sell around 210,000 units

National carmaker Perodua is confident that the disruption brought about by the Covid-19 pandemic will not significantly impact its sales performance this year. In January, the company had set a sales target of 240,000 units for 2020, and though it says it is unlikely to meet that target, it expects to be able to do close to 210,000 units for the year at the current rate.

This was revealed by Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad earlier today. Speaking to reporters at a vendor certification event hosted by Malaysia Automotive, Robotics & IoT Institute (MARii) earlier today, he said that the automaker was upbeat about its sales performance going into the end of the year, in line with the revised 2020 TIV forecast set by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) last month.

“It will be very difficult to get to our original target, because of the period from March to May. However, bookings from customers have been very good, and so we are looking at a maximum reduction of 15% in sales volume from the original target, which was about 240,000 units, to around 210,000 units,” he said.

He said that the sales tax exemption given by the government has helped the industry. For Perodua, the uptick in demand has resulted in the waiting period now being more than two months, and Zainal said the company was trying very hard to catch up with demand.

“In terms of production, our plan from August to December will see us doing around 25,000 units a month on average, which is almost 98 to 99%% of our capacity,” he said.

Asked if rising unemployment rates would have an impact on its sales into the end of 2020, he said that Perodua should be able to achieve its targeted numbers, based on a mapping study it had conducted.

He said the company obtained info from the department of statistics and set out to come up with a detailed map of what and who had been impacted by the pandemic. “We studied every industry in Malaysia, for example the food industry, the government as well as construction, service and manufacturing industries, and the impact the pandemic had on each of these industries from a labour viewpoint,” he explained.

“Some industries were impacted by 30%, some by 15%, while civil servants in the government remained unaffected. We then mapped these industries to our vehicle models and their customers. For each model (Axia, Bezza and Myvi), we know which industry they are coming from, and based on the study and its mapping, we are confident that we can meet the target,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Practical and Fuel Saving on Aug 13, 2020 at 8:01 pm

Tough time, Perodua Axia is the best mobility solution.

No car boot? Can use a Cargo Carrier.

Canvas Waterproof carrier: RM200+
    Plastic Case Waterproof carrier: RM700 – RM1500

• azrai on Aug 17, 2020 at 2:25 pm

No signal :RM0 use your hand
      No headlamp : RM2.50 use a torchlight
      No seat: RM12.50 use plastic chair from Giant
      No reverse camera: RM0 use your head to turn around and your eyes
      No radio: RM0 Use a 20 year old walkman
      No etc: RMetc: etc etc etc

• 2020 Forecast on Aug 13, 2020 at 8:12 pm

Perodua 210k
    Proton 100k -120k
    Toyota/Honda 30k-40k

• P2 Service Centers: Adoi! Another 210k fuel pumps to replace! Oh but we won’t do that unless they complain kaw-kaw. After all we are Perodua, problems are caused by users or otherwise ini salah Proton.

• Truth on Aug 13, 2020 at 8:46 pm

perodua a.k.a buruk-dua better close shop so people can drive better cars

• And its a good time to launch ur perodua d55l faster now! So that people enjoy buying it wif tax free. U may achieve ur target 240k if launch d55l ASAP.

• Celup King on Aug 14, 2020 at 2:08 am

Buying new Perodua, first question they will tell you: Fuel pump kena ganti dulu tapi stock takde….

• Perodua not committed to launch D55L because busy replacing fuel pump for the Myvi G3 this year.

• Ex VGM staff on Aug 13, 2020 at 9:40 pm

The way he explained it – educational. Proton should learn this way. Why?

Perodua is selling double than what Proton capable of. Margin is one thing, the number of units is another.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Yeah I am sure the Musang King seller must learn from his rambutan seller counterpart how to sell more crap instead of sticking to quality of his products. Oh yeah sure.

• Xpayah pikir, xpayah pening. Majulah Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Meanwhile Proton forecast to up sales. Habislah Perodua! Can go into longkang just like your car oledi!

• Datuk R on Aug 13, 2020 at 11:11 pm

Myvi 1500cc ASA 2.0 is fun and safe
    Good buy

• Heng Lee on Aug 14, 2020 at 12:39 am

It’s quite understandable that they don’t have stock for spare fuel pumps. They need them to make new cars.

• Sweetgirl on Aug 14, 2020 at 8:57 am

very tactical and strategic approach by Perodua..all the best Perodua..no wonder u r no one..

• newme on Aug 14, 2020 at 9:36 am

See p2, sempoi je despite at the top. On the other hand, empty can makes the loudest noise with their game changer, Asia BMW and talking car gimmick to attract less educated/informed crowd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Celup King on Aug 14, 2020 at 5:55 pm

Fuel pump sudah tukar ke belum?

• Calling Newme. Sila beri pencerahan to this ‘superior Japanese quality’ you were bragging about.

• Last year target 240k units for year 2020 @ 20k units per month. MCO 43 days, 30k units sales miss, so adjust 210k units. 3 months later they will change the sale target again.