Geely Preface commercial takes aim at the BMW M4, Mercedes-AMG C63 Coupe and Porsche Panamera

Following the debut of the Geely Preface just a few days ago, the company has now released a commercial for its new luxury sedan. Based on the ad spot, the Chinese carmaker certainly has big ambitions for the Preface, as we get to see the CMA-based model overtaking big names like the F82 BMW M4, C205 Mercedes-AMG C 63 Coupe and even the Porsche Panamera.

As far as the storyline goes, the ad starts with the German trio cruising on some rather scenic mountain roads, passing a sharply-dressed gentleman walking along while holding a helmet. Little do they know that their day out is about to be ruined, as the mysterious driver is then seen getting into a wrapped Preface before firing it up.

What follows is quite a bit of spirited driving, as the Preface carves its way through the twisty bends in pursuit of the German cars. The first “victim” is the M4, which the Preface makes easy work of, overtaking the coupe from the outside lane with little difficulty.

Of course, this doesn’t go down well with the M4’s companion, as the C 63 Coupe then goes on a charge to pass the Preface, but only briefly, as the Geely model then promptly puts the Mercedes in its rear-view mirror. For the Preface’s final target, the Panamera, the driver opts to perform the overtake without a helmet for some reason.

Geely Preface commercial takes aim at the BMW M4, Mercedes-AMG C63 Coupe and Porsche Panamera

Towards the end of the video, we see the three German cars parked overlooking a lovely bit of landscape, with the Preface arriving to join them, probably for some friendly discussions and banter. The ad ends with “CMA” splashed across the screen on top of the Geely model, reminding viewers that the Preface, which just “took care” of its sporty German competition, uses the same platform as the Volvo XC40 and Xingyue.

It’s certainly a curious and rather entertaining ad, and appears to be a statement of intent by Geely as it looks to compete in more segments. However, there are still some lingering questions, like what engine is enabling the Preface to do what it just did? We’ll only find out when the mechanical details of the sedan are released closer to its launch date later this year.

Did we mention the Preface looks pretty good when rendered to become the next-generation Proton Perdana? If you’re curious about it, do check out Theophilus Chin’s work in our earlier post.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ” If honda city can do it!, we can do it too!!”

– geely

• Proton Cina on Aug 22, 2020 at 11:31 am

At the end, Geely still arrives the last

• Brian on Aug 22, 2020 at 12:03 pm

Geely did a victory lap, see Hamilton arrives last in Parc Ferme but always as the winner.

• Its packing a T8 powertrain?

• Ya ya ya on Aug 22, 2020 at 5:30 am

Selling at perdana price, then good job proton… Bye

• Esmeralda top on Aug 22, 2020 at 1:54 pm

If it can compete with m4, amg c63, and panamera cars, i dont see any wrong putting price like perdana… actually more affordable

• Ryan Parker on Aug 21, 2020 at 1:56 pm

Exhaust notes are wrong.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 21, 2020 at 2:00 pm

But didn’t it arrive last on the hill top?

Hahaha.

• kiddy on Aug 21, 2020 at 3:23 pm

Put p1 handling sure can win, even passat cannot beat waja handling, no joke, try urself

• Unlike Japs “in your face”, this is the Chinese way of showing off but saving “face” to the losers.

• azrai on Aug 21, 2020 at 2:04 pm

No overtaking Bezza?

• Vader on Aug 21, 2020 at 2:16 pm

Now this is a more refined gentleman advert on one upping the competition versus the blatantly Ah Beng Honda City promo.

• Heng Lee on Aug 21, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Now the next-gen Proton Perdana obliterated the mighty Germans, after that Honda City stunt.

• Geely better? on Aug 21, 2020 at 2:26 pm

Different to Honda City Hybrid Dual Clutch badly-thought ads,

This Geely Preface Last to arrive

Anyway, bring this to Malaysia as Geely

• Geely Preface, Proton Perfect.

• lilytan on Aug 21, 2020 at 2:36 pm

Japs, korean, yanks and swedes all have tried to beat the germans at their game but failed. At the end of the day the preface will be slaughtered by the germans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 21, 2020 at 2:39 pm

That’s right, it was overtaking while the Germans are cruising along.

• Overtook everyone but still arriving last.
    Not sure if the rabbit became a rabbit or the turtle became a turtle.

• You know how race winners always goes around for a victory lap? Yeah thats what it did.

• look like Lotus has assist Geely Preface in ride and handling

• Rizal on Aug 21, 2020 at 3:30 pm

Definitely Cyan Racing bits and Volvo DNA in that model

• Jinga on Aug 21, 2020 at 3:32 pm

Wow…nice chinese kong fu drama…..and unlogic happy endings…..

• ding dong on Aug 21, 2020 at 4:10 pm

Damn Geli la… I mean Geely ;)

• Zoom Zoom on Aug 21, 2020 at 4:13 pm

from the Ad. The conclusion is. why you need to buy Panamera, C63 or M4 when you can get the equally good Preface(Coming Perdana) for 120k+ ..less than 20% of the price?

• Geely on Aug 21, 2020 at 4:15 pm

Nice try Geely. Why not another advertisement between X70, with X3M, GLC AMG, Macan turbo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Storyline:
    Geely was trying so hard to out run everyone, passing the Germans one by one..
    And after some time, he realize no one is behind him..
    He went down to look for the rest and saw the Germans were enjoying the scenery..
    Geely asked:”Fren, why are you not chasing me?”
    The Germans:” Its not about the destination, its about the journey.. Going on a grand tour is about friendship and enjoying the scenery along the way.. We could have out run you if we want to”…
    Since then, Geely just diam-diam..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Lets See on Aug 21, 2020 at 5:37 pm

Real storyline:
      The big Germans tried to catch up but suffered engine failures and stalled at the safety slipway. Geely was wonder on top what happened and went back down to join them.
      Geely asked: “Bros. What’s going on?”
      Panamera: “Oh you know, enjoying the scenery…hehe”
      C63: “Yeah, yeah. It’s not like our engine kaput or anything… hehe…”
      M4(nervously): “Oh darnit! Okay we admit, our engine exploded and we got stalled here. Can you help call us rescue with Geely’s emergency service?”

Geely make some calls.
      Since then, the big Germans just diam-diam wait for rescue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Real real storyline:
        The German cars kaput and stop at the side.. and Geely was slowly crawling to join them too..
        The Germans were so happy and thought they can use a ride.. But Geely said:” I am joining you guys because I kaput too”..

Meanwhile, a Lexus just passed by but the scene was deleted..

• Jeremy on Aug 21, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Oh you mean the Grandma pottering by in a Lexus? It will take her ages to reach where they wanna be. You sure the upstuck Germans don’t wanna ride back with Geely car? They can get back sooner than next millenium.

• Jeremy on Aug 21, 2020 at 9:42 pm

Loved this one best!

• suomynona on Aug 21, 2020 at 6:36 pm

Hahahhah xD

• Truth on Aug 21, 2020 at 5:01 pm

What a joke

• Hong Yee Hong on Aug 21, 2020 at 7:15 pm

No no no. You all are wrong. There is neither a BMW, nor a Mercedes, nor a Porsche in the video. Those are some Chinese knockoffs.

• Newne on Aug 21, 2020 at 9:18 pm

Not comparing with Rolls Royce with Geely GE meh?

• kebal on Aug 21, 2020 at 10:46 pm

syok sendiri

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 22, 2020 at 1:01 am

at least they had the decency to remove the badges

• David on Aug 22, 2020 at 7:45 pm

Hahhaha

• Selvam on Aug 23, 2020 at 9:57 am

The whole story of Proton recently is akin to Bruce Lee drama and Wayang Kulit.All media hype and talk only but no action on the ground.

• Arnie on Aug 24, 2020 at 9:33 am

Really kah? Becoz Bruce Lee was the real deal compared to current Hollywood action stars. He did all of his own stunts in real live and never pull any punches. So if akin to Bruce, Proton is doing all these for real and not some Wayang Kulit like today’s Hollywood lah.

• Player1 on Aug 23, 2020 at 1:15 pm

Is this going tô use the T8 powertrain? If so I think It would have the same performance as the Volvo.