5 Perodua variants you should not buy – here’s why

Now, we know what some of you are thinking, but really, this post is not what you think it is. Despite how the headline reads, this isn’t meant to be one of those clickbait posts purposely going the other direction to get noticed.

Instead, these are five Perodua models that we think you should skip, because there are other models in the market leader’s range that you should instead focus your hard earned money on. Our buyers guide is based on price and features, with a strong emphasis on safety kit.

In an ideal world, we’ll get all safety equipment across every model range on sale, including the cheapest car in Malaysia – the Axia. But as with everything in life, it doesn’t work that way, and something has to give. There’s this Cantonese line that says there’s no such thing as pheang, leang, cheang which translates to “cheap, nice and good”. You’ll do very well to get 2/3, mate.

Speaking of safety, Perodua has of late been the carmaker pushing the safety glass ceiling. That’s a good thing for any marque, but as the both the market leader and the one selling the most affordable cars in the country, this push brings a higher level of car safety to the masses, and also pressures others to follow suit. If an Axia can have AEB, surely a European premium exec priced north of RM200k must include the feature, no?

The current generation Myvi introduced Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) in 2017, and the safety pack – which includes Pre-Collision Warning, Pre-Collision Braking, Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control – is now in 2.0 form, with upgraded parameters (PCW and PCB now work up to 100 km/h and 80 km/h respectively, was 30 km/h) and pedestrian detection (up to 50 km/h).

Today, every Perodua except for the very old Alza (more on this later) can be had with ASA 2.0 and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC). This is unprecedented for budget cars in our region, and Perodua doesn’t get enough credit for it, IMHO. Safety aside, we’ve also been getting the latest kit (LED headlamps, keyless entry) and some very practical homegrown features (handbag hook, air con memory, integrated SmartTag, among others).

But with so many variants, some are better than others. Here are five Perodua variants that we think you should skip in favour of other models.

Perodua Axia E

Well, this is an easy one. Most would skip the “driving school spec” Axia anyway, as it’s a “kosong car” meant for those looking for the cheapest new car in the market, and driving schools.

It’s simply amazing that the entry-level Perodua of 2020 is still priced at below RM25k (RM23,367 with the 2020 sales tax exemption, normal price RM24,090), just like the Kancil back in 1994. We’ve done a separate story on the stubborn base price and evolution of Malaysia’s cheapest car – read it here.

To be this cheap, the Axia E rolls on steel wheels, and doesn’t come with a radio and speakers (the bumpers are painted though!). While those things can be fitted at the accessories shop, your neighbourhood Brother’s won’t be able to rectify the lack of ABS with EBD, which is essential safety kit.

Perodua Axia G

Next up in our list, and Perodua’s price list, is the Axia G. The real base model for most carbuyers, the G adds on a four-speed automatic gearbox (the E is manual-only), alloys, body-coloured and powered side mirrors, a rear wiper, trip computer, remote key/alarm and a 2-DIN head unit.

Those are all nice to have, but crucially, the RM32,485 (with 2020 sales tax exemption) variant adds on ABS with EBD. Now shouldn’t it be the ideal cheap car that cancels out our beef with the E?

Yes, but the 2019 Axia facelift range introduced a new variant called the Axia GXtra. For RM1,500 more, you get some brightwork in and out, some good-to-have convenience features, rear parking sensors and VSC. The latter made its debut in the 2019 Axia facelift, and the safety feature is available from the GXtra onwards. It’s the cheapest car in the country to come with VSC, and is a no-brainer for the RM1,500 premium over the G.

If you can afford it. Now, the difference of RM1,500 spread out over a seven-year loan is RM19 a month, and for some, that’s lunch money. But at this end of the car market, getting your car loan approved is not a given, and yes or no is down to very fine margins. Perodua knows its segment and customers the best, and the G exists for a reason. But if you can afford it, go for the GXtra.

Perodua Bezza 1.0 G

5 Perodua variants you should <em>not</em> buy – here’s why

We come to the Bezza, the Axia’s sedan sibling and the most popular model with ride-hailing drivers. The Bezza was facelifted earlier this year, and prices start from RM35,391 for the 1.0 G AT (SST exemption included; there’s also a 1.0 MT for RM33,456 but we’ll compare AT to AT). The cheapest 1.3L is the X AT at RM42,551.

Now, RM7k is a fair bit of premium at this price point, but unlike the Axia’s different specs, there’s more here than just extra equipment. You do get a lot more with the Bezza 1.3L, and the advantage over the 1.0L will be apparent in every drive.

The extra grunt (27 hp/30 Nm on paper) is useful – more so for ride-hailing cars with a full load – but there’s significant difference in refinement between the two engines, and the car with the extra cylinder is a much more pleasant steer.

That RM7k also nets the 1.3 X buyer front parking sensors, front foglamps, 15-inch alloys, hill start assist and crucially, VSC. Once again, if you can stomach the difference in monthly instalments (RM97 for a seven-year loan), the 1.3L Bezza feels less of a chore and its advantage is clear.

If you don’t mind having three cylinders (there’s a satisfaction in paying RM20 road tax), and you don’t need a big boot, the above-mentioned Axia GXtra (RM33,940) offers VSC for slightly less than the Bezza 1.0 G AT. Conversely, the Axia Style and SE (both RM37,515) are slightly north in the ballpark – both have VSC, more toys and the SUV-inspired Style looks rather funky.

Perodua Myvi 1.5 H

Perodua recently gave the Myvi a minor refresh for 2020, introducing a new Electric Blue colour and the latest ASA 2.0 on half of the range (ASA was previously exclusive to the AV). With the refresh came a slight revision in prices.

The 1.5 H now goes for RM50,530, RM2k higher than before. That brings it much closer to the range-topping 1.5 AV, which is priced at RM52,697 (RM500 higher). The price difference between the High and Advance used to be slightly over RM3,600; now it’s just over RM2k.

The 1.5 H price bump is because it now gets ASA as standard. With that equalised, the price difference between the H and AV is essentially for the top spec car’s window tint (you’ll need it from the aftermarket anyway), leather seats and touchscreen head unit with reverse camera. All that for a touch over RM2k means it’s worth going for the costliest Myvi. Unless you don’t like leather seats.

By the way, Myvi 1.3 X buyers can now choose to have ASA 2.0 for RM2k extra, and if you can afford it, why not, because autonomous emergency braking (AEB, P2 calls it Pre-Collision Braking) can potentially save you money by preventing fender benders, if not for anything else. Kudos to P2 for providing 1.3L buyers the option for ASA when they could have just pointed people to the 1.5L.

Perodua Alza AV

The Perodua Alza is seriously long in the tooth. In two months time, Perodua’s MPV will celebrate its 11th birthday, having reached our shores back in November 2009 as the Malaysian version of the JDM Toyota Passo Sette/Daihatsu Boon Luminas. In that decade, it has received two facelifts, in 2014 and 2018.

But simply being old does not mean that the Alza has no place in our market; a proven and affordable three-row people carrier is a necessity, and beyond those practical reasons, the Alza has its fans thanks to its Japanese origins. Priced from RM50k (S MT) to RM55k (SE AT), it offers more room than a similarly priced Myvi, which makes it a value proposition for some.

However, the Alza Advance goes for RM60,525, which puts it just a few thousand ringgit below the Aruz 1.5 X at RM68,526. Between these two, the entry-level Aruz has more space, the latest NR Dual VVT-i engine, in-trend SUV-inspired design, modern equipment (LED headlamps, keyless entry/push start, integrated SmartTag) and better safety.

Safety is doubly important as MPVs are family cars – while the Alza gets just two airbags and ABS, the Aruz is a five-star ASEAN NCAP car with six airbags and VSC. The Aruz AV adds on ASA 2.0.

The difference in monthly instalments between the top Alza and base Aruz is RM90. There’s usually some overlap in features between the top and base of different models, but the gulf is way too big in this case and we can only recommend the Aruz 1.5 X.

So there you go, five Perodua variants that you should not buy, and why. Of course, all variants exist for a reason, and at this price segment, every 10 ringgit counts when it comes to affordability and loan approval. But if you can afford the difference, go for the better and/or better value car. There are some features that once used can never be “unused”, and while safety features can’t be seen, they make all the difference in the most crucial of moments.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Very obvious answer for shouldn’t buy P2: defecting for fuel pump, rattling sounds like Myvi and P2 SC issues. The same goes to Honda, always got rattling sounds, jerking from gearbox, fuel pump, vtec turbo problem, go service too much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
    • English Teacher on Sep 14, 2020 at 9:31 pm

Wrong. Five Perodua “variants” you should not buy.

• Safety First on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:18 pm

Agreed. Just don’t buy Perodua itself. Saves you the headache. Safety First

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
        • Popia basah on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:58 pm

People buy Game-Changing Perodua cars because it is using Toyota’s reliable technologies, platform and engine. This is why Perodua is Malaysian No.1 carmaker, people trust Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
          • Syerin on Sep 15, 2020 at 12:52 am

Pls do not buy Perodua Rocky. Jgn beli

• None of it which relates to safety hence the exact reason why this written piece exist. Do people buy Perodua cars just so to have an early deathwish?

• Safety is essential on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:01 am

Paultan should also make an article about reasons not to buy Honda cars because Honda cars are very unsafe. This is important because safety is no1 priority in buying cars

• Engineer on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:36 am

Perodua is in a bit of a spot. Their baseline cars are not recommended being seriously unsafe, their safer cars with ASA are much too expensive for the Average Joe to buy or they would simply get a better car one segment above from their rivals. It appears Perodua mid-range variants are the only balanced price/ performance/ feature, but even then you still don’t get the extra safety with ASA.

In summary, Perodua cars are just not worth buying in all of their variants.

• Norlia on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:54 am

Now it is time to spread the love not toxic hatred. This artikel heading should read “5 Perodua variants you must buy”. Terbaik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • Safety First on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:56 am

You can’t love a car brand that massively increases mortality rates. Safety First

• Asam laksa on Sep 14, 2020 at 9:47 pm

Although I actually disagree with this article but still this is a good article, good job Danny Tan and Paultan team! Next you should do a Game-Changing article about Five Proton models you should NOT biu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • Safety First on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:19 pm

Sorry but there is a reason why Paul Tan don’t see the need to do the same for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
        • PingPong on Sep 14, 2020 at 11:06 pm

Nope, they will do one for Proton, Proton fanboy. God fanboys are so annoying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
      • Celup King on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:30 pm

Yes they should do one for:
        Proton Saga Megavalve
        Proton Iswara
        Proton Wira
        Proton Putra
        Proton Tiara
        Incidentally none of them are produced nor sold by Proton anymore unlike Perodua listing above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Tak payah pening, tak payah pikir, jangan beli P2

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:51 pm

Yes, we will do one for Proton too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
        • Roti john on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:10 am

Thank you Hafriz and Paultan team! I hope john and his friends will accept and not complain or post any Game Over nonsensical comments on the upcoming “5 Proton variants you should not buy” article.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • fanofthissite on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:54 am

Bravo Friz! Sokongla P1, kipidap

• YB Kunta Kinte on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:42 am

For over 15 years Proton cars never had much safety spec, but never once Paul Tan and team listed down the Proton cars that rakyat should not buy.

Only now Proton cars have high safety spec. Prior to 2005, their cars were crappy, no VSC, no ABS etc etc

Come on Paul Tan and team, it is shameful to be bought by Proton to write sweet and manis stories about them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:12 am

Excuse me, I’ve already mentioned we will have one for Proton as well.

If there’s anything here or any other articles you don’t agree with, write to me personally at [email protected]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
          • hantu raya on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:48 am

save it bro. no need to wrestle with a pig- they get dirty, you get dirty, but the pig will enjoy it.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:29 am

Please do one for each segments too.
            Some oversea reviewers do that.
            They are taking side but play fair.

Entry B-seg, foreign B-seg, premium B-seg
            Entry C-seg, foreign C-seg, premium C-seg
            Entry D-seg, foreign D-seg, premium D-seg
            SUV, Pickup, MPV

• Engineer on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:39 am

Tabik spring to you. You layan our resident troll far too kindly for any mortal men to suffer him.

• CHONG PO HEE on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:51 pm

Those with high safety spec are Geely car not Proton’s

• Autodrome on Sep 14, 2020 at 10:06 pm

Global Customer Product Audit (GCPA) system used by EU Carmakers. Based on this 2017 audit Perodua had a score of 4,500 points (lower is better). The audit system scores issues on the production line based on the severity.

• Azwan on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:02 am

Thats too far away from new Proton demerit point – P1 products scored around and below 1000 dp lately and soon will reach Volvo 850 dp.

• 5 Perodua variants you should not buy – here’s why
    ???

How to buy a Perodua guide:

5 Perodua variants you should buy –
    1. Perodua Axia A-Hatchback VSC AEB, ASA 2.0
    2. Perodua Bezza A/B-Sedan VSC AEB, ASA 2.0 508l boot
    3. Perodua Aruz B-SUV VSC 6airbags instead of Exora Alza
    4. Perodua Aruz B-SUV VSC 6 airbags, AEB, ASA 2.0
    5. Perodua Myvi B-Hatchback 1.3 4airbags, AEB ASA 2.0, 1,5L 6 airbags, AEB, ASA 2.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Waayyyy tooooo expensive for what they give. There are better options around.

• Danny, what is the purpose oft his article? It seems more of bashing towards Perodua. People buy cars to their affordability, if the government implements the basic standard of passenger safety then this article will have never been written.

This article should be renamed to 5 Perodua Varients we don’t recommend at Paul Tan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:09 am

It’s not bashing at all. This is a genuine advice for those looking to buy specific variants. The recommendations here is not to look at other brands, but other Perodua variants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • Engineer on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:06 am

While its a longshot expecting car brands to equip active safety features in all their cars ranges like they do in First World countries, can I ask Paul Tan & co to do a write up about recommending car brands to give option for buyers to add on active safety?

I think its great that in other countries, you can get baseline car with steel wheels, no radio, but comes with active safety, ESC & 6 airbags.

• I totally agree that we would never have to come to this point if the government itself put a stop on companies selling unsafe car to Malaysia regardless of what price point the car is or brand long time ago. It’s 2020 and yet there are car launching with 2 airbags at RM80K in Malaysia. Can’t wait for PT to complete the long list including other car brands.

• Dakilo on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:56 am

The article clearly mentioned that you can go for other alternative Perodua specs rather than go for different carmaker. Yes it’s based on affordability yet this is just a suggestion. People out there sometimes don’t know this kind of details until someone come and explain it very clearly. So either you have some understanding problem or can’t see it properly. Good job team.

• Wai is either a triggered P2 salesman and/or owns one of the 5 ‘Do Not Buy’ cars mentioned.

• Kaizer on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:54 am

Good read. I like how the recommendation revolves primarily around the value while still being sensitive to the smallest price difference – even splitting hairs (~1k RM difference for example). It makes a lot of sense when you’re shopping with such tight budgets. That small difference may be the key to getting your loan approved.

Safety should not be skimped whenever possible, this I wholeheartedly agree. It comes with higher prices too. Gently nudging the recommendation to the next step up with better safety kit is the right thing to do, rather than outright bashing of the inferior variant. (No money maa, what to do?)

Hopefully you guys can do something similar for other brands too. Keep up the good work!

• sam123 on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:01 am

good post! those buyer on mention model dont even read paultan

• Dogbert on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:41 am

2016 Axia E owner here. Its a super reliable vehicle i get 17-18km/l on mix town highway. Beat that for 25K brand new

• Ramesh on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:03 am

It is comfortable too. Put in sun shade, tinted, enjoy the drive with decent air con

• Brian on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:17 am

Reliable doesn’t mean squat if you get seriously hurt in a moderate collision accident.

• thepolygon on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:20 am

My first car was a Perodua. The sales person came to me and told me honestly… “I can lie to you about how good the car is, but lets be honest, these things are selling like hotcakes because it’s the cheapest car people can buy.”. That pretty much sums it all up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 15, 2020 at 12:22 pm

Perodua. The sales person also told… “lets be honest, these things are selling like hotcakes because it’s the car people buy without pening”.

• The P on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:30 am

kudos to the team for coming up with such a fresh posting. now Paul Tan not only about news, but taking part in educating masses well.

other subject you can write about is actually on affordability / ownership cost.

e.g: set a standard scenario. based on that, put a total cost of ownership inclusive of wear and tear, fuel, others. and spread it to monthly costs.

and maybe a series of article on advantages of used car.

we are in this challenging times, and helping others making the right decision is something that we, the fortunate people, should do.

• abang beca on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:50 am

pls do not use game-changing word to perodua..not suit at all

• newme on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:07 am

It’s P1 that uses the word game changing on them self. In the end, the only change was them changing owner 2 times in 5 years.

• Triggered P2 salesman, you will be eating your words when the game-changing X50 is here.

• Really? All I see is your P2 colleagues here throwing game changing like some cheap nickel.

• Robin on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:38 am

When I bought my Myvi, I used the same reasoning as mentioned in the article (back in 2011). I bought E variant instead of the high end as the difference in price doesn’t justify the perks. This is a good article as for first time buyers, especially family, might miss out the fact that Aruz could be an option too if they go for Alza at the high spec. Thank you Paul Tan team!

• newme on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:45 am

Wonder if PT would name X70 because of difficulty of getting spare parts.

• dumbyou on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:20 pm

Better you worry about P2 knowing fuel pump failure is imminent in its cars but still refuse to issue recall because not enough fuel pumps in stock. That’s the ‘Japanese quality’ you always so proud of?

• One of the best consumer friendly articles. Good Job.

The best would be the Ron 95 vs Ron 97 argument which ya’ll covered back then.

Will you guys cover Ron 100 racing petrol anytime soon?

• I must say that I was contemplating with Myvi 1.5H and 1.5AV at one point and this article argued with good reasons why certain variants are less attractive and offer lower value proposition to the prospective buyers.

When buying a car, there is a need to consider the whole ecosystem: total cost of ownership, features/technology of the car, after sales service, reliability, resale value, availability of spare parts, know-how/knowledge of service centres to resolve technical issues etc. Wouldn’t want to comment more on brand preference here – it’s respective consumer’s choice.

• JDMTunerGuy on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:57 am

I wish Perodua have Performance Edition for Myvi, Bezza, Axia & Aruz. Performance Edition is the best just like another foreign car at outside, Perodua should be make that for MO’ POWAH BABE and looking aggressive style. Thank you for my greatest idea for Perodua, please tell this to Perodua to make one more Variant

• There’s one more: don’t buy a Perodua Aruz trim called “Toyota Rush”

• Sweetgirl on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:46 am

Whatever it is..when we can only buy a low cost house..we can only dream of terrace house..driving a basic car is more safe than riding a motorcycle..tq paultan but Perodua is the most affordable and reliable car for the masses..it’s a people’s car..Malaysian love Perodua..Selamat Hari Malaysia guys!!!

• I Fully agree! I got into a car accident with a Axia E recently, it rolled backwards down a slope and crashed into me. Its already 2020. It should be illegal to sell new cars without basic safety features like hill stop.

• sardin on Sep 15, 2020 at 12:33 pm

“Five variants perodua should not produce”

• Ben Yap on Sep 15, 2020 at 1:41 pm

all of perodua cars are not turbo charged. so a big no for me.

• i would choose the kosong axia anytime.
    it is good cheap transport,
    nothing comes close to it in term of bang for the buck. Only down side is lack of ABS and ESC,
    but other stuff can be add on later like wheels, radio, etc.

• Danny I am dissappointed.

None of the Bezza variants should be bought. Worst vehicles found on the right lanes.